Upgrade to macOS High Sierra: Deactivate / hide update notification

If you currently use an Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook, but these computers are not running on macOS 10.13 High Sierra (Apple side) want to upgrade, then it may be that you will still see a message about it again and again. As a display on the desk and in the notification center, there is always an update notice for the installation of macOS High Sierra. This can be annoying every time, especially when restarting. Here you can find out how you can deactivate or hide the annoying update notices.

I already have macOS 10.13 High Sierra installed. If you don't want to install it and also want to hide Apple's memories, then you've come to the right place.

I already have macOS 10.13 High Sierra installed. If you don't want to install it and also want to hide Apple's memories, then you've come to the right place.

Automatic update search and information about High Sierra

If you have made sure in the Mac system preferences that updates for the Mac OS X or macOS operating system are searched for and downloaded automatically, you will also receive corresponding messages. The Apple update notices appear on Mac startup, restart, and so on. But if you don't want to update, then they can be quite annoying. In addition, the information about the macOS upgrade to version 10.13 (currently 10.13.2) is also displayed on computers that are not from Apple itself recommended for it - such as on the iMac 2015 with Fusion Drive. The only remedy is to deactivate the information.

Hide messages in the Mac App Store

If you deactivate the update notifications and do not want to hear anything from macOS High Sierra, then you can use the Mac App Store. Just click on the notification Details (right under the InstallField) to go to the corresponding page. In the overview of the current updates, the system upgrade is presented to you graphically at the top. If you click on the banner while holding down the control key (ctrl or ctrl), the option appears Hide updates. Click on it to confirm exactly that. You have already deactivated the annoying update notes.

In the High Sierra banner of the Mac App Store you use this combination to call up the field to "hide updates".

In the High Sierra banner of the Mac App Store you use this combination to call up the field to "hide updates".

macOS 10.13 does not load (anymore) in the background

If you have not yet observed the problem described, but want to prevent it on an older system, you should go to the system settings under App Store the checkmark at Load newly available updates in the background remove. Because even on older Apple computers that are not intended / recommended for the upgrade to High Sierra, the corresponding data is partially loaded.

In the system settings you can activate and deactivate the automatic loading of updates.

In the system settings you can activate and deactivate the automatic loading of updates.

-
 

3 comments

  1. T says:

    Hello, one question: I have successfully downloaded the upgrade to High Sierra, which is also confirmed in the App Store, but OS X Yosemite 10.10.5 is still displayed under "About this mac", even after several reboots, as if it had upgrade does not work. Can anyone explain to me? Thanks in advance and best regards!

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello T! When you've loaded it, it's usually in the Applications folder. I believe by the name of "macOS High Sierra Installer.dmg". Normally it starts automatically, but maybe it didn't work right for you. Have a look to see if you can find the file in the Applications folder. If not, you have to reload it again ... normally nothing goes wrong. VG! Jens

  2. T says:

    Thank you Jens! It is exactly the same, it was hidden there. VG, T.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .