The Kajitsu Playlist - recreated for you in Apple Music

Playlists that you create with music streaming services are a good way to put together an individual and always flexible mixtape of favorite songs and favorite artists. A very specific playlist, "The Kajitsu Playlist" by Ryūichi Sakamoto, made it into the New York Times. The professional musician was bothered by the music in restaurants and wanted to create his own mix that was supposed to provide aural accompaniment to the enjoyment of the meal. Since this is or was only available as a Spotify playlist, I have you the The Kajitsu playlist recreated in Apple Music - here the link.

The man behind The Kajitsu Playlist: Ryūichi Sakamoto in 2008 - Photo by Joi Ito on Wikipedia under CC BY 2.0 license

The man behind The Kajitsu Playlist: Ryūichi Sakamoto in 2008 - Photo by Joi Ito on Wikipedia under CC BY 2.0 license

"Annoyed by restaurant playlists, a master musician made his own"

This was the headline of the New York Times on July 23, 2018 in this article. It is about Ryūichi Sakamoto, a musician who likes to eat in the Japanese restaurant Kajitsu (located in Murray Hill, Manhatten). He always seemed to enjoy the food there; however, one day he asked the cook about the music being played in the locality. He didn't like it at all. His offer against the “thoughtlessly” cobbled together music selection: Sakamoto would put together his own playlist, and that without payment, just so that he and the other guests could feel more comfortable.

The Kajitsu playlist

The 66-year-old musician sat down for his ears and for the enjoyment of the other guests in the restaurant and designed a collection that the New York Times published in a Spotify playlist with the name "The Kajitsu Playlist" converted. The collection houses a total of 47 songs; from short titles with only 42 seconds to long pieces with 15 minutes and 11 seconds playing time. With 7 minutes and 22 seconds, the specifically named song “I Love Music” is on average. The only problem is: The NYT has only reconstructed the playlist for Spotify users.

The Kajitsu Playlist on Apple Music

But since - as far as music streaming is concerned - I live completely in Apple Music and like the playlist too on my HomePod want to hear, I simply recreated it for myself. There were only 2-3 songs that I just couldn't find. The list is recommended, for example, in the background for work or other quiet moments - and of course as accompanying music for a delicious meal. But if you don't like piano music, you won't have any fun here;) You will get to my playlist with a total of 45 titles with this link. Have fun listening to iTunes, HomePod and other Apple services / devices.

Why Ryūichi Sakamoto is so famous

As in the linked article from the NYT, I would also like to give a brief overview of the musician Ryūichi Sakamoto. Among other things, the 66-year-old co-founded the “Yellow Magic Orchestra” in the late 1970s - a trio that played electronic pop. Since then he has composed and produced a lot of music; including music for dance floors, concert halls, films and video games or mobile phone ring tones. In addition, he campaigned with his art and his person for ecological values ​​and goals as well as for political resistance. So he is a doer who is active on both a large and a small scale. And be it in the voluntary, musical redesign of a pub. 

More information and your opinion

Sounds interesting? Then take a look at the linked NYT article, there is still a lot of information about the person and work to be read. Wikipedia also holds here an article ready about him. If you are mainly interested in the The Kajitsu playlist are interested, then please have a listen and leave a comment with your opinion under this post;)

-
 

3 comments

  1. Lynne Marie says:

    Such a nice playlist. Well, not everything is to my taste, but with so many beautiful pieces, it's really okay. Thanks for compiling in Apple Music and for publishing!

  2. For that I would like an app SongShift recommend. It can automatically recreate playlists from one streaming service in another - and later also keep changes in sync. If songs are not found in the target service, you can also search for them again at a later point in time - sometimes songs are added to the portfolio.

    I just ran a quick sync on the Kajitsu playlist - 44 songs came out without manual rework, 3 could not be found (Diva: Promenade sentimentale, When she went away and The Weeping Meadow: Theme of the [...])

    Maybe an app tip for the blog ..

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hello Robert! Thank you, this is really a practical software recommendation. The days gets its own article. : D
      But the songs you mentioned are also the ones I didn't find. Therefore everything paletti with the playlist!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

The Kajitsu Playlist – für euch in Apple Music nachgebaut

Playlists, die man bei Musik-Streaming-Diensten anlegt, sind eine gute Möglichkeit, um ein individuelles und stets flexibles Mixtape von Lieblingsliedern und favorisierten Künstlern zusammenzubauen. Eine ganz bestimmte Playlist, „The Kajitsu Playlist“ von Ryūichi Sakamoto, hat es bis in die New York Times geschafft. Der professionelle Musiker hat sich an der Musik in Restaurants gestört und wollte einen eigenen Mix kreieren, der den Genuss beim Essen auditiv untermalen soll. Da dieser nur als Spotify-Playlist vorhanden ist bzw. war, habe ich euch die The Kajitsu Playlist in Apple Music nachgebaut – hier der Link.

Der Mann hinter der The Kajitsu Playlist: Ryūichi Sakamoto im Jahr 2008 - Foto von Joi Ito auf Wikipedia unter CC BY 2.0 Lizenz

Der Mann hinter der The Kajitsu Playlist: Ryūichi Sakamoto im Jahr 2008 – Foto von Joi Ito auf Wikipedia unter CC BY 2.0 Lizenz

„Genervt von Restaurant-Playlists hat ein Meistermusiker seine eigene gemacht“

So titelte die New York Times am 23. Juli 2018 in diesem Artikel. Darin geht es um Ryūichi Sakamoto, einen Musiker, der gern im japanischen Restaurant Kajitsu (gelegen in Murray Hill, Manhatten) isst. Das Essen dort schien ihm immer zu gefallen; jedoch sprach er eines Tages den Koch auf die in der Lokalität abgespielte Musik an. Diese hat ihm nämlich ganz und gar nicht gefallen. Sein Angebot gegen die „gedankenlos“ zusammengeschusterte Musikauswahl: Sakamoto würde eine eigene Playlist zusammenstellen, und das ohne Bezahlung, einfach nur damit er und die anderen Gäste sich wohler fühlen könnten.

The Kajitsu Playlist

Der 66-jährige Musiker setzte sich also für seiner Ohren Wohl und für den Genuss der anderen Gäste des Restaurants hin und gestaltete eine Sammlung, welche die New York Times in eine Spotify-Playlist mit dem Namen „The Kajitsu Playlist“ umwandelte. Insgesamt 47 Songs beherbergt die Sammlung; von kurzen Titeln mit nur 42 Sekunden bis hin zu langen Stücken mit 15 Minuten und 11 Sekunden Spielzeit. Mit 7 Minuten und 22 Sekunden liegt der bezeichnend benannte Song „I Love Music“ also im Durchschnitt. Das Problem ist nur: Die NYT hat die Playlist lediglich für Spotify-Nutzer rekonstruiert.

The Kajitsu Playlist bei Apple Music

Da ich aber – was das Musik-Streaming angeht – komplett in Apple Music lebe und die Playlist gerne auch auf meinem HomePod hören möchte, habe ich sie mir kurzerhand nachgebaut. Es gab nur 2-3 Songs, die ich einfach nicht finden konnte. Empfehlenswert ist die Liste zum Beispiel im Hintergrund fürs Arbeiten oder für andere ruhige Momente – sowie natürlich als Begleitmusik für ein leckeres Essen. Wer jedoch keine Klaviermusik mag, der wird hier keinen Spaß haben 😉 Zu meiner Abspielliste mit insgesamt 45 Titeln gelangt ihr mit diesem Link. Viel Spaß beim durchhören mit iTunes, dem HomePod und weiteren Apple-Diensten / -Geräten.

Warum Ryūichi Sakamoto so bekannt ist

Wie im verlinkten Beitrag von der NYT, möchte ich auch einen kurzen Abriss zum Musiker Ryūichi Sakamoto geben. Der 66-jährige gründete unter anderem in den späten 1970er Jahren das „Yellow Magic Orchestra“ mit – ein Trio, das Electronic-Pop spielte. Seitdem hat er sehr viel Musik komponiert und produziert; darunter Musik für Tanzflächen, Konzerthallen, Filme und Videospiele oder auch Handy-Klingeltöne. Überdies setzte er sich mit seiner Kunst bzw. seiner Person für ökologische Werte und Ziele sowie für politischen Widerstand ein. Er ist also ein Macher, der sowohl im Großen als auch im Kleinen aktiv wird. Und sei es bei der freiwilligen, musikalischen Umgestaltung eines Lokals. 

Noch mehr Infos und eure Meinung

Klingt interessant? Dann schaut mal im verlinkten NYT-Artikel vorbei, dort gibt es noch jede Menge Informationen zu Person und Wirken zu lesen. Auch Wikipedia hält hier einen Artikel über ihn bereit. Wenn ihr hauptsächlich an der The Kajitsu Playlist interessiert seid, dann hört gern mal rein und lasst einen Kommentar mit eurer Meinung unter diesem Beitrag da 😉

3 Kommentare

  1. Lynne Marie sagt:

    So eine schöne Playlist. Gut, nicht alles ist nach meinem Geschmack, aber bei so vielen schönen Stücken, ist es echt okay. Danke fürs Zusammenstellen in Apple Music und für’s Publizieren!

  2. Dafür würde ich eine App wie SongShift empfehlen. Die kann automatisch Playlisten aus einem Streamingdienst in einem anderen nachbauen – und später auch Änderungen in Sync halten. Sollten dabei Songs im Ziel-Dienst nicht gefunden werden, so kann man auch zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt auch nochmal danach suchen lassen – manchmal kommen Songs ja durchaus im Portfolio dazu.

    Ich hab eben mal schnell einen Sync auf die Kajitsu Playlist durchlaufen lassen – ohne manuelle Nacharbeit kamen dabei 44 Songs raus, 3 konnten nicht gefunden werden (Diva: Promenade sentimentale, When she went away und The Weeping Meadow: Theme of the […])

    Vielleicht mal ein App-Tipp für’s Blog..

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Robert! Danke, das ist wirklich mal ne praktische Software-Empfehlung. Die bekommt die Tage einen eigenen Artikel. 😀
      Aber die Songs, die du genannt hast, sind auch die, die ich nicht gefunden habe. Von daher alles paletti mit der Playlist!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.