What and where is Cupertino?

Cupertino is a Californian city that is mentioned again and again in connection with the Apple company. Because the iPhone manufacturer has its headquarters in the city, more precisely in Apple Park, which is relatively central and on the 280 freeway. In addition to its headquarters, the company, which grew up with the Mac computer, maintains other facilities in Cupertino, such as Apple Central on the Wolfe Campus, several branch offices known as campuses and, last but not least, the Steve Jobs Theater. Apple co-founder Steve Jobs was associated with the city in part because he went to high school there.

Cupertino is located near the central coast of the US state of California. As part of Silicon Valley, the place is home to the Apple company, among others. Probably the most famous city in the area is San Francisco.

Cupertino is located near the central coast of the US state of California. As part of Silicon Valley, the place is home to the Apple company, among others. Probably the most famous city in the area is San Francisco.

Where is Cupertino?

The city of Cupertino is located in the central west of the US state of California, more precisely in Santa Clara County. With around 60.000 residents, the town fits seamlessly into the neighborhoods of San José to the east, Saratoga to the south, Rancho San Antonio County Park & ​​Open Space Preserve to the west, and Sunnyvale to the north. Further north is the Don Edwards San Francisco Bay National Wildlife Refuge in the bay, whose entrance to the sea is shaped by San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge. All around there is not only the Pacific to discover, but also plenty of mountains and parks - no wonder that many of the Mac operating systems have corresponding names.

Cupertino as part of Silicon Valley

Silicon Valley got its name around 1971. It goes back to the word "silicon" and to its geographical location in the Santa Clara Valley. Because in this area there were and are more than 1.000 companies that deal with the research, design and construction of computer technology. Meanwhile, Silicon Valley, which of course also includes Cupertino, extends into the San Francisco Peninsula. Sunnyvale (north of the City of Cupertino) could be identified as the central location of the area. Basically, Silicon Valley produces every conceivable business that can be associated with computers and digital offers.

Apple's connection to Cupertino and California

Apple was founded in 1976 by Steve Jobs, Steve Wozniak and Ronald Wayne in Los Altos, also in Silicon Valley. The location was chosen because it was Steve Jobs' childhood home where the Apple I computer was built. It wasn't until 1977 that the first "real" offices and other company facilities were rented - and that happened in Cupertino. Through the history and connection with the region and the state of California as a whole, a corresponding reference to the company's origin is constantly being created in the various products and presentations. Last but not least, they have different versions of OS X and macOS Names of California landmarks. The Special event in September 2021 was also called "California Streaming".

Apple Park as the second Apple campus in Cupertino

Apple maintained its first "Apple Campus" in Cupertino from 1993 to 2017 with the address 1 Infinity Loop as its corporate headquarters. From 2013, however, the Apple Park was built, which was then still planned as "Apple Campus 2". Since 2017/2018, the round building with the Steve Jobs Theater as an adjoining building has been the headquarters - it is located at the address One Apple Park Way in Cupertino. The first campus will continue to be used by Apple for offices and research facilities. As the name suggests, inside the round company headquarters there is a park, which also includes a pond, an event stage and other facilities. The design comes from the architect Norman Foster.

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

1 comment

  1. Thorsten says:

    Nice, thanks for the background. Very exciting to read.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Was und wo ist Cupertino?

Cupertino ist eine kalifornische Stadt, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Unternehmen Apple immer wieder genannt wird. Denn der iPhone-Hersteller hat seinen Hauptsitz in der Stadt, genauer gesagt im Apple Park, der sich relativ zentral sowie am Freeway 280 befindet. Neben seinem Hauptsitz unterhält das mit dem Mac-Computer groß gewordene Unternehmen noch weitere Einrichtungen in Cupertino, etwa den Apple Central an Wolfe Campus, mehrere als Campus bezeichnete Außenstellen sowie nicht zuletzt das Steve Jobs Theater. Der Co-Gründer Apples, Steve Jobs, war mit der Stadt u. a. verbunden, weil er dort zur High School ging.

Cupertino liegt in zentraler Küstennähe des US-Staats Kalifornien. Als Teil des Silicon Valley beheimatet der Ort u. a. das Unternehmen Apple. Die wohl bekannteste Stadt in der Nähe ist San Francisco.

Cupertino liegt in zentraler Küstennähe des US-Staats Kalifornien. Als Teil des Silicon Valley beheimatet der Ort u. a. das Unternehmen Apple. Die wohl bekannteste Stadt in der Nähe ist San Francisco.

Wo liegt Cupertino?

Die Stadt Cupertino liegt im zentralen Westen des US-Staats Kalifornien, genauer im Santa Clara County. Mit rund 60.000 Einwohner/innen fügt sich der Ort nahtlos in die Nachbarschaft aus San José im Osten, Saratoga im Süden, dem Rancho San Antonio County Park & Open Space Preserve im Westen sowie Sunnyvale im Norden ein. Weiter im Norden liegt das Don Edwards San Francisco Bay National Wildlife Refuge in der Bucht, deren Meereszugang durch San Francisco und die Golden Gate Bridge gestaltet wird. Rundherum gibt es aber nicht nur den Pazifik zu entdecken, sondern auch reichlich Gebirge und Parks – kein Wunder, dass viele der Mac-Betriebssysteme entsprechende Namen tragen.

Cupertino als Teil des Silicon Valley

Das Silicon Valley bekam seinen Namen bereits um 1971 herum. Er geht auf das Wort „Silicon“ (Silicium) sowie auf die geografische Lage im Santa Clara Valley zurück. Denn in diesem Areal gab und gibt es über 1.000 Unternehmen, die sich mit der Erforschung, der Konzeption und dem Bau von Computertechnik auseinandersetzen. Mittlerweile erstreckt sich das Silicon Valley, zu dem natürlich auch Cupertino gehört, bis in die Halbinsel von San Francisco hinein. Als zentrale Lage des Areals könnte man Sunnyvale (nördlich der City of Cupertino) verorten. Das Silicon Valley bringt im Grunde jedes denkbare Business hervor, das man mit Computern und digitalen Angeboten in Verbindung bringen kann.

Apples Verbindung zu Cupertino und Kalifornien

Apple wurde 1976 von Steve Jobs, Steve Wozniak und Ronald Wayne in Los Altos gegründet, einem Ort, der ebenfalls im Silicon Valley liegt. Der Ort wurde gewählt, weil dort das Elternhaus von Steve Jobs stand, in dem der Apple I Computer gebaut wurde. Erst 1977 wurden die ersten „echten“ Büros und andere Firmeneinrichtungen angemietet – und das passierte in Cupertino. Durch die Geschichte und Verbindung mit der Region und dem Bundesstaat Kalifornien im Ganzen entsteht immer wieder ein entsprechender Bezug zur Herkunft des Unternehmens in den verschiedenen Produkten und Präsentationen. Nicht zuletzt haben die verschiedenen Versionen von OS X und macOS Namen von kalifornischen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Das Special Event im September 2021 hieß zudem „California Streaming“.

Apple Park als zweiter Apple Campus in Cupertino

Apple unterhielt seinen ersten „Apple Campus“ von 1993 bis 2017 in Cupertino mit der Adresse 1 Infinity Loop als Hauptfirmensitz. Ab 2013 wurde allerdings der Apple Park gebaut, der damals noch als „Apple Campus 2“ geplant wurde. Seit 2017 / 2018 ist das runde Gebäude mit dem Steve Jobs Theater als Nebengebäude der Hauptsitz – es befindet sich an der Adresse One Apple Park Way in Cupertino. Der erste Campus wird weiterhin von Apple für Büros und Forschungseinrichtungen genutzt. Im Inneren des runden Firmensitzes befindet sich, wie der Name schon sagt, ein Park, zu dem auch ein Teich, eine Event-Bühne und weitere Einrichtungen gehören. Das Design stammt vom Architekten Norman Foster.


Hat dir der Artikel gefallen und helfen dir die Anleitungen im Blog? Dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn du das Blog über eine Steady-Mitgliedschaft oder bei Patreon unterstützen würdest.

1 Kommentar

  1. Thorsten sagt:

    Schön, danke für den Background. Sehr spannend zu lesen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert