Day of the Tentacle Remastered: DOTT for iPhone, Mac and other Apple devices

day of the tentacle remastered dott post picture

The 1993 released by LucasArts as the successor to Maniac Mansion "Day of the Tentacle“Is one of the most popular adventure games, if not the most popular, of the early computer generations. With "Day of the Tentacle Remastered“The developer Double Fine (subcontractor of LucasArts) has visually upgraded the classic game and made it fit for new platforms. So in this post it is about the new DOTT version which ensures that you can finally give the C64, the old Macintosh or the MS-DOS computer to the museum - which of course I won't do, because my C64 with the 1571, the Compatition Pro and over 200 5 1 / 4 inch disks are sacred to me. ;-)

DOTT Remastered: One app download instead of seven floppy disks

Anyone who did not have a CD drive in 1993 or in the years thereafter had to go Day of the Tentacle from a total of seven HD disks (14.000 kB). I'm not sure how many floppy disks we needed for the C64 back then, but you certainly had to change the floppy disks a few times before the adventure solved the problem. Now, however, the game has arrived in 2016 and is simply offered wirelessly as an app download for many platforms. Day of the Tentacle Remastered is available for download from the Apple App Store for Mac and iOS devices:

Download DOTT Remastered for iOS here

Day of the Tentacle Remastered is available for download across many platforms

Day of the Tentacle Remastered is available as a download for many platforms - it is only not possible to download it for the C64. ;-)

The download brings the iconic point and click adventure onto the hard drive with a whopping 2,41 GB - which shows that we can look forward to great, detailed graphics! The description of the revised new edition says, among other things: "Players can switch between the "Classic" and "Remastered" modes at any time and combine sound, graphics and user interface in different ways. There's also a concept gallery and audio commentary from the game's developers!“- As a fan of the game you won't want to complain about the download size because of the additional amount of information.

Day of the Tentacle Remastered: Purple and Green Tentacles

DOTT Remastered, Green Tentacle has no arms

DOTT Remastered, Green Tentacle has no arms

For all newbies who only found out about this game through the recent hype - or who simply didn't walk this world in 1993 - here's a little introduction to the story. Because for us nerds from Sir Apfelot, the adventure is Day of the Tentacle not only known, but also stuck in the head and heart from the times over 20 years ago. However, we also know that the game will also have a lot of new arrivals.

The story begins five years after the events of "Maniac Mansion", which was even built into Day of the Tentacle as a mini game. The mad scientist Dr. Fred Edison succeeded in an experiment to create two tentacle-like beings that live and think independently - the megalomaniac Purple tentacles and the fearful Green tentacles. The object of the game is to prevent Purple from his plans for world domination.

I don't know how many afternoons I spent with friends in front of the C64 to get this done. Remember that you couldn't just "google" the solution - as is the case today. Back then you often pondered for days in order to come up with the solution to a riddle that would then ensure progress in the ingenious adventure game.

Bernard, Hoagie and Laverne in the present, past and future

The player takes on the roles of the physics enthusiast Bernard, the roadie and metal fan Hoagie and the student Laverne. You go to the property of “Dr. Fred ”, where they should actually only be sent one day into the past to stop the fateful experiment. However, it got there Hoagie 200 years in the past, Laverne is in the tentacle-ruled future (also 200 years) fixed and Bernard remains in the present. Objects can be exchanged via the time machine.

Day of the Tentacle Remastered: This is how the PAC adventure is played

How numerous Point and click games also, so be at DOTT Collect items, hold dialogues and solve puzzles. For example, in the past a bottle of wine must be placed so that vinegar is available in the present. Whether in the Original pixel graphics or in the 2016 HD version: the gameplay has not changed. The quirky graphics, which contributed to the hype about the game, have also been retained.

Day of the Tentacle: A Brief News Overview

  • 1993: First version appears for MS-DOS (also in addition to Windows 3.11) and Apple Mac
  • ? -2015: The successor Return of the tentacle is pre-produced
  • 2014: Double Fine announces a remake of DOTT for Windows PCs, Mac, PlayStation 4 and PlayStation Vita
  • 2015-2016: Production of Return of the Tentacle continues
  • 2016: Double Fine brings in March Day of the Tentacle Remastered out, in July also for iOS (official website)

This is what DOTT players say about the remastered version

DOTT Remastered, Crimson Tentacle feels superior to his arms

DOTT Remastered, Crimson Tentacle feels superior to his arms

"The implementation for the iPhone is excellent, both in terms of graphics and playability. It's also good that the classic mode is optionally available at any time in terms of operation and graphics. The much-criticized German dubbing (taken from the original) is not that bad either! No question: 5 stars!“- Customer review on iTunes

"I still remember when I got my first computer in 1997 and my cousin installed Day of the Tentacle on it. It was the first point & click adventure I've ever played and now 19 years later I can enjoy it again. One of the best adventure games of all time.“- User opinion at Steam

Day of the Tentacle Remastered: Your opinion

Have you already loaded the app or are you playing? Day of the Tentacle Remastered rather on the PS or via Steam on a Windows PC? If you already know the game, you played it for the first time in the 2016 version; or did you only come across it through this report? Just leave your story, impressions and experiences in the form of a comment! I am always happy to read the C64 stories from other "C64 colleagues"!

Brands

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Day of the Tentacle Remastered: DOTT für iPhone, Mac und andere Apple-Geräte

day of the tentacle remastered dott beitragsbild

Das 1993 von LucasArts als Nachfolger von Maniac Mansion herausgebrachte „Day of the Tentacle“ ist eines der beliebtesten Adventures, wenn nicht das beliebteste Adventure, der frühen Computergenerationen. Mit „Day of the Tentacle Remastered“ hat der Entwickler Double Fine (Subunternehmen von LucasArts) den Spieleklassiker optisch aufgewertet und für neue Plattformen fit gemacht. In diesem Beitrag soll es nun also um die neue DOTT Version gehen, die dafür sorgt, dass man den C64, den alten Macintosh oder den MS-DOS-Rechner endlich ins Museum geben kann – was ich natürlich nicht machen werde, denn mein C64 mit der 1571, dem Compatition Pro und über 200 5 1/4 Zoll-Disketten ist mir heilig. 😉

DOTT Remastered: Ein App Download statt sieben Disketten

Wer 1993 oder auch in den Jahren danach kein CD-Laufwerk zur Verfügung hatte, der musste sich Day of the Tentacle von insgesamt sieben HD-Disketten (14.000 kB) ziehen. Ich bin mir nicht mehr sicher, wieviele Disketten wir damals beim C64 brauchten, aber man musste sicher einige Male die Disketten wechseln, bevor mal das Adventure gelöst hatte. Nun ist das Spiel allerdings im Jahr 2016 angekommen und wird für viele Plattformen ganz einfach drahtlos als App Download angeboten. Day of the Tentacle Remastered steht unter anderem im Apple App Store für Mac und iOS Geräte zum Download bereit:

Hier DOTT Remastered für iOS herunterladen

Day of the Tentacle Remastered steht als Download für viele Plattformen bereit

Day of the Tentacle Remastered steht als Download für viele Plattformen bereit – nur für den C64 kann man es nicht runterladen. 😉

Der Download bringt das kultige Point and Click Adventure mit sage und schreibe 2,41 GB auf die Platte – was zeigt, dass wir uns auf tolle, detailgetreue Grafiken freuen dürfen! In der Beschreibung der überarbeiteten Neuauflage steht unter anderem: „Spieler können jederzeit zwischen den Modi “Klassisch” und “Remastered” wechseln und Ton sowie Grafik und Benutzeroberfläche verschieden miteinander kombinieren. Außerdem gibt es eine Konzeptgalerie und Audiokommentare von den Entwicklern des Spiels!“ – Als Fan des Spiels wird man sich ob des zusätzlichen Informationsumfangs also nicht über die Download-Größe beschweren wollen.

Day of the Tentacle Remastered: Purpur und Grün Tentakel

DOTT Remastered, Grün Tentakel hat keine Arme

DOTT Remastered, Grün Tentakel hat keine Arme

Für alle Neulinge, die von diesem Spiel nur durch den neuerlichen Hype erfahren haben – oder die 1993 einfach noch nicht auf dieser Welt wandelten – soll es hier mal einen kleinen Einstieg in die Story geben. Denn zwar ist uns Nerds von Sir Apfelot das Adventure Day of the Tentacle nicht nur bekannt, sondern auch aus den Zeiten vor über 20 Jahren in Kopf und Herz geblieben. Jedoch wissen wir auch, dass das Spiel auch viel Neuzulauf haben wird.

Die Geschichte hat ihren Anfang fünf Jahre nach den Geschehnissen von „Maniac Mansion“, welches als Mini Game sogar in Day of the Tentacle eingebaut wurde. Dem durchgeknallten Wissenschaftler Dr. Fred Edison ist es in einem Experiment gelungen, zwei eigenständig lebende und denkende tentakelartige Wesen zu erschaffen – den größenwahnsinnigen Purpur Tentakel und den ängstlichen Grün Tentakel. Ziel des Spiels ist es, Purpur von seinen Weltherrschaftsplänen abzuhalten.

Ich weiss nicht, wieviele Nachmittage ich mit Freunden vor dem C64 verbracht hatte, um dies zu schaffen. Man bedenke, dass man die Lösung nicht einfach “googlen” konnte – wie es heute der Fall ist. Damals hat man oft tagelang gegrübelt, um auf die Lösung für ein Rätsel zu kommen, die dann den Fortschritt in dem genialen Adventure sicherte.

Bernard, Hoagie und Laverne in Gegenwart, Vergangenheit und Zukunft

Der Spieler übernimmt die Rollen des Physik-Enthusiasten Bernard, des Roadies und Metal Fans Hoagie und der Studentin Laverne. Sie begeben sich zum Anwesen von „Dr. Fred“, wo sie eigentlich nur einen Tag in die Vergangenheit geschickt werden sollen, um das verhängnisvolle Experiment aufzuhalten. Jedoch gelangt Hoagie 200 Jahre in die Vergangenheit, Laverne steckt in der Tentakel-beherrschten Zukunft (ebenfalls 200 Jahre) fest und Bernard verbleibt in der Gegenwart. Über die Zeitmaschine lassen sich Gegenstände austauschen.

Day of the Tentacle Remastered: So wird das PAC-Adventure gespielt

Wie zahlreiche Point and Click Spiele auch, so werden bei DOTT Gegenstände gesammelt, Dialoge geführt und Rätsel gelöst. So muss beispielsweise in der Vergangenheit eine Flasche Wein platziert werden, damit in der Gegenwart Essig zur Verfügung steht. Ob in der Original Pixelgrafik oder in der 2016 HD-Version: am Spielprinzip hat sich nichts geändert. Auch die verschrobenen Grafiken, welche zum Hype um das Spiel beigetragen haben, sind erhalten geblieben.

Day of the Tentacle: Ein kurzer News Überblick

  • 1993: Erste Version erscheint für MS-DOS (auch nebst Windows 3.11) und Apple Mac
  • ?-2015: Der Nachfolger Return of the Tentacle wird vorproduziert
  • 2014: Double Fine kündigt ein Remake von DOTT für Windows PCs, Mac, PlayStation 4 und PlayStation Vita an
  • 2015-2016: Die Produktion von Return of the Tentacle schreitet voran
  • 2016: Double Fine bringt im März Day of the Tentacle Remastered heraus, im Juli auch für iOS (offizielle Webseite)

Das sagen DOTT Spieler zur Remastered Version

DOTT Remastered, Purpur Tentakel fühlt sich durch seine Arme überlegen

DOTT Remastered, Purpur Tentakel fühlt sich durch seine Arme überlegen

Die Umsetzung für’s iPhone ist hervorragend gelungen, sowohl was Grafik und Spielbarkeit angeht. Auch gut, dass der klassische Modus im Hinblick auf Bedienung und Grafik optional jederzeit verfügbar ist. Auch die vielkritisierte deutsche Synchronisation (vom Original übernommen) finde ich jetzt nicht sooo schlecht! Keine Frage: 5 Sterne!“ – Kundenrezension bei iTunes

Ich weiß noch als ich 1997 mein ersten Rechner bekommen habe und mein Cousin mir Day of the Tentacle drauf installiert hat. Es war das erste Point & Click Adventure was ich je gespielt habe und nun 19 Jahre später darf ich nochmal in den Genuß kommen. Eines der besten Adventures aller Zeiten.“ – Nutzermeinung bei Steam

Day of the Tentacle Remastered: Eure Meinung

Habt ihr euch die App schon geladen oder spielt ihr Day of the Tentacle Remastered lieber auf der PS bzw. über Steam auf einem Windows PC? Kennt ihr das Spiel schon, habt ihr es das erste Mal in der 2016 Version gespielt; oder seid ihr erst durch diesen Bericht darauf gestoßen? Lasst eure Geschichte, Eindrücke und Erfahrungen doch einfach in Form eines Kommentars da! Ich freue mich immer, die C64-Geschichten von anderen “C64 Kollegen/innen” zu lesen!

Merken

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.