MacBook Pro sale or transfer: Delete the Touch Bar separately beforehand!

Mac reset step by step guide

Before selling or passing on the Apple MacBook Pro, you should consider a few things and not only disconnect user accounts, empty the memory and reinstall macOS, but also delete the data on the Touch Bar. According to Apple, there are a total of 7 steps that you should follow if you want to sell or give away your Mac. I would like to go into detail here on deleting the Touch Bar.

If you want to sell or give away your Apple MacBook Pro, you should also delete the Touch Bar (or empty the Secure Enclave). Instructions and further steps to make Mac flat can be found here.

If you want to sell or give away your Apple MacBook Pro, you should also delete the Touch Bar (or empty the Secure Enclave). Instructions and further steps to make Mac flat can be found here.

Prepare your Mac for sale or transfer

If you want to sell your Mac, iMac or MacBook as used goods or pass it on to family / friends, then you should reset the device beforehand. Apple has one for this Instructions published, which also describes the procedure for the MacBook Pro. Here is a summary of the individual steps:

  1. A Backup draw up
  2. Sign out of iTunes
  3. Sign out of iCloud
  4. Sign out of iMessage
  5. Unpair paired Bluetooth devices (optional)
  6. Erase data on a MacBook Pro with Touch Bar
  7. delete macOS and reinstall

Steps 5 and 6 were only added as intermediate steps in mid-October 2017. Unpairing Bluetooth devices is not mandatory, but a good step in handing over / selling your Mac as tidily as possible. The separate deletion of the Touch Bar on the Apple MacBook Pro is necessary because some private settings and especially the Touch ID (mathematical equivalent of your fingerprint) are saved separately - keyword: Secure Enclave.

Erase MacBook Pro Touch Bar

So it is very important to follow the steps outlined above to decouple user accounts and delete personal data. To delete the Touch Bar of the MacBook Pro, proceed as follows:

  • Start macOS recovery: After switching on / restarting ⌘ + R
  • Window macOS utilities is displayed; in the menu bar Utilities -> Port choose
  • Enter this command in the terminal: xartutil --erase-all
  • Press enter and the question if you are sure with yes answer and press enter again
  • To complete this step Port -> Exit terminal choose

Questions and Answers

I have linked the official Apple support pages to you here in the post. So if you have any further questions about how to proceed, you can click there. If you have any other questions or need help getting your Mac ready for sale or distribution, either write a comment on this page or use it the contact form.

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.