Ataribox: Atari with new console "Coming Soon" - a fake?

Atari did with the Ataribox, a console that may be released for Christmas 2017, vaguely announces its return with a 21-second video. And yes: it's Atari, the game console giant celebrated in the 1980s, which went under after several flops. Last but not least, the quick and carelessly clapped game to the cinema classic NA broke the neck of the company back then (Documentation on the topic). Now Atari wants to try something new with the Ataribox. Or warm up old ... Or it's a fake ...

Ataribox

Like the classic consoles, the Ataribox has a wood or wood look.

Ataribox: console presented in a short video

You could almost take it for a fake, but the Ataribox has already been officially confirmed as the new Atari console. Especially at the time of Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3)which just ended in Los Angeles, the announcement of a new console from Atari is quite a surprise. The media are currently overwhelmed with reports and sightings - and all mainly because of this short video:

Ataribox: Technical details and data sheet unknown

On Friday, June 9th, 2017, the website went live ataribox.com on-line. There is nothing more than the video shown above and the option to register for new information or to write an email to the creators. And even if it all looks like good fun, compared to Tech-Magazin The Verge the authenticity of the site and the new console project from Atari was probably confirmed. Atari CEO Fred Chesnais is also said to be a new console confirmed to have.

I asked for more detailed information, technical data, etc. via the Ataribox website and will provide an update here when an answer comes. If there is an answer. If it's not a fake after all. Hopefully I don't get it instead Ransomware sent.

According to the Ataribox page on Facebook, there should be technical details soon. Rumor has it that Apple is a partner.

Possible partners: Apple or SIGFOX?

In the article linked above by The Verge it says that Atari (according to the anonymous source) is involved in the development of the Ataribox - and not, as in the past, only gives its name to products from third-party manufacturers. Therefore, working with a partner is quite conceivable.

Rumor has it on Facebook while Apple this post from SIGFOX rather suggests this company as a partner for the Ataribox. The Ataribox would also be possible as an internet-enabled hub for old and new consoles. Or it will be a slightly more modern remake than that Nintendo Classic Mini.

Atari now with PC technology

To a new one Flashback consoleAs it has been sold by Atari in recent years, along with other sales, it should not be. "A brand new Atari product. Years in the making.“This is how you can translate the video title of the Ataribox announcement. But what took years, what is in the box? Will there be more technology than we did with the Nintendo Switch have seen?

According to CEO Fred Chesnais, who is owned by Venture Beat or Game beat was interviewed, there is “PC technology” in it. Maybe even VR-capable for a virtual reality or a virtual retro experience? I'm curious and stay tuned for you guys!

Do you already know more? Feel free to leave a comment on the topic;)

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

1 comment

  1. Linux bunny says:

    If Apple is really on board, then I could imagine a BSD-based system that works with pre-installed Steam.
    As a Linux user, you would have something of that, as it would be Linux-compatible for games

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Ataribox: Atari mit neuer Konsole „Coming Soon“ – ein Fake?

Atari hat mit der Ataribox, einer vielleicht zum Weihnachtsgeschäft 2017 erscheinenden Konsole, ganz vage und mit einem 21-Sekunden-Video seine Rückkehr verkündet. Und ja: es handelt sich um Atari, den in den 1980er Jahren gefeierten Spielekonsolen-Riesen, der nach mehreren Flops unterging. Nicht zuletzt das schnell und lieblos zusammengeklatschte Spiel zum Kinoklassiker E.T. brach dem Unternehmen damals das Genick (Doku zum Thema). Jetzt will Atari mit der Ataribox Neues wagen. Oder altes aufwärmen… Oder es ist ein Fake…

Ataribox

Die Ataribox kommt wie die klassischen Konsolen erneut mit Holz oder Holzoptik daher.

Ataribox: Konsole in kurzem Video vorgestellt

Man könnte es fast für einen Fake halten, jedoch wurde die Ataribox als neue Konsole von Atari bereits offiziell bestätigt. Gerade zur Zeit der Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3), welche gerade erst in Los Angeles zu Ende ging, ist die Ankündigung einer neuen Konsole von Atari eine ziemliche Überraschung. Die Medien überschlagen sich derzeit mit Meldungen und Sichtungen – und alles vornehmlich wegen dieses kurzen Videos:

Ataribox: Technische Details und Datenblatt unbekannt

Am Freitag, dem 9. Juni 2017, ging die Webseite ataribox.com online. Mehr als das oben gezeigte Video und die Möglichkeit, sich für neue Informationen anzumelden oder eine E-Mail an die Macher zu schreiben, gibt es nicht. Und auch wenn das alles nach einem gut gemachten Spaß aussieht, gegenüber dem Tech-Magazin The Verge wurde wohl die Authentizität der Seite und des neuen Konsolenprojekts von Atari bestätigt. Atari CEO Fred Chesnais soll ebenfalls eine neue Konsole bestätigt haben.

Ich habe über die Ataribox-Webseite mal detailliertere Infos, technische Daten, etc. angefragt und werde hier ein Update geben, wenn eine Antwort kommt. Falls eine Antwort kommt. Falls es nicht doch ein Fake ist. Hoffentlich bekomme ich nicht stattdessen Ransomware zugeschickt.

Laut der Ataribox-Seite auf Facebook soll es bald technische Details geben. Von Apple als Partner wird gemunkelt.

Mögliche Partner: Apple oder SIGFOX?

Im oben verlinkten Artikel von The Verge heißt es, dass Atari (der anonymen Quelle zufolge), in der Entwicklung der Ataribox involviert ist – und nicht, wie in der Vergangenheit immer wieder, nur seinen Namen für Produkte von Drittherstellern hergibt. Daher ist die Zusammenarbeit mit einem Partner durchaus denkbar.

Auf Facebook wird von Apple gemunkelt, während dieser Beitrag von SIGFOX eher diese Firma als Partner für die Ataribox nahelegt. Möglich wäre die Ataribox auch als internetfähiger Hub für alte und neue Konsolen. Oder es wird ein etwas moderneres Remake als die Nintendo Classic Mini.

Atari jetzt mit PC-Technologie

Um eine neue Flashback-Konsole, wie sie von Atari in den letzten Jahren neben anderen Ausverkäufen vertrieben wurde, soll es sich nicht handeln. „Ein brandneues Atari-Produkt. Jahrelang in der Mache.“, so kann man den Videotitel der Ataribox-Ankündigung übersetzen. Doch was hat Jahre gedauert, was steckt wohl in dem Kasten drin? Wird es noch mehr Technik sein als wir schon bei der Nintendo Switch gesehen haben?

Laut dem CEO Fred Chesnais, der von Venture Beat bzw. Game Beat interviewt wurde, steckt „PC-Technologie“ drin. Vielleicht sogar VR-fähige für eine virtuelle Realität bzw. ein virtuelles Retro-Erlebnis? Ich bin gespannt und bleib für euch weiter dran!

Wisst ihr schon mehr? Lasst gern einen Kommentar zum Thema da 😉

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
57

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.