No more routers: Apple AirPort is no longer being developed

Apple stood and still stands for innovation in many areas and thus as a pioneer in numerous technical areas; This is also the case with the WLAN of MacBooks, iPads, iPhones and other mobile products. In order to ensure good WiFi itself, Apple already had the first in 1999 AirPort released, followed in 2003 by the so-called AirPort Extreme with the 802.11g standard. The last update marked the wireless router AirPort Time Capsule in 2013. Since then it has been silent about this product line: now it has remained silent because it has been abandoned by Apple. A fate that the wireless router with the monitors of the manufacturer divide.

apple airport extreme time capsule 1999 2013 2016

Apple AirPort models of different generations including the Time Capsule version with internal memory for wireless backups; Image sources: Wikipedia and Apple

Bloomberg relies on corporate sources

Amongst other things Bloomberg reported on Apple's exit from the router business. This should focus even more on those products that make up the company's main sales. "Apple shut down the wireless router team over the past year and dispersed the engineers into other product development groups, including those working on the Apple TV“, One can read in the report. The corresponding statements were made by people close to the company. It is added that the routers make up only a small part of Apple's revenue and that they are only mentioned under “other products” in the financial report - a category that so far only made up 2016% of the revenue in 5.

Other companies are ahead when it comes to WLAN

In addition to the low sales, Apple has probably also realized that the WLAN market is becoming increasingly competitive. Putting competencies in this area could slim down other product lines. That's why the field is left to the likes of Netgear, D-Link, Belkin and Co. That these companies are already working on the next coup can be seen in the efforts of D-Link and Microsoft, which a so-called Great wi-fi plan to use unused frequencies from the world of radio and TV. Report about it, among other things DigiTimes and PatentlyApple; The latter page provides this graphic for Super Wi-Fi with 802.11ah and 802.11af / ad:

d-link microsoft super wifi apple airport 2016 news

Great Wi-Fi with long ranges, even indoors, according to PatentlyApple.com

Conclusion on the subject of Apple and WLAN routers

As with the Thunderbolt displays, Apple fans now also have to consider WLAN router reorient. The company benefits from the rejuvenation of the product range, as it can concentrate on the core business in development. With the current competition in terms of smartphones, wearables, smart TV offers and the like, this is also extremely important.

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Keine Router mehr: Apple AirPort wird nicht mehr weiterentwickelt

Apple stand und steht in vielen Bereichen für Innovation und damit als Vorreiter in zahlreichen technischen Gebieten; so auch beim WLAN der MacBooks, iPads, iPhones und anderen mobilen Produkten. Um selber für gutes WiFi zu sorgen, hat Apple dann bereits 1999 den ersten AirPort herausgebracht, 2003 folgte der sogenannte AirPort Extreme mit dem 802.11g Standard. Das letzte Update markierte der WLAN-Router AirPort Time Capsule im Jahr 2013. Seitdem wurde es still um diese Produktreihe: nun bleibt sie auch still, weil sie von Apple aufgegeben wird. Ein Schicksal, welches die WLAN-Router mit den Monitoren des Herstellers teilen.

apple airport extreme time capsule 1999 2013 2016

Apple AirPort Modelle verschiedener Generationen inkl. der Time Capsule Version mit internem Speicher für kabellose Backups; Bildquellen: Wikipedia und Apple

Bloomberg beruft sich auf unternehmensnahe Quellen

Unter anderem Bloomberg hat vom Ausstieg Apples aus dem Router-Geschäft berichtet. Damit soll der Fokus noch mehr auf jene Produkte gelegt werden, die den Hauptabsatz des Unternehmens ausmachen. „Apple hat das WLAN-Router Team über das letzte Jahr geschlossen und die Ingenieure in andere Produktentwicklungsgruppen zerstreut, inklusive jener, die den Apple TV bearbeitet“, kann man in dem Bericht lesen. Die entsprechenden Aussagen seien von unternehmensnahem Personen getroffen wurden. Hinzugefügt wird, dass die Router in Apples Einnahmen nur einen kleinen Teil ausmachen und dass sie im Finanzreport lediglich unter „andere Produkte“ genannt werden – eine Kategorie, die bisher in 2016 nur 5 % der Einnahmen ausmachte.

Andere Firmen sind in Sachen WLAN vorne

Apple hat neben den geringen Verkäufen wahrscheinlich auch eingesehen, dass der WLAN-Markt immer konkurrenzgetriebener wird. Kompetenzen in diesen Bereich zu stecken, könnte andere Produktlinien abspecken. Deshalb überlässt man das Feld wohl Größen wie Netgear, D-Link, Belkin und Co. Dass diese Firmen schon am nächsten Coup arbeiten, sieht man an den Bemühungen von D-Link und Microsoft, welche ein sogenanntes Super Wi-Fi planen, das ungenutzte Frequenzen aus der Welt von Radio und TV nutzen soll. Darüber berichten unter anderem DigiTimes und PatentlyApple; letztere Seite liefert zum Super Wi-Fi mit 802.11ah und 802.11af/ad diese Grafik:

d-link microsoft super wifi apple airport 2016 news

Super Wi-Fi mit hohen Reichweiten auch in Gebäuden nach PatentlyApple.com

Fazit zum Thema Apple und WLAN Router

Wie schon bei den Thunderbolt Displays müssen sich Apple-Fans nun auch im Hinblick auf WLAN-Router neu orientieren. Dem Unternehmen kommt die Verjüngung der Produktpalette zugute, da es sich in der Entwicklung auf das Kerngeschäft konzentrieren kann. Bei der aktuellen Konkurrenz im Hinblick auf Smartphones, Wearables, Smart TV Angebote und dergleichen mehr ist das auch äußerst wichtig.

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.