Backblaze

Sir Apfelot Blog


11th of June 2021

Backup trends: data loss figures, backup frequency and more

A backup on Mac, PC and mobile devices such as the iPhone secures data in the event that it is lost due to a hardware failure, a virus or ransomware. Should the currently used memory [...]
4. October 2018
The online backup service Backblaze and macOS Mojave don't get along so well at first.

Backblaze and macOS Mojave - this is how the backup service works again!

Today I received an email from my favorite online backup service Backblaze, which informed me that my online backup is currently no longer running. Mojave's new security measures require user intervention as the [...]
8. November 2017
The best hard drives 2017 Q3 - 3TB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB, 10TB

Statistics of the best hard drives from Backblaze Q3 / 2017

Backblaze, a provider of online backups, publishes quarterly statistics on the hard drives used. The storage facilities are getting bigger and bigger, but also more and more reliable thanks to constantly updated checks as well as replacement and maintenance. Most recently, the online backup service provider [...]
11. September 2017

Hard drive failure statistics from Backblaze Q2 / 2017

Anyone who visits Sir-Apfelot.de more often or who has subscribed to the newsletter for a long time knows that the hard drive failure statistics from the backup service Backblaze are regularly scrutinized here. Last year I got a [...]
7. September 2017
Crash plan alternative for backing up data and files under macOS

CrashPlan alternative for Mac users: Backblaze as a new cloud backup service

At the end of August, Code42, the software company behind the CrashPlan backup service, removed offers for private users from its portfolio. The backup product CrashPlan for Home itself will then be completely discontinued from October 23, 2018. [...]
8th of June 2017

Study: The Most Reliable Hard Drives at Backblaze Online Backup Service

The most reliable hard drives for backing up data are chosen every year by Backblaze, a respected cloud service. Last year I presented you with an evaluation of the numbers up to Q1 2016: The best hard drives [...]
7th of June 2017

Data backup: backup copy as protection against ransomware

Anyone who regularly backs up their data, i.e. who outsources their files and folders as a backup copy, is more protected from ransomware and its influences than others. Here I would like to briefly show you how the topics of data backup [...]

BackBlaze

Sir Apfelot Blog


4. Oktober 2018
Der Online-Backup-Service Backblaze und macOS Mojave verstehen sich von Haus aus erstmal nicht so gut..

Backblaze und macOS Mojave – so läuft der Backup-Dienst wieder!

Heute trudelte bei mir eine Mail von meinem favorisierten Online-Backup-Service Backblaze ein, die mich darauf hinwies, dass mein Online-Backup aktuell nicht mehr läuft. Die neuen Sicherheitsvorkehrungen von Mojave erfordern ein Eingreifen des Benutzers, da das Backblaze-Programm nicht die nötige Erlaubnis…
8. November 2017
Die besten Festplatten 2017 Q3 - 3TB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB, 10TB

Statistik zu den besten Festplatten von Backblaze Q3/2017

Backblaze, ein Anbieter für Online-Backups, veröffentlicht quartalsweise Statistiken zu den genutzten Festplatten. Die Speicher werden dabei immer größer, durch stets aktuelle Überprüfungen sowie durch Austausch und Wartung aber auch immer zuverlässiger. Zuletzt wurden beim Online-Backup-Dienstleister Backblaze Festplatten mit 10TB und…
11. September 2017

Festplatten-Ausfall-Statistik von Backblaze Q2/2017

Wer öfter mal bei Sir-Apfelot.de vorbeischaut oder schon länger den Newsletter abonniert hat, weiß, dass hier auch immer mal wieder die Festplatten-Ausfall-Statistiken vom Backup-Service Backblaze unter die Lupe genommen werden. Letztes Jahr habe ich einen Blick auf die ausfallstärksten und…
7. September 2017
Crashplan Alternative für Backup von Daten und Dateien unter macOS

CrashPlan Alternative für Mac-User: Backblaze als neuer Cloud-Backup-Service

Ende August hat Code42, die Software-Schmiede hinter dem Backup-Service CrashPlan, die Angebote für private Nutzer aus dem Portfolio genommen. Das Backup-Produkt CrashPlan for Home selbst soll dann ab dem 23. Oktober 2018 komplett eingestellt werden. Wer sich angesichts dieser Meldung…
8. Juni 2017

Studie: Die zuverlässigsten Festplatten beim Online-Backup-Service Backblaze

Die zuverlässigsten Festplatten für das Backup von Daten werden jedes Jahr von Backblaze, einem angesehenen Cloud-Service, gekürt. Bereits letztes Jahr habe ich euch hier eine Auswertung der Zahlen bis Q1 2016 vorgestellt: Die besten Festplatten für das NAS oder anderes…
7. Juni 2017

Daten-Backup: Sicherungskopie als Schutz vor Ransomware

Wer regelmäßig ein Daten-Backup macht, seine Dateien und Ordner also als Sicherungskopie extern auslagert, der ist mehr vor Ransomware und ihren Einflüssen geschützt als andere. Hier möchte ich euch kurz aufzeigen, wie die Themen Datensicherung und Schutz vor Ransomware zusammengehören,…