Hacking - this is how you make your world easier ...

By hacking I mean improving and simplifying things. This can be the handling of programs or the improvement of hardware by making changes to it that the manufacturer has not actually intended.

For me, hacking has nothing to do with malicious attempts to break into any computer, it is just a word for cleverly altering existing things.

If you also have some good hacks in store, feel free to send them to me.


5. December 2013
Delete Apple Mail files

Rebuild the Apple Mail database under OS X Mavericks to macOS Catalina

For a few days now, I've been struggling with Apple's mail program, which closes after a few seconds after it starts. The Apple Support has not been able to help me so far and gave me a support ticket for [...]
18. November 2013
ICO plugin for Photoshop

Export favicon to Photoshop

Since I occasionally create WordPress websites for customers, there comes a point at which a favicon.ico also has to be saved. Unfortunately, my Adobe Phtotoshop CS5 does not offer this by default, which I [...]
15. November 2013
Restore Open Office window dialog

OpenOffice message "Restore window" got away

I just had to get a Windows Doc in .odt format again. When I opened OpenOffice, however, the message "When trying to restore the program window, the OpenOffice.org program terminated unexpectedly. Would you like [...]
12. November 2013
Export Firefox bookmarks

Instructions: Import Firefox bookmarks into Safari

After yesterday my Firefox was mucking all day and sometimes loaded for minutes on websites that were there in Safari in 10 seconds, today I decided to use Safari again as the default browser [...]
7. November 2013
Install OS X Mavericks

Maverick's problems: OS X 10.9.1 is eagerly awaited

Update December 17.12.2013th, 10.9.1: In the meantime, OS X XNUMX has been released, but unfortunately I have to say that it didn't help me much. My Photoshop still has the disappearing text problem and a reader reported to me that [...]
1. November 2013
os-x-mavericks-usb-stick

OS X Mavericks

The Mac OS X Mavericks operating system has version number 10.9. After the many versions with names of big cats, it is the first update that has now been given a different name. The future OS X versions will [...]
30. October 2013
Install OS X Mavericks

Instructions: Create a bootable USB stick for the Mavericks installation

The latest version of OS X is called Mavericks. In contrast to earlier OS X systems, there is no longer any possibility to order a [USB stick-> usb stick] with the system from Apple. That means you load [...]
4. September 2013
Week numbers in iCal

Week numbers in the Mac OS X calendar

I have just received another request from a customer whether I would have time in week 38 to make an appointment. So on to the Mac calendar (which is no longer iCal [...]
23. August 2013
iWork in iCloud

Pages, Number and Keynote are now in the cloud

You can still find the symbols of Pages, Numbers and Keynote with a thick yellow "BETA" banderole, but at least all [iCloud users-> icloud] can now try out this web software. This free Office Light version from Apple should work with the [...]
25 JULY 2013
Security programs antivirus

OSX.Janicab.A ... and there is malware on the Mac

I am a big advocate of the theory that you don't need a [virus scanner-> virus scanner-mac] on a Mac, because nothing runs on it anyway that comes in viruses, because mostly it is .exe files that are directly for [... ]

Hacking – so machst du dir die Welt einfacher…

Unter Hacking verstehe ich das Verbessern und Vereinfachen von irgendwelchen Dingen. Das kann der Umgang mit Programmen sein oder auch die Verbesserung von Hardware, indem man irgendwelche Änderungen daran vornimmt, die der Hersteller eigentlich nicht vorgesehen hat.

Für mich hat Hacken nichts mit bösartigen Versuchen zu tun, irgendwelche Computer zu knacken, sondern ist nur ein Wort für cleveres Verändern von vorhandenen Dingen.

Wenn du auch ein paar gute Hacks auf Lager hast, kannst du sie mir gerne schicken.


15. November 2013
Open Office Fenster wiederherstellen Dialog

OpenOffice Meldung "Fenster wiederherstellen" weg bekommen

Eben musste ich mal wieder ein Windows-Doc ins .odt Format bekommen. Als ich OpenOffice geöffnet habe, hat es mich allerdings mit der Meldung "Beim Versuch, die Programmfenster wiederherzustellen, wurde das Programm OpenOffice.org unerwartet beendet. Möchten […]
12. November 2013
Firefox Lesezeichen exportieren

Anleitung: Firefox Lesezeichen in Safari importieren

Nachdem gestern mein Firefox den ganzen Tag nur Mucken gemacht hat und teilweise minutenlang an Webseiten geladen hat, die im Safari in 10 Sekunden da waren, habe ich heute beschlossen wieder mal Safari als Standard-Browser […]
7. November 2013
OS X Mavericks installieren

Mavericks Probleme: OS X 10.9.1 wird sehnlichst erwartet

Update 17.12.2013: Mittlerweile ist OS X 10.9.1 erschienen, aber ich muss leider sagen, es hat bei mir wenig geholfen. Mein Photoshop hat immernoch das Problem mit dem verschwindenden Text und ein Leser hat mir berichtet, […]
1. November 2013
os-x-mavericks-usb-stick

OS X Mavericks

Das Betriebssystem Mac OS X Mavericks hat die Versionsnummer 10.9. Es ist nach den vielen Versionen mit Namen von Raubkatzen das erste Update, dass nun einer anderen Namensgebung folgt. Die zukünftigen OS X Versionen werden […]
30. Oktober 2013
OS X Mavericks installieren

Anleitung: Bootfähiger USB-Stick für die Mavericks-Installation erstellen

Die neueste Version von OS X heißt Mavericks. Im Gegensatz zu früheren OS X Systemen gibt es hier auch keine Möglichkeit mehr, einen [USB-Stick->usb-stick] mit dem System bei Apple zu bestellen. Das heißt, man läd […]
4. September 2013
Wochenzahlen in iCal

Wochenzahlen im Kalender von Mac OS X

Eben bekomme ich mal wieder eine Anfrage von einem Kunden, ob ich in der KW 38 Zeit hätte, mal einen Termin zu machen. Also auf in den Mac Kalender (der ja nun nicht mehr iCal […]
23. August 2013
iWork in iCloud

Pages, Number und Keynote ist nun in der Wolke

Zwar findet man die Symbole von Pages, Numbers und Keynote immernoch mit einer dicken gelben "BETA" Banderole, aber immerhin können nun alle [iCloud-Benutzer->icloud] diese Websoftware ausprobieren. Funktionieren soll diese kostenlose Office-Light-Version von Apple mit den […]
25. Juli 2013
Sicherheitsprogramme Antivirus

OSX.Janicab.A… und es gibt doch Malware auf dem Mac

Ich bin ja ein grosser Verfechter der Theorie, dass man am Mac keinen [Virenscanner->virenscanner-mac] benötigt, weil da sowieso nix drauf läuft, was an Viren reinkommt, denn meistens sind es ja .exe Dateien, die direkt für […]
22. April 2013
Icon frag Sir Apfelot

Lösung: Time Machine Fehler "Image des Sparsbundle Volume wird bereits verwendet"

Ich bin ja von Natur aus faul und aus dem Grund auch begeisterter Nutzer von Time Machine und der Time Capsule von Apple sowie vom Online-Backup-Dienst Backblaze. Dieses Trio kümmert sich im Hintergrund um das […]
25. März 2013
AVCHD Import in Final Cut Pro X

Import von AVCHD Filmen aus der Sony CX730 in Final Cut Pro X am Mac

Nachdem ich vor einigen Tagen bald verzweifelt bin, weil ich einen 50p Filme von meiner [Sony CX730 E->sony-cx730] in Final Cut Pro X am Mac importieren wollte und es irgendwie nicht klappen wollte, habe ich […]