Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter: Function, Compatibility and Alternatives for iOS and Android

The Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 in comparison with wireless HDMI adapters from VicTsing and ELEGIANT. Not every dongle can stream Windows, iOS, OS X, macOS, Android and Chrome OS.

Okay that one Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 has been on the market since March 2016, but regular readers already know that this is not always about the latest industry, but about recent discoveries made by the writer;) Now one of these discoveries was this Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter in the second version, which prompted me to research wireless streaming aids in this direction. And lo and behold: the device has distinctive advantages and disadvantages, and alternatives should be used for Apple users with iPhone and iPad or Mac or MacBook as well as for Android. So watch out, dear Apple fan base: this is another cross-platform article;)

The Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 compared to wireless

HDMI adapters from VicTsing and ELEGIANT. Not every dongle can stream Windows, iOS, OS X, macOS, Android and Chrome OS." width="620″ height="290″ /> The Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 compared to wireless HDMI adapters from VicTsing and ELEGIANT Not every dongle can stream Windows, iOS, OS X, macOS, Android and Chrome OS.

Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2: Datasheet and Connectivity

The device from Microsoft, which currently costs more than 50 euros, comes with an HDMI and a USB port. Sound and images are transmitted to the television set via HDMI, while the power required for operation is drawn via USB. According to the manufacturer, the Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 acts as a "wireless adapter for screen transmission" for screen content up to Full-HD 1080p. Real-time screen transmissions (for presentations, etc.) can also be implemented with the device.

25,00 EUR
Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2
Wireless adapter for image and sound transmission from Windows and Android devices to the television. HDMI and USB connection required. Transmission via WiFi with 2,4 GHz and 5 GHz. Also suitable for presentations.

In addition to Microsoft devices with Windows, connectivity and compatibility is also provided with some Android devices - including smartphones and tablets from popular manufacturers. Most devices are supported from Android 4.2.2 - a complete overview of the mobile devices (including the Microsoft Surface and Lumia models) can be found on the official support page. In short: In addition to Windows, the Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 can also run Android, but not iOS. So what are the (cheap) alternatives that maybe can do everything?

ELEGIANT or VicTsing? Comparison of alternative streaming dongle devices

The devil is in the details, because most of you will certainly not use a Surface device and maybe also not an Android smartphone or tablet, let alone one with Windows as the operating system. So alternatives have to be found that support iOS devices such as the iPhone or iPad. Of course, the first thing that comes to mind is AirPlay, which is with Apple TV or the AirPort Express can be realized. But here we limit ourselves to Apple again. What if the Android friends come over and want to stream something?

VicTsing Miracast dongle: the "wireless" is a matter of design

The first thing I noticed was the VicTsing as an alternative to the Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2. It is currently also being offered with a 50% discount, which I think is a bargain given the promised scope of services. In addition to Windows PCs and laptops that have WiFi, the connectivity of the device is just as effective as with iOS devices (from iPhone 5) and Android devices (from Android 5). The connection for transmission and power is also implemented here via HDMI and USB.

The crux of the matter is: for more or less wireless operation, a wired connection to the house's WiFi router is required. The VicTsing dongle does not transmit itself, but via the router. "Wireless" means here: no cable to the laptop / smartphone / tablet is required, but a connection to the WLAN router does. So wireless is not always wireless ...

ELEGIANT Wireless HDMI / 5GHz TV dongle as a bargain offer

The devices from ELEGIANT, which also have good ratings on Amazon, are inherently cheaper than the Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 and the VicTsing dongle. On the product page you can choose between "Type 1" and "Type 2", with the former already showing the Compatibility with Android, iOS, Mac, Windows, Windows Phone and Chrome OS makes clear. So they are real all-rounders!

Be in detail Miracast Supported from Android 4.2 and Windows Phone 8.1, furthermore AirPlay from iOS 8 and OS X 10.10. In addition, per EZCastMirror (from Android 5, Windows 7, OS X 10.9 or Chrome OS). Attention: the USB cable is not only used for the power supply, but can also be used as a WLAN antenna.

Conclusion on the subject of Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2

The device caught my eye because of its omnipresence in reporting on streaming dongles. However, I think that with today's cross-platform use, one should rely on correspondingly more extensive devices. So if you have not only Windows and a few Android devices in mind, but maybe also Apple and Chrome OS devices, you should take a look at the alternatives shown here.

Questions or suggestions? Gladly seen in the comments! :)

-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter: Funktion, Kompatibilität und Alternativen für iOS und Android

Okay, der Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 ist schon seit März 2016 auf dem Markt, aber regelmäßige Leser wissen schon, dass es hier nicht immer um Aktualität der Industrie, sondern um kürzlich gemachte Entdeckungen des Schreiberlings geht 😉 Nun war eine dieser Entdeckungen dieser Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter in der zweiten Version, welcher mich veranlasste, in diese Richtung der kabellosen Streaming-Hilfen zu recherchieren. Und siehe da: das Gerät bringt markante Vor- und Nachteile mit, und für Apple User mit iPhone und iPad bzw. Mac oder MacBook sowie für Android sollte man Alternativen nutzen. Also Achtung, liebe Apple-Fangemeinde: das ist wieder ein Cross-Platform-Artikel 😉

Der Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 im Vergleich mit kabellosen HDMI-Adaptern von VicTsing und ELEGIANT. Streaming von Windows, iOS, OS X, macOS, Android und Chrome OS kann nicht jeder Dongle.

Der Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 im Vergleich mit kabellosen HDMI-Adaptern von VicTsing und ELEGIANT. Streaming von Windows, iOS, OS X, macOS, Android und Chrome OS kann nicht jeder Dongle.

Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2: Datenblatt und Konnektivität

Das derzeit über 50 Euro kostende Gerät von Microsoft bringt einen HDMI- und einen USB-Anschluss mit. Über HDMI werden Ton und Bild an das Fernsehgerät vermittelt, über USB wird der für den Betrieb nötige Strom gezogen. So agiert der Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 laut Herstellerangaben als „kabelloser Adapter zur Bildschirmübertragung“ für Bildschirminhalte bis Full-HD 1080p. Auch lassen sich Echtzeit-Bildschirmübertragungen (für Präsentationen, etc.) mit dem Gerät realisieren.

- 15,00 EUR
 Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2
107 Bewertungen
Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2
Kabelloser Adapter für die Bild- und Tonübertragung von Windows- und Android-Geräten auf den Fernseher. HDMI und USB Anschluss nötig. Übertragung per WLAN mit 2,4 GHz und 5 GHz. Auch für Präsentationen geeignet.

Die Konnektivität bzw. Kompatibilität ist neben Microsoft Geräten mit Windows auch mit einigen Android Geräten gegeben – darunter sind Smartphones und Tablets gängiger Hersteller. Die meisten Geräte werden ab Android 4.2.2 unterstützt – eine komplette Übersicht der Mobilgeräte (darunter auch die Microsoft Surface und Lumia Modelle) findet ihr auf der offiziellen Support-Seite. Kurzum: Neben Windows kann der Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 auch Android, aber kein iOS. Was gibt es also für (günstige) Alternativen, die vielleicht auch alles können?

ELEGIANT oder VicTsing? Alternative Streaming Dongle Geräte im Vergleich

Der Teufel steckt im Detail, denn die meisten von euch werden sicherlich kein Surface Gerät nutzen und vielleicht auch kein Android Smartphone oder Tablet, geschweige denn eines mit Windows als Betriebssystem. Also müssen Alternativen her, die iOS Geräte wie das iPhone oder iPad unterstützen. Natürlich fällt einem da als erstes AirPlay ein, welches mit Apple TV oder dem AirPort Express realisiert werden kann. Aber hier beschränken wir uns wieder nur auf Apple. Was ist, wenn die Android-Freunde vorbeikommen und etwas streamen wollen?

VicTsing Miracast Dongle: das „Wireless“ ist Auslegungssache

Als erstes ist mir der VicTsing als Alternative zum Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 aufgefallen. Aktuell wird er auch mit 50 % Rabatt angeboten, was ich bei dem versprochenen Leistungsumfang für ein Schnäppchen halte. Denn neben Windows PCs und Laptops, die über WLAN verfügen, greift die Konnektivität des Geräts genauso wie bei iOS Geräten (ab iPhone 5) und Android Geräten (ab Android 5). Der Anschluss für Übertragung und Strom wird auch hier per HDMI und USB realisiert.

VicTsing 2,4 G Wireless & mit Kable HDMI Miracast Dongle Drahtlose Wifi HDMI Display Dongle
30 Bewertungen
VicTsing 2,4 G Wireless & mit Kable HDMI Miracast Dongle Drahtlose Wifi HDMI Display Dongle
Streaming Adapter für den Fernseher, um Inhalte von iOS, Android und Windows aus zu teilen. Filme können mit einer Auflösung bis Full-HD 1080p gestreamt werden. Realisierung unter Miracast.

Die Crux ist: für den mehr oder weniger kabellosen Betrieb wird die kabelgebundene Verbindung mit dem WLAN-Router des Hauses vorausgesetzt. Der VicTsing Dongle funkt also nicht selber, sondern über den Router. „Kabellos“ heißt hier also: kein Kabel zum Laptop / Smartphone / Tablet nötig, ein Anschluss zum WLAN Router aber schon. Wireless ist also nicht gleich wireless…

ELEGIANT Wireless HDMI / 5GHz TV Dongle als Schnäppchen-Angebot

Schon von Haus aus günstiger als der Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 und der VicTsing Dongle sind die Geräte von ELEGIANT, die auf Amazon ebenfalls gute Bewertungen mitbringen. Auf der Produktseite könnt ihr euch zwischen „Typ 1“ und „Typ 2“ entscheiden, wobei ersterer schon auf einem Produktbild die Kompatibilität mit Android, iOS, Mac, Windows, Windows Phone und Chrome OS deutlich macht. Es handelt sich also um echte Allrounder!

ELEGIANT Wireless TV Dongle, HDMI Wifi 2,4 und 5 GHz
248 Bewertungen
ELEGIANT Wireless TV Dongle, HDMI Wifi 2,4 und 5 GHz
Die weltweit erste Wireless-Display-Adapter auf dem Markt, die 802.11ac unterstützen. Zwei Geräte auf der Produktseite, zwischen denen ihr wählen könnt. Konnektivität mit Windows, iOS, macOS, OS X, iOS, Android, Chrome OS. Übertragung in Full-HD über HDMI.

Im Detail werden Miracast ab Android 4.2 und Windows Phone 8.1 unterstützt, des Weiteren AirPlay ab iOS 8 und OS X 10.10. Außerdem wird per EZCast Mirror (ab Android 5, Windows 7, OS X 10.9 oder Chrome OS) übertragen. Achtung: das USB-Kabel wird nicht nur für die Stromzufuhr genutzt, sondern ist auch als WLAN-Antenne zu nutzen.

Fazit zum Thema Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2

Das Gerät ist mir durch seine Omnipräsenz in der Berichterstattung zu Streaming-Dongles aufgefallen. Jedoch denke ich, dass man bei der heutigen Cross-Platform-Nutzung auf entsprechend umfangreichere Geräte setzen sollte. Wer also nicht nur Windows und ein paar Android-Geräte im Sinn hat, sondern vielleicht auch Apple und Chrome OS Devices, der sollte sich die hier aufgezeigten Alternativen mal ansehen.

Fragen oder Anregungen? In den Kommentaren gern gesehen! 🙂

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
53

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.