DJI Ronin-SC - 3-axis gimbal for mirrorless system cameras

For professionals in dealing with mirrorless digital and system cameras as well as those who want to become one, this is the new one TWO Ronin-SC 3-axis gimbal thought. It combines a lightweight construction with high functionality and extensive connectivity. The DJI Ronin-SC is not just a simple gimbal for image stabilization of the camera, it also offers app control, various recording modes, the possibility of using it as a tripod, accessories for focus control and many other advantages. You can find details below.

The new DJI Ronin-SC 3-axis gimbal for mirrorless system cameras helps with photos and videos with useful functions.

The new DJI Ronin-SC 3-axis gimbal for mirrorless system cameras helps with photos and videos with useful functions.

Presentation of the new gimbal in the video

Support Sir Apfelot on SteadyHQ

The little brother of the Ronin-S

Anyone who has already dealt with DJI gimbals for digital cameras probably knows the DJI Ronin-S. This is larger and heavier, but at the same time also designed for larger and heavier cameras. In addition to the weight class, there are also functional differences. The new, small version Ronin-SC brings additional recording functions; such as Active Track 3.0, which automatically keeps objects and people in the picture. A comprehensive test as well as the evaluation (mostly positive) of the new technology and functions can be found in this DJI Ronin-SC review video by Parker Walbeck:

The real-time control and correction of the camera position via the smartphone using the “Force Mobile” function is quite interesting. The mobile phone can be swiveled and rotated using the smartphone holder with two handles; the camera is moved in a corresponding manner by the DJI Ronin-SC. As noted in the review video, displaying the camera image on the smartphone display would make perfect sense. Until an update of the software that allows this, you have to walk behind the camera or take a look at the control screen (in the case of large projects).

DJI Ronin-SC Specifications

  • Manufacturer: DJI
  • Model: Ronin-SC / Ronin-SC Pro Combo
  • Device type: 3-axis gimbal
  • Dimensions: 220 mm x 200 mm x 75 mm
  • Weight: 1,1 kg
  • Material: magnesium, aluminum, composite materials, plastic
  • Max. Load: 2kg
  • Battery model: RB2 Intelligent Battery (18650 LiPo) with 2.450 mAh
  • Maximum battery life: 11 hours
  • Connection: Bluetooth 5.0, USB-C
  • Mobile phone requirements: iOS 9 or higher or Android 5.0 or higher
  • Functions: image stabilization, panorama, time-lapse with and without movement, movement control and repetition, locking mode, parallax, racing, sports and other special settings, lockable arms, etc.
  • New features: Active Track 3.0, Force Mobile, FPV mode, position marking on the camera plate
  • Scope of delivery: Gimbal, BG 18 handle incl. battery, handle extension / tripod, dovetail plate, camera increase, phone holder, lens holder, USB-C cable, carrying case, 2 x multi-camera control cables (multi-USB and type C), 2 x covers for 8-pin connectors, 2 x Allen keys, 3 x 1/4″ screws for camera threads, 4 x M4 screws
  • Additional scope of delivery (Pro Combo): focus motor, focus motor rod attachment, focus wheel, focus toothed wheel belt, RSS splitter cable, 6 x screws
  • Price: DJI Ronin-SC for 359,00 € / DJI Ronin-SC Pro Combo for 459,00 €
The DJI Ronin-SC scope of delivery in the Pro Combo version. Control elements for the focus wheel on the camera lens are also included.

The DJI Ronin-SC scope of delivery in the Pro Combo version. Control elements for the focus wheel on the camera lens are also included.

DJI Ronin-SC: Compatible cameras as a list

As stated as a note in the DJI Ronin-SC test video above, DJI has published a list showing which cameras are compatible with the DJI Ronin-SC. According to this list, which can be updated again and again, as of July 18, 2019, the following camera models from Sony, Nikon, Canon, Fujifilm and Panasonic are:

  • Sony: A9, A6400, A7R III, A7 III, A7R II, A7S II, A7M II, A7S, A7, A6500, A6300, RX100V
  • Nikon: Z6, Z7
  • Canon: EOS R, M50
  • Panasonic: GH5, GH5S, G9, GH3, GH4
  • Fujifilm: X-H1, X-T2, X-T3

DJI Ronin-SC: Compatible lenses / lenses as a list

In the same PDF file that you here can see, DJI also lists compatible lenses for its new gimbal in a "Camera Lens Compatibility List". It also states whether the camera riser is necessary for use. Other requirements or restrictions are also mentioned. To reproduce the entire list like the one above would go beyond the scope here. If you are interested, please use the link above to take a look at the list.

Ronin app for control via smartphone

The Ronin app is available for the Apple iPhone with iOS as well as for the Android mobile phone, with which you can get the full potential of the DJI Ronin-S or DJI Ronin-SC. The official and secure DJI Ronin download can be found in the Apple App Store or im Google Play Store.

[appbox app store id1282848185]

[appbox googleplay com.dji.ronin]

According to DJI, in addition to the Apple models iPhone 6S to XS Max, only a few Android smartphones are compatible with the new Active Track 3.0 function. While all current Apple devices apart from the iPhone 6 and SE are supported, there are only a few models from Samsung, Google, Huawei, Honor, vivo, OPPO, Xiaomi Mi and LG. You can find the list of currently usable cell phones with this PDF. Like the camera and lens overview, this is updated again and again.

More information and buy a 3-axis gimbal

Further information, pictures, data and details about individual functions can be found on the product page of the DJI Online Shop. There are also two videos there showing the new gimbal in action. Please note that this is a new device when this article is published, which is why orders are limited to two pieces per person. Here are the links to the products:

What do you think of the new, smaller and lighter system camera gimbal from DJI? Feel free to leave a comment with your opinion!

-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

3 comments

  1. Interesting article, congratulations! ???? What is missing in all previous reports, however, is the use of DJI RONIN SC connect with Fujifilm X-T3 including mounted battery grip together with ATOMO NINJA V. Hopefully there will be an update for Android smartphones (Samsung Note8) soon Use of motion controls will give!
    Best regards
    Heribert Sp

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello Heribert! Since I don't have the DJI Ronin SC and don't know the Fujifilm X-T3 either, I have little to report. : D If you have any information that might be of interest, we can add it here. For the readers who can do something with the devices. ;-)

      • Heribert Sp says:

        Thanks for the answer. Since the two products have long been generally known and in use, at least readers of our articles should actually be able to answer productively.

        I will be notified if this is the case!
        Best regards
        Heribert Sp

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

DJI Ronin-SC – 3-Achs-Gimbal für spiegellose Systemkameras

Für Profis im Umgang mit spiegellosen Digital- und Systemkameras sowie jene, die es werden wollen, ist das neue DJI Ronin-SC 3-Achsen-Gimbal gedacht. Es vereint eine leichte Bauweise mit hoher Funktionalität und umfangreicher Konnektivität. Das DJI Ronin-SC ist nicht nur ein einfaches Gimbal für die Bildstabilisierung der Kamera, sondern bringt eine App-Steuerung, verschiedene Aufnahme-Modi, die Verwendungsmöglichkeit als Stativ, Zubehör für Fokus-Kontrolle und viele weitere Vorteile mit. Details findet ihr im Folgenden.

Das neue DJI Ronin-SC 3-Achsen-Gimbal für spiegellose Systemkameras hilft bei Fotos und Videos mit brauchbaren Funktionen.

Das neue DJI Ronin-SC 3-Achsen-Gimbal für spiegellose Systemkameras hilft bei Fotos und Videos mit brauchbaren Funktionen.

Vorstellung des neuen Gimbals im Video

Der kleine Bruder des Ronin-S

Wer sich bereits mit DJI Gimbals für Digitalkameras auseinandergesetzt hat, kennt wahrscheinlich das DJI Ronin-S. Dieses ist größer und schwerer, gleichzeitig aber auch auf größere und schwerere Kameras ausgelegt. Neben der Gewichtsklasse gibt es aber auch noch funktionale Unterschiede. So bringt die neue, kleine Version Ronin-SC zusätzliche Aufnahmefunktionen mit; wie etwa das Active Track 3.0, welches Objekte und Personen automatisch im Bild behält. Einen umfangreichen Test sowie die Bewertung (meist positiv) der neuen Technik und Funktionen findet ihr in diesem DJI Ronin-SC Review Video von Parker Walbeck:

Ziemlich interessant ist die Echtzeit-Steuerung und Korrektur der Kamera-Position über das Smartphone per „Force Mobile“-Funktion. Über die Smartphone-Halterung mit zwei Griffen kann das Mobiltelefon geschwenkt und gedreht werden; die Kamera wird vom DJI Ronin-SC direkt in entsprechender Manier bewegt. Wie im Review-Video angemerkt, so wäre die Anzeige des Kamerabilds auf dem Smartphone-Display durchaus sinnvoll. Bis zu einem Update der Software, das dies zulässt, muss man hinter der Kamera laufen bzw. einen Blick auf den Kontrollbildschirm werfen (bei entsprechend umfangreichen Projekten).

DJI Ronin-SC – Technische Daten

  • Hersteller: DJI
  • Modell: Ronin-SC / Ronin-SC Pro Combo
  • Gerätetyp: 3-Achs-Gimbal
  • Maße: 220 mm x 200 mm x 75 mm
  • Gewicht: 1,1 kg
  • Material: Magnesium, Aluminium, Verbundwerkstoffe, Kunststoff
  • Max. Zuladung: 2kg
  • Akku-Modell: RB2 Intelligent Battery (18650 LiPo) mit 2.450 mAh
  • Maximale Akkulaufzeit: 11 Stunden
  • Verbindung: Bluetooth 5.0, USB-C
  • Handy-Voraussetzungen: iOS 9 oder höher bzw. Android 5.0 oder höher
  • Funktionen: Bildstabilisation, Panorama, Zeitraffer mit und ohne Bewegung, Bewegungssteuerung und -wiederholung, Feststellmodus, Parallax, Rennen-, Sport- und weitere Sondereinstellungen, feststellbare Arme, etc.
  • Neuheiten: Active Track 3.0, Force Mobile, FPV-Modus, Positionsmarkierung auf der Kameraplatte
  • Lieferumfang: Gimbal, BG 18 Griff inkl. Akku, Grifferweiterung / Stativ, Schwalbenschwanzplatte, Kamera-Erhöhung, Telefonhalterung, Objektivhalterung, USB-C-Kabel, Transportkoffer, 2 x Multi-Kamera-Kontrollkabel (Multi-USB und Typ C), 2 x Abdeckung für 8 Pin Anschluss, 2 x Innensechskantschlüssel, 3 x 1/4″ Schraube für Kameragewinde, 4 x M4-Schraube
  • Zusätzlicher Lieferumfang (Pro Combo): Fokusmotor, Focus Motor Stabbefestigung, Fokusrad, Fokus-Zahnradriemen, RSS-Splitter-Kabel, 6 x Schraube
  • Preis: DJI Ronin-SC für 359,00 € / DJI Ronin-SC Pro Combo für 459,00 €
Der DJI Ronin-SC Lieferumfang in der Pro Combo Version. Zusätzlich enthalten sind dabei Steuerelemente für das Fokusrad am Kamera-Objektiv.

Der DJI Ronin-SC Lieferumfang in der Pro Combo Version. Zusätzlich enthalten sind dabei Steuerelemente für das Fokusrad am Kamera-Objektiv.

DJI Ronin-SC: Kompatible Kameras als Liste

Wie im obigen Video zum DJI Ronin-SC Test als Notiz angegeben, so hat DJI eine Liste veröffentlicht, die aufzeigt, welche Kameras mit dem DJI Ronin-SC kompatibel sind. Laut dieser Liste, die immer wieder aktualisiert werden kann, sind es Stand 18. Juli 2019 folgende Kameramodelle von Sony, Nikon, Canon, Fujifilm und Panasonic:

  • Sony: A9, A6400, A7R III, A7 III, A7R II, A7S II, A7M II, A7S, A7, A6500, A6300, RX100V
  • Nikon: Z6, Z7
  • Canon: EOS R, M50
  • Panasonic: GH5, GH5S, G9, GH3, GH4
  • Fujifilm: X-H1, X-T2, X-T3

DJI Ronin-SC: Kompatible Objektive / Linsen als Liste

In der gleichen PDF-Datei, die ihr hier einsehen könnt, listet DJI für sein neues Gimbal ebenfalls kompatible Objektive in einer „Camera Lens Compatibility List“ auf. Darin steht auch, ob für die Verwendung die Kameraerhöhung (Camera Riser) nötig ist. Außerdem werden andere Voraussetzungen oder Einschränkungen genannt. Die gesamte Liste wie die obige wiederzugeben, das würde den hiesigen Rahmen sprengen. Schaut bei Interesse also gern mit dem obigen Link in die Auflistung.

Ronin App für die Steuerung per Smartphone

Sowohl für das Apple iPhone mit iOS als auch fürs Android-Handy gibt es die Ronin App, mit der man das volle Potenzial aus dem DJI Ronin-S oder DJI Ronin-SC herausholen kann. Den offiziellen und sicheren DJI Ronin Download findet ihr entsprechend im Apple App Store bzw. im Google Play Store.

‎DJI Ronin
‎DJI Ronin
Entwickler: DJI
Preis: Kostenlos
DJI Ronin
DJI Ronin
Preis: Kostenlos

Laut DJI sind neben den Apple-Modellen iPhone 6S bis XS Max nur einige Android-Smartphones mit der neuen Active Track 3.0 Funktion kompatibel. Während außer dem iPhone 6 und SE alle aktuellen Apple-Geräte unterstützt werden, sind es nur wenige Modelle von Samsung, Google, Huawei, Honor, vivo, OPPO, Xiaomi Mi und LG. Die Auflistung der derzeit verwendbaren Handys findet ihr mit dieser PDF. Diese wird wie die Kamera- und Objektiv-Übersicht immer wieder aktualisiert.

Weitere Infos und 3-Achsen-Gimbal kaufen

Weitere Informationen, Bilder, Daten und Angaben zu einzelnen Funktionen findet ihr auf der Produktseite des DJI Online Shop. Dort gibt es auch zwei Videos, welche das neue Gimbal in Aktion zeigen. Beachtet dabei, dass es sich bei Veröffentlichung dieses Beitrags um ein neues Gerät handelt, weswegen Bestellungen auf zwei Stück pro Person begrenzt sind. Hier die Links zu den Produkten:

Was haltet ihr von dem neuen, kleineren und leichteren Systemkamera-Gimbal von DJI? Lasst gern einen Kommentar mit eurer Meinung da!

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

3 Kommentare

  1. Interessanter Artikel, Gratulation! 👍Was in allen bisherigen Berichten jedoch fehlt ist die Anwendung von DJI RONIN SC verbinden mit Fujifilm X-T3 inclusive montierten Batteriegriff zusammen mit ATOMO NINJA V. Zu hoffen ist dass auch bald ein Update für Android Smartphones (Samsung Note8), zur Verwendung der Bewegungssteuerung geben wird!
    MfG
    Heribert Sp

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Heribert! Da ich den DJI Ronin SC nicht habe und auch die Fujifilm X-T3 nicht kennt, kann ich da wenig zu berichten. 😀 Wenn du Infos dazu hast, die vielleicht interessant sind, können wir die gerne hier ergänzen. Für die Leser, die etwas mit den Geräten anfangen können. 😉

      • HeribertSp sagt:

        Danke für die Antwort. Da die beiden Produke längst allgemein an sich bekannt und im Gebrauch sind dürften zumindest Leser unserer Artikel eigentlich produktiv beantworten können.

        Ich werdew ja benachrichtigt werden wenn dies der Fall sein würde!
        MfG
        Heribert Sp

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.