Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock - 2 x 4K @ 60Hz, USB 3.1 and Ethernet

The Elgato will be available from September 20, 2018 Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock. The distributor for the Thunderbolt connection on the MacBook and MacBook Pro offers the option of using two 4K monitors at 60 Hz each via HDMI and DisplayPort. In addition, a USB-A 3.1 connection and an Ethernet port can also be used. By using Thunderbolt 3 the Mini Dock from Elgato offers a throughput of up to 40 GBit / s. What is not included and therefore can be a nuisance, especially on a MacBook with just one connection: a charging function. If you are still interested in the Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock, you can (pre) order it via Amazon Prime: click here.

The Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock is an adapter for HDMI, DisplayPort, USB and Ethernet. The data transfer is possible up to 40 GBit / s.

The Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock is an adapter for HDMI, DisplayPort, USB and Ethernet. Data transfer is possible up to 40 GBit/s.

Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock

Here I have summarized the most important information and features of the Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock so that you can see whether the device is for you or not. Please note that the device is not yet on the market and therefore I cannot answer any questions about it or provide a test.

  • Connection to MacBook (Pro): Thunderbolt 3 via permanently installed cable
  • Image and sound output: 4K at 60 fps via HDMI and DisplayPort
  • USB connection: USB 3.1 (Type A) for connecting peripherals, SSD disks, Super Drive and more
  • Gigabit Ethernet: network connection for local area network or internet
  • Cable can be stowed on the underside
  • According to the product page, it can also be used on a Windows PC or laptop

Recommended reading: Egolggo / QacQoc USB-C hub in the test

Buy adapters for DisplayPort, HDMI, USB and Ethernet

You can buy the Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock from Amazon. The pre-order is still running; from September 20th you should via this product page get the adapter for various connections on the MacBook (Pro) via Prime delivered quickly. By the way, on the site you will also find the article's big brother, the Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Dock with 3 x USB-A, 2 x USB-C / Thunderbolt 3, DisplayPort, Ethernet, 2 x jack for microphone and headphones as well as a charging function. The device costs around 280 euros. The mini dock costs just under 150 euros.

MacBook (Pro) adapter for multiple connections
The Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock is an adapter for DisplayPort, HDMI, USB and Ethernet that can be used on the Apple MacBook and MacBook Pro as well as on the iMac or on a Windows PC with a Thunderbolt 3 connection. It does not offer a charging function, but is compact and therefore ideal for traveling / for changing workplaces.
-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

3 comments

  1. Tim says:

    There's no such thing as a Mac with just a TB3 port!

    • Johannes Domke says:

      Hi Tim,
      may I introduce you to the MacBook (12 inch, 2017)? Look here ;)
      Best regards
      John

      • sir appleot says:

        Not quite true. :) The MacBook has USB-C, but it doesn't support Thunderbolt above it. Direct quote from the Apple side: "The MacBook has only one port that supports USB-C, but not Thunderbolt."

        But it doesn't really matter. The dock also works on the MacBook, but then the data bus does not offer 40 Gbit / s, which only limits the speed, but not the possibility of connecting all the external devices to the MacBook via the dock. So from my point of view, the dock is a good thing for that too!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock – 2 x 4K @ 60Hz, USB 3.1 und Ethernet

Von Elgato gibt es ab dem 20. September 2018 das Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock. Der Verteiler für den Thunderbolt-Anschluss am MacBook und MacBook Pro bietet per HDMI und DisplayPort die Möglichkeit, gleichzeitig zwei 4K-Monitore mit je 60 Hz zu nutzen. Daneben ist auch noch ein USB-A 3.1 Anschluss sowie ein Ethernet Port nutzbar. Durch die Nutzung von Thunderbolt 3 bietet das Mini Dock von Elgato einen Durchsatz von bis zu 40 GBit/s. Was nicht dabei ist und daher vor allem am MacBook mit nur einem Anschluss stören kann: eine Ladefunktion. Falls euch das Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock dennoch interessiert, könnt ihr es per Amazon Prime (vor)bestellen: hier klicken.

Das Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock ist ein Adapter für HDMI, DisplayPort,  USB sowie Ethernet. Der Datentransfer ist bis 40 GBit/s möglich.

Das Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock ist ein Adapter für HDMI, DisplayPort, USB sowie Ethernet. Der Datentransfer ist bis 40 GBit/s möglich.

Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock

Hier habe ich euch mal die wichtigsten Angaben und Features des Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock zusammengefasst, damit ihr seht, ob das Gerät etwas für euch ist oder nicht. Beachtet dabei, dass das Gerät noch nicht auf dem Markt ist und ich daher keine Fragen dazu beantworten oder einen Test liefern kann.

  • Anschluss am MacBook (Pro): Thunderbolt 3 über fest verbautes Kabel
  • Ausgabe von Bild und Ton: 4K mit 60 fps über HDMI und DisplayPort
  • USB-Anschluss: USB 3.1 (Typ A) für Anschluss von Peripherie, SSD-Platten, Super Drive und mehr
  • Gigabit Ethernet: Netzwerkanschluss für lokales Netz oder Internet
  • Kabel kann auf der Unterseite verstaut werden
  • Einsatz laut Produktseite auch am Windows-PC oder -Laptop möglich

Lesetipp: Egolggo / QacQoc USB-C-Hub im Test

Adapter für DisplayPort, HDMI, USB und Ethernet kaufen

Den Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock kaufen könnt ihr bei Amazon. Aktuell läuft noch die Vorbestellung; ab dem 20. September solltet ihr über diese Produktseite den Adapter für verschiedene Anschlüsse am MacBook (Pro) per Prime schnell geliefert bekommen. Auf der Seite findet ihr übrigens auch den großen Bruder des Artikels, das Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Dock mit 3 x USB-A, 2 x USB-C / Thunderbolt 3, DisplayPort, Ethernet, 2 x Klinke für Mikrofon und Kopfhörer sowie einer Ladefunktion. Das Gerät kostet dafür aber auch rund 280 Euro. Das Mini Dock kostet knapp 150 Euro.

MacBook (Pro) Adapter für mehrere Anschlüsse
63 Bewertungen
MacBook (Pro) Adapter für mehrere Anschlüsse
Das Elgato Thunderbolt 3 Mini Dock ist ein Adapter für DisplayPort, HDMI, USB und Ethernet, das am Apple MacBook und MacBook Pro sowie am iMac oder an einem Windows PC mit Thunderbolt 3 Anschluss verwendet werden kann. Es bietet keine Ladefunktion, ist aber kompakt und daher für unterwegs / für wechselnde Arbeitsplätze ideal.
Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

3 Kommentare

  1. Tim sagt:

    Es gibt keinen Mac mit nur einem TB3-Anschluss!

    • Johannes Domke sagt:

      Hallo Tim,
      darf ich dir das MacBook (12 Zoll, 2017) vorstellen? Schau mal hier 😉
      MfG
      Johannes

      • Sir Apfelot sagt:

        Stimmt nicht ganz. 🙂 Das MacBook hat zwar USB-C, aber es unterstützt kein Thunderbolt darüber. Direktes Zitat von der Apple-Seite: "Das MacBook besitzt nur einen Anschluss, der USB-C, jedoch nicht Thunderbolt unterstützt."

        Ist aber im Grunde egal. Das Dock funktioniert auch am MacBook, allerdings bietet der Datenbus dann keine 40 Gbit/s, was nur die Geschwindigkeit einschränkt, aber nicht die Möglichkeit, die ganzen externen Geräte über das Dock mit dem MacBook zu verbinden. Aus meiner Sicht ist das Dock also auch dafür eine gute Sache!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.