AppCleaner - My recommendation to delete programs from the Mac

Deleting programs and apps on the Mac under macOS is super easy at first glance: Open the Applications folder and drag the icon of the corresponding software into the trash can. Then empty it, and the hard drive is freed from the deleted apps. Or? Not at all, because usually there are still various program remnants, directories and logs that do not take up too much space, but can fill up the memory as a whole. Who himself Clean My Mac do not want to buy, I recommend the as a free alternative AppCleaner.

The AppCleaner is my recommendation for completely deleting programs on the Apple Mac under macOS.

The AppCleaner is my recommendation for completely deleting programs on the Apple Mac under macOS.

AppCleaner - completely remove macOS apps from the Mac

AppCleaner is extremely easy to download and use. All you have to do is open up freemacsoft.net/appcleaner/ go, download the correct version for your operating system and you're good to go. The AppCleaner is saved in the download folder, by the way, but can be moved to other folders or to the desktop. To start you just have to double-click on the directory file. These three versions are available on the linked developer website:

  • AppCleaner version 1.2.2 for macOS 10.4 and 10.5
  • AppCleaner version 2.3 for macOS 10.6 to 10.9
  • AppCleaner version 3.4 for macOS 10.10 to 10.13

This is how you can find all files belonging to the program

Once you have started the AppCleaner, you will be greeted by a very simple window (see above), into which you can drag individual apps from the Applications folder. This does not delete them immediately, but instead shows you which files in which directories and folders are related to the software.

Alternatively, you can switch to the list view from the "Drag and Drop" option in the top right corner. This shows you the programs installed on the Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook you are using. Native apps that are connected to the Apple system are marked with a lock symbol. So you can't uninstall it. For all others, you just click on it, select the files that are to be deleted with the program files, and click on "Delete".

Conclusion on the AppCleaner for Apple Mac

Anyone who, like me, has already run CleanMyMac no longer needs the tool, as CleanMyMac offers a function that also takes over this comprehensive uninstallation of programs. AppCleaner is free and therefore always my recommendation when someone asks me how they can get program XYZ from the disk. Especially people who come from Windows and miss the (mostly) complete deletion of programs and their directories using the built-in function in macOS will be satisfied with the presented app;)

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

4 comments

  1. Julian says:

    Hello Sir Apfelot,
    From Windows times I use CCleaner, Onyx and Cleanmymac X only the combination of various cleaning programs like an immune system, keeps the Mac super from data garbage and vermin, bucks etc.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

AppCleaner – Meine Empfehlung um Programme vom Mac zu löschen

Programme und Apps auf dem Mac unter macOS zu löschen ist auf den ersten Blick super einfach: Man öffnet den Programme-Ordner und zieht das Symbol der entsprechenden Software in den Mülleimer. Diesen dann noch leeren, und schon ist die Festplatte von den gelöschten Apps befreit. Oder? Eben nicht, denn meist bleiben noch verschiedene Programmreste, Verzeichnisse und Logs über, die zwar nicht allzu viel Platz wegnehmen, aber in der Summe den Speicher zumüllen können. Wer sich Clean My Mac nicht kaufen will, dem empfehle ich als kostenlose Alternative den AppCleaner.

Der AppCleaner ist meine Empfehlung zum kompletten Löschen von Programmen auf dem Apple Mac unter macOS.

Der AppCleaner ist meine Empfehlung zum kompletten Löschen von Programmen auf dem Apple Mac unter macOS.

AppCleaner – macOS Apps komplett vom Mac entfernen

Der Download und die Anwendung von AppCleaner ist ausgesprochen einfach. Dazu müsst ihr nur auf freemacsoft.net/appcleaner/ gehen, die richtige Version für euer Betriebssystem herunterladen und schon kann es losgehen. Gespeichert wird der AppCleaner übrigens im Download-Ordner, kann aber in andere Ordner bzw. auf den Schreibtisch verschoben werden. Zum Starten müsst ihr nur einen Doppelklick auf der Verzeichnis-Datei ausführen. Diese drei Versionen sind auf der verlinkten Entwickler-Webseite verfügbar:

  • AppCleaner Version 1.2.2 für macOS 10.4 und 10.5
  • AppCleaner Version 2.3 für macOS 10.6 bis 10.9
  • AppCleaner Version 3.4 für macOS 10.10 bis 10.13

So findet ihr alle zum Programm gehörigen Dateien

Habt ihr den AppCleaner gestartet, dann begrüßt euch ein sehr schlicht gehaltenes Fenster (s. o.), in das ihr aus dem Programme-Ordner einzelne Apps ziehen könnt. Damit werden diese nicht gleich gelöscht, sondern ihr bekommt erst einmal angezeigt, welche Dateien in welchen Verzeichnissen und Ordnern mit der Software zusammenhängen.

Alternativ könnt ihr auch oben rechts von der „Drag and Drop“-Option zur Listenansicht wechseln. In dieser werden euch die auf dem verwendeten Apple Mac, iMac oder MacBook installierten Programme aufgezeigt. Native Apps, die mit dem Apple-System verbunden sind, sind mit einem Schloss-Symbol versehen. Man kann sie also nicht deinstallieren. Bei allen anderen klickt man aber einfach drauf, wählt die Dateien, die mit der Programmdateien zusammen gelöscht werden sollen, und klickt auf „Löschen“.

Fazit zum AppCleaner für Apple Mac

Wer wie ich schon CleanMyMac laufen hat, der braucht das Tool nicht mehr, da CleanMyMac eine Funktion bietet, die genau diese umfassende Deinstallation von Programmen auch übernimmt. AppCleaner ist aber kostenlos und damit immer meine Empfehlung, wenn mich jemand fragt, wie er Programm XYZ von der Platte bekommt. Vor allem Leute, die von Windows kommen und die (meist) komplette Löschung von Programmen und deren Verzeichnissen mithilfe der eingebauten Funktion bei macOS vermissen, werden mit der vorgestellten App zufrieden sein 😉

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.