Flash Player Plugin expires in 2020: Adobe announces "End-of-Life"

Flashplayer Plug In End of Life 2017 decided

Together with companies such as Apple, Facebook, Google, Microsoft and Mozilla, Adobe is preparing the end of the life of the Adobe Flash Player Plugins. For a long time the Flash Player was the leading force when it came to video content, complex page layouts, online games, so-called mini games and the like in the web browser. With new, better and more secure solutions such as HTML5, WebGL and WebAssembly, there is hardly any reason to exist for the plugin, which feels like an update every week. That's why Adobe now has the plan to phase out Flash 2020, veröffentlicht.

The Adobe Flash Player plugin for web browsers will expire in 2020. There will be no more security updates from the end of 2020 / beginning of 2021.

The Adobe Flash Player plugin for web browsers will expire in 2020. There will be no more security updates from the end of 2020 / beginning of 2021.

The Adobe Flash Player has had its day

If even YouTube For Apple Safari, Mozilla Firefox, Opera, Google Chrome and Microsoft Internet Explorer, instead of using Adobe Flash Player, if you prefer to offer video content in the form of HTML5, then you can already say that the once essential plug-in has had its day. Adobe itself has now finally recognized this, especially since the multimedia plug-in in the Firefox browser, for example, is the last of its kind as an NPAPI (Netscape Plug-in Application Programming Interface). Java from Oracle and Silverlight from Microsoft are no longer offered by default in the new versions.

Get active on YouTube and Twitch: Let's play equipment

Will the plugin suddenly disappear in 2020?

No. Because there is still a huge amount of Flash content on the Internet that will certainly not be completely converted into other formats or technologies by 2020. The functionality of Adobe's Flash Player plug-in will not stop suddenly at the end of 2020. Rather, support and updates are to be discontinued. Anyone who only works with modern sites and with the market leaders among video and game providers will certainly not have any problems with it. Because more and more pages have been converting to HTML5 and Co. for years anyway.

Recommended reading: Use your own router with existing cable tariff

Great partners and end-of-life plans

As already mentioned above, Adobe has brought Apple, Facebook, Google, Microsoft and Mozilla on board to prepare for the death of the Flash Player, to carry it out and to carry it into the world. Because these companies have a great influence on developers, content creators and other digital professionals. For example, Facebook already has Order given to game developersTo completely neglect Flash and only rely on alternatives.

At the same time, Mozilla has one schedule released for Flash phasing out in Firefox:

  • Previously: Adobe Flash was the only plugin that did not need to be activated and is now the only plugin of its kind that is supported at all
  • August / September 2017: In Firefox 55, users have to choose which pages are allowed to use Adobe Flash; Settings can be saved
  • September 2017: Firefox 56 for Android will no longer support plugins
  • Second half of 2018: Flash permissions can no longer be saved
  • Early in 2019: Users receive a warning on pages that continue to use Flash
  • In the course of 2019: Flash activation will no longer be displayed automatically, but must be made in the settings
  • Early in 2020: Flash support will be removed from Firefox; Extended Support Release (ESR) runs until the end of 2020
  • In 2021: If Adobe stops its security updates, Firefox will completely refuse the plugin

Attention: Trojans pose a threat to the Mac

Was Apple the driving force behind the downfall?

After Adobe bought the company Macromedia and with it the Flash development from Macromedia in 2005, the multimedia player got a rapid boom thanks to YouTube. On the other hand, however, the playback aid was crushed by Steve Jobs. This refused the Adobe Flash plugin the way to the iPhone, which was launched in 2007, as well as to the iPad. At least with Apple fans, that made an impression.

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Flash Player Plugin läuft 2020 aus: Adobe verkündet „End-of-Life“

Flashplayer Plug In End of Life 2017 beschlossen

Gemeinsam mit Firmen wie Apple, Facebook, Google, Microsoft und Mozilla bereitet Adobe das Lebensende des Adobe Flash Player Plugins vor. Lange Zeit war der Flash Player die führende Kraft wenn, es um Video-Inhalte, aufwendigere Seitenlayouts, Online Spiele, sogenannte Mini Games und ähnliches im Webbrowser ging. Mit neuen, besseren und sicheren Lösungen wie HTML5, WebGL und WebAssembly gibt es aber kaum noch einen Existenzgrund für das Plugin, das gefühlt jede Woche ein Update verlangt. Deshalb hat Adobe nun den Plan, Flash 2020 auslaufen zu lassen, veröffentlicht.

Das Adobe Flash Player Plugin für Webbrowser wird 2020 auslaufen. Ab Ende 2020 / Anfang 2021 gibt es keine Sicherheitsupdates mehr.

Das Adobe Flash Player Plugin für Webbrowser wird 2020 auslaufen. Ab Ende 2020 / Anfang 2021 gibt es keine Sicherheitsupdates mehr.

Der Adobe Flash Player hat ausgedient

Wenn sogar YouTube für Apple Safari, Mozilla Firefox, Opera, Google Chrome und Microsoft Internet Explorer anstatt den Adobe Flash Player zu nutzen Video-Inhalte lieber in Form von HTML5 anbietet, dann kann man bereits sagen, dass das einstmals essentielle Plugin ausgedient hat. Adobe selbst hat dies nun auch endlich erkannt, zumal beispielsweise beim Firefox-Browser das Multimedia-Plugin das letzte seiner Art als NPAPI (Netscape Plugin Application Programming Interface) ist. Java von Oracle und Silverlight von Microsoft werden standardmäßig in den neuen Versionen schon gar nicht mehr angeboten.

Auf YouTube und Twitch aktiv werden: Let’s Play Equipment

Wird das Plugin 2020 plötzlich verschwinden?

Nein. Denn es gibt immer noch eine Unmenge an Flash-Inhalten im Internet, die bis 2020 sicher nicht in Gänze in anderweitige Formate oder Technologien umgewandelt werden. Auch wird die Funktionalität des Flash Player Plugins von Adobe nicht mit Ende des Jahres 2020 auf einmal abbrechen. Vielmehr sollen Support und Updates eingestellt werden. Wer sich sowieso nur auf modernen Seiten sowie bei den Marktführern unter den Video- und Spieleanbietern bewegt, der wird sicherlich keine Probleme damit haben. Denn immer mehr Seiten stellen sowieso schon seit Jahren auf HTML5 und Co. um.

Lesetipp: Eigenen Router bei bestehendem Kabeltarif verwenden

Große Partner und Pläne für End-of-Life

Wie oben schon erwähnt, so hat sich Adobe unter anderem Apple, Facebook, Google, Microsoft und Mozilla ins Boot geholt, um das Absterben des Flash Players vorzubereiten, durchzuführen und in die Welt zu tragen. Denn diese Firmen haben großen Einfluss auf Entwickler, Content Creator und weitere digitale Fachkräfte. Facebook hat beispielsweise schon Order an Spiele-Entwickler gegeben, Flash komplett zu vernachlässigen und nur noch auf Alternativen zu setzen.

Gleichzeitig hat Mozilla einen Zeitplan für das Auslaufen von Flash in Firefox veröffentlicht:

  • Bisher: Adobe Flash war das einzige Nicht-aktivierungsbedürftige Plugin und ist nun das einzige überhaupt unterstützte Plugin seiner Art
  • August / September 2017: In Firefox 55 müssen die Nutzer auswählen, welche Seiten Adobe Flash nutzen dürfen; Einstellungen können gespeichert werden
  • September 2017: Firefox 56 für Android wird kein Plugins mehr unterstützen
  • Zweites Halbjahr 2018: Flash-Berechtigungen können nicht mehr gespeichert werden
  • Früh in 2019: Nutzer bekommen eine Warnung auf Seiten, die weiterhin Flash nutzen
  • Im Laufe von 2019: Flash-Aktivierung wird keine automatisch angezeigte Option mehr, sondern muss in den Einstellungen vorgenommen werden
  • Früh in 2020: Der Flash-Support wird aus Firefox entfernt; Extended Support Release (ESR) läuft bis Ende 2020
  • In 2021: Wenn Adobe seine Sicherheitsupdates einstellt, dann wird Firefox das Plugin komplett verweigern

Achtung: Gefahr für den Mac durch Trojaner

War Apple treibende Kraft beim Untergang?

Nachdem Adobe die Firma Macromedia und damit auch die Flash-Entwicklung von Macromedia im Jahr 2005 aufgekauft hatte, bekam der Multimedia-Player zwar durch YouTube einen rasanten Aufschwung. Auf anderer Seite wurde die Abspielhilfe aber niedergeschmettert, und zwar von Steve Jobs. Dieser verweigerte dem Adobe Flash Plugin den Weg auf das 2007 auf den Markt gebrachte iPhone sowie auf das iPad. Zumindest bei Apple-Fans hat das sicher einen Eindruck hinterlassen.


Praxis-Tipp: Samsung T7 Portable SSD – externe, superschnelle USB 3.2 Gen.2 SSD gibt es bei Amazon derzeit mit 26% Rabatt.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alle News 1x pro Woche

Du magst die Artikel auf Sir Apfelot?
Dann trage dich in meinen wöchentlichen Newsletter ein.