Universal driver USB overdrive for mice, trackballs, trackpads and joysticks on the Mac

Under the name of USB overdrive A macOS driver is available free of charge, which not only supports mouse and keyboard, but also other input devices such as trackball, trackpad, joystick, etc. The only important thing is that the peripherals are connected via USB. Incidentally, this also applies to Bluetooth input devices whose own receiver or dongle is plugged into a USB slot on the Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook. If the device addresses the Bluetooth in the computer directly, USB Overdrive does not intervene. Therefore the Magic Mouse and the Magic Trackpad from Apple are not supported either.

Joystick, gamepad or gaming mouse - if it has a USB port, you can use it with the macOS driver USB Overdrive. This means that the trackball, gaming keyboard and so on also work on the Mac.

Joystick, gamepad or gaming mouse - if it has a USB port, you can use it with the macOS driver USB Overdrive. This means that the trackball, gaming keyboard and so on also work on the Mac.

USB overdrive for input devices on the Mac

USB Overdrive therefore acts as a device driver for macOS and, in addition to a mouse, keyboard and trackball, can also handle special gaming hardware such as a joystick, gamepad and other gaming accessories. The inputs of the individual buttons, sliders, wheels, switches, controls, sticks and so on can either be set individually for the entire system or for specific apps. This means that users can fully enjoy themselves.

You don't have to decide whether you want to use the joystick or the gamepad on the Mac, because USB Overdrive can handle multiple devices at the same time. You can distribute tasks such as clicking, scrolling, typing and also opening apps individually to devices. Theoretically, an alternative operation of the Mac for physically handicapped users can be created in this way.

Book recommendation: The Secret History of Mac Gaming

USB Overdrive Download for macOS

The developer Alessandro Levi Montalcini recently changed the version names of the device driver to simplify them a little. So he switched from version 10.4.8 to version 3. The current version 3.4 is compatible with the Apple operating systems macOS 10.14 (Mojave), 10.13 (High Sierra), 10.12 (Sierra) and 10.11 (El Capitan). But there are also old builds available for download for older Mac OS X versions. The free USB overdrive download can be found on the developer website. 

There is also a purchase option for € 18,60. If you like the free version, which incidentally has no restrictions and no time limit, then you can support the developer with the purchase. The driver offered is therefore shareware, as is the case with the “Why buy?” Page is described (English). You can read here why you should only download the software directly from the developer (if not available in the App Store): Why you shouldn't download software from download portals.

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Universaltreiber USB Overdrive für Mäuse, Trackballs, Trackpads und Joysticks am Mac

Unter dem Namen USB Overdrive ist ein macOS-Treiber kostenlos erhältlich, der nicht nur Maus und Tastatur unterstützt, sondern auch andere Eingabegeräte wie Trackball, Trackpad, Joystick und Co. Wichtig ist dabei nur, dass die Peripherie über USB angeschlossen ist. Das gilt übrigens auch für Bluetooth-Eingabegeräte, deren eigener Empfänger respektive Dongle in einem USB-Slot des Apple Mac, iMac oder MacBook steckt. Spricht das Gerät das Bluetooth im Computer direkt an, greift USB Overdrive nicht. Deshalb werden auch die Magic Mouse und das Magic Trackpad von Apple nicht unterstützt.

Joystick, Gamepad oder Gaming-Maus – wenn es einen USB-Anschluss hat, könnt ihr es mit dem macOS-Treiber USB Overdrive nutzen. Damit funktionieren auch Trackball, Gaming-Tastatur und so am Mac.

Joystick, Gamepad oder Gaming-Maus – wenn es einen USB-Anschluss hat, könnt ihr es mit dem macOS-Treiber USB Overdrive nutzen. Damit funktionieren auch Trackball, Gaming-Tastatur und so am Mac.

USB Overdrive für Eingabegeräte am Mac

USB Overdrive agiert also als Gerätetreiber für macOS und kommt neben Maus, Tastatur und Trackball auch mit spezieller Gaming-Hardware wie Joystick, Gamepad und weiterem Gaming-Zubehör klar. Die Eingaben der einzelnen Tasten, Schieber, Räder, Schalter, Regler, Sticks und so weiter können entweder für das ganze System oder für bestimmte Apps individuell eingestellt werden. Nutzer/innen können sich also voll ausleben.

Dabei muss man sich aber nicht entscheiden, ob man nun den Joystick oder das Gamepad am Mac nutzen möchte, denn USB Overdrive kommt auch ganz gut mit mehreren Geräten gleichzeitig zurecht. Ihr könnt Aufgaben wie Klicken, Scrollen, Tippen und auch Öffnen von Apps individuell auf Geräte verteilen. Theoretisch kann so auch eine alternative Bedienung des Mac für körperlich eingeschränkte Nutzer/innen geschaffen werden.

Buch-Empfehlung: The Secret History of Mac Gaming

USB Overdrive Download für macOS

Der Entwickler Alessandro Levi Montalcini hat zuletzt die Versionen-Namen des Gerätetreibers umgeändert, um sie etwas zu vereinfachen. So wechselte er von Version 10.4.8 zu Version 3. Die aktuelle Version 3.4 ist mit den Apple-Betriebssystemen macOS 10.14 (Mojave), 10.13 (High Sierra), 10.12 (Sierra) und 10.11 (El Capitan) kompatibel. Aber auch für ältere Mac OS X Versionen gibt es noch alte Builds als Download. Den gratis USB Overdrive Download findet ihr auf der Entwickler-Webseite. 

Dort gibt es auch eine Kauf-Option für 18,60 €. Wenn euch die Kostenlos-Ausgabe, die übrigens keine Einschränkungen und kein zeitliches Limit hat, gefällt, dann könnt ihr den Entwickler mit dem Kauf unterstützen. Bei dem angebotenen Treiber handelt es sich also um Shareware, wie auch auf der „Why buy?“-Seite beschrieben wird (Englisch). Warum ihr Software übrigens nur direkt beim Entwickler (wenn nicht im App Store erhältlich) herunterladen solltet, das lest ihr hier: Warum man keine Software von Download-Portalen runterladen sollte.

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.