Apple Pencil with USB-C: note-taking and sketching help at a lower price

Apple has introduced a new, cheaper stylus for its tablets. The Apple Pencil with USB-C port is said to impress with pixel-perfect precision and low latency. However, the manufacturer emphasizes that it should be particularly suitable for notes, sketches, annotations and diaries. Because it lacks pressure sensitivity and the double-tap feature, it will probably be less suitable for delicate drawings. The new Apple Pencil (USB-C) will be available from the beginning of November 2023 for a price of 95 euros.

The new Apple Pencil (USB-C) is not the next big thing, but it is a nice update for everyone for whom the Apple Pencil 2 is too expensive and the Apple Pencil 1 is too old.
The new Apple Pencil (USB-C) is not the next big thing, but it is a nice update for everyone for whom the Apple Pencil 2 is too expensive and the Apple Pencil 1 is too old.

Apple Pencil (USB-C) – the key points

While the Apple Pencil (1st generation) is still offered for 119 euros and the Apple Pencil (2nd generation) costs an impressive 149 euros, the new Apple Pencil (USB-C) is said to cost 95 euros (or 85 euros for the Education sector) may be the cheaper alternative. Here you are slowly approaching the area that has so far been covered by the Logitech Crayon. This costs with a USB-C port around 80 Euro; with Lightning cable around 55 Euro. The new Apple Pencil features a flat side that allows it to magnetically attach to compatible iPads.

"Apple Pencil has revolutionized note-taking, sketching and illustrating, opening up countless possibilities for productivity and creativitysaid Bob Borchers, vice president of worldwide product marketing at Apple. “Combined with the versatility of iPad, the new Apple Pencil opens up another great way to experience the magic of digital handwriting, annotation, document editing, and more.“ – That’s what it says in the press release, which leaves out the missing features for professional drawing and painting.

If you pull back the cap of the new Apple Pencil, the USB-C port for pairing with the iPad and charging is revealed.
If you pull back the cap of the new Apple Pencil, the USB-C port for pairing with the iPad and charging is revealed.

The new Apple Pencil (USB-C) is compatible with these iPad models

The newly introduced Apple Pencil with USB-C port is compatible with all iPads that also have a USB-C port. Although it does not have to be connected via a cable to use it, the same connection at least ensures that it is simple USB-C cable can be paired and charged. The compatible tablets are currently as follows:

  • 10th generation iPad
  • 4th and 5th generation iPad Air
  • 11″ iPad Pro 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th generation
  • 12,9″ iPad Pro 3st, 4nd, 5rd and 6th generation
  • 6th generation iPad mini
A big advantage of the new Apple Pencil (USB-C, 2023): It is compatible with a wide range of iPad models.
A big advantage of the new Apple Pencil (USB-C, 2023): It is compatible with a wide range of iPad models.

In comparison: Apple Pencil 1, Apple Pencil 2 and Apple Pencil USB-C

If you look at all of the functions and usage options offered, then the new Apple Pencil with USB-C falls between the first and second generations. It is also compatible with a wider range of iPads. Below you will find an overview of the most important features and their distribution among the individual Apple pens.

Apple Pencil (1st Gen, 2015) Apple Pencil (USB-C, 2023)  Apple Pencil (2st Gen, 2018)
Pixel-perfect precision ✔︎ ✔︎ ✔︎
Low latency ✔︎ ✔︎ ✔︎
Tilt sensitivity ✔︎ ✔︎ ✔︎
Pressure sensitivity ✔︎ ✔︎
Magnetic mount ✔︎ ✔︎
Wireless connection and charging ✔︎
“Hover” on the iPad Pro ✔︎ ✔︎
Double tap to change tools ✔︎
Free engraving ✔︎
Compatibility iPad (9th and 10th Gen) see list iPad Air, iPad mini, iPad Pro
Price (Apple Store) 119 € 95 € 149 €
Price (Amazon) 104,99 € - 114,99 €

Conclusion on the new Apple Pencil with USB-C port

Apple isn't calling the new iPad stylus the "3rd generation". Generation” and presents more of an intermediate level in terms of functions. It's not the next big thing, but in some areas it's a useful update for everyone for whom the Apple Pencil 2 is too expensive. Above all, the greater compatibility with current devices is convincing compared to the Apple Pencil 1. The fact that there is no pressure sensitivity and some other features are left out benefits the price, but means that there is a greater confusion of pros and cons when buying. So you should know for which use cases you buy an Apple Pencil.

My tips & tricks about technology & Apple

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership would support.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

In the Sir Apfelot Blog you will find advice, instructions and reviews on Apple products such as the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini and Mac Studio.

Specials
Shopping
  •  
  •

Apple Pencil mit USB-C: Notizen- und Skizzen-Hilfe zum kleineren Preis

Apple hat einen neuen, günstigeren Stylus für seine Tablets vorgestellt. Der Apple Pencil mit USB-C-Anschluss soll mit einer pixelgenauen Präzision und niedriger Latenz überzeugen. Allerdings wird vom Hersteller betont, dass er sich vor allem für Notizen, Skizzen, Anmerkungen und Tagebücher eignen soll. Weil ihm die Druckempfindlichkeit und das Doppeltippen-Feature fehlt, wird er wohl eher weniger für filigrane Zeichnungen geeignet sein. Der neue Apple Pencil (USB-C) wird ab Anfang November 2023 für einen Preis von 95 Euro angeboten.

Der neue Apple Pencil (USB-C) ist nicht der nächste große Wurf, aber ein nettes Update für alle, denen der Apple Pencil 2 zu teuer und der Apple Pencil 1 zu alt ist.
Der neue Apple Pencil (USB-C) ist nicht der nächste große Wurf, aber ein nettes Update für alle, denen der Apple Pencil 2 zu teuer und der Apple Pencil 1 zu alt ist.

Apple Pencil (USB-C) – die Kernpunkte

Während der Apple Pencil (1. Generation) weiterhin für 119 Euro angeboten wird und der Apple Pencil (2. Generation) stolze 149 Euro kostet, soll der neue Apple Pencil (USB-C) mit seinen 95 Euro (bzw. 85 Euro für den Bildungsbereich) die günstigere Alternative sein. Hier tastet man sich also langsam an den Bereich heran, der bisher vom Logitech Crayon abgedeckt wird. Dieser kostet mit USB-C-Anschluss rund 80 Euro; mit Lightning-Kabel rund 55 Euro. Der neue Apple Pencil bietet eine flache Seite, über die er magnetisch an kompatiblen iPads befestigt werden kann.

Apple Pencil hat das Notizen machen, Skizzieren und Illustrieren revolutioniert und unzählige Möglichkeiten für Produktivität und Kreativität eröffnet“, sagt Bob Borchers, Vice President of Worldwide Product Marketing bei Apple. „In Kombination mit der Vielseitigkeit des iPad eröffnet der neue Apple Pencil eine weitere großartige Möglichkeit, die Magie digitaler Handschrift, Anmerkungen, Bearbeitung von Dokumenten und vielem mehr zu erleben.“ – So heißt es in der Pressemitteilung, in der die fehlenden Features fürs professionelle Zeichnen und Malen ausgespart werden.

Zieht man die Kappe des neuen Apple Pencil zurück, dann kommt der USB-C-Anschluss zum Koppeln mit dem iPad und zum Aufladen zum Voschein.
Zieht man die Kappe des neuen Apple Pencil zurück, dann kommt der USB-C-Anschluss zum Koppeln mit dem iPad und zum Aufladen zum Voschein.

Mit diesen iPad-Modellen ist der neue Apple Pencil (USB-C) kompatibel

Der neu vorgestellte Apple Pencil mit USB-C-Anschluss ist mit allen iPads kompatibel, die ebenfalls einen USB-C-Anschluss haben. Zwar muss er für die Nutzung nicht über ein Kabel verbunden werden, aber der gleiche Anschluss sorgt zumindest dafür, dass er durch ein einfaches USB-C-Kabel gekoppelt und aufgeladen werden kann. Die kompatiblen Tablets sind aktuell folgende:

  • iPad der 10. Generation
  • iPad Air der 4. und 5. Generation
  • 11″ iPad Pro der 1., 2., 3. und 4. Generation
  • 12,9″ iPad Pro der 3., 4., 5. und 6. Generation
  • iPad mini der 6. Generation
Ein großer Vorteil des neuen Apple Pencil (USB-C, 2023): Er ist mit einer breiten Palette an iPad-Modellen kompatibel.
Ein großer Vorteil des neuen Apple Pencil (USB-C, 2023): Er ist mit einer breiten Palette an iPad-Modellen kompatibel.

Im Vergleich: Apple Pencil 1, Apple Pencil 2 und Apple Pencil USB-C

Schaut man auf die Gesamtheit der angebotenen Funktionen und Nutzungsmöglichkeiten, dann ordnet sich der neue Apple Pencil mit USB-C zwischen dem der ersten und dem der zweiten Generation ein. Zudem ist er mit einer größeren Bandbreite an iPads kompatibel. Im Folgenden findet ihr eine Übersicht der wichtigsten Features und deren Verteilung unter den einzelnen Apple-Stiften.

Apple Pencil (1. Gen, 2015) Apple Pencil (USB-C, 2023)  Apple Pencil (2. Gen, 2018)
Pixelgenaue Präzision ✔︎ ✔︎ ✔︎
Geringe Latenz ✔︎ ✔︎ ✔︎
Neigungssensitivität ✔︎ ✔︎ ✔︎
Druckempfindlichkeit ✔︎ ✔︎
Magnetische Halterung ✔︎ ✔︎
Kabelloses Verbinden und Aufladen ✔︎
„Hover“ am iPad Pro ✔︎ ✔︎
Doppeltippen für Werkzeug-Wechsel ✔︎
Kostenlose Gravur ✔︎
Kompatibilität iPad (9. und 10. Gen) s. Liste iPad Air, iPad mini, iPad Pro
Preis (Apple Store) 119 € 95 € 149 €
Preis (Amazon) 104,99 € 114,99 €

Fazit zum neuen Apple Pencil mit USB-C-Anschluss

Apple nennt den neuen iPad-Stylus nicht die „3. Generation“ und präsentiert auch im Hinblick auf die Funktionen eher eine Zwischenstufe. Es ist nicht der nächste große Wurf, aber in einigen Bereichen doch ein brauchbares Update für alle, denen der Apple Pencil 2 zu teuer ist. Vor allem die größere Kompatibilität mit aktuellen Geräten überzeugt im Vergleich mit dem Apple Pencil 1. Dass es keine Druckempfindlichkeit gibt und auch sonst einige Features ausgespart werden, kommt zwar dem Preis zugute, sorgt aber für ein größeres Abwegen von Für und Wider beim Kauf. Man sollte also wissen, für welche Anwendungsfälle man einen Apple Pencil kauft.

Meine Tipps & Tricks rund um Technik & Apple

Hat dir der Artikel gefallen und helfen dir die Anleitungen im Blog? Dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn du das Blog über eine Steady-Mitgliedschaft unterstützen würdest.

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Im Sir Apfelot Blog findest du Ratgeber, Anleitungen und Testberichte zu Apple Produkten wie iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini und Mac Studio.

Specials