Virus

Sir Apfelot Blog


19th April 2022

What is a computer virus?

A computer virus is malware that can spread and multiply independently via host programs. This is why the name "virus" was chosen for this type of malware, because the biological counterpart also works in the same way. There are […]
5. August 2019

GermanWiper - Windows ransomware attacking businesses

There is a current danger behind the name GermanWiper, which affects companies in Germany in particular. "GermanWiper" is a particularly perfidious ransomware; malware that actually encrypts the data on the hard drive in order to [...]
12. February 2019

Why you shouldn't install antivirus software on your Mac

Antivirus software on the Mac or anti-malware apps on macOS are not required. In this post I would like to show you why this is the case and how I have been using Apple computers for over 20 years without me [...]
15. January 2019

Emotet - BSI warning against malware (also for Mac computers)

The Federal Office for Information Security (BSI) is currently providing information on the subject of "Emotet" on its citizens' website. This is malware that gets onto the computer via email. The procedure is particularly tricky: The [...]
6. January 2019
The icon with a JAR file extension indicates a Java application that can be started with a double click.

What are files with a .jar extension?

The file extension .jar identifies Java Script archives that have been packed with ZIP compression. In addition to graphics, videos and audio files, these archives can of course also contain executable Javascript files. These jar files can be [...]
29. May 2018

Mac malware mshelper is using the CPU and fan

If the fan of your Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook is currently running at maximum performance again and again, although you do not use a lot of power in the macOS system or with individual apps, then you should take a look at the
4. March 2014

Solved: DaemonProcess.exe error due to missing QtCore4.dll at Windows start

Ok, I actually prefer to deal with Macintosh problems because I usually know what to do there. However, I just had to heal a customer's PC with TeamViewer, because it has [...]

Virus

Sir Apfelot Blog


5. August 2019

GermanWiper – Windows-Ransomware, die Unternehmen angreift

Hinter dem Namen GermanWiper steckt eine aktuelle Gefahr, die vor allem Unternehmen in Deutschland trifft. Es handelt sich bei „GermanWiper“ um eine besonders perfide Ransomware; eine Schadsoftware, die eigentlich die Daten der Festplatte verschlüsselt, um […]
12. Februar 2019

Wieso man am Mac keine Antivirus-Software installieren sollte

Antivirus-Software am Mac bzw. Anti-Malware Apps unter macOS sind nicht nötig. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich euch aufzeigen, warum das so ist und wie ich seit über 20 Jahren mit Apple-Computern verfahre, ohne dass ich […]
15. Januar 2019

Emotet – BSI-Warnung vor Schadsoftware (auch für Mac-Computer)

Aktuell informiert das Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI) auf seiner Bürger-Webseite zum Thema „Emotet“. Dabei handelt es sich um Schadsoftware, die vermittels E-Mails auf den Computer gelangt. Das Vorgehen ist besonders trickreich: Die […]
6. Januar 2019
Die Icon mit einer JAR-Dateiendung deutet auf eine Java-Anwendung hin, die sich per Doppelklick starten läßt.

Was sind Dateien mit .jar-Dateiendung?

Die Dateiendung .jar kennzeichnet Java-Script-Archive, die mit der ZIP-Komprimierung verpackt wurden. In diesen Archiven können neben Grafiken, Videos und Audiodateien natürlich auch lauffähige Javascript-Dateien enthalten sein. Am Mac wie am PC lassen sich diese jar-Dateien […]
29. Mai 2018

Mac Malware mshelper lastet CPU und Lüfter aus

Wenn der Lüfter eures Apple Mac, iMac oder MacBook derzeit immer wieder auf Höchstleistung läuft, obwohl ihr weder im macOS-System noch mit einzelnen Apps viel Leistung verbraucht, dann solltet ihr mal einen Blick in die […]
4. März 2014

Gelöst: DaemonProcess.exe Fehler durch fehlende QtCore4.dll beim Windows Start

Ok, ich schlage mich eigentlich lieber mit Macintosh-Problemen rum, denn da weiß ich meistens, was zu tun ist. Eben musste ich allerdings mal mit TeamViewer bei einer Kundin den PC heile machen, denn dieser hat […]