HDMI 2.1 for TV, DVD, Blu-Ray and gaming: information, data and advantages

HDMI 2.1 8K Movies, Games, Games, Dynamic HDR, 48G Cable, Game Mode VRR

HDMI 2.1 is the new one on the CES 2017 presented standard for digital image transmission, which brings Dynamic HDR, 4K with up to 120 fps and 8K with up to 60 fps. Everything you need to know about HDMI 2.1, what compatibility exists, how the innovations affect films, video games and television; I have prepared all of this for you.

HDMI 2.1 cable 48G cable backwards compatible

When will HDMI 2.1 be launched?

The new technology for image and video transmission was presented on January 4, 2017; on the one hand at CES 2017, on the other hand also through a HDMI Association press release. The latter shows that the HDMI 2.1 standard should be available for end users from the second quarter of 2017. Whether there will then be enough compatible devices and cables that can be bought from April 2017 remains to be seen. I think that players as well as cables and TVs with HDMI 2.1 could be available for the upcoming Christmas season so that you can put together a complete set.

Comparison Full HD 4K 8K HDMI 2.1

High definition multimedia interface on a whole new level

But what changes, innovations or innovations on the market for moving images does the presented technology bring? How should the enjoyment of multimedia content improve? Here I have summarized the individual points for you so that you can get an insight:

  • Support of 8K videos or films (7.680 x 4.320 pixels) with 60 Hz and 4K content (3.840 x 2.160 pixels) with up to 120 Hz
  • Dynamic HDR for even more realistic images: individually for each scene, each setting, each image displayed depth, details, brightness, contrast and the corresponding color spectrum
  • 48G cable: 48G stands for 48 GBit / s for these cables, which enables uncompressed transmission of 8K content with HDR or Dynamic HDR
  • EARC as a new audio standard: audio return channel with new features such as object-based sound, automatic detection of devices and adaptation of the audio output, etc.
  • Game Mode VRR: Variable Refresh Rates (VRR) enable an individual gaming experience - also in the area of ​​3D media including reducing or reducing lag, jumps and jumps as well as fragmentary frames
Dynamic HDR is made possible by HDMI 2.1. Here is a comparison image (example graphic) of SDR, Static HDR and Dynamic HDR.

Dynamic HDR is made possible by HDMI 2.1. Here is a comparison image (example graphic) of SDR, Static HDR and Dynamic HDR.

Is HDMI 2.1 backward compatible?

Yes, the new HDMI Standard 2.1 is compatible with devices and cables for the HDMI 2.0 standard. In other words: if you have an HDMI 2.1 TV or DVD or Blu-Ray player, but only an HDMI 2.0 cable for the time being, then you can still watch films. The other way around, you can connect 2.0 technology with a 48G cable of the 2.1 standard. The only downside of the whole thing: if you are looking for the best standard and 8K films (e.g. Guardians of the Galaxy 2), you have to pay attention to the HDMI 2.1 standard for every element of the device chain.

Data transfer from HDMI cables: 1.4, 2.0 and 2.1

HDMI 2.1 48G cable data rateThere has been a noticeable leap in the transmission rate of HDMI cables from the 2.0 standard to the new 2.1 technology. The individual values ​​are clearly listed here:

  • HDMI 1.4 cable: 10,2 Gbit / s
  • HDMI 2.0 cable: 18 Gbit / s
  • HDMI 2.1 cable: 48 Gbit / s

Can devices also get HDMI 2.1 via software update?

This is quite conceivable for televisions as well as for players and game consoles. Whether the manufacturers of Smart TV devices that are connected to the Internet will roll out an update, however, cannot be foreseen. For consoles, an update to HDMI 2.1 via software patch is more conceivable, but should not be guaranteed here either.

Your opinion on the new Ultra-Ultra HD television, gaming and more

Do you already use 4K media? Do you stream in high resolution and pay attention to UHD Blu-Rays when buying films on data carriers? Or are you just waiting for HDMI 2.1 technology with 8K support, Dynamic HDR, eARC Audio and VRR Game Mode to come onto the market? What would you be willing to pay for a complete set for the home theater or the gaming cave? Feel free to leave a comment! :)

Unless otherwise stated, all images or background graphics are from hdmi.org.

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

HDMI 2.1 für TV, DVD, Blu-Ray und Gaming: Infos, Daten und Vorteile

HDMI 2.1 ist der neue, auf der CES 2017 vorgestellte Standard für die digitale Bildübertragung, welcher Dynamic HDR, 4K mit bis zu 120 fps und 8K mit bis zu 60 fps mitbringt. Was ihr alles zu HDMI 2.1 wissen müsst, welche Kompatibilität besteht, wie sich die Neuerungen auf Filme, Videospiele und das Fernsehen auswirken; das alles habe ich euch aufbereitet.

HDMI 2.1 Kabel 48G-Kabel abwärtskompatibel

Wann kommt HDMI 2.1 auf den Markt?

Die neue Technologie für die Bild- bzw. Videoübertragung wurde am 4. Januar 2017 vorgestellt; einerseits auf der CES 2017, andererseits auch durch eine Pressemitteilung der HDMI Association. Aus letzterer geht hervor, dass der HDMI 2.1 Standard ab dem zweiten Quartal 2017 für Endverbraucher bereitstehen soll. Ob es dann aber schon ausreichend kompatible Geräte und Kabel gibt, die man ab April 2017 kaufen kann, das bleibt fraglich. Ich denke, dass zum kommenden Weihnachtsgeschäft sowohl Player als auch Kabel und Fernseher mit HDMI 2.1 verfügbar sein könnten, sodass man sich ein komplettes Set zusammenstellen kann.

Vergleich Full HD 4K 8K HDMI 2.1

High Definition Multimedia Interface auf ganz neuem Level

Doch welche Änderungen, Neuerungen bzw. Innovationen auf dem Markt für bewegte Bilder bringt die vorgestellte Technologie nun? Wie soll sich der Genuss von Multimedia-Inhalten verbessern? Hier habe ich euch mal die einzelnen Punkte zusammengefasst, damit ihr euch einen Einblick verschaffen könnt:

  • Unterstützung von 8K Videos bzw. Filme (7.680 x 4.320 Pixel) mit 60 Hz und 4K Inhalten (3.840 x 2.160 Pixel) mit bis zu 120 Hz
  • Dynamic HDR für noch realistischere Bilder: individuell für jede Szene, jede Einstellung, jedes Bild dargestellte Tiefe, Details, Helligkeit, Kontrast und entsprechendes Farbspektrum
  • 48G Kabel: 48G steht bei diesen Kabeln für 48 GBit/s, was eine unkomprimierte Übertragung von 8K Inhalten mit HDR bzw. Dynamic HDR ermöglicht
  • eARC als neuer Audio Standard: Audio Return Channel mit neuen Features wie objektbasierter Klang, automatische Erkennung von Geräten und Anpassung der Audioausgabe, etc.
  • Game Mode VRR: Variable Refresh Rates (VRR) ermöglichen ein individuelles Gaming-Erlebnis – auch im Bereich der 3D Medien inkl. Reduzierung bzw. Minderung von Lag, Stockungen und Sprüngen sowie bruchstückhaften Frames
Dynamic HDR wird durch HDMI 2.1 möglich gemacht. Hier ein Vergleichsbild (Beispielgrafik) von SDR, Static HDR und Dynamic HDR.

Dynamic HDR wird durch HDMI 2.1 möglich gemacht. Hier ein Vergleichsbild (Beispielgrafik) von SDR, Static HDR und Dynamic HDR.

Ist HDMI 2.1 abwärtskompatibel?

Ja, der neue HDMI Standard 2.1 ist kompatibel mit Geräten und Kabeln für den HDMI 2.0 Standard. Oder anders gesagt: wenn ihr einen HDMI 2.1 Fernseher oder DVD bzw. Blu-Ray Player habt, aber vorerst nur ein HDMI 2.0 Kabel, dann könnt ihr trotzdem Filme schauen. Andersherum könnt ihr 2.0 Technik mit einem 48G Kabel des 2.1 Standards verbinden. Der einzige Nachteil der ganzen Angelegenheit: wenn ihr euch auf den besten Standard und 8K Filme (z. B. Guardians of the Galaxy 2) einrichten wollt, müsst ihr bei jedem Element der Gerätekette auf den HDMI 2.1 Standard achten.

Mehr für dich:
Keine Router mehr: Apple AirPort wird nicht mehr weiterentwickelt

Datenübertragung von HDMI-Kabeln: 1.4, 2.0 und 2.1

HDMI 2.1 48G Kabel DatenrateBei der Übertragungsrate der HDMI Kabel gab es vom 2.0 Standard zur neuen 2.1 Technologie einen merklichen Sprung. Hier einmal die einzelnen Werte übersichtlich aufgelistet:

  • HDMI 1.4 Kabel: 10,2 GBit/s
  • HDMI 2.0 Kabel: 18 GBit/s
  • HDMI 2.1 Kabel: 48 GBit/s

Können Geräte auch per Software Update HDMI 2.1 bekommen?

Das ist für Fernseher sowie für Player und Spielekonsolen durchaus denkbar. Ob die Hersteller von Smart TV Geräten, die ans Internet angeschlossen sind, allerdings ein Update ausrollen, das ist nicht abzusehen. Für Konsolen ist ein Update auf HDMI 2.1 per Software-Patch eher denkbar, soll hier aber auch nicht garantiert werden.

Eure Meinung zum neuen Ultra-Ultra HD Fernsehen, Gaming und mehr

Nutzt ihr bereits 4K Medien? Streamt ihr in hoher Auflösung und achtet beim Kauf von Filmen auf Datenträgern auf UHD Blu-Rays? Oder wartet ihr gerade darauf, dass die HDMI 2.1Technik mit 8K Unterstützung, Dynamic HDR, eARC Audio und VRR Game Mode auf den Markt kommt? Was wärt ihr bereit für ein Komplettset fürs Heimkino oder die Gaming-Höhle zu löhnen? Lasst gern einen Kommentar da! 🙂

Soweit nicht anders angegeben stammen alle Bilder oder Hintergrundgrafiken von hdmi.org.

Vielleicht auch interessant?

Mehr für dich:
SetApp auf Deutsch: Programm-Flatrate ab heute offiziell in deutscher Sprache

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
52

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.