YouTube: What is the difference between “Public”, “Not Listed” and “Private”?

If you don't know him yet, then I would like to give you the one with this guide post Sir Apfelot YouTube Channel to introduce. I recently wanted to upload a video for a customer with this and got stuck in the upload dialog on the settings for the visibility of the video. If, like me at first, you are wondering what the YouTube settings “Public”, “Not listed” and “Private” are all about, then you have come to the right place. With the following explanations, you should have enough information on how to upload videos for everyone, for selected people, and just for you.

Public, Unlisted, Private or Scheduled - what to choose when uploading a video to YouTube? Here you will find explanations of the settings!

Public, Unlisted, Private or Scheduled - what to choose when uploading a video to YouTube? Here you will find explanations of the settings!

YouTube - Public, Private, and Unlisted

You can put it under the big topic of data protection if you want, although uploading videos to a Google platform may not be the best step towards data protection: D As an alternative to data protection settings, you should perhaps use the above options rather than settings for View the visibility of the video. Because this is exactly the answer to this question: Who can see the YouTube video I uploaded? If you have already decided for yourself whether the video is only intended for you, also for selected third parties or for the whole world, then you are only one click away from the corresponding visibility setting.

Public - (almost) everyone can see your video

Since you are currently reading a guide to basic settings for uploading a YouTube video, I assume that you have not yet dealt with country restrictions and publications for certain regions. That shouldn't be an issue here either. Without these restrictions, “public” means that anyone can watch your video. The user of YouTube can get to the video through the direct link, by chance, by displaying your video in the proposed content, by subscribing to your channel, by doing a Google search and so on.

Not listed - Your video can be seen by selected people

And these people are chosen by you yourself. Because "not listed" means for a YouTube video that both you (registered or with a link) and users to whom you give the direct link to the video can access the video. There are no other ways to access it - the video is not suggested by YouTube as a "similar video" and does not appear in the subscription box of your subscribers. This visibility setting is the right one to share a video with selected people if you don't want to give them access (email address and password) to your account.

Private - Access is only possible with your account

If you do not share your login data with anyone, only you have access to the uploaded video that is registered with "Private". If you want to show a video to another person, you have to be logged in. If this person is to be able to access the video from their own location, then you have to give them your login data. This may still work within the family or in close circle of friends as well as among colleagues (possibly with corresponding contracts / agreements for work). But if you want to show strangers a video that you have uploaded to YouTube, then rather set the visibility to "Not listed";)

What does "Planned" mean in the YouTube video upload?

In addition to the three options described above for data protection and the visibility of a video on YouTube, there is also the "Planned" option. Similar to a WordPress post or a Facebook post on a Like page, this means that although you upload the video now, it will only be made available to the public at the selected time. In this way, regular uploads can be carried out at fixed times, for example to publish recurring formats. So if you want to provide a video for your subscribers every Monday at 9:00 a.m., you don't have to upload it on Monday morning to ensure that it is published on time, but can have it scheduled for the weekend.

Even before the video upload, i.e. before selecting the file to be uploaded, you can choose between “Public”, “Not listed”, “Private” and “Planned” on YouTube.

Even before the video upload, i.e. before selecting the file to be uploaded, you can choose between “Public”, “Not listed”, “Private” and “Planned” on YouTube.

Your questions about YouTube settings

Do you still have a question about settings and video uploads on YouTube? Then please leave a comment on the topic. I also like to read your opinion and your experiences in this area. You are also welcome to give your opinion under the corresponding post YouTube Kids let there ;)

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .