MacDroid App - exchange files between Mac and Android smartphone

If you want to exchange files, music, photos and more between iPhone and Mac, it's very easy. It's easy to do via iTunes (up to macOS Mojave) or the Finder (from macOS Catalina); via AirDrop much easier and faster. But if you use an Android smartphone or want to receive data from someone's Android device on your Apple Mac, this is not so easy. The developers of ElectronicTeam, Inc. have made it their business to solve the problem with macdroid to solve. Details about the MacDroid app, the test version and the PRO version can be found below.

TL; DR: Click here for the download page

The MacDroid app in action; Screenshot by Electronic Team, Inc.

The MacDroid app in action; Screenshot by Electronic Team, Inc.

Exchange data between macOS and Android with the MacDroid app

With MacDroid, the "Electronic Team, Inc." wants to break down the barriers between macOS and Android devices in order to realize a smooth exchange of individual files and even entire folders. What works on the Windows PC sometimes without an auxiliary app and, depending on the manufacturer, with free clients and MTP drivers, is quite difficult on the Mac. Therefore, the following functions of the MacDroid app should help:

  • Mounting the internal storage and external storage (SD cards in the Android device)
  • Edit Android files without copying them to computer
  • Should work with any Android or MTP device that you have lying around
  • Only MacDroid is required, no further drivers, plugins or extensions
  • Connection of the devices via a USB cable (e.g. smartphone charging cable)

To explain: "MTP" stands for Media Transfer Protocol. 

MacDroid Download: 7 days free (?) Or PRO version

To get a first impression of the app, you can download a test version. That can be done directly via the developer website. There you will also find the "Get PRO" option, which costs 19,99 US dollars a year. For this price, you have the option of dragging files and folders from or to the Android smartphone as well as editing the files on the mobile device on the Mac at any time and without limits. In the following short test, you can read why the alleged 7-day trial version is not suitable for this!

Short test: MacDroid PRO tested with MacBook and Android mobile phone

The MacDroid download from the site linked above works without any problems. You may have to confirm that Safari (or another browser) is allowed to download data from the site. The one now in the download folder macdroid.dmg is only 16,4 MB in size and is mounted with a double click; then all you have to do is drag the app into the program folder.

The MacDroid download and the installation of the app for data exchange between Android and macOS are very easy.

The MacDroid download and the installation of the app for data exchange between Android and macOS are very easy.

Now you can either start the app from the Applications folder or via the Launchpad. There is probably a warning that it is a program that has been downloaded from the Internet, etc. Just click on “Open”.

The app starts with a short introduction (even in German!), Which describes the connection via USB, the mounting of an Android smartphone or tablet as a hard drive and more. If you diligently click on the "Next" button, you finally get to the start screen, where the first point of criticism comes up for me: Instead of the 7 days promised on the website, there is something of a 5-day test version! There is also no file management in the free version, although the website says “Try PRO for FREE for 7 days”. 

Update 14.02.2020/7/XNUMX: XNUMX days demo is correct!

I have just received a message from the developer that a typo in the translation resulted in the installation being 7 days instead of 5 days. However - as announced on the website - 7 days demo are allowed. The error will be fixed in the next update.

However, the other point of criticism remains: You don't get a PRO as a demo, but only a limited version. I would have wished it different.

Disadvantage: You do NOT get the PRO version for free for 7 days, but a limited version for 5 days. The only good thing: you haven't paid anything until then.

Disadvantage: You do NOT get the PRO version for free for 7 days, but a limited version for 5 days. The only good thing: you haven't paid anything until then.

So I continue the test with a license code and use the full MacDroid PRO version. 

When connecting an Android device (Xiaomi smartphone of the sub-brand "Redmi"), I first had to select the mode for data transfer on the device itself - for security reasons, you can also select "only charging". Then the device was also displayed in the MacDroid list:

All functions are available in the MacDroid PRO app - mounting Android smartphones and tablets on the Mac, exchanging data, editing files and more.

All functions are available in the MacDroid PRO app - mounting Android smartphones and tablets on the Mac, exchanging data, editing files and more.

Product recommendation: USB condom - Safe charging at external USB ports

With a click on the "Show in Finder" button, the device overview of the Mac is opened and you can now open the smartphone or tablet that has been mounted, i.e. added as a drive. For me, a higher-level folder "Internal shared storage" was displayed in front of the internal folder structure:

Show the memory of the Android phone on the Mac as a folder; this works fine with MacDroid PRO.

Show the memory of the Android phone on the Mac as a folder; this works fine with MacDroid PRO.

Navigating the individual folders (e.g. DCIM and Camera) worked flawlessly. I was also able to open and edit a photo without moving the file, and save it directly on the device. During the saving process, a small clock is displayed next to the file symbol in the folder, which shows that the saving process is still running. Something similar happens if, for example, MP3 files are moved to the “Music” folder of the device. It's very easy to do with drag-and-drop. 

To disconnect, you can eject the Android device in the MacDroid app, in the Finder and also on the desk. And you're done with exchanging files and folders between Android and macOS.

Transparency notice: The license code for testing the MacDroid PRO app was provided to me free of charge by Electronic Team, Inc. However, this has in no way influenced the opinion presented.

MacDroid icon and menu in the macOS menu bar

Only after my actual test did I notice that MacDroid PRO also added an icon to the menu bar. If you click on it, you will find the most important options of the app as a dropdown menu:

MacDroid app menu bar icon drop-down menu.

MacDroid app menu bar icon drop-down menu.

Conclusion on the exchange of data between Android and Mac

The MacDroid app is a very good idea, which is also wonderfully implemented in the PRO version. Incredibly a shame is the misleading description of the test version with "Try PRO for FREE for 7 days" - because once you have downloaded the program, there are only 5 days left and you cannot use all PRO functions. The only good thing about it: Until then, you haven't spent a cent on the program and can uninstall it if you have any doubts. But if you need a permanent solution for the data exchange between the operating systems of Google and Apple, the MacDroid subscription of $ 19,99 per year can be worthwhile.

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

11 comments

  1. Marty Shellman says:

    An expensive subscription for that? No thanks!

    Take OpenMTP, it may not do the same thing as elegantly, but it does open source.

    https://ganeshrvel.github.io/openmtp/

    • sir appleot says:

      Yes, the subscriptions are slowly growing. I am also rather reluctant and only book subscriptions if I also work with the program on a daily or weekly basis. Thanks for your hint about Open MTP. I did not know!

  2. gilbert says:

    There is also brew
    https://brew.sh/blog/

    Installation via the terminal:
    brew cask install openmtp

    In future, updates will be carried out using the terminal input
    brew-upgrade
    or
    brew cask upgrade

    it can not get easier ;)

  3. Michael Wolff says:

    Toll

  4. Peter says:

    There is still "Android File Transfer". That actually always worked quite well for data transfer between my old Android tablet and the iMac.

  5. Andreas says:

    I'm urgently looking for something where I can transfer the data via USB cable, Android File Transfer and Smart Switch no longer work ???

    or you can do something, have installed Mac Bis Sur in the meantime

    Greetings Andreas

    • Jen Kleinholz says:

      Unfortunately I have to pass. I haven't used it in ages and currently I don't need to connect an Android device to my Mac. But maybe that is Sir Applerot Forum a good point of contact for the topic. There are more people reading along who might be able to help.

  6. Pa says:

    Hello hello, I downloaded Macdroid onto my Mac and can't, how encouraged it is to "just de-set it again". right mouse button or app cleaner does not work, I would be happy to receive a short info, thank you! Ciao Pa

    • Jen Kleinholz says:

      Hi Pa! Why exactly doesn't it work with AppCleaner? What does it do when you drag the app onto it?

      • Pa says:

        Hi Jens, Macdroid cannot be dragged onto the app. It runs in the background and cannot be ended with "end immediately"

        • Jen Kleinholz says:

          Ah understand. Then you have to find the place where the app is. This can be done, for example, via the activity display (Applications> Utilities). Then go to the "Storage" tab and look for the corresponding Macdroid app. When you have found it, click once to mark it and then click the info button (small i in a circle). In the following window click on "Analyze" and in the next window you will see, among other things, the path where the app is located. You can now take this and drag it to AppCleaner. Or throw it straight into the trash ... I hope everything works out. You may have to restart the Mac again so that Macdroid does not actually start anymore.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

MacDroid App – Dateien zwischen Mac und Android-Smartphone austauschen

Wenn ihr Dateien, Musik, Fotos und mehr zwischen iPhone und Mac austauschen wollt, ist das denkbar simpel. Über iTunes (bis macOS Mojave) oder den Finder (ab macOS Catalina) geht das schon einfach; über AirDrop noch viel einfacher und schneller. Nutzt ihr aber ein Android-Smartphone oder wollt von jemandem Daten von deren Android-Gerät auf eurem Apple Mac empfangen, geht das nicht so leicht. Die Entwickler von Electronic Team, Inc. haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, das Problem mit MacDroid zu lösen. Details zur MacDroid App, zur Test- und PRO-Version findet ihr im Folgenden.

TL;DR: Hier geht’s zur Download-Seite

Die MacDroid App im Einsatz; Screenshot von Electronic Team, Inc.

Die MacDroid App im Einsatz; Screenshot von Electronic Team, Inc.

Mit der MacDroid App Daten zwischen macOS und Android tauschen

Mit MacDroid will das „Electronic Team, Inc.“ die Barrieren zwischen macOS- und Android-Geräten niederreißen, um einen flüssigen Austausch von einzelnen Dateien und sogar ganzen Ordnern zu realisieren. Was am Windows PC teilweise ohne Hilfs-App sowie je nach Hersteller mit kostenlosen Clients und MTP-Treibern klappt, ist am Mac recht schwierig. Deshalb sollen folgende Funktionen der MacDroid App weiterhelfen:

  • Mounten des internen Speichers und externer Speicher (SD-Karten im Android-Gerät)
  • Bearbeiten von Android-Dateien, ohne sie auf den Computer kopieren zu müssen
  • Soll mit jedem Android- oder MTP-Gerät funktionieren, das man rumliegen hat
  • Es ist nur MacDroid nötig, keine weiteren Treiber, Plugins oder Erweiterungen
  • Verbindung der Geräte über ein USB-Kabel (bspw. Ladekabel des Smartphones)

Zur Erklärung: „MTP“ steht für Media Transfer Protocol. 

MacDroid Download: 7 Tage kostenlos(?) oder PRO-Version

Um einen ersten Eindruck von der App zu erlangen, könnt ihr euch eine Testversion herunterladen. Das geht direkt über die Entwickler-Webseite. Dort findet ihr auch die „Get PRO“-Option, die 19,99 US-Dollar im Jahr kostet. Für diesen Preis habt ihr die Möglichkeit, am Mac jederzeit und unbegrenzt Dateien und Ordner vom oder auf das Android-Smartphone zu ziehen sowie die Dateien des Mobilgeräts zu bearbeiten. Warum die angebliche 7-Tage-Testversion dazu nicht taugt, lest ihr im folgenden Kurztest!

Kurztest: MacDroid PRO mit MacBook und Android-Handy getestet

Der MacDroid Download von der oben verlinkten Seite funktioniert ohne Probleme. Ggf. muss man bestätigen, dass Safari (oder ein anderer Browser) Daten von der Seite runterladen darf. Die nun im Download-Ordner liegende macdroid.dmg ist nur 16,4 MB groß und wird per Doppelklick gemountet; dann ist nur noch die App in den Programme-Ordner zu ziehen.

Der MacDroid Download und die Installation der App für den Datenaustausch zwischen Android und macOS sind denkbar einfach.

Der MacDroid Download und die Installation der App für den Datenaustausch zwischen Android und macOS sind denkbar einfach.

Nun könnt ihr entweder aus dem Programme-Ordner oder über das Launchpad die App starten. Hier kommt wahrscheinlich der Warnhinweis, dass es ein aus dem Internet geladenes Programm ist, etc. Klickt da einfach auf „Öffnen“.

Die App startet mit einer kleinen Einführung (auf Deutsch sogar!), in der die Verbindung per USB, das Mounten von Android-Smartphone oder -Tablet als Festplatte und mehr beschrieben wird. Klickt man fleißig auf den „Weiter“-Button, kommt man schließlich zum Startbildschirm, wo für mich der erste Kritikpunkt auftaucht: Statt der auf der Webseite versprochenen 7 Tage steht da etwas von einer 5-Tage-Testversion! Auch gibt es keine Dateiverwaltung in der Free-Version, obwohl auf der Webseite „Try PRO for FREE for 7 days“ steht. 

Update 14.02.2020: 7 Tage Demo stimmt!

Ich habe gerade vom Entwickler die Nachricht bekommen, dass hier ein Schreibfehler bei der Übersetzung dazu geführt hat, dass statt 7 Tagen bei der Installation 5 Tage steht. Es werden aber – wie auf der Webseite angekündigt – 7 Tage Demo erlaubt. Der Fehler wird im nächsten Update behoben.

Allerdings bleibt der andere Kritikpunkt bestehen: Man erhält kein PRO als Demo, sondern nur eine eingeschränkte Version. Das hätte ich mir anders gewünscht.

Nachteil: Man bekommt NICHT die PRO-Version für 7 Tage kostenlos, sondern eine eingeschränkte Version für 5 Tage. Das einzig Gute: bis dahin hat man noch nichts bezahlt.

Nachteil: Man bekommt NICHT die PRO-Version für 7 Tage kostenlos, sondern eine eingeschränkte Version für 5 Tage. Das einzig Gute: bis dahin hat man noch nichts bezahlt.

Ich fahre im Test also mit einem Lizenzcode fort und nutze die vollumfängliche MacDroid PRO-Version. 

Beim Verbinden eines Android-Geräts (Xiaomi-Smartphone der Submarke „Redmi“) musste ich erst einmal auf dem Gerät selbst den Modus für die Datenübertragung wählen – aus Sicherheitsgründen kann man auch „nur Aufladen“ wählen. Anschließend wurde das Gerät auch in der Liste von MacDroid angezeigt:

In der MacDroid PRO App stehen alle Funktionen zur Verfügung – Mounten von Android-Smartphones und -Tablets am Mac, Datenaustausch, Bearbeitung von Dateien und mehr.

In der MacDroid PRO App stehen alle Funktionen zur Verfügung – Mounten von Android-Smartphones und -Tablets am Mac, Datenaustausch, Bearbeitung von Dateien und mehr.

Produktempfehlung: USB-Kondom – Sicher Laden an fremden USB-Ports

Mit einem Klick auf den „In Finder anzeigen“-Button wird die Geräteübersicht des Macs geöffnet und man kann darin nun das gemountete, also als Laufwerk hinzugefügte, Smartphone oder Tablet öffnen. Bei mir wurde vor der internen Ordnerstruktur ein übergeordneter Ordner „Interner gemeinsamer Speicher“ angezeigt:

Den Speicher vom Android-Handy am Mac als Ordner anzeigen; das funktioniert mit MacDroid PRO einwandfrei.

Den Speicher vom Android-Handy am Mac als Ordner anzeigen; das funktioniert mit MacDroid PRO einwandfrei.

Das Navigieren in den einzelnen Ordnern (z. B. DCIM und Camera) hat tadellos funktioniert. Auch konnte ich, ohne die Datei zu verschieben, ein Foto öffnen und bearbeiten sowie direkt wieder auf dem Gerät speichern. Während des Speicherns wird neben dem Dateisymbol im Ordner eine kleine Uhr angezeigt, die darstellt, dass der Speicherprozess noch läuft. Ähnliches passiert, wenn man beispielsweise MP3-Dateien in den „Music“-Ordner des Geräts verschiebt. Das geht ganz einfach per Drag-and-Drop. 

Um die Verbindung zu trennen, könnt ihr in der MacDroid App, im Finder und auch auf dem Schreibtisch das Android-Gerät auswerfen. Und schon seid ihr fertig mit dem Austausch von Dateien und Ordnern zwischen Android und macOS.

Transparenz-Hinweis: Der Lizenzcode für den Test der MacDroid PRO App wurde mir von Electronic Team, Inc. kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt. Das hat die dargestellte Meinung allerdings in keiner Weise beeinflusst.

MacDroid-Symbol und -Menü in der macOS-Menüleiste

Erst nach meinem eigentlichen Test ist mir aufgefallen, dass MacDroid PRO auch noch ein Symbol in die Menüleiste setzt. Klickt man da drauf, findet man die wichtigsten Optionen der App als Dropdown-Menü:

Dropdown-Menü des Menüleistensymbols der MacDroid App.

Dropdown-Menü des Menüleistensymbols der MacDroid App.

Fazit zum Austausch von Daten zwischen Android und Mac

Die MacDroid App ist eine sehr gute Idee, die in der PRO-Version auch wunderbar umgesetzt ist. Unglaublich schade ist die irreführende Beschreibung der Test-Version mit „Try PRO for FREE for 7 days“ – denn hat man sich das Programm heruntergeladen, sind es nur noch 5 Tage und man kann nicht alle PRO-Funktionen nutzen. Das einzig Gute daran: Bis dahin hat man noch keinen Cent für das Programm ausgegeben und kann es im Zweifelsfall wieder deinstallieren. Wer aber dauerhaft eine Lösung für den Datenaustausch zwischen den Betriebssystemen von Google und Apple benötigt, für den kann sich das MacDroid-Abo von $19,99 im Jahr lohnen.

Kurzer Hinweis (Off-Topic): Derzeit gibt es Microsoft Office 2019 für Mac in der Home & Student Edition für 99 Euro bei Lizenzfuchs. Ohne Abo und es funktioniert mit macOS Mojave und Catalina.

5 Kommentare

  1. Marty Schellman sagt:

    Ein teures Abo für sowas? Nein danke!

    Man nehme OpenMTP, das macht dasselbe vielleicht nicht so elegant, aber Open-Source.

    https://ganeshrvel.github.io/openmtp/

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Ja, die Abos greifen langsam um sich. Ich bin da auch eher zurückhaltend und buche Abos nur, wenn ich auch täglich oder wöchentlich mit dem Programm arbeite. Danke für deinen Hinweis wegen Open MTP. Das kannte ich noch nicht!

  2. gilbert sagt:

    Gibt es auch auf brew
    https://brew.sh/blog/

    Installation über das Terminal:
    brew cask install openmtp

    Updates zieht er sich künftig mit der Terminaleingabe
    brew upgrade
    bzw.
    brew cask upgrade

    einfacher geht es wirklich nicht 😉

  3. Peter sagt:

    Es gibt ja auch immer noch "Android File Transfer". Das hat für Datenransfer zwischen meinem alten Android-tablet und dem iMac eigentlich auch immer ganz gut funktioniert.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.