USB hub

Sir Apfelot Blog


25. March 2021
Sonnet Echo 11 Thunderbolt 3 Dock in the test

Review: Sonnet Echo 11 Thunderbolt 3 Docking Station

The manufacturer Sonnet kindly provided me with the Thunderbolt 3 docking station Sonnet Echo 11 for a test. This is a good test object for me insofar as I am the classic user for a docking station [...]
18. August 2020

Why there are no USB-C hubs with multiple USB-C ports

If you look around for USB-C hubs, you will usually only find ones with a maximum of two C ports, several A ports and interfaces for SD cards, HDMI, etc. What I would need, for example, would be a USB-C Hub with ten USB-C ports so that [...]
12. May 2020
USB accessories require too much power and are deactivated

Mac problem: USB accessories with high power consumption will be disabled

A reader wrote to me this morning that his Mac threw the following message every time he plugged in the DVD player: USB accessories disabled. Disconnect high-power accessories to activate USB devices. Regardless of which port the device is connected to [...]
19th of June 2019
Reader question: connecting devices to the USB hub

Reader's question: Is there a sequence for connecting or disconnecting devices to the USB hub?

I recently received an interesting question from my reader Wolfgang: 4 external hard drives, 2 printers, 1 scanner and a LaCie BlueRay recorder are connected to the Mac via an old USB hub. Now have [...]
16. May 2019

Lindy USB-C hub with 2x USB-C and 2x USB-A

If you are looking for a "real" USB-C hub and not a multiport adapter, you still have to search a lot. I rummaged through a few forums and the products on Amazon and found a Lindy USB-C hub called [...]
1. March 2018

UGREEN card reader with USB ports and mobile phone holder

For the Apple Mac and the mobile MacBook in particular, it is not uncommon for people to be looking for a multifunctional device that can perform several tasks and only takes up one USB slot. That's why I […]
15. February 2018

Test: AUKEY CB-H5 USB hub under macOS and Windows

In this short test report I would like to show you how recommendable the AUKEY CB-H5 USB hub is. I also show whether the additional four USB-A ports with USB 3.0 technology can also be used to charge USB devices such as [...]
5. October 2016

USB extension: When are extension cables, USB repeaters and hubs worthwhile?

A USB extension is always helpful if you don't want to have individual devices right next to your Mac or PC. Even if you want to use existing devices in the office, home office or in the co-working space, but [...]
28. March 2016
The Inateck USB-C to USB-3 hub on the MacBook

In the test: Inateck HB4103C USB-C hub with 3x USB 3.0 ports and network connection

Today I have a special hub in the "test laboratory": A 3-port USB 3.0 hub that can be connected to the MacBook (12 inch) from Apple via the Micro-C USB port. Anyone looking for a hub [...]
27. February 2016
7 port Anker USB 3.0 hub for the Mac

USB 3.0 hubs for the Mac - a preselection with a recommendation

The fact that Apple finally supports a USB3 port with the new Macs was an urgently needed thing. Thunderbolt is also nice (fast), but unfortunately there are hardly any devices for it and what is available [...]

USB-Hub

Sir Apfelot Blog


25. März 2021
Sonnet Echo 11 Thunderbolt 3 Dock im Test

Im Test: Sonnet Echo 11 Thunderbolt 3 Docking Station

Der Hersteller Sonnet hat mir freundlicherweise die Thunderbolt 3 Dockingstation Sonnet Echo 11 für einen Test zur Verfügung gestellt. Das ist für mich insoweit ein gutes Testobjekt, da ich der klassische Anwender für eine Dockingstation […]
18. August 2020

Warum es keine USB-C-Hubs mit mehreren USB-C Ports gibt

Schaut man sich nach USB-C-Hubs um, findet man meist nur welche mit maximal zwei C-Anschlüssen, mehreren A-Ports und Schnittstellen für SD-Karten, HDMI, etc. Was ich zum Beispiel bräuchte, wäre ein USB-C-Hub mit zehn USB-C-Ports, damit […]
12. Mai 2020
USB Zubehör benötigt zuviel Strom und wird deaktiviert

Mac-Problem: USB-Zubehör mit hohem Stromverbrauch wird deaktiviert

Ein Leser schrieb mir heute Morgen, dass sein Mac immer beim Einstecken des DVD-Players folgende Meldung auswirft: USB-Zubehör deaktiviert. Zubehör mit hohem Stromverbrauch trennen, um USB-Geräte zu aktivieren. Egal an welchem Port das Gerät angeschlossen […]
19. Juni 2019
Leserfrage: Anschließen von Geräten am USB-Hub

Leserfrage: Gibt es eine Reihenfolge beim An- oder Abstecken von Geräten am USB-Hub?

Ich habe vor Kurzem eine interessante Frage von meinem Leser Wolfgang erhalten: An dem Mac sind 4 externe Festplatten, 2 Drucker, 1 Scanner und ein LaCie BlueRay Recorder über einen alten USB-Hub angeschlossen. Nun habe […]
16. Mai 2019

Lindy USB-C-Hub mit 2x USB-C und 2x USB-A

Wer einen „echten“ USB-C-Hub und keinen Multiport-Adapter sucht, der muss aktuell noch viel suchen. Ich habe mich durch ein paar Foren und die Produkte bei Amazon gewühlt und bin dabei auf einen Lindy USB-C-Hub namens […]
1. März 2018

UGREEN Kartenlesegerät mit USB-Ports und Handy-Halterung

Gerade für den Apple Mac und das mobile MacBook ist man nicht selten auf der Suche nach einem Multifunktionsgerät, das mehrere Aufgaben erledigen kann und dabei nur einen USB-Steckplatz für sich beansprucht. Deshalb habe ich […]
15. Februar 2018

Test: USB-Hub AUKEY CB-H5 unter macOS und Windows

In diesem kurzen Testbericht möchte ich euch aufzeigen, wie empfehlenswert der USB-Hub AUKEY CB-H5 ist. Zudem zeige ich auf, ob sich die zusätzlichen vier USB-A-Ports mit USB 3.0 Technologie auch zum Aufladen von USB-Geräten wie […]
5. Oktober 2016

USB Verlängerung: Wann lohnen Verlängerungskabel, USB Repeater und Hubs?

Eine USB Verlängerung ist immer dann hilfreich, wenn man einzelne Geräte nicht direkt neben dem Mac oder PC haben möchte. Auch wenn man im Büro, Home Office oder im Co-Working-Space vorhandene Geräte nutzen will, aber […]
28. März 2016
Der Inateck USB-C auf USB-3-Hub am MacBook

Im Test: Inateck HB4103C USB-C Hub mit 3x USB 3.0 Ports und Netzwerk-Anschluß

Heute ist bei mir ein besonderer Hub im "Testlabor": Ein 3-Port USB 3.0 Hub, der über den Micro-C-USB-Anschluß an das MacBook (12 Zoll) von Apple angeschlossen werden kann. Wer auf der Suche nach einem Hub […]
27. Februar 2016
7 Port Anker USB 3.0 Hub für den Mac

USB 3.0 Hubs für den Mac – eine Vorauswahl mit Empfehlung

Das Apple mit den neuen Macs nun endlich auch einen USB3-Port unterstützt, ist eine dringend nötige Sache gewesen. Thunderbolt ist auch schön (schnell), aber leider gibt es kaum Geräte dafür und das was es gibt, […]