Logic Pro requirements, features, free version, and more

Logic Pro for the Apple Mac is an app for professional music production and audio editing, or more technically: a digital audio workstation (DAW). You can find the software in the Mac App Store, and you can have it pre-installed when you buy a new Apple computer. In this guide I have summarized everything you need to know about Logic Pro: system requirements, functions, free trial version, price, sources for tutorials and resources, and even more information. Over time I will update this post every now and then. The current status is: end of 2021.

If GarageBand isn't enough, then Logic Pro for macOS on the Apple Mac is ideal for producing music, realizing the highest level of audio editing and implementing auditory ideas. Here you can find Logic Pro system requirements, functions, download and purchase options and other information.

If GarageBand isn't enough, then Logic Pro for macOS on the Apple Mac is ideal for producing music, realizing the highest level of audio editing and implementing auditory ideas. Here you can find Logic Pro system requirements, functions, download and purchase options and other information.

Logic Pro system requirements

The Logic Pro app, made for the Apple Mac, iMac, MacBook and other computers with macOS, offers you extensive possibilities for creating music, recording audio, editing and mastering. From the music album to the radio play to the film soundtrack, everything and much more can be produced in it. The current version is optimized for the use of M1 chips. But the software also runs on Intel Macs. You should consider these system requirements for Logic Pro:

  • Operating system: macOS 11 (Big Sur) or newer
  • Hard disk: at least 6 GB free space for the Logic Pro app; 72 GB in total if the complete sound library is to be installed
  • Note: Internet access required for some functions and for downloads

Status: end of 2021

Logic Pro - General information about the Apple app

If you want to make professional music, edit audio tracks and do more in the area of ​​sound on your Apple Mac, Mac Pro, iMac, iMac Pro, Mac mini, MacBook, MacBook Pro or MacBook Air, then Logic Pro could be the right app for you . Recording, creating, mixing and mastering of music is not offered here at a low price, but professional tools are also supplied.

If you take a look at the official website for the app (see link collection below) and click on “Technical data”, then the individual details will be presented to you. The advantages of Logic Pro for macOS include: 90 callable screens, up to 1.929 individual key and MIDI commands, cancellation function (including plug-ins and mixer) with 200 steps, full latency compensation and more.

Of course, the current version of the app also enables the audio technologies used by Apple. With Logic Pro you can create content with "3D Audio" (Spacial Audio) that simulates a virtual 3 ° sound on compatible headphones (AirPods Pro, AirPods Max, AirPods 360). In addition, new sound packages are constantly being added and there is a large amount of additional content available as a free download or as an additional purchase. 

With the current Logic Pro version (2021, from macOS 11 Big Sur), 3D audio can also be used or created.

With the current Logic Pro version (2021, from macOS 11 Big Sur), 3D audio can also be used or created.

Logic Remote: Control the Mac app with an iPhone, iPad or iPod touch

From iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 (both from 2020) Logic Remote is supported. This makes it possible to control various app functions and content via the iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. For example, virtual instruments can be played, plug-ins can be operated, the sound library can be navigated and more actions can be performed. However, this remote control function is limited on the small displays of iPhone and iPod touch. Apple notes: "Smart controls, navigation in the sound library, Smart Help, the complete mixer and access to the plug-in controls are only available on the iPad."

With Logic Remote you can control instruments, plug-ins, the sound library and more via mobile Apple devices - from iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 on iPhone, iPod touch and iPad.

With Logic Remote you can control instruments, plug-ins, the sound library and more via mobile Apple devices - from iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 on iPhone, iPod touch and iPad.

Plug-ins and sounds

For such professional software there is of course a lot of additional content that takes on special tasks, accelerates the workflow, enables new ways of working and so on. In addition to plug-ins such as instruments and effects, this additional content also includes sounds from the sound library. As noted above, dozens of gigabytes of sounds are available for download. 

Here are the most important plug-ins and sounds:

  • Instrument plug-ins: Sampler (EXS24), Quick Sampler, Auto Sampler, Drum Synth, Drum Machine Designer, Drum Kit Designer, Alchemy Synthesizer, Studio Strings, Studio Brass, ES2 Synthesizer, Retro Synth, Vintage Keyboard, Arpeggiator and MIDI Plug‑ ins, sculpture synthesizer
  • Effects plug-ins: Remix FX, ChromaVerb, Vintage EQ Collection, Step FX, Compressor, Phat FX, Space Designer, Channel EQ, Amp Designer, Ringshifter, Bass Amp Designer, Pedalboard
  • Sound library: vintage synths, modern synths, vintage keys, acoustic instruments, cinematic, loops, various sound packs, various producer packs

Logic Pro resources

Apple not only offers the software and various additional content for purchase and download, but also some resources so that you can jump in and get the most out of Logic Pro. This includes support documents, tutorials, trainings and more. Third-party content that does not come directly from Apple is also recommended. You can find an overview on the page linked below for the app under the tab "Resources". 

Use Logic Pro for free: Here's how!

If you have an Apple Mac that meets the minimum requirements above (i.e. at least macOS 11 Big Sur and sufficient memory), you can test Logic Pro for free. The Logic Pro trial version can be used free of charge for 90 days, which should be enough time to make a purchase decision. The download is available on the Apple app page under the "Free trial" tab. In combination with the resource collection mentioned above, the Logic Pro test version offers a good introduction to getting to know many of the functions, tools, sounds and mixer options.

Buy Logic Pro

Logic Pro can be found in the official Mac App Store for macOS computers. There the app for professional music and audio production costs 199,99 euros. The current version from 2021 downloads an installer with a size of 1,1 GB. As you have already seen above, the unpacked version of the software requires around 6 GB of memory. 

Buy a new Apple Mac including software

Another source of supply for Logic Pro is to have the software installed on your newly purchased Mac, iMac, MacBook, or the like. You can find the corresponding option in the official Apple Online Store, directly in the adjustments of the selected computer. In addition to the processor or SoC, RAM, memory size and keyboard design, you can purchase Logic Pro as included software for 199,99 euros and / or Final Cut Select Pro for 299,99 euros.

Collection of links on the topic

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

5 comments

  1. Walter Ludwig says:

    Misinformation from the editor:
    ... regarding the minimum requirement!
    Runs from macOS 10.8.4!
    VST instruments, however, only 64bit!

    • Johannes Domke says:

      Hi Walter,

      Both in the Mac App Store and on the official Apple page for the software (both linked in the article) there is a note that the latest version of the software offered requires at least macOS 11 Big Sur. It is of course true that there are previous versions that can also run on older systems. However, it would be helpful if you could point out your source for the official download offered by Apple so that we can point out the practical uses. If you want to see the history of the software, then you are under the wrong article - the latest version should be presented here and not the history up to the same.

      Best regards
      John

  2. Walter Ludwig says:

    ... would still have been an informative detail for the readers!
    ... because certainly not everyone who is interested gets into the subject of music production with the latest equipment? !!

    • Johannes Domke says:

      Hi Walter,

      You're right - I don't have any new equipment either, so I have to fit when it comes to trying out Logic Pro. So ask whether you know where the old versions can be officially downloaded. Again: The official Apple sources, which are also linked in the article, show macOS 11 Big Sur as a prerequisite for the available version. With the best will in the world, I can't shake it.

      Best regards
      John

  3. Walter Ludwig says:

    Hello Johannes!

    Of course you are also right in your written article and in accordance with Apple's company philosophy and marketing, do they always want to sell us users the "latest stuff"? !!!
    About my situation: I already worked with "emagic-Logic" on the Mac in the early "90s"! (Power-PC's, G-Series, MacPro's, from 2006, etc.)
    However, as a long-time user of "Apple Logic Studio" (up to version 9.1.6) I was disappointed that "Logic Studio" was no longer developed because "Logic Pro X" was launched. Version "10" was anything but professional at the time, which is why I, as well as many of my studio colleagues, are at "Logic-Studio 9 ...!" remained.
    At the same time (2012) I became aware of "PreSonus_Studio One" through Teddy Riley (Namm-Show) and have since been a user of it and have stayed with it to this day!
    "Logic Pro X" has of course also evolved over the years to find application in professional music production, but I only use it when I am supposed to process commissioned productions with it.
    My "MacPro's 5,1_12-Core (Mid2012) studio computers" run with (Mojave 10.14.6) and I am sticking to this meanwhile "outdated" operating system because it is stable and I can work with it primarily without any problems.
    At the same time, we also got "Catalina" and "Big-Sur" up and running with backup computers using "Patcher". Personally, I prefer to keep it with the saying: "Never change a running system!"
    With this in mind, I wish you a harmonious festive season, stable health and success for 2022.
    Musical greetings
    Walter.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Logic Pro – Anforderungen, Funktionen, Gratis-Version und mehr

Logic Pro für den Apple Mac ist eine App für die professionelle Musik-Produktion und Audiobearbeitung, oder fachlicher: eine Digital Audio Workstation (DAW). Die Software findet ihr im Mac App Store, und ihr könnt sie euch beim Kauf eines neuen Apple-Computers vorinstallieren lassen. In diesem Ratgeber habe ich euch alles Wichtige zu Logic Pro zusammengefasst: Systemanforderungen, Funktionen, kostenlose Test-Version, Preis, Quellen für Tutorials und Ressourcen sowie noch mehr Infos. Mit der Zeit werde ich diesen Beitrag immer mal aktualisieren. Der aktuelle Stand ist: Ende 2021.

Wenn GarageBand nicht genug ist, dann ist Logic Pro für macOS auf dem Apple Mac ideal, um Musik zu produzieren, Audiobearbeitung auf höchstem Niveau zu realisieren und auditive Ideen umzusetzen. Hier findet ihr Logic Pro Systemanforderungen, Funktionen, Download- und Kauf-Optionen sowie weitere Infos.

Wenn GarageBand nicht genug ist, dann ist Logic Pro für macOS auf dem Apple Mac ideal, um Musik zu produzieren, Audiobearbeitung auf höchstem Niveau zu realisieren und auditive Ideen umzusetzen. Hier findet ihr Logic Pro Systemanforderungen, Funktionen, Download- und Kauf-Optionen sowie weitere Infos.

Logic Pro – Systemanforderungen

Die für den Apple Mac, iMac, das MacBook und weitere Computer mit macOS gemachte Logic Pro App bringt euch umfangreiche Möglichkeiten für die Musikerstellung, die Aufnahme von Audio, die Bearbeitung und das Mastering. Vom Musikalbum über das Hörspiel hin zum Film-Soundtrack lässt sich darin alles und viel mehr produzieren. Dabei ist die aktuelle Version auf die Nutzung von M1-Chips hin optimiert. Aber auch auf Intel-Macs läuft die Software. Diese Systemanforderungen für Logic Pro solltet ihr dabei beachten:

  • Betriebssystem: macOS 11 (Big Sur) oder neuer
  • Festplatte: mind. 6 GB freier Speicher für die Logic Pro App; insgesamt 72 GB, wenn die komplette Sound-Bibliothek installiert werden soll
  • Hinweis: Internetzugang für einige Funktionen sowie für Downloads nötig

Stand: Ende 2021

Logic Pro – Allgemeines zur Apple-App

Wollt ihr auf eurem Apple Mac, Mac Pro, iMac, iMac Pro, Mac mini, MacBook, MacBook Pro oder MacBook Air professionell Musik machen, Audio-Spuren bearbeiten und mehr im Bereich Sound realisieren, dann könnte Logic Pro die richtige App für euch sein. Zwar wird das Aufnehmen, Erstellen, Mischen und Mastern von Musik hier zu einem nicht niedrigen Preis angeboten, dafür werden aber auch professionelle Tools geliefert.

Werft ihr einen Blick auf die offizielle Webseite zur App (s. Linksammlung unten) und klickt dort auf „Technische Daten“, dann werden euch die einzelnen Details präsentiert. Unter anderem gehören zu den Vorteilen von Logic Pro für macOS: 90 abrufbare Bildschirme, bis zu 1.929 individuelle Tasten- und MIDI-Befehle, Widerruf-Funktion (inkl. Plug-ins und Mixer) mit 200 Schritten, voller Latenzausgleich und mehr.

Natürlich werden in der aktuellen Version der App auch die von Apple genutzten Audio-Techniken ermöglicht. So könnt ihr mit Logic Pro Inhalte mit „3D Audio“ (engl. Spacial Audio) erzeugen, die auf kompatiblen Kopfhörern (AirPods Pro, AirPods Max, AirPods 3) einen virtuellen 360°-Klang simulieren. Zudem kommen immer wieder neue Sound-Pakete hinzu und es gibt zahlreiche Zusatzinhalte als kostenlosen Download oder als zusätzlichen Kauf. 

Mit der aktuellen Logic Pro Version (2021, ab macOS 11 Big Sur) kann auch 3D Audio genutzt bzw. erstellt werden.

Mit der aktuellen Logic Pro Version (2021, ab macOS 11 Big Sur) kann auch 3D Audio genutzt bzw. erstellt werden.

Logic Remote: Mac-App mit iPhone, iPad oder iPod touch steuern

Ab iOS 14 und iPadOS 14 (beides von 2020) wird Logic Remote unterstützt. Damit wird es möglich, verschiedene App-Funktionen und Inhalte über das iPhone, das iPad oder den iPod touch zu steuern. Zum Beispiel können virtuelle Instrumente gespielt, Plug-ins bedient, in der Sound-Bibliothek navigiert und mehr Aktionen ausgeführt werden. Jedoch ist diese Fernbedienung-Funktion auf den kleinen Displays von iPhone und iPod touch eingeschränkt. Apple merkt dazu an: „Smart Controls, Navigation in der Sound-Bibliothek, Smart Help, der vollständige Mixer und Zugriff auf die Plug‑in Steuerung sind nur auf dem iPad verfügbar.

Mit Logic Remote könnt ihr Instrumente, Plug-ins, die Sound-Bibliothek und mehr über mobile Apple-Geräte ansteuern – ab iOS 14 und iPadOS 14 auf iPhone, iPod touch und iPad.

Mit Logic Remote könnt ihr Instrumente, Plug-ins, die Sound-Bibliothek und mehr über mobile Apple-Geräte ansteuern – ab iOS 14 und iPadOS 14 auf iPhone, iPod touch und iPad.

Plug-ins und Sounds

Für so eine Profi-Software gibt es natürlich auch zahlreiche Zusatzinhalte, die spezielle Aufgaben übernehmen, den Workflow beschleunigen, neue Arbeitsweisen ermöglichen und so weiter. Zu diesen Zusatzinhalten gehören neben Plug-ins, wie etwa Instrumenten und Effekten, auch Sounds aus der Sound-Bibliothek. Wie oben schon angemerkt, so stehen dutzende Gigabyte an Sounds zum Download zur Verfügung. 

Hier die wichtigsten Plug-ins und Sounds:

  • Instrumente Plug-ins: Sampler (EXS24), Quick Sampler, Auto Sampler, Drum Synth, Drum Machine Designer, Drum Kit Designer, Alchemy Synthesizer, Studio Strings, Studio Brass, ES2 Synthesizer, Retro Synth, Vintage Keyboard, Arpeggiator und MIDI Plug‑ins, Sculpture Synthesizer
  • Effekte Plug-ins: Remix FX, ChromaVerb, Vintage EQ Sammlung, Step FX, Compressor, Phat FX, Space Designer, Channel EQ, Amp Designer, Ringshifter, Bass Amp Designer, Pedalboard
  • Sound-Bibliothek: Vintage Synths, Moderne Synths, Vintage Keys, Akustische Instrumente, Cinematic, Loops, verschiedene Sound Packs, verschiedene Producer Packs

Logic Pro – Ressourcen

Apple bietet nicht nur die Software und verschiedene Zusatzinhalte für den Kauf und Download an, sondern auch einige Ressourcen, damit ihr euch reinfuchsen und das beste aus Logic Pro rausholen könnt. Dazu gehören Support-Dokumente, Tutorials, Trainings und mehr. Dabei werden auch Fremdinhalte empfohlen, die nicht direkt von Apple stammen. Eine Übersicht findet ihr auf der unten verlinkten Seite zur App unter dem Reiter „Ressourcen“. 

Logic Pro kostenlos nutzen: So geht’s!

Habt ihr einen Apple Mac, der den obigen Mindestanforderungen entspricht (also mindestens macOS 11 Big Sur und ausreichend Speicher), dann könnt ihr Logic Pro kostenlos testen. Die Logic Pro Test-Version lässt sich 90 Tage gratis nutzen, was ausreichend Zeit sein sollte, um eine Kaufentscheidung zu treffen. Den Download gibt es auf der App-Seite von Apple unter dem Reiter „Kostenlos testen“. In Kombination mit der oben erwähnten Ressourcen-Sammlung bietet die Logic Pro Test-Version einen guten Einstieg, um viele der Funktionen, Tools, Sounds und Mixer-Möglichkeiten kennen zu lernen.

Logic Pro kaufen

Logic Pro findet ihr im offiziellen Mac App Store für macOS-Computer. Dort kostet die App für die professionelle Musik- und Audio-Produktion 199,99 Euro. Die aktuelle Version von 2021 lädt dabei einen Installer mit 1,1 GB Größe herunter. Wie ihr weiter oben schon gesehen habt, werden für die entpackte Version der Software aber rund 6 GB Speicher benötigt. 

Neuen Apple Mac inkl. Software kaufen

Eine weitere Bezugsquelle für Logic Pro ist, sich die Software auf den neu gekauften Mac, iMac, das MacBook oder dergleichen installieren zu lassen. Die entsprechende Option findet ihr im offiziellen Apple Online Store, direkt in den Anpassungen des ausgewählten Computers. Neben Prozessor bzw. SoC, Arbeitsspeicher, Speicher-Größe und Tastatur-Design könnt ihr als inkludierte Software Logic Pro für 199,99 Euro und / oder Final Cut Pro für 299,99 Euro auswählen.

Linksammlung zum Thema



Hat dir der Artikel gefallen und helfen dir die Anleitungen im Blog? Dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn du das Blog über eine Steady-Mitgliedschaft oder bei Patreon unterstützen würdest.

5 Kommentare

  1. Walter Ludwig sagt:

    Fehlinformation des Redakteurs:
    …die Mindestanforderung betreffend!
    Ab macOS 10.8.4 lauffähig!
    VST-Instrumente allerdings nur 64bit!

    • Johannes Domke sagt:

      Hallo Walter,

      sowohl im Mac App Store als auch auf der offiziellen Apple-Seite zur Software (beides im Beitrag verlinkt) findet sich der Hinweis, dass die angebotene Software in ihrer aktuellsten Version mindestens macOS 11 Big Sur voraussetzt. Dass es vorige Versionen gibt, die auch auf älteren Systemen lauffähig sind, ist natürlich richtig. Allerdings wäre es hilfreich, wenn du deine Quelle für den offiziellen und von Apple angebotenen Download aufzeigen könntest, damit wir die praktischen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten aufzeigen können. Falls du die Historie der Software dargestellt sehen willst, dann bist du allerdings unter dem falschen Artikel unterwegs – hier soll die jeweils aktuellste Version vorgestellt werden und nicht der Werdegang bis zu selbiger.

      MfG
      Johannes

  2. Walter Ludwig sagt:

    …wäre trotzdem für die Leser ein informatives Detail gewesen!
    …weil sicherlich nicht jeder Interessierte mit dem neuesten Equipment in die Materie der Musikproduktion einsteigt ?!!

    • Johannes Domke sagt:

      Hallo Walter,

      da hast du Recht – ich habe auch kein neues Equipment und muss daher passen, wenn es um das Ausprobieren von Logic Pro geht. Deshalb ja auch Frage, ob du weißt, wo es die alten Versionen als offiziellen Download gibt. Nochmal: Die offiziellen Apple-Quellen, die auch im Artikel verlinkt sind, zeigen für die verfügbare Version macOS 11 Big Sur als Voraussetzung auf. Da kann ich beim besten Willen nichts dran rütteln.

      MfG
      Johannes

  3. Walter Ludwig sagt:

    Hallo Johannes!

    Selbstverständlich hast auch Du Recht in Deinem verfassten Artikel und gemäß Apple’s Firmenphilosophie und Marketing, wollen die uns Usern doch stets das "Aktuellste-Zeugs" verkaufen?!!!
    Zu meiner Situation: Habe in den frühen "90ern" bereits mit "emagic-Logic" am Mac gearbeitet! (Power-PC’s, G-Serie, MacPro’s, ab 2006, etc.)
    Ich wurde dann allerdings als langjähriger Nutzer von "Apple-Logic Studio" (bis Version 9.1.6) dahingehend enttäuscht, dass "Logic Studio" nicht mehr weiterentwickelt wurde, weil "Logic Pro X" auf den Markt kam. Die Version "10" war aber damals alles andere als professionell, deswegen bin ich, sowie auch viele meiner Studio-Kollegen bei "Logic-Studio 9…!" geblieben.
    Zeitgleich (2012) wurde ich durch Teddy Riley (Namm-Show) auf "PreSonus_Studio One" aufmerksam und bin seither davon Nutzer und auch bis heute dabei geblieben!
    "Logic Pro X" hat sich natürlich im Lauf der Jahre ebenfalls weiterentwickelt um auch in der professionellen Musikproduktion Anwendung zu finden, ich verwende es allerdings nur mehr wenn ich Auftragsproduktionen damit bearbeiten soll.
    Meine "MacPro’s 5,1_12-Core (Mid2012) Studio-Rechner" laufen mit (Mojave 10.14.6) und ich bleibe auch bei diesem mittlerweile "veralteten" Betriebssystem, weil es eben stabil läuft und ich primär problemlos damit arbeiten kann.
    Parallel dazu haben wir mit Backup-Rechnern mittels "Patcher" auch "Catalina" und "Big-Sur" zum Laufen gebracht. Persönlich halte ich es aber lieber mit dem Spruch: "Never change a running System!"
    In diesem Sinne wünsche ich Dir harmonische Festtage, stabile Gesundheit und Erfolg für 2022.
    Musikalische Grüße
    Walter.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.