MacRansom: Ransomware for macOS found on the Darknet

Ransomware for macOS or OS X on the Apple Mac, iMac, and MacBook is not very common, but neither is it impossible. The malware that blocks files or even the entire hard drive in order to extort bitcoins for release can be ordered on the Darknet. Ransomware-as-a-Service (RaaS) is the name of such an offer. The company founded in 2000 Fortinet, which offers digital security solutions, has MacRansomware Accepted as ransomware as a service for macOS and OS X and analyzed the malware for would-be hackers.

By the way: Below is also about MacSpy, a spy software for the Mac. Click here to jump to the relevant paragraph.

MacRansom, ransomware for macOS, Apple

The features of MacRansom advertised on the Darknet, a current ransomware for macOS, which can encrypt files on the Apple Mac, MacBook or iMac. (Source: fortinet.com)

What is ransomware, how did it get on the Apple Mac?

In a nutshell, ransomware is software that blocks a computer's hard drive or encrypts it completely. The user then no longer has access and is shown a message demanding a ransom for the release of the data. Usually a fairly high amount is required in Bitcoins. Ransomware usually comes by email, USB sticks or the like. You can find a detailed article on the subject here: Data backup: backup copy as protection against ransomware.

MacRansom as malware for macOS

MacRansomware is not the first ransomware to hit Apple computers. For example, the blog was already about a year ago KeyRanger, a similar hacker software for OS X. As Fortinet points out in its analysis of the current case, the software currently circulating also builds on earlier code such as that of the KeyRanger; even if it is touted as the new and also “best Mac ransomware” on the corresponding Darknet portal. Incidentally, the fact that ransomware for Mac systems is so rarely released is due to the fact that around 91,64% of privately used computers are still equipped with Windows.

Summary of the analysis by Fortinet

Fortinet shows at the Analysis of the ransomware MacRansom has a lot of ambition and sets out the e-mail traffic with the programmer / provider, details about the sender from the mails, program codes, explanations for individual program lines, etc. If you are interested in this, click the link at the beginning of this paragraph. Here I want to give you a brief overview of the findings:

  • MacRansom is offered on the Darknet; the provider must be contacted by email to receive the malware
  • The ransomware encrypts according to Fortinet 128 files, but can change their time stamp, which can make unauthorized restoration more difficult
  • The software only becomes active if the user concerned consents to the execution of the program
  • She is called Program from an unverified developer displayed, which should give you something to think about in the event of an attack
  • The attack can take place with a delay, so the program may have secretly "nested" itself beforehand
  • The extortionists demand 0,25 bitcoins within 7 days, since they then delete the decryption code

After running MacRansom, the ransom note with contact details and a request for 0,25 Bitcoins is displayed on the affected Mac. (Source: fortinet.com)

How much are 0,25 bitcoins?

A small digression in the direction of the digital financial world: Bitcoin is not a very stable currency. The price tends to fluctuate a lot, which makes the extortion money value very flexible in the case of ransomware. In March 1, the value of 2017 Bitcoin was now under € 1.000; in June the peak so far was over € 2.500. We are currently talking about € 0,25 at 525 Bitcoin.

Bitcoin price for the last 3 months; Status: mid-June 2017. (Source: finanzen.net)

How do you protect yourself against ransomware?

If you are asked for permission on the Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook before the unknown program is executed, then you are fine. This is not so often the case with ransomware on Windows. On the Apple computer you should only run programs that you can assign. In addition, you should always have the current operating system on your computer. A Antivirus software Can't hurt either; and a regular one Backup ensures that your important data is still accessible even in the case of local encryption. Either on an external hard drive or in the cloud.

Recommended reading: These Mac models are compatible with macOS 10.13 High Sierra

MacSpy as Malware as a Service

In addition to the ransomware MacRansom, there is also spy software on the said platform, also on the Darknet, as Malware-as-a-Service (MaaS). MacSpy is the name of the digital spy, which is said to take up less than 30 MB and is therefore relatively “invisible”. About the proxyBrowser Tor, the operation should also not be traceable.

The features:

  • A screenshot of the screen (s) can be taken every 30 seconds
  • Keyboard usage can be recorded
  • Photos from the iPhone are taken from the iCloud synchronization
  • The clipboard can be read out
  • And many more functions

Source: alienvault.com

Additional features against Bitcoin payment

But these are just the features for the free version. There is noisy AlienVault.comwhere her an extensive Analysis of MacSpy finds, for an unknown amount of Bitcoins, the possibility of receiving a more extensive version. The "Advanced Features" of MacSpy include:

  • Own definition of recording intervals
  • Query all data and files on the Mac
  • Encryption of the entire user content in a few seconds
  • Hide MacSpy in pictures and other formats
  • ZIP creation of all data collected over a day
  • Updates to the program
  • Access to emails and social media accounts of the affected Mac user

Source: alienvault.com

What is the danger of MacSpy?

MacSpy works according to Alien Vault's analysis, which is just as extensive and informative as Fortinet's MacRansomware analysis. The affected Mac is read out according to the description and the data can be read out via a Command and Control Server (CnC). So there is a risk of total espionage from the program.

The analysis does not reveal that the Apple computer with OS X or macOS provides any information about the program. MacSpy is therefore to be viewed more critically than MacRansom. If you want to know whether you are affected or how you can get rid of the malware, then take a look at Alien Vault.

Summary

Even if Apple Macs currently only have a market share of around 6,34% in the private sector, this is increasing. That makes OS X and macOS more and more attractive to hackers and other cyber criminals. You can protect yourself with regular updates of the OS, an antivirus program, backups and a bit of caution. Good luck with it!

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

MacRansom: Ransomware für macOS im Darknet gefunden

Ransomware für macOS oder OS X auf dem Apple Mac, iMac und MacBook ist nicht sehr häufig, aber auch nicht unmöglich. Die Schadsoftware, die Dateien oder sogar die ganze Festplatte blockiert, um für die Freigabe Bitcoins zu erpressen, gibt es im Darknet zu bestellen. Ransomware as a Service (RaaS) nennt sich so ein Angebot. Die 2000 gegründete Firma Fortinet, die digitale Sicherheitslösungen anbietet, hat sich MacRansom als Ransomware as a Service für macOS und OS X mal angenommen und die Schadsoftware für Möchtegern-Hacker analysiert.

Übrigens: Weiter unten geht es auch um MacSpy, eine Spionagesoftware für den Mac. Klickt hier, um zum entsprechenden Absatz zu springen.

MacRansom, Ransomware für macOS, Apple

Die im Darknet beworbenen Features von MacRansom, einer aktuellen Ransomware für macOS, welche Dateien auf dem Apple Mac, MacBook oder iMac verschlüsseln kann. (Quelle: fortinet.com)

Was ist Ransomware, wie kommt sie auf den Apple Mac?

Kurz zusammengefasst ist Ransomware eine Software, welche die Festplatte eines Computers blockiert oder komplett verschlüsselt. Der Nutzer hat dann keinen Zugriff mehr und bekommt eine Nachricht angezeigt, in der Lösegeld für die Freigabe der Daten verlangt wird. Meist wird ein recht hoher Betrag in Bitcoins verlangt. Ransomware kommt meist per Mail, über USB-Sticks o. ä. Einen detaillierten Beitrag zum Thema findet ihr hier: Daten-Backup: Sicherungskopie als Schutz vor Ransomware.

MacRansom als Schadsoftware für macOS

MacRansom ist nicht die erste Ransomware für Apple Computer. Bereits vor über einem Jahr ging es hier im Blog beispielsweise um KeyRanger, eine ähnliche Hacker-Software für OS X. Wie Fortinet in seiner Analyse des aktuellen Falls darlegt, baut die derzeit kursierende Software zudem auf früheren Codes wie dem des KeyRanger auf; auch wenn sie auf dem entsprechenden Darknet-Portal als neue und zudem „beste Mac Ransomware“ angepriesen wird. Übrigens: dass so selten Ransomware für Mac-Systeme herauskommt, das liegt daran, dass immer noch rund 91,64% privat verwendete Computer mit Windows ausgestattet sind.

Kurzfassung der Analyse durch Fortinet

Fortinet zeigt bei der Analyse der Ransomware MacRansom ordentlich Ambition und legt den E-Mail-Verkehr mit dem Programmierer / Anbieter, Details zum Absender aus den Mails, Programmcodes, Erklärungen für einzelne Programmzeilen usw. dar. Wenn ihr daran interessiert seid, dann klickt den Link am Anfang dieses Absatzes. Hier will ich euch kurz einen Überblick der Erkenntnisse geben:

  • MacRansom wird im Darknet angeboten, der Anbieter muss für den Erhalt der Schadsoftware per Mail angeschrieben werden
  • Die Ransomware verschlüsselt laut Fortinet 128 Dateien, kann aber deren Zeitstempel ändern, was die eigenmächtige Wiederherstellung erschweren kann
  • Die Software wird nur aktiv, wenn der betroffene Nutzer der Ausführung des Programms zustimmt
  • Sie wird als Programm von einem nicht verifizierten Entwickler angezeigt, was euch im Angriffsfall schon zu denken geben sollte
  • Die Attacke kann verzögert stattfinden, das Programm kann sich also zuvor schon heimlich „eingenistet“ haben
  • Die Erpresser fordern 0,25 Bitcoins binnen 7 Tagen, da danach der Entschlüsselungs-Code von ihnen gelöscht wird

Nach dem Ausführen von MacRansom wird auf dem betroffenen Mac das Erpresserschreiben mit Kontaktdaten und Forderung von 0,25 Bitcoins angezeigt. (Quelle: fortinet.com)

Wie viel sind 0,25 Bitcoins?

Ein kleiner Exkurs in Richtung der digitalen Finanzwelt: Bitcoin ist keine allzu stabile Währung. Der Kurs neigt dazu, sehr stark zu schwanken, was den Wert der Erpressungssumme im Fall von Ransomware sehr flexibel macht. So lag der Wert von 1 Bitcoin im März 2017 teilweile unter 1.000€; im Juni lag der Peak bisher bei über 2.500€. Derzeit sprechen wir bei 0,25 Bitcoin von ca. 525€.

Bitcoin-Kurs der letzten 3 Monate; Stand: Mitte Juni 2017. (Quelle: finanzen.net)

Wie schützt man sich vor Ransomware?

Wird man beim Apple Mac, iMac oder MacBook noch um Erlaubnis gefragt, bevor das unbekannte Programm ausgeführt wird, dann ist man ja fein raus. Unter Windows ist das bei Ransomware nicht so oft der Fall. Am Apple Computer solltet ihr also nur Programme ausführen, die ihr auch zuordnen könnt. Zudem solltet ihr immer das aktuelle Betriebssystem auf dem Rechner haben. Eine Antiviren-Software kann auch nicht schaden; und ein regelmäßiges Backup sorgt dafür, dass eure wichtigen Daten auch im Falle der lokalen Verschlüsselung immer noch erreichbar sind. Entweder auf einer externen Festplatte oder in der Cloud.

Mehr für dich:
Game Royale 2: The Secret of Jannis Island - Neues Neo Magazin Royale Videospiel mit Jan Böhmermann

Lesetipp: Diese Mac-Modelle sind mit macOS 10.13 High Sierra kompatibel

MacSpy als Malware as a Service

Neben der Ransomware MacRansom gibt es, ebenfalls im Darknet, ebenfalls auf besagter Plattform, eine Spionage-Software als Malware as a Service (MaaS). MacSpy nennt sich der digitale Spion, der weniger als 30 MB einnehmen und damit relativ „unsichtbar“ sein soll. Über den Proxy-Browser Tor soll der Betrieb zudem nicht zurück verfolgbar sein.

Die Features:

  • Alle 30 Sekunden kann ein Screenshot vom Bildschirm / von mehreren Bildschirmen gemacht werden
  • Die Tastaturnutzung kann aufgezeichnet werden
  • Fotos vom iPhone werden von der iCloud-Synchronisation abgegriffen
  • Die Zwischenablage kann ausgelesen werden
  • Etc.

Quelle: alienvault.com

Zusätzliche Features gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung

Aber das sind nur die Features für die kostenlose Version. Es gibt laut AlienVault.com, wo ihr eine umfangreiche Analyse von MacSpy findet, für eine unbekannte Menge an Bitcoins auch noch die Möglichkeit, eine umfangreichere Version zu erhalten. Zu den „Advanced Features“ von MacSpy zählen:

  • Eigenes Festlegen von Aufnahmeintervallen
  • Abfrage aller Daten und Dateien auf dem Mac
  • Verschlüsselung des gesamten Nutzer-Inhalts in wenigen Sekunden
  • Verstecken von MacSpy in Bildern und anderen Formaten
  • ZIP-Erstellung aller über einen Tag gesammelten Daten
  • Updates für das Programm
  • Zugang zu E-Mails und Social Media Accounts des betroffenen Mac-Nutzers

Quelle: alienvault.com

Welche Gefahr geht von MacSpy aus?

Laut der Analyse von Alien Vault, die ähnlich umfangreich und informativ ist wie die MacRansom-Analyse von Fortinet, funktioniert MacSpy. Der betroffene Mac wird der Beschreibung nach ausgelesen und die Daten lassen sich über einen Command and Control Server (CnC) auslesen. Es geht also die Gefahr der totalen Spionage von dem Programm aus.

Mehr für dich:
Studie: Die zuverlässigsten Festplatten beim Online-Backup-Service Backblaze

Dass der Apple Computer mit OS X oder macOS einen Hinweis auf das Programm gibt, geht nicht aus der Analyse hervor. MacSpy ist also kritischer zu betrachten als MacRansom. Wenn ihr wissen wollt, ob ihr betroffen seid bzw. wie ihr die Malware loswerdet, dann schaut mal bei Alien Vault vorbei.

Fazit

Auch wenn Apple Macs im privaten Bereich derzeit nur einen Marktanteil von etwa 6,34% haben, steigt dieser doch an. Das macht OS X und macOS immer attraktiver für Hacker und andere Cyberkriminelle. Mit der regelmäßigen Aktualisierung des OS, einem Antiviren-Programm, Backups und ein bisschen Vorsicht könnt ihr euch aber schützen. Viel Erfolg dabei!

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
57

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.