Apple: MFi program for the certification of iPhone, iPad and iPod accessories

The abbreviation MFi from Apple stands for "Made for iPhone / iPad / iPod" and refers to accessories that can be used with the mobile devices from Cupertino; like Lightning cables. If a cable or gadget is made for an iPhone, iPad or iPod and is not MFi-certified, the device can be damaged, according to Apple. That is why MFi certification is very important for developers of devices as well as HomeKit gadgets and systems.

The Apple MFi certification for Lightning cables and accessories for iPhone, iPad and iPod Image source: Support.Apple.com

Image source: Support.Apple.com

Made for: Apple says that not every accessory fits every device

There are a lot of accessories and gadgets that can be connected to the iPhone, iPad and iPod, including several cables that are simply intended to replace the ones included in the scope of delivery. According to Apple but not all accessories on the market are really compatible with every model of iPhone, iPad or iPod, which is why the MFi program was introduced. In addition, only products with MFi certification should offer security for Apple devices.

Brief history of MFi certification

Here I would like to briefly show you the milestones of the MFi program so that you can see how it has developed. I am abstaining from one opinion here - quality and market restrictions should be contrasted with each other when forming your own opinion.

  • Macworld Expo 2005: "Made for iPod" was introduced as a certification / seal, e.g. for headphone cables with control units (volume up and down buttons, etc.)
  • Apple Accessory Protocol (AAP): With new control options through appropriate accessories, the MFi or Made for iPod seal became even more important for Apple
  • Apple iPhone in 2007: With the Apple iPhone, a new product line and thus a new definition for MFi came onto the market, namely "Made for iPhone"
  • Apple iPad in 2010: The Apple iPad has also been around since 2010 - since then MFi has stood for Made for iPod / iPhone / iPad; in addition, instead of the long names, almost only “MFi” is used
  • Lightning connection 2012: With Lightning, which is used in all three named gadgets of the corresponding generations, the abbreviation MFi was officially established as certification in 2012; In addition, the program itself was expanded, since Lightning brought new protocols with it
  • WWDC 2013: With the introduction of iOS 7 for mobile Apple products, the manufacturer again introduced new extensions to the Apple MFi program, which now also have the seal for controllers, i.e. control units for Games, made possible
  • Until 2016 and 2017: With more and more new Apple technologies and programs such as the HomeKit or the HealthKit, there will always be New Products for this included in the certification program
  • Outlook: The Mac and other Apple computers are becoming less and less important and are giving way to the iPhone, the iPhone Plus models, the iPad and so on; this means that the certification of accessories for these products is also up-to-date

Apple reports: Dangers of counterfeit Lightning accessories

As Apple shows in its official support area, some problems and dangers can arise if you do not use the original Apple-certified accessory systems, cables and the like for your iPhone. According to Apple, the problems include (the list is quoted):

  • Your iOS device could be damaged
  • The cable can be prone to damage
  • The connector end may fall off, get very hot, or no longer connect properly to your device
  • You cannot sync or charge your device

This is how you recognize original or fake MFi Lightning cables

According to the support page, Lightning to USB cables for the iPhone and other devices are not only about 18 cm long, but also have the words "Designed by Apple in California" followed by a reference to the country of manufacture and a 12- digit serial number. In addition, the MFi logo can be seen on the packaging, which distinguishes the cable (or gadget) as Made for iPhone.

Detect original and fake Lightning cables for Apple iPhone, iPad and iPod, that's how it works! Support.Apple.com

Detect original and fake Lightning cables for Apple iPhone, iPad and iPod, that's how it works!
Image source: Support.Apple.com

You should also pay attention to the appearance / workmanship of the Lightning connector. If you want to learn more about it, I recommend the Support page HT204566 from Apple. There you will not only find important information in writing, but also a number of images. If I were to take screenshots of each of them, I would have copied the whole page at some point;) So just click on it.

More articles on Mac, iPhone and the like

At Sir-Apfelot.de you can find a lot of information about the Mac, iPhone, iPad and iPod as well as other Apple devices and important topics related to the Cupertino group. Currently and until February 15, 2017, it is still running in here Raffle, where you can win accessories for the iPhone. Take a look and look for iPhone accessories or a power bank with 10.000 mAh :) You will also find news about Apple, reports and in this blog Tests on accessories like headphones and cases / covers as well as posts too Nerd stuff and everything else that has to do with technology.

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Apple: MFi Programm für die Zertifizierung von iPhone, iPad und iPod Zubehör

Die Abkürzung MFi von Apple steht für „Made for iPhone / iPad / iPod“ und bezieht sich auf Zubehör, welches mit den mobilen Geräten aus Cupertino genutzt werden kann; etwa Lightning Kabel. Ist ein Kabel oder Gadget für ein iPhone, iPad oder einen iPod gemacht und nicht MFi-zertifiziert, dann kann es laut Apple zu Beschädigungen der Geräte kommen. Deshalb ist die MFi Zertifizierung für Entwickler von Geräten sowie auch von HomeKit Gadgets und Systemen recht wichtig.

Die Apple MFi Zertifizierung für Lightning Kabel und Zubehör für iPhone, iPad und iPod Bildquelle: Support.Apple.com

Bildquelle: Support.Apple.com

Made for: Apple sagt, dass nicht jedes Zubehör zu jedem Gerät passt

Es gibt eine ganze Menge Zubehör und Gadgets, die man mit dem iPhone, dem iPad und dem iPod verbinden kann, darunter sind auch etliche Kabel, die einfach nur als Ersatz für jene im Lieferumfang dienen sollen. Laut Apple sind aber nicht alle auf dem Markt befindlichen Zubehör-Artikel auch wirklich mit jedem Modell des iPhone, iPad oder iPod kompatibel, weshalb das MFi Programm eingeführt wurde. Zudem sollen auch nur Produkte mit MFi Zertifizierung Sicherheit für die Apple Geräte bieten.

Kurze Geschichte der MFi Zertifizierung

Hier möchte ich euch kurz die Meilensteine des MFi Programms aufzeigen, damit ihr seht, wie es sich entwickelt hat. Einer Meinung enthalte ich mich hier – Qualität und Marktbeschränkung sollte man bei der Bildung einer eigenen Meinung aber sicher gegenüberstellen.

  • Macworld Expo 2005: „Made for iPod“ wurde als Zertifizierung / Siegel eingeführt, bspw. für Kopfhörerkabel mit Kontrolleinheiten (Laut- und Leise-Knopf, etc.)
  • Apple Accessory Protocol (AAP): Mit neuen Steuermöglichkeiten durch entsprechendes Zubehör wurden die Siegel MFi bzw. Made für iPod noch wichtiger für Apple
  • Apple iPhone im Jahr 2007: Mit dem Apple iPhone kam eine neue Produktlinie und damit eine neue Definition für MFi auf den Markt, nämlich „Made for iPhone“
  • Apple iPad im Jahr 2010: Seit 2010 gibt es zudem das Apple iPad – seitdem steht MFi für Made for iPod / iPhone / iPad; außerdem wird statt den langen Bezeichnungen fast nur noch „MFi“ verwendet
  • Lightning Anschluss 2012: Mit Lightning, welches bei allen drei benannten Gadgets entsprechender Generationen zum Einsatz kommt, wurde 2012 offiziell die Abkürzung MFi als Zertifizierung etabliert; zudem wurde das Programm an sich erweitert, da Lightning neue Protokolle mitbrachte
  • WWDC 2013: Mit der Vorstellung von iOS 7 für mobile Apple Produkte führte der Hersteller wieder neue Erweiterungen zum Apple MFi Programm ein, welche das Siegel nun auch für Controller, also Steuereinheiten für Spiele, ermöglichte
  • Bis 2016 und 2017: Mit immer neuen Apple Technologien und Programmen wie dem HomeKit oder dem HealthKit werden auch immer neue Produkte dafür ins Zertifizierungsprogramm aufgenommen
  • Ausblick: Der Mac und andere Rechner von Apple werden immer unwichtiger und weichen dem iPhone, den iPhone Plus Modellen, dem iPad und so weiter; damit behält auch die Zertifizierung von Zubehör für diese Produkte ihre Aktualität

Apple berichtet: Gefahren von gefälschtem Lightning Zubehör

Wie Apple in seinem offiziellen Support-Bereich darstellt, so können einige Probleme und Gefahren auftreten, wenn ihr nicht die original von Apple zertifizierten Zubehörsysteme, Kabel und dergleichen fürs iPhone verwendet. Zu den Problemen gehören laut Apple (Aufzählung ist Zitat):

  • Ihr iOS-Gerät kann beschädigt werden
  • Das Kabel kann anfällig für Beschädigungen sein
  • Das Anschlussende kann abfallen, sehr heiß werden oder sich nicht mehr gut an Ihr Gerät anschließen lassen
  • Sie können Ihr Gerät nicht synchronisieren oder laden

So erkennt ihr originale bzw. gefälschte MFi Lightning Kabel

Lightning-auf-USB-Kabel für das iPhone und andere Geräte weisen laut der Supportseite nicht nur eine Länge von ca. 18 cm auf, sondern auch den Schriftzug „Designed by Apple in California“ gefolgt von einem Hinweis auf das Herstellungsland und einer 12-stelligen Seriennummer. Außerdem ist auf der Verpackung das MFi-Logo zu erkennen, was das Kabel (oder Gadget) als Made for iPhone auszeichnet.

Originale und gefälschte Lightning Kabel für Apple iPhone, iPad und iPod erkennen, so geht's! Support.Apple.com

Originale und gefälschte Lightning Kabel für Apple iPhone, iPad und iPod erkennen, so geht’s!
Bildquelle: Support.Apple.com

Auch auf die Optik / die Verarbeitung ist beim Lightning Connector zu achten. Ich empfehle euch, wenn ihr mehr dazu erfahren wollt, die Support-Seite HT204566 von Apple aufzurufen. Dort findet ihr nicht nur wichtige Hinweise in Schriftform, sondern auch etliche Abbildungen. Wenn ich davon jeweils Screenshots machen würde, hätte ich irgendwann die ganze Seite kopiert 😉 Also klickt euch einfach mal rein.

Weitere Artikel zu Mac, iPhone und ähnliches

Auf Sir-Apfelot.de findet ihr viele Infos zum Mac, zu iPhone, iPad und iPod sowie zu weiteren Apple Geräten und wichtigen Themen rund um den Konzern aus Cupertino. Derzeit und noch bis zum 15. Februar 2017 läuft hier zudem noch ein Gewinnspiel, bei dem ihr Zubehör für das iPhone gewinnen könnt. Schaut mal rein und sucht euch iPhone-Zubehör bzw. eine Powerbank mit 10.000 mAh aus 🙂 Außerdem findet ihr in diesem Blog News zu Apple, Berichte und Tests zu Zubehör wie Kopfhörer und Cases / Hüllen sowie Beiträge zu Nerdkram und allem, was sonst noch mit Technik zu tun hat.

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.