Profile iMovie_27_Sep - What is it and can I delete it?

If you look in the system settings on your Apple Mac with the current operating system (Catalina, Big Sur, etc.), you might notice the (new) item “Profiles”. If you click on it, you might even find a profile with the name iMovie_27_Sep. What is that? And can you just delete it? I will answer this question for you in this guide. A small note in advance: Yes, the innovation comes with an update of the iMovie App by Apple ;)

In the macOS system settings on the Mac, iMac or MacBook have you found the item Profiles and in it iMovie_27_Sep? That's not bad, you can simply delete the provisioning profile.

In the macOS system settings on the Mac, iMac or MacBook have you found the item Profiles and in it iMovie_27_Sep? That's not bad, you can simply delete the provisioning profile.

Apple Mac: What is the iMovie_27_Sep Provisioning Profile?

If you click in the Mac System Preferences on “Profiles”, you will see the name iMovie_27_Sep in the left list under the heading “Provisioning Profiles”. Probably with a modified App Store icon and the expiry date 22.09.38/2020/2021. The profile should have been created in XNUMX and received by your Mac in March XNUMX. The program name associated with it is Xcode Mac App ID comapple iMovieApp. And that already gives an indication of the origin of the profile.

Because it is a developer profile that is actually not made for regular users. Apple seemingly forgot to take it out of the last iMovie update. This means that you have not been hacked or given a new, hidden account by malware. It's just that a developer profile was supplied for the macOS video editing program iMovie, where it shouldn't actually be. Hence the team name Apple Inc. - Video Apps Engineering. 

Remove iMovie_27_Sep profile: Here's how!

So if you're not a developer, you can easily remove iMovie_27_Sep from your Mac. To delete the provisioning profile, you select it under Mac menu -> System settings ... -> Profile click on the minus symbol below the list and confirm your plan with the remove button. Then you probably have to enter your password, confirm it, and the profile is gone. If you don't have another one, the corresponding selection in the system settings disappears.

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .