Have Google location data and web history automatically deleted on a regular basis

In addition to manual removal, immediate storage and complete objection to the data collection by Google, users will soon also be able to set periods for automatic deletion. If you want to have your Google location data and web history automatically deleted on a regular basis, you can choose between periods of three or 18 months. Each user can set this individually in the settings of his Google account. Google points this out in one in-house blog post to the "auto-delete controls for your location history and activity data".

Let Google automatically delete location data and web history on a regular basis - this is what Google promises in a blog post. It is not yet clear whether and when the feature will come to Germany.

Let Google automatically delete location data and web history on a regular basis - this is what Google promises in a blog post. It is not yet clear whether and when the feature will come to Germany.

Google Account: Automatically delete location, web and app data

The feature is not yet available for end users and their Google account. The post linked above in the Google blog only shows what will be made possible in the future. At least in the USA, users can expect the option to be introduced in the coming weeks. It is not entirely clear whether it will go live at the same time in other countries, for example in Germany. As soon as you can use them, however, this should be possible in the account settings under "Web & App Activities". You can already now in the Google app or under https://myactivity.google.com make various settings, delete histories or prevent data recording.

"Delete activities after" - already a useful feature

If you open the overview of your Google account with the link above, then you can select the item in the menu on the left Delete activities after choose. Search queries, assistant or maps data, news and much more can now be deleted on the page called up. A date or several dates can be specified as a time span in order to remove certain search and activity phases. If you go back to the start page, you can also select the item on the left in the menu Activity settings click or tap. On this page you can set whether the following things should be saved or not:

  • Web and app activities
  • Location history
  • Device information
  • Voice & audio activities
  • YouTube search history
  • YouTube watch history
-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .