Apple Park: Apple Campus 2 Tour

The Apple ParkAlso the spaceship called, was completed in 2016 and has been used by Apple employees since April 2017. Regular use as Apple's HQ will soon begin. The giant building, located three miles outside of Cupertino, was allowed to go through the magazine beforehand Popular Science which published a corresponding report in its July / August 2016 edition. The tour through the building and the facts about it show the enormous dimensions of the monster building - now also on the Popular Science website.

Apple Park, Campus 2
A concept image taken from Apple Park, the tech giant's Campus 2 Cupertinohow it should look by the end of 2017.

"As huge as your own global reach"

This is how Popular Science describes the new Apple campus popsci.com. The building, referred to by many as a spaceship, is more than a mile in circumference. That's more than 1,6 kilometers! This makes Apple Park larger than the Pentagon, the headquarters of the US Department of Defense.

Another comparison: the first Apple campus measures 130.000 m²; the Apple Campus 2 measures five and a half times with over 710.000 m². The diameter of the ring-shaped building is 461 meters - within the complex there will be a 12 hectare park that could accommodate Vienna's city park twice.

Apple Park: Facts and Figures on Campus 2

The land for the new headquarters, which is just under a mile east of the current headquarters, has been owned by Apple since 2006. The foundation stone for the new building took place in 2013. From autumn 2017 it will offer space for 12.000 to 13.000 employees. With around 14.000 parking spaces, guests and business partners also have the opportunity to park their vehicles. To make a long list short, here is a list of all the important data and figures for the new monster building in Silicon Valley:

  • Architect: Norman Foster
  • Area: 176 acres or around 712.272 m²
  • Floors: 4 above ground; 3 underground
  • In addition to offices, conference halls, research facilities, etc. there will also be cafes, more than 3,2 km of paths in the park, a fitness center and a visitor center with a café and Apple Store
  • Glass shoring: 1,23 million square feet or 114.270 m²; around 3.000 window panes; heaviest element weighs 7.000 pounds or 3.175 kg
  • Concrete: Approx. 4.300 concrete slabs were used for floors and ceilings; the heaviest weighs around 60.000 pounds or 27,2 tons
  • The self-ventilation of the concrete slabs should relieve the air conditioning system or make it superfluous
  • Energy: The solar panels on the roof are supposed to produce 16 megawatts; If the conditions are particularly favorable, up to 75% of one's own electricity needs should be produced by the company
  • Unofficial cost statement: The construction is said to have cost up to 5 billion US dollars

via GIPHY

 

Keynotes are held in the company's own auditorium

By the way, Apple will completely move into the new home. This means that in addition to the many thousands of employees, names to be named such as the designer Jony Ive and the CEO Tim Cook will move in with their offices. There will also be an auditorium measuring more than 11.145 m², which will be used for product presentations and other keynotes. The name: Steve Jobs Theater. That September Keynote 2017 with the launch of the iPhone 8, which will take place in the Steve Jobs Theater, is not yet in sight; but would be appropriate.

More information and a video

You can find more information and a video on the topic on the Popular Science website in the relevant section Post . For this blog entry I also have data from the Wikipedia entry used to the Apple Park. In addition to the video at PopSci, I would now like to conclude with a current video of the construction work on Apple Park (the March 2017 update from Matthew Roberts) present:

-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

In the Sir Apfelot Blog you will find advice, instructions and reviews on Apple products such as the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini and Mac Studio.

Apple Park: Tour durch den Apple Campus 2

Der Apple Park, auch das Raumschiff genannt, wurde 2016 fertiggestellt und wird seit April 2017 von den Apple-Angestellten bezogen. Bald schon wird der Startschuss der regulären Nutzung als HQ von Apple fallen. Das drei Meilen außerhalb von Cupertino gelegene Riesen-Gebäude durfte vorab durch das Magazin Popular Science besucht werden, welches einen entsprechenden Bericht in seiner Juli/August 2016 Ausgabe publizierte. Die Tour durch das Gebäude und die Fakten zu selbigem zeigen die enormen Ausmaße des Monsterbaus – nun auch auf der Internetseite von Popular Science.

Apple Park, Campus 2

Ein Konzeptbild vom Apple Park, dem Campus 2 des Technikriesen aus Cupertino, wie er Ende 2017 aussehen soll.

„So gewaltig wie die eigene globale Reichweite“

So beschreibt Popular Science den neuen Apple Campus auf popsci.com. Das von vielen als Raumschiff bzw. Spaceship bezeichnete Gebäude hat mehr als eine Meile Umfang. Das sind mehr als 1,6 Kilometer! Damit ist der Apple Park größer als das Pentagon, der Hauptsitz des US-amerikanischen Verteidigungsministeriums.

Ein weiterer Vergleich: der erste Apple Campus misst 130.000 m²; der Apple Campus 2 misst mit über 710.000 m² das Fünfeinhalbfache. Der Durchmesser des ringförmig gebauten Gebäudes beträgt 461 Meter – innerhalb der Anlage wird es einen 12 ha großen Park geben, der den Wiener Stadtpark zweimal in sich aufnehmen könnte.

Apple Park: Zahlen und Fakten zum Campus 2

Die Grundstücke für den neuen Hauptsitz, der knapp eine Meile östlich vom noch aktuellen entfernt liegt, hat Apple seit 2006 in Besitz. Die Grundsteinlegung für den neuen Bau fand 2013 statt. Er soll ab Herbst 2017 12.000 bis 13.000 Mitarbeitern Platz bieten. Mit ca. 14.000 Parkplätzen haben auch Gäste und Geschäftspartner eine Möglichkeit, ihr Fahrzeug abzustellen. Um eine lange Aufzählung kurz zu machen, hier alle wichtigen Daten und Zahlen zum neuen Monsterbau im Silicon Valley als Liste:

  • Architekt: Norman Foster
  • Fläche: 176 Morgen (engl.: Acre) bzw. rund 712.272 m²
  • Stockwerke: 4 oberirdisch; 3 unterirdisch
  • Neben Büros, Konferenzsälen, Forschungseinrichtungen, etc. wird es auch Cafés, mehr als 3,2 km Weg im Park, ein Fitnesscenter sowie ein Besucherzentrum mit Café und Apple Store geben
  • Glas-Verbau: 1,23 Millionen Quadratfuß bzw. 114.270 m²; rund 3.000 Fensterscheiben; schwerstes Element wiegt 7.000 Pfund bzw. 3.175 kg
  • Beton: Für Fußböden und Decken wurden ca. 4.300 Betonplatten verbaut; die schwerste wiegt rund 60.000 Pfund bzw. 27,2 Tonnen
  • Die Eigenbelüftung der Betonplatten soll die Klimaanlage entlasten bzw. überflüssig machen
  • Energie: 16 Megawatt sollen die Solar-Panels auf dem Dach produzieren; bei besonders günstigen Bedingungen sollen bis zu 75% des eigenen Strombedarfs selbst produziert werden
  • Inoffizielle Kostenaufstellung: der Bau soll bis zu 5 Milliarden US-Dollar gekostet haben

via GIPHY

 

Keynotes werden im eigenen Auditorium abgehalten

Apple wird übrigens komplett in die neue Behausung umziehen. Das heißt, dass neben den vielen tausend Angestellten auch namentlich zu nennende Größen wie der Designer Jony Ive und der CEO Tim Cook mit ihren Büros einziehen werden. Auch wird es ein mehr als 11.145 m² messendes Auditorium geben, das für Produktvorstellungen und andere Keynotes genutzt wird. Der Name: Steve Jobs Theatre. Dass die September Keynote 2017 mit der Vorstellung des iPhone 8 bereits im Steve Jobs Theatre stattfinden wird, das ist noch nicht abzusehen; wäre aber passend.

Weitere Infos und ein Video

Noch mehr Informationen und ein Video zum Thema findet ihr auf der Webseite von Popular Science im entsprechenden Beitrag. Für diesen Blogeintrag hier habe ich übrigens auch Daten aus dem Wikipedia-Eintrag zum Apple Park genutzt. Neben dem Video bei PopSci möchte ich euch nun abschließend auch noch ein aktuelles Video von den Bauarbeiten am Apple Park (das März 2017 Update von Matthew Roberts) präsentieren:


Wenn mein Beitrag geholfen hat und dir mein Blog unterstützenswert erscheint, würde ich mich über eine Hilfe per Steady oder Buy me a coffee sehr freuen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alle News 1x pro Woche

Du magst die Artikel auf Sir Apfelot?
Dann trage dich in meinen wöchentlichen Newsletter ein.