FileMail - Free WeTransfer alternative for files up to 50 GB

The WeTransfer service, which it does too as a Mac app, is useful when you want to send larger files that are too big for an email or services like DropBox. The maximum size for the free version is 2 GB; subscription for 120 EUR per year with 20 GB. The flexible service FileMail on the other hand, offers a free transfer of files up to 50 GB in size! If you want to send / receive unlimited file packages and keep them available for downloading for a long time, you can choose between two price models.

TL; DR: Click here to go to the service's website

FileMail is up to 50 GB which is a free WeTransfer alternative. All features, information and prices for the subscription can be found here.

FileMail is up to 50 GB which is a free WeTransfer alternative. All features, information and prices for the subscription can be found here.

FileMail - Send large files via email

I often have to transfer raw video material and I often break the 2 GB limit with WeTransfer. For this reason, FileMail is a good alternative when you have really large files. Because even with the paid “WeTransfer Premium” you only get a maximum of 20 GB. With FileMail, files of up to 50 GB (or the download link for it) can be sent free of charge. The downloads are unlimited and possible for seven days.

According to their own statements, the idea for this service came to the developers in 2008 when they were also looking for a way to send very large files by email. But there wasn't one that lived up to their demands - so they made their own. And this service - FileMail - should be simple, fast and broken down to the essentials:

It's a simple web application where you just choose a file, type in an email address and hit 'send'. You don't need to worry about file sizes, speed drops or colorful download pages. The recipient receives a link and can download your file. That's all!

FileMail features at a glance

The team behind FileMail is led by two developers from Norway, Njål Arne Gjermundshaug and Tonaas Fauske. They and their employees have been working on the digital delivery service for large files for 10 years. And these are the most important features:

  • Faster and easier compared to cloud services
  • Easier than using a file hoster and sending download links manually
  • The paid version allows files of unlimited size to be sent
  • There is no need to register or install anything to download files
  • FileMail can be seamlessly integrated into e-mail programs
  • Better transfer speeds than other free services (according to developers)
  • Usable for companies including integration on the website and brand adaptation

Free, $ 8,25 or $ 15 a month

According to the information on the official website used by around 50.000 companies and a total of around 1.000.000 people. Here I have put together a comparison of the three FileMail price models, which you can use to determine whether the offer from the Norwegians is also something for you.

FileMail Free FileMail Pro FileMail Business
Price Free $ 8,25 a month $ 15 a month
Maximum file size 50 GB Unbegrenzt Unbegrenzt
Retention period 7 days 30 days Unbegrenzt
Permanent retention - -
Unlimited downloads
Track Your Order
FileMail Desktop
Bit torrent download
FTP download
HTTPS - secure transmission
Advertising - -
password protection -
Address book -
FileMail Outlook addon -
Branding (email and web) - -
Upload page - -
Integration on your own website - -
Individual support - -

Attention restriction: As I have just heard from a friend, she can only send two files in 24 hours without an account. That is certainly still important to note, but was not initially visible on the website.

Summary

FileMail is worthwhile for private, semi-professional or international companies that not only want to send large files but also receive them from customers. Files or archives of up to 50 GB can be sent directly by email as a download link free of charge - and downloaded by the recipient for seven days without any frills, registration or installation of cloud services. If you want more, you can take out a monthly subscription. This means that data of unlimited size can be sent for just under $ 100 a year - great!

-
 

3 comments

  1. Thomas says:

    Thanks for the tip, only with Wetransfer you can use the app without paying. I usually use Dropl and CloudApp but of course these tools don't go up to 50GB

  2. Uli says:

    The tool reports to me at 8 GB that I can only send up to 5 GB ...

    • Jen Kleinholz says:

      Hello Uli! I think they made some changes to the service recently. It could be that they changed the limit. I'll check back later and update the article if something is different. LG, Jens

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

FileMail – Gratis WeTransfer-Alternative für Dateien bis 50 GB

Der Dienst WeTransfer, den es auch als Mac App gibt, ist praktisch wenn man größere Dateien verschicken möchte, die für eine E-Mail oder auch Dienste wie DropBox zu groß sind. Die maximale Größe für die Gratis-Version liegt bei 2 GB; im Abo für 120 EUR im Jahr bei 20 GB. Der flexibel einsetzbare Dienst FileMail bietet dementgegen einen gratis Transfer von bis zu 50 GB große Dateien! Wer unbegrenzt große Dateipakete versenden / erhalten und lange für den Download bereithalten möchte, kann sich zwischen zwei Preismodellen entscheiden.

TL;DR: Hier geht’s zur Webseite des Dienstes

FileMail ist bis zu 50 GB eine gratis WeTransfer-Alternative ist. Alle Features, Informationen und Preise fürs Abo gibt's hier.

FileMail ist bis zu 50 GB eine gratis WeTransfer-Alternative ist. Alle Features, Informationen und Preise fürs Abo gibt’s hier.

FileMail – Große Dateien per E-Mail verschicken

Ich muss häufiger mal Video-Rohmaterial übertragen und da sprenge ich nicht selten die Grenze von 2 GB bei WeTransfer. Aus dem Grund ist FileMail eine gute Alternative, wenn man richtig große Dateien hat. Denn selbst mit dem kostenpflichtigen „WeTransfer Premium“ kommt man nur auf maximal 20 GB. Bei FileMail lassen sich Dateien mit bis zu 50 GB (bzw. der Downloadlink dafür) gratis verschicken. Die Downloads sind unbegrenzt und für sieben Tage möglich.

Die Idee für diesen Dienst kam den Entwicklern nach eigenen Aussagen im Jahr 2008 als sie ebenfalls nach einer Möglichkeit suchten, recht große Dateien per Mail zu verschicken. Es gab aber keine, die ihren Ansprüchen gerecht wurde – deshalb bastelten sie sich ihren eigenen. Und dieser Dienst – FileMail – soll einfach, schnell und auf das Wesentliche herunter gebrochen sein:

Es ist eine einfache Webapplikation, bei der Sie einfach eine Datei wählen, eine E-Mailadresse eintippen und auf ’send' klicken. Sie brauchen sich keine Sorgen um Dateigrössen, Geschwindigkeitseinbrüche oder bunte Downloadseiten zu machen. Der Empfänger erhält einen Link und kann Ihre Datei herunterladen. Das ist alles!

FileMail Features im Überblick

Das Team hinter FileMail wird von zwei Entwicklern aus Norwegen geführt, Njål Arne Gjermundshaug und Tonaas Fauske. Diese sowie ihre Mitarbeiter arbeiten nun seit 10 Jahren an dem digitalen Versanddienst für große Dateien. Und das sind die wichtigsten Features:

  • Schneller und einfacher im Vergleich zu Cloud-Services
  • Einfacher als einen File-Hoster zu nutzen und Downloadlinks manuell zu versenden
  • Die Bezahl-Version bietet das Versenden von unbegrenzt großen Dateien
  • Man muss sich für den Datei-Download nirgends registrieren oder etwas installieren
  • FileMail lässt sich nahtlos in E-Mail-Programme integrieren
  • Bessere Übertragungsgeschwindigkeiten als andere Gratis-Dienste (laut Entwicklern)
  • Nutzbar für Unternehmen inkl. Einbindung auf Webseite und Markenanpassung

Gratis, $8,25 oder $15 im Monat

FileMail wird laut Angaben auf der offiziellen Webseite von rund 50.000 Firmen und insgesamt von rund 1.000.000 Menschen genutzt. Hier habe ich euch einen Vergleich der drei Preismodelle von FileMail zusammengetragen, anhand derer ihr ausmachen könnt, ob das Angebot der Norweger auch etwas für euch ist.

FileMail GratisFileMail ProFileMail Business
PreisGratis8,25 $ im Monat$15 im Monat
Maximale Dateigröße50 GBUnbegrenztUnbegrenzt
Vorhaltedauer7 Tage30 TageUnbegrenzt
Permanente Aufbewahrung
Unbegrenzte Downloads
Sendung verfolgen
FileMail Desktop
BitTorrent Download
FTP Download
HTTPS – Sichere Übertragung
Werbung
Passwortschutz
Adressbuch
FileMail Outlook-Addon
Branding (E-Mails und Web)
Upload-Seite
Integration auf eigener Webseite
Individueller Support

Achtung Einschränkung: Wie ich eben von einer Bekannten gehört habe, kann sie ohne Account nur zwei Dateien in 24 Stunden versenden. Das ist sicher noch wichtig anzumerken, ist aber auf der Webseite erstmal nicht ersichtlich gewesen.

Fazit

Für Privat, Semi-Professionell oder fürs internationale Unternehmen, das nicht nur große Dateien versenden, sondern auch von Kunden erhalten möchte, lohnt sich FileMail. Bis zu 50 GB umfassende Dateien oder Archive lassen sich damit gratis direkt per Mail als Downloadlink verschicken – und vom Empfänger für sieben Tage ohne Firlefanz, Registrierung oder Installation von Cloud-Diensten herunterladen. Wer mehr will, kann ein monatlich zu zahlendes Abo abschließen. So lassen sich unbegrenzt große Daten sogar schon für knapp $100 im Jahr versenden – top!

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

1 Kommentar

  1. Thomas sagt:

    Danke für den Tipp, nur bei Wetransfer kann man die App auch ohne zu bezahlen nutzen. Ich nutze sonst Dropl und CloudApp aber natürlich gehen diese Tools nicht bis 50GB

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.