Big Sur

Sir Apfelot Blog


19 August 2022

Strong recommendation: Update to Safari 15.6.1 on macOS Catalina and Big Sur

After I advised you yesterday to install the latest versions of macOS, iOS and iPadOS on compatible devices, today the Safari browser is on the agenda. The app has to run under […]
20 April 2021

Bartender 4 - Menu Bar Manager now available

After a long beta test phase, Surtees Studios rolled out the final version of Bartender 4 yesterday. Of course, the macOS tool is still being worked on to improve it, according to the official blog post on the topic. But […]
22 February 2021

[Solved] Catalina installer cannot be deleted from trash on macOS Big Sur

If you have placed a macOS installer in the trash of the Mac operating system and it cannot be deleted, you will find the right solution here. In addition to a few simple solutions, the last path - which leads to [...]
16 February 2021

Big Sur Upgrade: "Loss of data due to insufficient disk space" bug seems to have been resolved

Most recently, there was a warning for upgrade versions and betas of macOS 11 Big Sur if there was not enough space on the Mac hard drive. This is because the installer did not perform a hard drive check before the installation. The installation […]
6 January 2021

Instructions: If the macOS update aborts with errors

Sometimes it can happen that the macOS update aborts with errors. There are several reasons for this, but there are also as many solutions. In this guide you will find instructions so that you can solve the various problems quickly and easily [...]
25 December 2020

Sir Apfelot newsreel week 52, 2020

Ho ho ho! It's Christmas time and Friday too. And that's why you get a brand new Sir Apfelot newsreel under the tree today. This time I'll show you which Apple and tech news with [...]
20 November 2020

Big Sur on MacBook Pros from 2013/2014 - Apple offers support document

As pointed out on Tuesday, installing macOS Big Sur can wreck the 2013 and 2014 MacBook Pro models. Apple has now addressed this problem and published a corresponding support document. What you need to know [...]
19 November 2020

CrossOver for M1 Macs: Run Windows apps on Big Sur

Perhaps some of you already know the Wine Project (Wine for short), with which Windows programs can be used on macOS and Linux. The CrossOver software based on it now makes it possible to run computationally intensive Windows apps under macOS Big Sur [...]
19 November 2020

Mac models with M1: Recovery makes Apple computers unusable

The new Mac models with the M1 chip from Apple seem to have a massive gap in functionality. When you restore your Mac mini or MacBook Air / Pro, the device becomes unusable and only displays an error message. According to MacRumors, [...]
17 November 2020

ATTENTION: macOS Big Sur is wrecking old MacBook Pros!

Installing macOS 11.0 Big Sur can cause problems on the oldest of the supported MacBook models (from 2013 and 2014). This is reported by several sources with reference to user statements on various platforms such as Apple forums, Reddit, etc. [...]

Big Sur

Sir Apfelot Blog


22. Februar 2021

[Gelöst] Catalina-Installer lässt sich unter macOS Big Sur nicht aus dem Papierkorb löschen

Habt ihr einen macOS-Installer in den Papierkorb des Mac-Betriebssystems gelegt und kann dieser nicht gelöscht werden, findet ihr hier die passende Lösung. Neben ein paar einfachen Lösungsansätzen führt der letzte Weg – der auf jeden […]
16. Februar 2021

Big Sur Upgrade: „Datenverlust bei zu wenig Speicherplatz“-Bug scheint behoben

Zuletzt gab es für Upgrade-Versionen und Betas von macOS 11 Big Sur eine Warnung, falls zu wenig Speicherplatz auf der Mac-Festplatte vorhanden ist. Denn der Installer führte vor der Installation keine Festplattenprüfung durch. Die Installation […]
6. Januar 2021

Anleitung: Wenn das macOS-Update mit Fehlern abbricht

Manchmal kann es vorkommen, dass das macOS-Update mit Fehlern abbricht. Ursachen dafür gibt es einige, aber auch ebensoviele Lösungen. In diesem Ratgeber findet ihr je eine Anleitung, damit ihr die verschiedenen Probleme schnell und einfach […]
25. Dezember 2020

Sir Apfelot Wochenschau KW 52, 2020

Ho, ho, ho! Es ist Weihnachtszeit, und zudem Freitag. Und deshalb bekommt ihr auch heute eine nagelneue Sir Apfelot Wochenschau unter den Baum gelegt. Dieses Mal zeige ich euch auf, welche Apple- und Tech-News mit […]
20. November 2020

Big Sur auf MacBook Pros von 2013 / 2014 – Apple bietet Support-Dokument an

Wie am Dienstag aufgezeigt, kann die Installation von macOS Big Sur die MacBook-Pro-Modelle von 2013 und 2014 schrotten. Apple hat sich diesem Problem nun angenommen und ein entsprechendes Support-Dokument veröffentlicht. Was ihr dazu wissen müsst […]
19. November 2020

CrossOver für M1-Macs: Windows-Apps unter Big Sur ausführen

Vielleicht kennen einige von euch schon das Wine Project (kurz: Wine), mit dem sich Windows-Programme unter macOS und Linux nutzen lassen. Die darauf fußende CrossOver-Software macht es nun möglich, rechenintensive Windows-Apps unter macOS Big Sur […]
19. November 2020

Mac-Modelle mit M1: Wiederherstellung macht Apple-Computer unbrauchbar

Die neuen Mac-Modelle mit M1-Chip von Apple scheinen eine massive Funktionslücke aufzuweisen. Beim Wiederherstellen des Mac mini oder MacBook Air / Pro wird das Gerät unbrauchbar und zeigt nur eine Fehlermeldung an. Laut MacRumors lautet […]
17. November 2020

ACHTUNG: macOS Big Sur schrottet alte MacBook Pros!

Die Installation von macOS 11.0 Big Sur kann auf den ältesten der unterstützten MacBook-Modelle (von 2013 und 2014) Probleme verursachen. Das berichten mehrere Quellen mit Bezug auf Nutzer/innen-Aussagen auf verschiedenen Plattformen wie Apple-Foren, Reddit, etc. […]
16. November 2020

macOS Big Sur und Catalina ohne Partition parallel installieren

Dank dem Dateisystem APFS ist es am Apple Mac sehr leicht, zwei Betriebssysteme parallel auf einer Festplatte zu installieren – und das ohne Partitionen. Mussten früher Festplatten in virtuelle Einzelteile (Partitionen) zerlegt werden, da reicht […]
16. November 2020

Tragisch: DiskMaker-X-Ära mit macOS Big Sur beendet…

DiskMaker X war über Jahre das Go-To-Tool für alle, die schnell und einfach einen USB-Stick mit einem Mac OS X oder macOS Installer versehen wollten. Hier im Blog zum Beispiel an dieser Stelle vorgestellt, hat […]