Turn off or shorten macOS screenshot preview

Since macOS 10.14 Mojave Screenshots that are created, for example, with the keyboard shortcut cmd + Shift + 3 on the Mac, are displayed as a preview at the bottom right of the screen. If you click on the small picture, you jump directly into the editing of the graphic in order to be able to add comments, make markings or make other adjustments. Maybe you don't want that at all and want to turn off the macOS screenshot preview. For this - as well as for shortening the preview and the time it takes to save the image on the desktop or the assigned target folder - I have compiled instructions for each of the following.

Do you want to switch off or shorten the macOS screenshot preview on your Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook? You can find the appropriate step-by-step instructions here;)

Do you want to switch off or shorten the macOS screenshot preview on your Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook? You can find the appropriate step-by-step instructions here;)

Mac Screenshot Preview - Disable the screenshot thumbnail

The miniature display from iOS on the iPhone, iPod touch and iPad for marking, individual saving and sharing is practical if you want to treat each screenshot individually. But if the workflow is already defined and you just want to save new screenshots, then the preview at the bottom right is of course annoying. Especially since the automatic saving is only realized when the preview has disappeared - so it can take several seconds before the Mac screenshot is even available as a file. 

Therefore, here are the instructions for deactivating the screenshot thumbnail under macOS, which also speeds up saving:

  1. Opens with cmd + Shift + 5 (⌘ + ⇧ + 5) the screenshot app
  2. Click on the menu called Options
  3. Removes the checkmark from Show floating miniature
  4. Exits the app with Escape (esc) 
  5. Screenshots are now sent via cmd + Shift + 3 (⌘ + ⇧ + 3) saved directly
You can make several settings using the screenshot app of the operating system.

You can make several settings using the screenshot app of the operating system.

Manually shorten macOS screenshot previews

Of course, it can also be the other way around: you actually want to edit each screenshot individually and therefore like to use the preview function. Only here and there do you want to save the Mac screenshot directly without editing it or sharing it with others. Here you can use the same procedure that also ends the thumbnail view on the iPhone and iPad: simply swipe the small image to the side. This is very easy by holding it down with the mouse or trackpad and dragging it to the right edge of the display and then releasing the mouse button or the trackpad. The recording will be saved.

Save Mac screenshots to desktop, folder, or Dropbox

If you make a screen recording using command + Shift + 3, command + Shift + 4 or command + Shift + 5, it is usually saved automatically - with or without a previous mini-display. (When using the above-mentioned macOS app for individual recording, after setting the recording area, you can also press command + c (⌘ + c) to place the section on the clipboard and paste it into Photoshop, Affinity Photo or the like.) In order to put the picture not on the desk, but in its own folder, you proceed as follows:

  1. Opens with cmd + Shift + 5 (⌘ + ⇧ + 5) the screenshot app
  2. Click on the menu called Options
  3. Choose in the Back up under Overview of a storage location
  4. By clicking on Different location ... you can choose an individual folder
  5. Clouds integrated in the Finder (iCloud, Dropbox, Google Drive, etc.) can also be selected

If you want to put screenshots in the Dropbox folder, there is also a simpler procedure via the menu bar icon. Just click on that Dropbox icon in the macOS menu bar, then click the Gear and on Settings .... In the tab Import then put the tick next to it Share screenshots in Dropbox. This deactivates the actual storage location and sets the Dropbox folder as the storage location.

Whether it's a screenshot miniature or not - you can automatically save the picture in the Dropbox or on another service.

Whether it's a screenshot miniature or not - you can automatically save the picture in the Dropbox or on another service.

More information and instructions: Apple Support

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

1 comment

  1. Thomas D says:

    learned something again :-)
    thank you

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .