Safety Check from iOS 16: Protection against tracking by people with digital access

At the beginning of June, Apple as part of the WWDC22 keynote various new operating systems and their functions are shown. Among them was iOS 16 for the iPhone, its new Lock Screen Customizations arguably the biggest change. But what impressed me personally even more - both as a feature and in the presentation of the same - was that Safety Check. This iOS feature can help strengthen personal security by quickly and easily removing access rights and location sharing for others. This is e.g. It makes sense, for example, if violent partners have this access and it is necessary to break away from them.

With the Safety Check as a data protection tool on the iPhone, iOS 16 makes it possible to quickly and easily manage shared access rights for apps and people. So you can z. B. Stop surveillance by violent partners.

With the Safety Check as a data protection tool on the iPhone, iOS 16 makes it possible to quickly and easily manage shared access rights for apps and people. So you can z. B. Stop surveillance by violent partners.

Safety Check on the iPhone – data protection tool usable from iOS 16

"The new data protection tool Safety Check can help users if personal safety is at risk due to violence by a partner or intimate partner“, It says in the press release Apple's on the new features in iOS 16. With the security option, it becomes possible to quickly remove access to data and content by apps and people. "In an emergency, settings can be reset"It goes on to say. As a result, you'll sign out of iCloud on all devices except the one in your hand, reset your privacy permissions, and only send and receive messages on the existing device.

In an emergency, you can reset all access and thus limit data traffic to the device in your own hands. However, all access rights can also be listed and managed individually. The other people are not notified, but can of course notice that their access rights have been revoked.

In an emergency, you can reset all access and thus limit data traffic to the device in your own hands. However, all access rights can also be listed and managed individually. The other people are not notified, but can of course notice that their access rights have been revoked.

Safety Check provides an overview of authorized apps and people

"It also allows users to better understand and manage which people and apps they have given access to“, is what the press release linked above finally says about the safety check on the iPhone from iOS 16. So it’s not just a function that can be used in an emergency. It helps to keep track. Who has been given a location release? Which app can access which content? Which contact may see which data? These questions can be answered and the individual rights can then be individually adjusted or revoked. For this purpose I recommend this article: Is my iPhone compatible with iOS 16?

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.