Ransomware

Sir Apfelot Blog


2 JULY 2020

Ransomware: ransomware spreads via pirated software on Macs

New Mac ransomware, i.e. software for blackmailing users, is currently spreading via pirated apps that are offered on Russian platforms, among others. Malwarebytes (here) and Patrick Wardle report this on the Objective-See website [...]
16. August 2019

Sir Apfelot newsreel, week 33 2019

Oh what, Friday again? Well then you will get the next Sir Apfelot newsreel with this blog entry. This time it's about the Apple and tech news that I received in calendar week 33 of the year [...]
5. August 2019

GermanWiper - Windows ransomware attacking businesses

There is a current danger behind the name GermanWiper, which affects companies in Germany in particular. "GermanWiper" is a particularly perfidious ransomware; malware that actually encrypts the data on the hard drive in order to [...]
15. January 2019

Emotet - BSI warning against malware (also for Mac computers)

The Federal Office for Information Security (BSI) is currently providing information on the subject of "Emotet" on its citizens' website. This is malware that gets onto the computer via email. The procedure is particularly tricky: The [...]
June 16, 2017

MacRansom: Ransomware for macOS found on the Darknet

Ransomware for macOS or OS X on the Apple Mac, iMac, and MacBook is not very common, but neither is it impossible. The malware that blocks files or even the entire hard drive in order to be released [...]
June 7, 2017

Data backup: backup copy as protection against ransomware

Anyone who regularly backs up their data, i.e. who outsources their files and folders as a backup copy, is more protected from ransomware and its influences than others. Here I would like to briefly show you how the topics of data backup [...]
7. March 2016
Ransomware OSX.KeRanger.A: Transmission took action.

KeyRanger: "Ransomware" Trojan attacks OS X users

So far, Apple users have always been able to lean back and take a deep breath after reading reports about Trojans on Windows computers. Now, however, a new "ransomware" malware strikes, targeting OS X users [...]

Ransomware

Sir Apfelot Blog


16. August 2019

Sir Apfelot Wochenschau, KW 33 2019

Ach was, schon wieder Freitag? Na dann bekommt ihr mit diesem Blogeintrag die nächste Sir Apfelot Wochenschau vorgesetzt. Dieses Mal geht es um jene Apple- und Tech-News, die mir in der Kalenderwoche 33 des Jahres 2019 besonders aufgefallen sind. Mit…
5. August 2019

GermanWiper – Windows-Ransomware, die Unternehmen angreift

Hinter dem Namen GermanWiper steckt eine aktuelle Gefahr, die vor allem Unternehmen in Deutschland trifft. Es handelt sich bei „GermanWiper“ um eine besonders perfide Ransomware; eine Schadsoftware, die eigentlich die Daten der Festplatte verschlüsselt, um Lösegeld (meist in Bitcoin) zu…
15. Januar 2019

Emotet – BSI-Warnung vor Schadsoftware (auch für Mac-Computer)

Aktuell informiert das Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI) auf seiner Bürger-Webseite zum Thema „Emotet“. Dabei handelt es sich um Schadsoftware, die vermittels E-Mails auf den Computer gelangt. Das Vorgehen ist besonders trickreich: Die Emotet-Versender bedienen sich an den…
16. Juni 2017

MacRansom: Ransomware für macOS im Darknet gefunden

Ransomware für macOS oder OS X auf dem Apple Mac, iMac und MacBook ist nicht sehr häufig, aber auch nicht unmöglich. Die Schadsoftware, die Dateien oder sogar die ganze Festplatte blockiert, um für die Freigabe Bitcoins zu erpressen, gibt es…
7. Juni 2017

Daten-Backup: Sicherungskopie als Schutz vor Ransomware

Wer regelmäßig ein Daten-Backup macht, seine Dateien und Ordner also als Sicherungskopie extern auslagert, der ist mehr vor Ransomware und ihren Einflüssen geschützt als andere. Hier möchte ich euch kurz aufzeigen, wie die Themen Datensicherung und Schutz vor Ransomware zusammengehören,…
7. März 2016
Ransomware OSX.KeRanger.A: Transmission hat gehandelt.

KeyRanger: "Ransomware" Trojaner attackiert Nutzer von OS X

Bisher konnte man sich als Apple-User immer beruhigt zurücklehnen und durchatmen, wenn man Berichte über Trojaner auf Windows-Rechnern gelesen hat. Nun schlägt aber eine neue "Ransomware" Malware zu, die sich auf User von OS X spezialisiert hat. Der Name des…