Catalina

Sir Apfelot Blog


19 August 2022

Strong recommendation: Update to Safari 15.6.1 on macOS Catalina and Big Sur

After I advised you yesterday to install the latest versions of macOS, iOS and iPadOS on compatible devices, today the Safari browser is on the agenda. The app has to run under […]
6 January 2021

Instructions: If the macOS update aborts with errors

Sometimes it can happen that the macOS update aborts with errors. There are several reasons for this, but there are also as many solutions. In this guide you will find instructions so that you can solve the various problems quickly and easily [...]
16 November 2020

Install macOS Big Sur and Catalina in parallel without a partition

Thanks to the APFS file system, it is very easy on the Apple Mac to install two operating systems in parallel on one hard drive - and that without partitions. In the past, hard disks had to be broken down into individual virtual parts (partitions), then [...]
26 October 2020

[Solved] Mac detects HP printer drivers as malware

I heard from a reader that there may be problems with HP printers after updating to macOS 10.15.7. The Mac then recognizes the HP printer driver as malware and only throws warning messages and deletion requests. [...]
1 September 2020

In comparison: macOS Big Sur vs. macOS Catalina

The new Mac operating system macOS 11.0 Big Sur will appear soon. But what changes does it bring compared to macOS 10.15 Catalina? Where are known elements improved and where do you have to get used to it completely? These […]
4 August 2020

MacBook battery won't charge - message may be part of battery health management

At the beginning of June, Apple rolled out macOS 10.15.5 on compatible Mac models. The update for the operating system called Catalina brought, for example, the "battery status management" to newer MacBooks with Thunderbolt 3 ports. The function ensures that the [...]
5 June 2020

Use screen time on your Mac and monitor device usage

Just like on the iPhone or iPad, you can also use the screen time on the Apple Mac from macOS 10.15 Catalina to monitor and limit your device usage. In this little guide you will find a quick guide. [...]
28 October 2019

Mac: APFS volume or partition - their advantages and disadvantages

In order to test current beta versions or to install two different macOS editions in parallel, you can create APFS volumes on the Mac hard drive instead of creating partitions. The advantage is that the partition takes up as much space as [...]
24 October 2019

macOS Catalina upgrade won't finish? Updated installer solves the problem!

With the new Apple operating system macOS 10.15 Catalina, not only new functions but also problems came to the Mac for some users. Among other things, when setting up the new operating system or a new computer with Catalina, [...]
23 October 2019

Reader question: Mac no longer recognizes USB keyboard

After upgrading the Apple Mac to macOS 10.15 Catalina, there may be some problems, as you have probably already seen. A reader recently wrote to me and reported that after the [...]

Catalina

Sir Apfelot Blog


6. Januar 2021

Anleitung: Wenn das macOS-Update mit Fehlern abbricht

Manchmal kann es vorkommen, dass das macOS-Update mit Fehlern abbricht. Ursachen dafür gibt es einige, aber auch ebensoviele Lösungen. In diesem Ratgeber findet ihr je eine Anleitung, damit ihr die verschiedenen Probleme schnell und einfach […]
16. November 2020

macOS Big Sur und Catalina ohne Partition parallel installieren

Dank dem Dateisystem APFS ist es am Apple Mac sehr leicht, zwei Betriebssysteme parallel auf einer Festplatte zu installieren – und das ohne Partitionen. Mussten früher Festplatten in virtuelle Einzelteile (Partitionen) zerlegt werden, da reicht […]
26. Oktober 2020

[gelöst] Mac erkennt HP-Druckertreiber als Malware

Von einem Leser habe ich erfahren, dass es nach dem Update auf macOS 10.15.7 Probleme mit HP-Druckern geben kann. Der Mac erkennt den HP-Druckertreiber dann als Malware und wirft nur noch Warnmeldungen sowie Lösch-Aufforderungen aus. […]
1. September 2020

Im Vergleich: macOS Big Sur vs. macOS Catalina

Bald erscheint das neue Mac-Betriebssystem macOS 11.0 Big Sur. Doch welche Veränderungen bringt es im Vergleich zu macOS 10.15 Catalina? Wo gibt es Verbesserungen von bekannten Elementen und wo muss man sich komplett umgewöhnen? Diese […]
4. August 2020

MacBook Akku lädt nicht – Meldung kann Teil der Batteriezustandsverwaltung sein

Anfang Juni hat Apple macOS 10.15.5 auf kompatiblen Mac-Modellen ausgerollt. Das Update für das Catalina genannte Betriebssystem brachte zum Beispiel die „Batteriezustandsverwaltung“ auf neuere MacBooks mit Thunderbolt 3 Ports. Die Funktion sorgt dafür, dass der […]
5. Juni 2020

Bildschirmzeit am Mac nutzen und Geräte-Verwendung überwachen

Genauso wie am iPhone oder iPad könnt ihr auch am Apple Mac ab macOS 10.15 Catalina die Bildschirmzeit nutzen, um eure Geräte-Nutzung zu überwachen und zu beschränken. In diesem kleinen Ratgeber findet ihr eine Kurzanleitung. […]
28. Oktober 2019

Mac: APFS Volume oder Partition – Ihre Vor- und Nachteile

Um aktuelle Beta-Versionen zu testen oder zwei unterschiedliche macOS-Ausgaben parallel zu installieren, kann man auf der Mac-Festplatte APFS Volumes erstellen statt Partitionen anzulegen. Der Vorteil ist, dass sich die Partition so viel Platz nimmt wie […]
24. Oktober 2019

macOS-Catalina-Upgrade wird nicht fertig? Aktualisierter Installer löst das Problem!

Mit dem neuen Apple-Betriebssystem macOS 10.15 Catalina kamen bei einigen Nutzer/innen nicht nur neue Funktionen, sondern auch Probleme auf den Mac. Unter anderem beim Einrichten des neuen Betriebssystems respektive eines neuen Computers mit Catalina ist […]
23. Oktober 2019

Leserfrage: Mac erkennt USB-Tastatur nicht mehr

Nach dem Upgrade des Apple Mac auf macOS 10.15 Catalina kann es einige Probleme geben, wie ihr sicher schon gesehen habt. Nun hat mich kürzlich ein Leser angeschrieben und gemeldet, dass bei ihm nach der […]
15. Oktober 2019

Catalina-Problem: Mail kann E-Mails und Daten beim macOS-Upgrade verlieren

Falls ihr noch vor dem Upgrade eures Mac auf macOS 10.15 Catalina steht, solltet ihr in Vorbereitung dessen auf jeden Fall ein Backup machen. Denn beim Aktualisieren eures Apple Mac auf das neue Betriebssystem kann […]