APFS Volume

Sir Apfelot Blog


16 November 2020

Install macOS Big Sur and Catalina in parallel without a partition

Thanks to the APFS file system, it is very easy on the Apple Mac to install two operating systems in parallel on one hard drive - and that without partitions. In the past, hard disks had to be broken down into individual virtual parts (partitions), then [...]
29 July 2020

What is the Macintosh HD Data volume doing on my hard drive?

As of macOS 10.15 Catalina with the APFS file system, the hard drive of the Apple Mac is divided into “Macintosh HD” and “Macintosh HD data” by default. The two volumes have different properties that can be changed without further insight into [...]
3 January 2020

Delete APFS volume - you have to pay attention to this!

An APFS volume can be a useful alternative to a partition in macOS versions that run under Apple's own file system. Because where a partition occupies a fixed storage space, an APFS volume is flexible and only gets [...]
18 November 2019

Using 32-bit apps under macOS Catalina: Here's how!

With Apple's Mac operating system macOS 10.15 Catalina, only 64-bit apps can be used. Software with 32-bit architecture can no longer be used by default. However, there are one or two tricks, thanks to which the "old" apps always [...]
28 October 2019

Mac: APFS volume or partition - their advantages and disadvantages

In order to test current beta versions or to install two different macOS editions in parallel, you can create APFS volumes on the Mac hard drive instead of creating partitions. The advantage is that the partition takes up as much space as [...]
11 October 2019

Install macOS Catalina without a partition parallel to Mojave

Install the new macOS Catalina without having to forego Mojave (or High Sierra)? That sounds absurd at first, but it isn't at all. Because you can use both operating systems on your Apple Mac in parallel on [...]

APFS Volume

Sir Apfelot Blog


29. Juli 2020

Was macht das Volume „Macintosh HD Daten“ auf meiner Festplatte?

Ab macOS 10.15 Catalina mit dem Dateisystem APFS wird die Festplatte des Apple Mac standardmäßig in „Macintosh HD“ und „Macintosh HD Daten“ aufgeteilt. Die beiden Volumes haben verschiedene Eigenschaften, die sich ohne weiteren Einblick in die Materie wahrscheinlich nicht sofort…
3. Januar 2020

APFS Volume löschen – Darauf müsst ihr achten!

Ein APFS Volume kann in macOS-Versionen, die unter dem Apple-eigenen Dateisystem laufen, eine brauchbare Alternative zur Partition sein. Denn wo eine Partition einen festen Speicherplatz belegt, da ist ein APFS Volume flexibel und bekommt nur den Platz, den es auch…
18. November 2019

32-Bit-Apps unter macOS Catalina nutzen: So geht’s!

Unter Apples Mac-Betriebssystem macOS 10.15 Catalina können nur noch 64-Bit-App genutzt werden. Software mit 32-Bit-Architektur lassen sich von Haus aus nicht mehr nutzen. Jedoch gibt es ein-zwei Tricks, dank derer sich die „alten“ Apps immer noch verwenden lassen – auch…
28. Oktober 2019

Mac: APFS Volume oder Partition – Ihre Vor- und Nachteile

Um aktuelle Beta-Versionen zu testen oder zwei unterschiedliche macOS-Ausgaben parallel zu installieren, kann man auf der Mac-Festplatte APFS Volumes erstellen statt Partitionen anzulegen. Der Vorteil ist, dass sich die Partition so viel Platz nimmt wie sie eben benötigt, und man…
11. Oktober 2019

macOS Catalina ohne Partition parallel zu Mojave installieren

Das neue macOS Catalina installieren, ohne dadurch auf Mojave (oder High Sierra) verzichten zu müssen? Das klingt erstmal abwegig, ist es aber gar nicht. Denn ihr könnt an eurem Apple Mac beide Betriebssysteme parallel auf der Festplatte installieren und mit…