LHC particle accelerator at CERN: 360 ° video shows the big bang machine in an all-round view

360 video lhc cern bbc 2016

Not just since Casey Neistat 360 ° Video from the Oscars, where Leonardo DiCaprio finally got a mini-statue posted, we know that this type of interactive video is the latest trend on YouTube. In addition to some funny gimmicks, there are a few really informative ones Videos with 360 ° function on the video platform, where you can also learn something. An example is a video of the channel BBC News. Here you can find information and an all-round view of the particle accelerator LHC (Large Hadron Collider) of the European Nuclear Research Center CERN.

Step inside the Large Hadron Collider (360 video) - BBC News

This is the title of the video in which we first see the point in the tubes where the particles meet at almost the speed of light. Then there is a tour in a section of the 27 kilometer long tunnel. Then we come back to the starting point and are brought with a lifting platform to the tunnels and the sensors that measure the effects of the experiment. The most important information from the off is displayed again as text - but only at a certain point. So if you keep looking around you will miss the comments ;-)

A little hint: The navigation with the mouse is a bit rough. Rotating the image is smoother if you use the WASD buttons - just like controlling a video game. Of course, it is best to use a smartphone or VR glasses.

Popular documentaries on the LHC at CERN near Geneva

Also in cooperation with the BBC is the NOVA documentary "Big Bang Machine“Originated. This is mainly from 2012 and has been expanded with material from 2015. You can also do this documentary watch on YouTube. Here, too, a little hint: the total length of the video of 1:04:46 is not correct. The documentary ends after around 45 minutes and is then repeated - unfortunately this is a trend of documentary channels on YouTube, with which the videos should be artificially longer and thus more interesting for potential viewers.

Samsung Gear 360 all-round camera

With the Samsung Gear 360 all-round camera you shoot photos and videos with 360 degrees or 180 degrees wide angle; Image: Samsung.com; Details and price: here

Those who prefer to see a German documentary from ZDF can also do so on the most popular video platform on the net. The reporting, which in 2011 for the program "adventure know“Was produced is a bit out of date and a bit very popular science; However, it gives German-speaking viewers a very good insight into the LHC and the experiments at CERN. You can get to the documentation through this link.

Current information from CERN and the experiments

You can get the latest information on the individual projects in English and French on the official website of CERN. There is also a page in German, which is also produced in cooperation with the Federal Ministry of Education and Research originated. Although the information here is not as extensive, it is easier to understand - not only in terms of language, but also in terms of content. The page is called weltmaschine.de.

Have fun with particle physics!

-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Teilchenbeschleuniger LHC im CERN: 360° Video zeigt die Urknall-Maschine im Rundum-Blick

360 video lhc cern bbc 2016

Nicht erst seit Casey Neistat ein 360° Video von den Oscars, bei denen Leonardo DiCaprio endlich eine Ministatue bekommen hat, postete wissen wir, dass diese Art der interaktiven Videos der neuste Trend auf YouTube ist. Neben einigen lustigen Spielereien gibt es allerdings noch ein paar richtig informative Videos mit 360° Funktion auf der Videoplattform, bei denen man auch noch etwas lernen kann. Ein Beispiel ist ein Video des Channels BBC News. Hier gibt es Infos sowie einen Rundum-Blick im Teilchenbeschleuniger LHC (Large Hadron Collider) des Europäischen Kernforschungszentrums CERN.

Step inside the Large Hadron Collider (360 video) – BBC News

Das ist der Titel des Videos, in dem wir zuerst jene Stelle der Röhren sehen, an denen die Teilchen mit nahezu Lichtgeschwindigkeit aufeinander treffen. Dann gibt es einen Rundgang in einem Abschnitt der 27 Kilometer langen Tunnel. Anschließend kommen wir zurück zum Ausgangspunkt und werden mit einer Hebebühne zu den Tunnels und den Sensoren gebracht, welche die Auswirkungen des Experiments messen. Die wichtigsten Infos aus dem Off werden nochmals als Text angezeigt – aber nur an einer bestimmten Stelle. Wer sich also immerzu umsieht, der verpasst die Anmerkungen 😉

Kleiner Tipp: Die Navigation mit der Maus ist etwas ruppig. Flüssiger läuft das Drehen des Bildes, wenn ihr die Tasten WASD verwendet – so wie bei der Steuerung in einem Videospiel. Am besten ist natürlich die Verwendung eines Smartphones respektive einer VR Brille.

Populäre Dokumentationen zum LHC im CERN bei Genf

Ebenfalls in Kooperation mit BBC ist die NOVA-Dokumentation „Big Bang Machine“ entstanden. Diese stammt vornehmlich aus dem Jahr 2012 und wurde mit Material aus dem Jahr 2015 erweitert. Diese Doku könnt ihr ebenfalls auf YouTube anschauen. Auch hier ein kleiner Hinweis: die Gesamtlänge des Videos von 1:04:46 stimmt nicht. Die Doku ist nach rund 45 Minuten zu Ende und wird dann wiederholt – das ist leider ein Trend von Doku-Kanälen auf YouTube, mit dem die Videos künstlich länger und damit interessanter für potentielle Viewer gemacht werden sollen.

Samsung Gear 360 Rundum-Kamera

Mit der Samsung Gear 360 Rundum-Kamera schießt ihr Fotos und Videos mit 360 Grad oder 180 Grad Weitwinkel; Bild: Samsung.com; Details und Preis: hier

Wer lieber eine deutsche Doku vom ZDF sehen möchte, der kann dies ebenfalls auf der populärsten Videoplattform im Netz tun. Die Berichterstattung, welche 2011 für die Sendung „abenteuer wissen“ produziert wurde, ist zwar schon ein bisschen veraltet und ein bisschen sehr populärwissenschaftlich; sie gibt aber deutschsprachigen Zuschauern einen recht guten Einblick in den LHC sowie in die Experimente des CERN. Zur Doku kommt ihr durch diesen Link.

Aktuelle Infos vom CERN und zu den Experimenten

Die aktuellsten Informationen zu den einzelnen Projekten bekommt ihr in englischer und französischer Sprache auf der offiziellen Webseite des CERN. In deutscher Sprache gibt es ebenfalls eine Seite, die zudem in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung entstanden ist. Zwar sind die Infos hier nicht so umfangreich, dafür aber leichter verständlich – nicht nur von der Sprache, sondern auch vom Inhaltlichen her. Die Seite heißt weltmaschine.de.

Viel Spaß mit der Teilchenphysik!

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.