Affinity Photo Public Beta for Windows and Photoshop in comparison (+ download link)

affinity photo photoshop windows beta download comparison test

On Thursday, November 10th, 2016, I received an email from Serifthat now the Public beta version of Affinity Photo for Windows available for free download. I had signed up for the corresponding newsletter because Affinity Photo for Apple products both in 2015 as well as a hot topic of conversation at the beginning of 2016 was. Now there is the image editing program that Make competition with Adobe Photoshop also for Windows systems with 64 bit architecture. Do I have. So I tested the program and compared it to Photoshop for you.

Preliminary note on comparing Affinity Photo and Photoshop

A few small notes on testing Affinity Photo and comparing it with Photoshop:

  • It was a blind test, I had never used Affinity Photo before
  • I have Photoshop CS5 Has been in use for several years, but not professionally
  • The background graphic for the test comes from Pixabay, here the source
  • The picture of the airplane wing with turbine is mine
  • In the following it concerns not a professional and all-encompassing one Test, just to get an insight into the user friendliness as well as trying out individual functions in comparison

The goal of the program test and the comparison of the image editing programs

The test of Affinity Photo for Windows was to find out how quickly newcomers can get started with the program. I would only consider myself a newbie with regard to the program, but not with regard to image processing. It was also important to find out how well and how quickly the same project could be implemented in both programs. That is the starting point. If you have any further questions about the program or to compare the two programs, please feel free to leave a comment so I can look it up.

The project: an airplane in space

So I pulled a picture of a planet from Pixabay and packed one of my travel pictures with it. Now I wanted to cut out the wing of the airplane including the turbine, so that the impression arises that I have been traveling in space. In addition, there should be a color overlay in order to create an atmospheric atmosphere and to optically coordinate or connect the two levels.

Output graphic 1 (is not processed) Output graphic 2 (being processed)

affinity photo windows photoshop comparison image 1

affinity photo windows photoshop comparison image 2

Step 1: inserting the graphics

Already here you can make a good comparison of Affinity Photo and Photoshop. In both programs, the graphics can be inserted using drag and drop. But if you start with an empty document (for the sake of simplicity with the same dimensions as the planetary graphic), then only Photoshop inserts the image centered and precisely adjusted to the margins. Affinity Photo puts the picture somewhere. Alignment is then left to the user. Attention: Perhaps you can set the behavior for drag and drop, but this was not taken into account in this quick test.

Adobe Photoshop (Windows) Serif Affinity Photo (Windows)
 step 1 photoshop  step 1 affinity

Step 2: Adjusting the inserted photo

The same problem arose here or a decisive difference: Where Adobe Photoshop scales the image smaller so that it fits on the work surface (which does not always happen, but in the case of this JPG photo), Affinity Photo places the image in the Original size. But that was good insofar as I could still make out a difference: In Photoshop you have to hold down the Shift key by default if you want to keep the aspect ratios when scaling. With Affinity Photo it is the other way around - without shift means maintaining aspect ratios, with shift means scaling freely. Personally, I find it better than Photoshop.

Step 3: cutting out the airplane wing and turbine

Affinity Photo surprised me here. In my search for a suitable tool for marking in this program, the “selection brush”, which partly corresponds to the “magic wand tool” in Photoshop, paid off. Despite the sometimes low contrasts in the image, the tool worked quite precisely. In Photoshop, I tended to use the polygon selection. I then wanted to use this for fine work at Affinity Photo. I noticed that you can quickly move the selection you have already made - that can be annoying.

Step 4: Create a new layer by making your selection

In Photoshop it just said: right click, layer by copy, done. With Affinity Photo, there was nothing right-click at first. If the selection tool is active, you can forget to right-click. To do this, you first have to select the "Move" tool, i.e. the arrow. In the right-click menu you then look in vain for "Layer by Copy". So I copied the selection, manually created a new layer, and then pasted my selection. Oh yes, before that I had to rasterize the level too! Otherwise it would have copied the entire layer instead of just the selection. Tricky!

Adobe Photoshop (Windows) Serif Affinity Photo (Windows)
 step 4 photoshop  step 4 affinity

Step 5: red sheen and amazing similarities

Oh, what do I say "similarities" - basically you can proceed in the same way with both programs, at least I was able to do that in the test. I created a new layer, dipped the brush tool in red, set the hardness to 0% and added large dots to the right half of the image. Then I set the blending mode to "Color" and reduced the opacity of the layer to 40%. The result was very similar for both programs, the procedure (positively) surprisingly the same.

Adobe Photoshop (Windows) Serif Affinity Photo (Windows)
 step 5 photoshop  step 5 affinity

Step 6: save, save as, or export?

If you have created a new file in Photoshop, so you have not selected an existing file on the hard drive for editing, then it doesn't really matter whether you use "Save" or "Save as". Saving as a Photoshop file is offered by default, but this can easily be changed in the roll menu. It's different with Affinity Photo. “Save” and “Save as” only allow you to save the Affinity project. If you want to save as PNG, JPG etc., then you have to "export" the file. But you can get used to it.

Adobe Photoshop (Windows) Serif Affinity Photo (Windows)
 result photoshop cs5  result affinity photo

Switching from Photoshop to Affinity Photo? Possible with practice!

I will deal more with Affinity Photo from Serif, also and mainly because you only pay once and don't need a subscription license, as is the case with the new Photoshop versions from Adobe. In addition, the purchase price is significantly lower with apparently the same range of functions. With a little practice, the switch, if one of you is aiming for one, should succeed. However, key combinations, shortcuts, menus and the like are sometimes fundamentally different. I wouldn't switch from now on, especially from a professional point of view.

Important: If you use a lot of plug-ins, brushes or paintbrushes and other adjustments in Photoshop, then these cannot be transferred. So if you have adapted the program to your needs and your workflow for years, then switching can be very difficult. However, since I only work with the basic equipment and a few brushes, which I can do without in case of doubt, I can imagine switching.

Entry into image processing: Photoshop or Affinity Photo?

Photoshop is so far the best known and most popular program for image editing among professional and semi-professional users. However, personally, if I were faced with the beginner's decision, I would probably rely on Affinity Photo. What convinces me here is that you only pay a price that is not too high once instead of purchasing annual licenses. So if you have to learn everything from scratch and build a workflow anyway, I would send that to Serif (current free download the beta at this link). And of course to Amazon or the library to get one Program manual pick up.

Conclusion to test and comparison

Photoshop is known to everyone and once you get used to it, you will have a hard time with other image editing programs. Nevertheless, the switch can be worthwhile for some users. The entry into image processing can also be realized with alternatives such as Affinity Photo from Serif. In my opinion, the range of functions and the company's pricing policy speak for themselves.

What do you all mean? Are you friends of Adobe and don't want to get used to it? Or are you just looking for the right program to get started with image editing? Which program do you lean towards? Feel free to leave a comment!

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

1 comment

  1. Thomas says:

    Hello, after 13 years of working with the completely outdated Photoshop CS2 and additional freeware programs such as PainNet and Gimp, AffinityPhoto is a real alternative to the programs mentioned at an unbeatable purchase price. I have always had the latest version of Gimp on my computer for 18 years, but the "intuitive" operation was never really there. AffinityPhoto promises a lot, but the operation is not as simple as on the videos shown. It means: practice! Or do not use the given "automatic functions", but work manually as usual. The purchase price, on the other hand, is very cheap because of the variety of programs, for the unspeakable Photoshop elements you would have to pay almost twice as much. Conclusion: Just install the 10-day trial version, I think 8 out of 10 users will want to use the program and buy it.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Affinity Photo Public Beta für Windows und Photoshop im Vergleich (+ Download Link)

Am Donnerstag, dem 10. November 2016, erreichte mich eine Mail von Serif, dass nun die Public Beta Version von Affinity Photo für Windows zum kostenlosen Download bereitstehe. Ich hatte mich für den entsprechenden Newsletter angemeldet, da Affinity Photo für Apple-Produkte sowohl 2015 als auch Anfang 2016 ein heißes Gesprächsthema war. Nun gibt es das Bildbearbeitungsprogramm, das Adobe Photoshop Konkurrenz machen will, also auch für Windows-Systeme mit 64 Bit Architektur. Hab ich. Also hab ich das Programm angetestet und für euch mit Photoshop verglichen.

Vorabbemerkung zum Vergleich von Affinity Photo und Photoshop

Ein paar kleine Hinweise zum Test von Affinity Photo und zum Vergleich mit Photoshop:

  • Es handelte sich um einen Blindtest, ich hatte Affinity Photo vorher nie benutzt
  • Ich habe Photoshop CS5 schon seit mehreren Jahren in Benutzung, aber nicht professionell
  • Die Hintergrundgrafik für den Test stammt von Pixabay, hier die Quelle
  • Das Bild des Flugzeugflügels mit Turbine stammt von mir
  • Es handelt sich im Folgenden um keinen professionellen und allumfassenden Test, sondern nur um einen Einblick in die Benutzerfreundlichkeit sowie das Ausprobieren einzelner Funktionen im Vergleich

Das Ziel des Programmtests und des Vergleichs der Bildbearbeitungsprogramme

Herauszufinden galt es beim Test von Affinity Photo für Windows, wie schnell man als Neuling in das Programm einsteigen kann. Dabei würde ich mich nur im Hinblick auf das Programm als Neuling betrachten, nicht aber im Hinblick auf die Bildbearbeitung. Außerdem galt es herauszufinden, wie gut und wie schnell sich das gleiche Projekt in beiden Programmen realisieren ließe. Das ist der Ausgangspunkt. Solltet ihr weitere Fragen zum Programm oder zum Vergleich beider Programme haben, könnt ihr gern einen Kommentar dalassen, damit ich entsprechend nachsehen kann.

Das Projekt: Ein Flugzeug im Weltraum

Ich habe mir also das Bild eines Planeten von Pixabay gezogen und dazu eines meiner Reisebilder gepackt. Nun wollte ich den Flügel des Flugzeugs inkl. der Turbine ausschneiden, sodass der Eindruck entsteht, ich wäre im Weltraum unterwegs gewesen. Hinzu sollte noch eine Farbüberlagerung kommen, um eine stimmungsvolle Atmosphäre zu erschaffen sowie die beiden Ebenen optisch aufeinander abzustimmen bzw. zu verbinden.

Ausgangsgrafik 1 (wird nicht bearbeitet)Ausgangsgrafik 2 (wird bearbeitet)

affinity photo windows photoshop vergleich bild 1

affinity photo windows photoshop vergleich bild 2

Schritt 1: Einfügen der Grafiken

Schon hier kann man einen guten Vergleich von Affinity Photo und Photoshop anstellen. Bei beiden Programmen lassen sich die Grafiken per Drag and Drop einfügen. Startet man aber mit einem leeren Dokument (der Einfachheit halber mit den gleichen Abmessungen wie sie die Planetengrafik hat), dann fügt nur Photoshop das Bild zentriert und genau an die Seitenränder angepasst ein. Affinity Photo setzt das Bild irgendwo hin. Das Ausrichten bleibt dann dem Nutzer überlassen. Achtung: Vielleicht kann man das Verhalten bei Drag and Drop einstellen, bei diesem Schnelltest wurde das aber nicht berücksichtigt.

Adobe Photoshop (Windows)Serif Affinity Photo (Windows)
 schritt 1 photoshop schritt 1 affinity

Schritt 2: Anpassen des eingefügten Fotos

Hier ergab sich das gleiche Problem bzw. ein entscheidender Unterschied: Wo Adobe Photoshop das Bild gleich kleiner skaliert, damit es auf die Arbeitsfläche passt (was nicht immer, aber im Falle dieses JPG-Fotos passiert), da setzt Affinity Photo das Bild in der Originalgröße ein. Das war aber insofern gut, als dass ich noch einen Unterschied ausmachen konnte: Bei Photoshop muss man standardmäßig die Shift-Taste halten, wenn man beim Skalieren die Seitenverhältnisse beibehalten möchte. Bei Affinity Photo ist das andersherum – ohne Shift heißt Seitenverhältnisse beibehalten, mit Shift heißt frei skalieren. Finde ich persönlich besser als bei Photoshop.

Schritt 3: Ausschneiden des Flugzeugflügels und der Turbine

Hier hat mich Affinity Photo überrascht. Auf meiner Suche nach dem geeigneten Tool zum Markieren in diesem Programm hat sich der „Auswahlpinsel“, welcher teilweise dem „Zauberstab-Werkzeug“ in Photoshop entspricht, bezahlt gemacht. Trotz teilweise niedriger Kontraste im Bild hat das Tool recht präzise gearbeitet. In Photoshop habe ich eher auf die Polygonauswahl gesetzt. Diese habe ich dann für Feinarbeiten auch bei Affinity Photo nutzen wollen. Dabei ist mir aufgefallen, dass man da schnell die schon getroffene Auswahl verschieben kann – das kann nerven.

Schritt 4: Neue Ebene durch vorgenommene Auswahl erstellen

In Photoshop hieß es nur: Rechtsklick, Ebene durch Kopie, fertig. Bei Affinity Photo war da erst einmal nichts mit Rechtsklick. Ist das Auswahlwerkzeug aktiv, kann man den Rechtsklick vergessen. Dafür muss man erst einmal das „Verschieben“-Werkzeug, also den Pfeil auswählen. Im Rechtsklickmenü sucht man dann „Ebene durch Kopie“ vergebens. Also habe ich die Auswahl kopiert, händisch eine neue Ebene erstellt und dann meine Auswahl eingefügt. Ach ja, zuvor musste ich die Ebene auch noch rastern! Sonst hat es die komplette Ebene statt nur der Auswahl kopiert. Tricky!

Adobe Photoshop (Windows)Serif Affinity Photo (Windows)
 schritt 4 photoshop schritt 4 affinity

Schritt 5: Roter Farbschimmer und erstaunliche Ähnlichkeiten

Ach, was sag ich „Ähnlichkeiten“ – im Grunde kann man bei beiden Programmen gleich verfahren, zumindest konnte ich das im Test. Ich habe eine neue Ebene erstellt, das Pinselwerkzeug in Rot getunkt, die Härte auf 0 % gestellt und die rechte Bildhälfte mit großen Tupfern versehen. Dann habe ich die Füllmethode auf „Farbe“ gesetzt und die Deckkraft der Ebene auf 40 % reduziert. Das Ergebnis war bei beiden Programmen sehr ähnlich, die Vorgehensweise (positiv) überraschend gleich.

Adobe Photoshop (Windows)Serif Affinity Photo (Windows)
 schritt 5 photoshop schritt 5 affinity

Schritt 6: Speichern, Speichern unter oder Exportieren?

Habt ihr in Photoshop eine neue Datei erstellt, also keine auf der Festplatte bestehende Datei zum Bearbeiten ausgewählt, dann ist es eigentlich egal, ob ihr „Speichern“ oder „Speichern unter“ nutzt. Zwar wird euch als Standard erst einmal das Speichern als Photoshop-Datei angeboten, aber das lässt sich im Rollmenü leicht ändern. Anders ist das bei Affinity Photo. „Speichern“ und „Speichern unter“ lassen euch nur das Affinity-Projekt ablegen. Wenn ihr als PNG, JPG usw. speichern wollt, dann müsst ihr die Datei „exportieren“. Daran kann man sich aber gewöhnen.

Adobe Photoshop (Windows)Serif Affinity Photo (Windows)
 ergebnis photoshop cs5 ergebnis affinity photo

Von Photoshop auf Affinity Photo umsteigen? Möglich, mit Übung!

Ich werde mich noch mehr mit Affinity Photo von Serif auseinandersetzen, auch und vor allem, weil man hier nur einmal bezahlt und nicht wie bei den neuen Photoshop-Versionen von Adobe eine Abo-Lizenz benötigt. Zudem ist der Anschaffungspreis bei scheinbar gleichem Funktionsumfang wesentlich geringer. Mit ein bisschen Übung sollte der Umstieg, falls eine/r von euch einen solchen anstrebt, gelingen. Allerdings sind Tastenkombinationen, Shortcuts, Menüs und dergleichen teilweise grundverschieden. Von jetzt auf gleich zu wechseln, vor allem in professioneller Hinsicht, würde ich nicht.

Wichtig: Nutzt ihr viele Plug-Ins, Brushes bzw. Pinsel und andere Anpassungen in Photoshop, dann lassen sich diese nicht übertragen. Habt ihr das Programm also jahrelang an eure Bedürfnisse und euren Workflow angepasst, dann kann ein Umstieg sehr schwer sein. Da ich allerdings nur mit der Grundausstattung und einigen wenigen Pinseln, auf die ich im Zweifel aber auch verzichten kann, arbeite, kann ich mir einen Umstieg vorstellen.

Einstieg in die Bildbearbeitung: Photoshop oder Affinity Photo?

Photoshop ist bislang das bekannteste und bei professionellen bzw. semi-professionellen Nutzern das beliebteste Programm für die Bildbearbeitung. Jedoch würde ich persönlich, stünde ich vor der Anfängerentscheidung, wahrscheinlich auf Affinity Photo setzen. Hier überzeugt mich einfach, dass man nur einmal einen nicht zu hohen Preis bezahlt anstatt Jahreslizenzen zu erwerben. Wer also sowieso alles neu lernen sowie einen Workflow aufbauen muss, den würde ich zu Serif schicken (aktuell kostenloser Download der Beta unter diesem Link). Und natürlich zu Amazon oder in die Bibliothek, um sich ein Handbuch zum Programm zu holen.

Fazit zu Test und Vergleich

Photoshop ist allen ein Begriff und wer sich einmal eingearbeitet hat, der wird es bei anderen Bildbearbeitungsprogrammen erst einmal schwer haben. Dennoch kann sich der Umstieg für einige Nutzer lohnen. Auch der Einstieg in die Bildbearbeitung kann durchaus mit Alternativen wie Affinity Photo von Serif realisiert werden. Der Funktionsumfang sowie die Preispolitik des Unternehmens sprechen da meiner Meinung nach für sich.

Was meint ihr? Seid ihr Freunde von Adobe und wollt euch nicht umgewöhnen? Oder sucht ihr gerade nach dem richtigen Programm für den Einstieg in die Bildbearbeitung? Zu welchem Programm tendiert ihr? Lasst gern einen Kommentar da!

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
4.5616

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.