M1 chip

Sir Apfelot Blog


3. August 2021

A dead M1 MacBook Air and what you can learn from it

No technical device, no matter how well made, is immune from having a defect and from now on stop working. A story by Tan Han Wei at Medium shows this very clearly [...]
April 20, 2021

Bartender 4 - Menu Bar Manager now available

After a long beta test phase, Surtees Studios rolled out the final version of Bartender 4 yesterday. Of course, the macOS tool is still being worked on to improve it, according to the official blog post on the topic. But […]
18. February 2021

M1 Malware - New Macs have been hit by native malware

In the “Objective-See” blog I found a message that could be of interest to anyone who uses an M1 Mac with the new Apple Silicon instead of an Intel processor. Because for the M1 chip it now appears that the first native malware [...]
19. January 2021

VLC Player 3.0.12 - Optimization also for Macs with M1 chip

The VLC Player, probably one of the most popular free playback apps for various media, is available in version 3.0.12. This is supposed to fix some bugs and optimize the macOS version for M1-Macs and Big Sur. In addition, disturbances [...]
4. January 2021

Mac image editing software Pixelmator Pro 2 optimized for M1 chip

The Mac app Pixelmator Pro for photo and image editing under macOS has been optimized for working with the M2020 chip since November 1. This comes in the current 13-inch models of the MacBook Pro and MacBook Air as well as in the [...]
25. December 2020

Sir Apfelot newsreel week 52, 2020

Ho ho ho! It's Christmas time and Friday too. And that's why you get a brand new Sir Apfelot newsreel under the tree today. This time I'll show you which Apple and tech news with [...]
18. December 2020

Sir Apfelot newsreel week 51, 2020

Before the fourth Advent and Christmas approach you, you will get the Sir Apfelot newsreel presented on Friday as usual. This time I'll show you what Apple and tech news I got in week 51 [...]
26. November 2020

Overviews: Which apps run on ARM Macs?

With the "Apple Silicon", Apple announced the departure from Intel chips in June. The first computers with so-called M1 chips have been on the shelves since November. But that doesn't just bring advantages. Because although the [...]
20. November 2020

Sir Apfelot newsreel week 47, 2020

The Advent and Christmas season will soon arrive. But before that there is again a good portion of Apple and tech news in the Sir Apfelot newsreel. In this issue you will find the messages that I received in the [...]
19. November 2020

Mac models with M1: Recovery makes Apple computers unusable

The new Mac models with the M1 chip from Apple seem to have a massive gap in functionality. When you restore your Mac mini or MacBook Air / Pro, the device becomes unusable and only displays an error message. According to MacRumors, [...]

M1 Chip

Sir Apfelot Blog


15. Juni 2022

Nicht reparierbare Sicherheitslücke im M1-Chip: Wirklich so gefährlich?

Kürzlich hat u. a. Tech Crunch berichtet, dass Forscher/innen des MIT eine Sicherheitslücke in der M1-Chipfamilie entdeckt haben. Bemerkenswert soll sie deshalb sein, weil sie in der Hardware auftritt und deshalb nicht mit einem Software-Patch […]
9. März 2022

Apple iPad Air (5. Gen, 2022) – Technische Daten, Bilder und Preise

Gestern hat Apple das „Peek Performance“ Special Event übertragen. Im Rahmen dieser voraufgezeichneten Keynote aus dem Steve Jobs Theater gab es nicht nur das neue iPhone SE sowie eine neue Art von Mac-Computer mit M1 […]
3. August 2021

Ein totes M1 MacBook Air und was man daraus lernen kann

Kein technisches Gerät, egal wie gut verarbeitet, ist davor gefeit, einen Defekt zu haben sowie von jetzt auf gleich die Arbeit einzustellen. Eine Story von Tan Han Wei bei Medium zeigt dies ganz anschaulich an […]
20. April 2021

Bartender 4 – Menüleisten-Manager jetzt verfügbar

Nach einer längeren Beta-Testphase hat Surtees Studios gestern die vorerst finale Version von Bartender 4 ausgerollt. Natürlich wird weiterhin an dem macOS-Tool gearbeitet, um es zu verbessern, heißt es im offiziellen Blog-Beitrag zum Thema. Aber […]
18. Februar 2021

M1 Malware – Neue Macs von nativer Schadsoftware betroffen

Im „Objective-See“-Blog habe ich eine Meldung gefunden, die für alle interessant sein könnte, die einen M1-Mac mit neuem Apple Silicon statt einem Intel-Prozessor nutzen. Denn für den M1-Chip scheint es nun die erste native Malware […]
19. Januar 2021

VLC Player 3.0.12 – Optimierung auch für Macs mit M1-Chip

Der VLC Player, wahrscheinlich eine der beliebtesten gratis Abspiel-Apps für unterschiedlichste Medien, ist in der Version 3.0.12 verfügbar. Diese soll einige Fehler beheben sowie die macOS-Version für M1-Macs und Big Sur optimieren. Zudem werden Störungen […]
4. Januar 2021

Mac-Bildbearbeitungssoftware Pixelmator Pro 2 optimiert für M1-Chip

Die Mac-App Pixelmator Pro für die Foto- und Bildbearbeitung unter macOS ist seit November 2020 für die Arbeit mit dem M1-Chip optimiert. Dieser kommt in aktuellen 13-Zoll-Modellen des MacBook Pro und MacBook Air sowie im […]
25. Dezember 2020

Sir Apfelot Wochenschau KW 52, 2020

Ho, ho, ho! Es ist Weihnachtszeit, und zudem Freitag. Und deshalb bekommt ihr auch heute eine nagelneue Sir Apfelot Wochenschau unter den Baum gelegt. Dieses Mal zeige ich euch auf, welche Apple- und Tech-News mit […]
18. Dezember 2020

Sir Apfelot Wochenschau KW 51, 2020

Bevor der vierte Advent und Weihnachten auf euch zukommen, bekommt ihr zum Freitag wie gewohnt die Sir Apfelot Wochenschau präsentiert. Dieses Mal zeige ich euch auf, welche Apple- und Tech-News mir in der Kalenderwoche 51 […]
26. November 2020

Übersichten: Welche Apps laufen auf ARM-Macs?

Mit dem „Apple Silicon“ hat Apple im Juni die Abkehr von Intel-Chips verkündet. Seit November stehen nun die ersten Computer mit sog. M1-Chip in den Regalen. Das bringt aber nicht nur Vorteile. Denn obwohl die […]