Great Ball Contraption with 200+ modules moves Lego balls through the exhibition hall

The Brickworld Chicago, a Lego convention held on June 17-18, 2017, featured a Great Ball Contration (GBC), a large device in which Lego balls are moved automatically. The partly motor-driven, partly mechanically running modules added up to over 200 individual pieces at the event. Since Lego in a variety of forms - from Lego Star Wars to Lego robots - is a big topic here in the blog, the large device at Brickworld Chicago 2017 should not go unmentioned at this point.

Great Ball Contration Brickworld Chicago 2017

Great Ball Contraption is the name given to large, ingenious devices that move balls from A to B. More than 200 GBC modules built from Lego were connected in series at Brickworld Chicago 2017.

Over 200 Great Ball Contraption modules transport Lego balls

Whether football, basketball or other round Lego marbles, they are all moved in the following video. Tom Atkinson, a veteran in the GBC scene, will guide you through the individual devices and modules. Moving and transporting Lego balls is one of the favorite goals of hobbyists and builders of Lego machines. Children also get easy access to the functionality of technology, mechanics and machinery - this video can therefore be viewed as a teaching piece:

Official website of Brickworld Chicago

From Star Wars Death Star to Mindstorms EV3

As I said: here in the Sir Apfelot blog there are reports about the popular and world-famous plastic building blocks. For years, information, details, offers and background information on individual sets or topics have been provided here. Far ahead are, for example, the Lego sets from Star Wars - for example in this post: The Lego Death Star for hardcore fans - or: Star Wars for adults. If you expect a little more interaction from your Lego set or want a bigger learning factor for the children, you can stop by here: Construction toys LEGO Mindstorms EV3: Control and program robots with Apple devices.

What do you think of Lego?

What do you think of the diverse world of plastic and fantasy? Are you the collectors or the hobbyists? Feel free to leave a comment on the topic here;)

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Great Ball Contraption mit 200+ Modulen bewegt Lego-Bälle durch Messehalle

Die Brickworld Chicago, eine Lego Convention, die am 17. und 18. Juni 2017 veranstaltet wurde, zeigte eine Great Ball Contraption (GBC), also eine große Vorrichtung, bei der Lego-Bälle automatisiert bewegt werden. Die teils motorbetriebenen, teils mechanisch laufenden Module summierten sich bei dem Event auf über 200 Einzelstücke. Da Lego in vielseitiger Form – von Lego Star Wars bis hin zu Lego Robotern – hier im Blog ein großes Thema ist, soll auch die große Vorrichtung auf der Brickworld Chicago 2017 an dieser Stelle nicht unerwähnt bleiben.

Great Ball Contraption Brickworld Chicago 2017

Als Great Ball Contraption bezeichnet man große, ausgeklügelte Vorrichtungen, welche Bälle von A nach B befördern. Mehr als 200 aus Lego gebaute GBC-Module wurden bei der Brickworld Chicago 2017 in Reihe geschaltet.

Über 200 Great Ball Contraption Module befördern Lego-Bälle

Ob Fußball, Basketball oder andere runde Lego-Murmeln, sie alle werden in folgendem Video bewegt. Durch die einzelnen Vorrichtungen und Module führt Tom Atkinson, ein Urgestein in der GBC-Szene. Die Bewegung und Beförderung von Lego-Bällen ist eines der beliebtesten Ziele von Bastlern und Erstellern von Lego-Maschinen. Auch Kinder bekommen so einen leichten Zugang zur Funktionsweise von Technik, Mechanik und Maschinerie – dieses Video kann also als Lehrstück angesehen werden:

Offizielle Webseite der Brickworld Chicago

Vom Star Wars Todesstern bis zu Mindstorms EV3

Wie gesagt: hier im Sir Apfelot Blog gibt es hin wieder mal Meldungen zu den beliebten und weltweit bekannten Plastik-Bausteinen. Schon seit Jahren werden an dieser Stelle Informationen, Details, Angebote und Hintergründe zu einzelnen Sets oder Themen geliefert. Weit vorn sind dabei zum Beispiel die Lego-Sets von Star Wars – etwa in diesem Beitrag: Der Lego Todesstern für Hardcore Fans – oder: Star Wars für Erwachsene. Wer ein bisschen mehr Interaktion von seinem Lego-Set erwartet oder einen größeren Lernfaktor für die Kinder haben möchte, der kann hier vorbeischauen: Konstruktionsspielzeug LEGO Mindstorms EV3: Roboter mit Apple-Geräten steuern und programmieren.

Was haltet ihr von Lego?

Was haltet ihr von der vielseitigen Welt aus Plast und Fantasie? Seid ihr eher die Sammler oder die Bastler? Lasst gern einen Kommentar zum Thema hier 😉

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.