How many gigabytes and megabytes are actually a terabyte?

how many megabytes gigabytes

The conversion number of 1.000 is the most common one for laypeople when it comes to converting units from IT, but it is not that precise. Therefore, I would like to briefly explain to you what a terabyte (TB) is all about. And I would like to give a few examples of what data and in what amount could actually be stored on 1 TB. Yes, right, this is going to be a nerd article again;)

One terabyte is the equivalent of many megabytes

Let's not saddle up the horse from behind. Let us first take a look at the smallest unit that the layman - that is to say for the most part also to me - should be familiar; the bit. 8 bits make up one byte. And that brings us to the smallest storage unit. So that we don't get confused, here is a small overview of the conversions:

  • 8 bits are 1 Byte
  • 8.192 bits are 1.024 bytes 1 kilobyte
  • 8.388.608 bits are 1.048.576 bytes which are 1.024 kilobytes 1 Megabyte
  • 8.589.934.592 bits are 1.073.741.824 bytes which are 1.048.576 kilobytes which are 1.024 megabytes Gigabyte 1
  • 8.796.093.022.208 bits are 1.099.511.627.776 bytes are 1.073.741.824 kilobytes are 1.048.576 megabytes are 1.024 gigabytes 1 Terabyte
convert gigabyte to terabyte

We all use digital storage in the form of bits and bytes. But how many megabytes is a gigabyte and what is a terabyte? You can get the answers here (finally!). Image source: Pixabay

As I said: that was IT for laypeople

Actually, I gave you the values ​​for the binary names of the storage amounts in the overview. This means that it is a byte, kibibyte (KiB), mebibyte (MiB), gibibyte (GiB) and tebibyte (TiB). The decimal designations (byte, kB, MB, GB, TB, ...) are basically converted to 1.000, but are technically not really accurate. By the way, you will find a helper for conversions here .

What can you store on a terabyte?

If you want to know how much music, how many text documents, how many films or how many selfies you can save on a terabyte, you will unfortunately have to be satisfied with approximate estimates. Because not every photo, not every music file and not every text is the same in memory consumption. Especially with the same quality, "Song 2" by Blur (2:00 minutes) and "Angstkathedrale" by ASP (17:06 minutes) would offer significantly different values.

So if we roughly calculate with an average size of 5 MB per song (medium to high quality), we come to 209.715 music tracks on 1 TB. If we go into more detail and say that we save audio files with 44 kHz and 128 kBit, then we come to an average of 1 MB (in MP3 format) for one minute. This means that a fully available terabyte would hold 1.048.576 minutes of music. It is not uncommon for 10 MB per minute to be seen in WAV format. It is important to note that. Format, dimensions and color spectrum are also decisive for images. Format, formatting and similar components play a role in text files.

Perhaps with regard to text files it is still good to know that - considering the pure text - one gigabyte corresponds to around 200 Bibles, or 500 to 2.500 kilograms of paper. Where does this data come from? From this interesting thought experiment.

Conclusion on the topic

A terabyte is still a lot of storage space. Of course, the demands are getting higher and higher and due to the digitization of society and industry, petabytes and exabytes will soon be required; Big data and deep learning are just two important keywords. What do you use in everyday household use? Please leave me a comment. Thanks!

-
 

4 comments

  1. Stephen Balzer says:

    Hallo,
    the conversion from bit to byte contains a serious error.
    8 bits corresponds to 1 byte is still correct.
    But:
    192 bits are not 1024 bytes but
    8192 bits corresponds to 1024 bytes equal to 1 kilobyte
    Accordingly, the other conversions are also wrong.

    Please correct. Thanks.
    Mit freundlichen Grüßen
    Stefan Balzet

    • Johannes Domke says:

      Hi Stefan,
      thanks for the hint! The eights were lost due to the formatting as a list when creating the article.
      But now everything should be right.
      Best regards and have a nice weekend!

  2. Andrew Nigl says:

    that's really funny here, so arithmetic isn't your thing either.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Wie viel Gigabyte und Megabyte sind eigentlich ein Terabyte?

wie viel megabyte gigabyte

Die Umrechnungszahl von 1.000 ist zwar für Laien die gebräuchlichste wenn es um die Umrechnung von Einheiten aus der IT geht, aber so wirklich präzise ist das nicht. Deshalb möchte ich euch hier in aller Kürze darlegen, was es eigentlich mit einem Terabyte (TB) auf sich hat. Und ich möchte ein paar Beispiele dafür anbringen, welche Daten man in welcher Menge eigentlich auf 1 TB abspeichern könnte. Ja, richtig, dies wird mal wieder ein Nerd-Artikel 😉

Ein Terabyte entspricht ganz vielen Megabyte

Satteln wir das Pferd lieber nicht von hinten auf. Schauen wir zuerst auf die kleinste Einheit, die dem Laien – also weitestgehend auch mir – geläufig sein sollte; das Bit. 8 Bits ergeben ein Byte. Und damit sind wir auch schon bei der kleinsten Speichereinheit. Damit wir nicht durcheinander kommen, hier eine kleine Übersicht über die Umrechnungen:

  • 8 Bit sind 1 Byte
  • 8.192 Bits sind 1.024 Byte sind 1 Kilobyte
  • 8.388.608 Bits sind 1.048.576 Byte sind 1.024 Kilobyte sind 1 Megabyte
  • 8.589.934.592 Bits sind 1.073.741.824 Byte sind 1.048.576 Kilobyte sind 1.024 Megabyte sind 1 Gigabyte
  • 8.796.093.022.208 Bits sind 1.099.511.627.776 Byte sind 1.073.741.824 Kilobyte sind 1.048.576 Megabyte sind 1.024 Gigabyte sind 1 Terabyte
gigabyte terabyte umrechnen

Wir alle nutzen digitalen Speicher in Form von Bits und Bytes. Doch wie viele Megabyte sind ein Gigabyte und was ist ein Terabyte? Antworten bekommt ihr nun hier (endlich!). Bildquelle: Pixabay

Wie gesagt: das war IT für Laien

Eigentlich habe ich euch in der Übersicht die Werte für die Binärbezeichnungen der Speichermengen gegeben. Das heißt, es handelt sich um Byte, Kibibyte (KiB), Mebibyte (MiB), Gibibyte (GiB) und Tebibyte (TiB). Die Dezimalbezeichnungen (Byte, kB, MB, GB, TB, …) werden im Grunde mit 1.000 umgerechnet, sind aber technisch nicht wirklich genau. Einen Helfer für Umrechnungen findet ihr übrigens hier.

Was kann man alles auf einem Terabyte speichern?

Wer wissen will, wie viel Musik, wie viele Textdokumente, wie viele Filme oder wie viele Selfies man auf einem Terabyte speichern kann, der muss sich leider mit ungefähren Schätzungen zufrieden geben. Denn nicht jedes Foto, nicht jede Musikdatei und nicht jeder Text ist gleich im Speicherverbrauch. Vor allem bei gleicher Qualität würden etwa „Song 2“ von Blur (2:00 Minuten) und „Angstkathedrale“ von ASP (17:06 Minuten) signifikant verschiedene Werte bieten.

Rechnen wir also ganz grob mit einer durchschnittlichen Größe von 5 MB pro Song (mittlere bis hohe Qualität), dann kommen wir auf 209.715 Musiktitel auf 1 TB. Gehen wir mehr ins Detail und sagen, dass wir Audiodateien mit 44 kHz und 128 kBit abspeichern, dann kommen wir für eine Minute durchschnittlich auf 1 MB (im MP3-Format). Das heißt, dass ein vollständig verfügbares Terabyte 1.048.576 Minuten Musik fassen würde. Im WAV-Format sind nicht selten 10 MB pro Minute zu sehen. Das gilt es zu beachten. Auch bei Bildern sind Format, Abmessungen und Farbspektrum entscheidend. Bei Textdateien spielen Format, Formatierung und ähnliche Komponenten eine Rolle.

Vielleicht im Hinblick auf Textdateien noch gut zu wissen, dass – den reinen Text betrachtet – ein Gigabyte rund 200 Bibeln entspricht, oder aber 500 bis 2.500 Kilogramm Papier. Woher diese Daten kommen? Aus diesem interessanten Gedankenexperiment.

Fazit zum Thema

Ein Terabyte ist immer noch eine ganze Menge Speicherplatz. Natürlich werden die Ansprüche immer höher und durch die Digitalisierung der Gesellschaft sowie der Industrie werden auch bald Petabytes und Exabyte benötigt; Big Data und Deep Learning sind da nur zwei wichtige Schlagwörter. Was nutzt ihr im alltäglichen Hausgebrauch? Lasst mir gerne einen Kommentar da. Danke!

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

4 Kommentare

  1. Stefan Balzer sagt:

    Hallo,
    die Umrechnung von Bit nach Byte enthält einen gravierenden Fehler.
    8 Bit entspricht 1 Byte ist noch korrekt.
    Aber:
    192 Bit sind keine 1024 Byte sondern
    8192 Bit entspricht 1024 Byte gleich 1 Kilobyte
    Entsprechend sind die anderen Umrechnungen auch falsch.

    Bitte berichtigen. Danke.
    Mit freundlichen Grüßen
    Stefan Balzet

    • Johannes Domke sagt:

      Hallo Stefan,
      danke für den Hinweis! Die Achten sind aufgrund der Formatierung als Aufzählung bei der Artikelerstellung verlorengegangen.
      Jetzt dürfte aber alles stimmen.
      Viele Grüße und ein schönes Wochenende!

  2. Andreas Nigl sagt:

    das ist ja richtig lustig hier, also rechnen ist auch nicht so euer Ding.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.