Oversight: Monitor camera and microphone for free (+ other free Mac apps)

Oversight Security App Mac Objective-See Camera Microphone Monitor Access Mac Apple Over Sight

Oversight from Objective-See is a program with which you can keep an eye on the microphone and camera access on your Mac, Different to Micro snitch Oversight is completely free. In addition, the developer offers more on his website Free apps for the security of Mac, iMac, MacBook and Co at. In addition to accessing the webcam and microphone, these apps also target ransomware, background processes, programs infected with malware, and more.

Oversight lets you know when an application wants to access the Mac's webcam or microphone. Here you can find information about the free

App for Mac, iMac, MacBook and Co." width="620″ height="290″ /> Oversight informs you when a program wants to access the Mac's webcam or microphone. Here you can find information about the free app for Mac , iMac, MacBook and Co.

Oversight for control of the microphone and camera on the Mac

Behind the free security program oversight is the company Objective-See, which is operated by Patrick Wardle. Wardle is Director of Research (R&D) at Synack, an IT security company. With Objective-See he offers free programs that he has written for the security of his Mac system. Oversight is a small tool that tells you when a program wants to have access to your Mac's camera and / or microphone.

Extensive information about the program, a Q&A, installation instructions and of course the download from Oversight you can find it through this link.

Other Mac security programs from Objective-See

Patrick Wardle offers a total of ten programs for more security on the Mac on his company website. This also includes the program What's your sign. This has nothing to do with the zodiac sign of the user, but offers an overview of the data and signatures in the files that you have via the Finder calls. Then there is the program KnockKnockwhich detects programs stubbornly installed on the system. So you can find aggressive malware among other things. The program works against ransomware RansomWhere? in front. It examines in the background whether any programs or processes encrypt your data unnoticed.

An overview of all Objective-See programs can be found with this link.

Possible compatibility problems with oversight and co

Patrick Wardle's website states that programs such as Oversight on OS X, partly specially designed for El Capitan are. So it may be that they don't work optimally on macOS Sierra. If you have already had experience with the programs on different Apple systems, please leave a comment! Thanks :)

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

2 comments

  1. piet says:

    Hi sir,

    objective see says on its website that every time the internal mic is addressed a warning message pops up.

    How about Siri under Sierra? Do you always have a warning on the screen when you use them?

    Greetings Piet

    • sir appleot says:

      Yes, unfortunately that is the case: each time the microphone is activated, a window pops up that does not disappear by itself. So you always have to press "OK" when you turn on Siri. There are also no setting options in the app so that Siri could be allowed. It's just free and very rudimentary. Maybe it is Micro snitch rather something for you? It costs a lot, but if it is structured like Little Snitch, then you can allow each program to be accessed individually ... that makes more sense. Greetings! Jens

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Oversight: Kamera und Mikrofon kostenlos überwachen (+ weitere kostenlose Mac Apps)

Oversight von Objective-See ist ein Programm mit dem ihr die Mikrofon- und Kamera-Zugriffe auf eurem Mac im Auge behaltet. Anders als Micro Snitch ist Oversight komplett kostenlos. Zudem bietet der Entwickler auf seiner Webseite noch weitere gratis Apps für die Sicherheit von Mac, iMac, MacBook und Co an. Neben dem Zugriff auf Webcam und Mikrofon zielen diese Apps auch auf Ransomware, Hintergrundprozesse, mit Malware infizierte Programme und einiges mehr ab.

Oversight informiert euch, wenn ein Programm auf die Webcam oder das Mikrofon des Mac zugreifen will. Hier findet ihr Infos zur gratis App für Mac, iMac, MacBook und Co.

Oversight informiert euch, wenn ein Programm auf die Webcam oder das Mikrofon des Mac zugreifen will. Hier findet ihr Infos zur gratis App für Mac, iMac, MacBook und Co.

Oversight für die Kontrolle über Mikrofon und Kamera am Mac

Hinter dem gratis Sicherheitsprogramm Oversight steckt das Unternehmen Objective-See, welches von Patrick Wardle betrieben wird. Wardle ist Direktor der Forschungsabteilung (R&D) bei Synack, einer IT-Sicherheitsfirma. Mit Objective-See bietet er kostenlos jene Programme an, die er selbst für die Sicherheit seines Mac Systems geschrieben hat. Oversight ist dabei ein kleines Tool, das euch darauf hinweist, wenn ein Programm Zugriff auf die Kamera und / oder das Mikrofon eures Mac haben möchte.

Umfangreiche Informationen zum Programm, ein Q&A, Installationshinweise und natürlich den Download von Oversight findet ihr vermittels dieses Links.

Weitere Mac Sicherheitsprogramme von Objective-See

Insgesamt bietet Patrick Wardle auf seiner Unternehmenswebseite zehn Programme für mehr Sicherheit am Mac an. Darunter ist auch das Programm What’s Your Sign. Dieses hat nichts mit dem Sternzeichen des Nutzers zu tun, sondern bietet eine Übersicht der Daten und Signaturen in den Dateien, die ihr über den Finder aufruft. Dann gibt es auch noch das Programm KnockKnock, welches hartnäckig auf dem System installierte Programme aufspürt. So könnt ihr u. a. aggressive Malware ausfindig machen. Gegen Ransomware geht das Programm RansomWhere? vor. Es untersucht im Hintergrund, ob irgendwelche Programme oder Prozesse unbemerkt eure Daten verschlüsseln.

Mehr für dich:
Nach SSD Einbau: Lüfter im iMac läuft durchgehend auf vollen Touren

Eine Übersicht über alle Programme von Objective-See findet ihr mit diesem Link.

Mögliche Kompatibilitätsprobleme bei Oversight und Co

Auf der Webseite von Patrick Wardle steht, dass die Programme wie Oversight auf OS X, teils speziell auf El Capitan ausgelegt sind. Es kann also sein, dass sie unter macOS Sierra nicht optimal funktionieren. Falls ihr schon Erfahrungen mit den Programmen auf unterschiedlichen Apple Systemen gemacht habt, lasst gern einen Kommentar da! Danke 🙂

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
4.85

2 Comments

  1. piet sagt:

    Hi Sir,

    objective see sagt auf seiner Website, dass jedes Mal wenn das interne Mic angesprochen wird eine Warnmeldung aufpoppt.

    Wie ist das nun mit Siri unter Sierra? Hast du bei deren Nutzung dann immer eine Warnung uf dem Schirm?

    Grüße Piet

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Ja, das ist leider so: Bei jeder Aktivierung des Mikrofons springt ein Fenster auf, das nicht von selbst verschwindet. Du musst also immer „OK“ drücken, wenn du Siri anwirfst. Es gibt auch keine Einstellungsmöglichkeiten in der App, so dass man Siri erlauben könnte. Sie ist halt gratis und sehr rudimentär. Vielleicht ist Micro Snitch eher was für dich? Kostet zwar, aber wenn es aufgebaut ist wie Little Snitch, dann kannst du jedem Programm einzeln Zugriffe erlauben… das macht schon mehr Sinn. Grüße! Jens

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.