Find Any File - Advanced file search options on the Mac

The practical Mac app called Find Any File It does not replace the Spotlight search on the Apple computer, which you can call up with cmd + space bar. But it improves on them with various filters and advanced search options. You can limit the file search to certain hard drives or other storage media, include or exclude file formats and search for specific content. So if, in addition to Spotlight, the Finder search function also lets you down, you have immediately found an area of ​​application for Find Any File (FAF). A 5-star review of FAF in the Mac App Store is even headed "... with the nose of a hunting dog";)

With Find Any File you get various search filters for files and folders on the Mac. The file search under macOS becomes much more specific and brings to light exactly what you are looking for. Screenshots source: apps.tempel.org

With Find Any File you get various search filters for files and folders on the Mac. The file search under macOS becomes much more specific and brings to light exactly what you are looking for. Screenshots source: apps.tempel.org

Find Any File (FAF) as an advanced search for the Apple Mac

To go into a bit of detail: if you simply search for files and folders under macOS, you can use Find Any File, for example. For example, you can filter whether you also want to see hidden search results, whether archives should be displayed or whether you want to browse deleted content. For all three criteria there are the options “Show” (also display), “Hide” (not display) and “Only” (only display these). Furthermore, you can use a wide variety of filters with FAF - the period of the last edit (e.g. 5 minutes if you have lost a file you have just edited), the file format or which format you are not looking for, the creation period for files from a certain month or Year, and, and, and.

The Mac tool Find Any File (FAF) helps to search individual or all hard drives and storage media with many filters and controls.

The Mac tool Find Any File (FAF) helps to search individual or all hard drives and storage media with many filters and controls.

Search examples for using the FAF tool in macOS

Two examples that spring to mind for using Find Any File are Documents and Music. Documents can be scanned receipts for the tax return or texts for the blog. Graphics and photos may also be included. FAF can help when searching and finding music files, for example if you want to tidy up your music library, which is constantly being created by adding and removing folders. For example, all weird formats like .flac, .wma and the like if you select "Music" as the search folder and the common formats .mp3 and .mp4 excludes. There are certainly many other examples.

Example of searching for music files using the elimination process.

Example of searching for music files using the elimination process.

Find Any File - Download as shareware, for free or for money

The developer Thomas Tempelmann has published Find Any File as shareware. That means you can use the tool for macOS on the Apple Mac on the official website free download. In addition, you can then use it in full for a test free of charge. If you like the app and want to continue using it, you should also consider buying it to help the developer. On the website you can find the purchase option for just $ 6. However, you can also download Find Any File from the Mac App Store. There the software, rated 4,9 out of 5 stars, costs € 8,99. 

[appbox app store id402569179]

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

16 comments

  1. Wolf says:

    I can only recommend the Zendure Powertank. Got it for me via Kickstarter as a Super Early Bird. Is difficult, yes, has the maximum power that is still allowed on the plane. Is a huge power pack that powers everything from the watch to the MBP15. And also very robust and very beautiful.
    I gave it 6 out of 5 stars for it and today's price is awesome!
    Above all, very important: when a device is connected to the Zendure, this is connected to a power supply unit, the device is charged first, then the Zendure. Hang all iGadgets on overnight. In the morning they are full, as is the power tank.

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello wolf! Thank you for your little experience report. I will shortly write a post about the power bank and then I'll copy your comment in there so that it fits in with the content. : D

      Is it the case with you that you have to switch on the power bank with a button so that it charges a connected device? Or does it charge as soon as it is plugged in?

      • Wolf says:

        Yes, you have to press the switch briefly to start charging. If you press it twice, the watch goes into low power mode, or other gadgets with very low power requirements. Many power banks don't charge them.
        In the meantime I also got the super mini tank, with 10 Ah, the size of a credit card, the size of a thumb. With PD 18 W. Sufficient for 2 days of electricity, but of course not for an MB. But a pocket flatterer.
        I always take the big one with me when I know I'll need my MBP for a longer time and don't have a power outlet nearby.
        All Zendure devices are very beautiful, very powerful, but also at the upper end of the price range. And the best thing is really charging connected devices while charging the power bank yourself.

        • sir appleot says:

          Yes, these things are not cheap, but I have the feeling that quality is important to them. If you throw the parts on a car (except for the Cybertruck), the car is sure to break first. :)) The super tank is still missing in my collection, but I think sooner or later it will come too ... and thanks for the tip with the low current mode. I didn't know that either!

  2. Arno Still says:

    Hey there!

    Is there an overview of kids apps for the iPhone?

    Greetings,
    Arno

    • sir appleot says:

      You can find them directly in the App Store. But what does this have to do with the Find Any File app?

  3. Pjotr says:

    I'm still struggling with the Spotlight search. There are two main points that I don't like:

    a) Full text search: The hits are displayed generously. Is there a way to give two terms "near"? So the search "nice weather" does not return hits with "nice" on page 2 and "weather" on page 317.

    b) Hit display in the Finder: Can I have the path of the hit files displayed as a column in the Finder (also sort according to this)? So I always have to click through file by file and follow the path in the line below.

    Wouldn't "Find any File" contribute to both of these aspects?

    Kind regards Pjotr

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello Pyotr! I can't comment on either of these things from the start. I would have to see whether there are settings or search options. Then I'll add this here. LG!

    • wolf says:

      Hello Pyotr,

      I was just looking for some files and now I'm using Find Any File.
      Here you can also display the path of each file via Display.
      You can also sort by path.
      There are different columns that can be shown and then sorted according to them. For example, by creation date of the file, modification date, type, size, tags, surrounding folder and path.

      You can also make several rules. I don't want to delete my last search, but you could certainly enter that Find Any File is looking for either 'Nice weather', 'Nice' and / or 'Weather'.

      The nice thing is that you can download it for free (see link above) and try it out. If it does what you expect, you can buy it. Either from the developer or in the app shop. So you don't have to buy a pig in a poke. I bought it after the first two searches, it's worth the money!

      • sir appleot says:

        Hello wolf! Thanks for your quick response. It's great that you can solve things with "Find Any File". I wasn't sure, but I haven't had time to test it either. At some point I have to work properly. : D

        • Wolf says:

          it's a pleasure. Just sat at it after I stumbled across it at your place the other day. And also at first thought: can that do more than? The finder? Why external solution?
          And the answer was not difficult for me now.

          I have to work too, but now I have more time to spare. And already use Find Any File for work. I can then give back a little bit and also contribute information that can be useful for others!

  4. Wolf says:

    Thank you 1000 for always providing us with valuable information!
    I am happy to participate if I can contribute a little.

    • Pjotr says:

      Thank you for the fast feedback.

      However, I probably misunderstood the term "search for specific content" in the article. In the description in the app store it is quite clear that it is not a full text search (except in pure text files). FAF does not build a database, it searches directly. This is a cool approach for many use cases.

      However, I often search in PDF and Office files because FAF won't help me that much.

      Nevertheless, many thanks for the effort,
      Pjotr

  5. Peter says:

    Hi Jens,

    It just irritates me that under Mojave, objects in the recycle bin are apparently not (anymore) displayed regularly when searching in the Finder (cmd F) - is it possible to set this somewhere so that they still appear in the search results?
    I think that under El Capitan the wastepaper basket was definitely still included in the search...

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Find Any File – Erweiterte Datei-Suchmöglichkeiten am Mac

Die praktische Mac App namens Find Any File ersetzt am Apple-Computer zwar nicht die Spotlight-Suche, die ihr mit cmd + Leertaste aufrufen könnt. Aber sie verbessert sie mit verschiedenen Filtern und erweiterten Suchoptionen. Ihr könnt die Dateisuche auf bestimmte Festplatten oder andere Speichermedien beschränken, Dateiformate einbeziehen oder ausschließen sowie gezielt nach Inhalten suchen. Wenn euch neben Spotlight also auch die Finder-Suchfunktion im Stich lässt, habt ihr direkt einen Einsatzbereich für Find Any File (FAF) gefunden. Eine 5-Sterne-Rezension zu FAF im Mac App Store ist sogar mit „… mit der Spürnase eines Jagdhundes“ überschrieben ;)

Mit Find Any File bekommt ihr verschiedene Suche-Filter für Dateien und Ordner auf den Mac. Die Dateiensuche unter macOS wird damit viel spezifischer und fördert genau das zutage, was ihr sucht. Screenshots-Quelle: apps.tempel.org

Mit Find Any File bekommt ihr verschiedene Suche-Filter für Dateien und Ordner auf den Mac. Die Dateiensuche unter macOS wird damit viel spezifischer und fördert genau das zutage, was ihr sucht. Screenshots-Quelle: apps.tempel.org

Find Any File (FAF) als erweiterte Suche für den Apple Mac

Um ein bisschen ins Detail zu gehen: bei einer einfachen Suche nach Dateien und Ordnern unter macOS könnt ihr mit Find Any File z. B. filtern, ob ihr auch ausgeblendete Suchergebnisse sehen wollt, ob Archive angezeigt werden sollen oder ob ihr in gelöschten Inhalten stöbern wollt. Für alle drei Kriterien gibt es die Möglichkeiten „Show“ (auch anzeigen), „Hide“ (nicht anzeigen) und „Only“ (nur diese anzeigen). Weiterhin könnt ihr mit FAF die unterschiedlichsten Filter nutzen – den Zeitraum der letzten Bearbeitung (z. B. 5 Minuten, wenn ihr eine gerade bearbeitete Datei verloren habt), das Dateiformat oder welches Format ihr nicht sucht, den Erstellungszeitraum für Dateien eines bestimmten Monats oder Jahres, und, und, und.

Das Mac Tool Find Any File (FAF) hilft beim Durchsuchen von einzelnen oder allen Festplatten und Speichermedien mit vielen Filtern und Reglern.

Das Mac Tool Find Any File (FAF) hilft beim Durchsuchen von einzelnen oder allen Festplatten und Speichermedien mit vielen Filtern und Reglern.

Such-Beispiele für die Verwendung des FAF Tools in macOS

Zwei Beispiele, die mir spontan für die Verwendung von Find Any File in den Sinn kommen, sind Dokumente und Musik. Bei Dokumenten kann es sich um eingescannte Belege für die Steuererklärung oder auch um Texte für das Blog handeln. Zudem können Grafiken und Fotos dazu zählen. Beim Suchen und Finden von Musikdateien kann FAF helfen, wenn man beispielsweise seine immer wieder durch Hinzufügen und Entfernen von Ordnern gestaltete Musikbibliothek aufräumen will. So lassen sich beispielsweise alle komischen Formate wie .flac, .wma und dergleichen finden, wenn man als Suchordner „Musik“ auswählt und die gängigen Formate .mp3 und .mp4 ausschließt. Sicher gibt es noch viele weitere Beispiele.

Beispiel für die Suche nach Musikdateien über das Ausschlussverfahren.

Beispiel für die Suche nach Musikdateien über das Ausschlussverfahren.

Find Any File – Download als Shareware, also gratis oder für Geld

Der Entwickler Thomas Tempelmann hat Find Any File als Shareware veröffentlicht. Das heißt, ihr könnt das Tool für macOS am Apple Mac auf der offiziellen Webseite kostenlos herunterladen. Zudem könnt ihr es im Anschluss kostenlos für einen Test vollumfänglich nutzen. Gefällt euch die App und wollt ihr sie weiterhin verwenden, solltet ihr auch einen Kauf in Betracht ziehen, um dem Entwickler zu helfen. Auf der Webseite findet ihr die Kaufoption für gerade mal $6. Allerdings könnt ihr den Find Any File Download auch über den Mac App Store realisieren. Dort kostet die mit 4,9 von 5 Sternen bewertete Software aber 8,99 €. 

[appbox appstore id402569179]


Gefällt dir mein Blog? Dann würde ich mich über eine kurze Bewertung bei Google freuen. Einfach hier kurz etwas hinterlassen – das wäre toll, danke!

14 Kommentare

  1. Wolf sagt:

    Den Zendure Powertank kann ich nur empfehlen. Hatte ihn mir über Kickstarter als Super Early Bird geholt. Ist schwer, ja, hat das Maximum an Power, dass im Flieger noch erlaubt ist. Ist ein Riesenkraftpaket dass alles von der Watch bis zum MBP15 powert. Und dazu sehr robust und sehr schön.
    Von mir gibt‘s 6 von 5 Sternen dafür und der heutige Preis ist genial!
    Vor allem ganz wichtig: wenn ein Gerät an der Zendure hängt, diese an einem Netzteil, wird erst das Gerät aufgeladen, dann das Zendure. Über Nacht alle iGadgets dranhängen. Am Morgen sind sie voll, ebenso der Powertank.

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Wolf! Danke für deinen kleinern Erfahrungbericht. Ich werde in Kürze einen Beitrag zu der Powerbank schreiben und dann kopiere ich deinen Kommentar dort rein, damit er inhaltlich passt. :D

      Ist es bei dir so, dass du die Powerbank mit einem Taster einschalten musst, damit sie ein angeschlossenes Gerät auflädt? Oder lädt sie direkt nach dem Einstecken?

      • Wolf sagt:

        Ja, man muss den Schalter kurz drücken um mit dem Laden beginnen. Drückt man doppelt, geht der Niedrigstrommodus für die Watch an, oder andere Gadgets mit sehr niedrigem Strombedarf. Viele Powerbanks laden die nicht.
        Habe mir zwischenzeitlich auch noch den Superminitank geholt, mit 10 Ah, scheckkartengroß, daumendick. Mit PD 18 W. Für den Strombedarf für 2 Tage ausreichend, aber natürlich nicht für ein MB. Aber ein Hosentaschenschmeichler.
        Den großen nehme ich immer dann mit, wenn ich weiß ich benötige mein MBP länger und habe keine Steckdose in der Nähe.
        Alle Geräte von Zendure sind sehr schön, sehr leistungsfähig, aber auch am oberen Ende der Preisskala gelegen. Und das Schönste ist wirklich das Lsden von angeschlossenen Geräten während man die Powerbank selbst lädt.

        • Sir Apfelot sagt:

          Ja, die Dinger sind nicht günstig, aber ich habe das Gefühl, da wird wert auf Qualität gelegt. Wenn man die Teile an ein Auto wirft (Cybertruck mal ausgenommen), geht sicher erst das Auto kaputt. :)) Der Supertank fehlt noch in meiner Sammlung, aber ich denke, früher oder später kommt der auch… und danke für den Tipp mit dem Niedrigstrommodus. Das wusste ich auch noch nicht!

  2. Arno Still sagt:

    Moin!

    Gibt es eine Übersicht über Kinder-Apps für das iPhone?

    LG,
    Arno

  3. Pjotr sagt:

    Ich hadere ja noch mit der Spotlight-Suche. Es sind zwei wesentliche Punkte, die mir nicht gefallen:

    a) Volltextsuche: Die Treffer werden großzügig angezeigt. Gibt es eine Möglichkeit, zwei Begriffe "in der Nähe" vorzugeben? Also die Suche "schönes Wetter" nicht Treffer gibt, bei denen "schönes" auf Seite 2 und "Wetter" auf Seite 317 vorkommen.

    b) Trefferanzeige im Finder: Kann ich den Pfad der Trefferdateien als Spalte im Finder darstellen lassen (also auch danach sortieren)? So muss ich immer Datei für Datei durchklicken und den Pfad in der Zeile unten nachvollziehen.

    "Find any File" würde zu diesen beiden Aspekten nicht beitragen können?

    Liebe Grüße Pjotr

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Pjotr! Zu beiden Sachen kann ich aus dem Stand nichts sagen. Ich müsste mal schauen, ob es da Einstellungs- bzw. Suchmöglichkeiten gib. Dann ergänze ich dies hier. LG!

    • wolf sagt:

      Hallo Pjotr,

      ich habe gerade einige Dateien gesucht, und benutze dafür jetzt Find Any File.
      Hier kann man sich über Darstellung auch den Pfad jeder Datei darstellen lassen.
      Man kann auch nach Pfad sortieren.
      Es gibt verschiedene Spalten die man einblenden kann, und dann auch nach ihnen sortieren kann. Z.B. nach Erstellungsdatum der Datei, Änderungsdatum, Typ, Größe, Tags, Umgebender Ordner und Pfad.

      Man kann auch mehrere Regeln aufstellen. Will gerade meine letzte Suche nicht löschen, man könnte aber sicherlich eingeben dass Find Any File entweder nach 'Schönes Wetter', 'Schönes' und/oder 'Wetter' sucht.

      Das schöne: Du kannst es Dir gratis herunterladen (siehe Link oben), und es ausprobieren. Wenn es das macht, was Du erwartest, kannst Du es kaufen. Entweder beim Entwickler, oder im App Shop. Musst also nicht die Katze im Sack kaufen. Ich hab’s nach den ersten zwei Suchen gekauft, es ist sein Geld wert!

      • Sir Apfelot sagt:

        Hallo Wolf! Danke für deine schnelle Rückmeldung. Ist ja klasse, dass man die Sachen mit "Find Any File" lösen kann. Ich war mir nicht sicher, hatte aber auch noch keine Zeit, es zu testen. Irgendwann muss ich ja mal richtig arbeiten. :D

        • Wolf sagt:

          immer gerne. Saß gerade daran, nachdem ich neulich bei Dir darüber stolperte. Und auch erst mal dachte: kann das mehr als ?der Finder? Warum externe Lösung?
          Und die Antwort fiel mir jetzt nicht schwer.

          Ich muss auch arbeiten, habe jetzt aber mehr Zeit zur Verfügung. Und nutze Find Any File jetzt auch schon fürs Arbeiten. Da kann ich dann auch gerne mal ein klein bisschen zurückgeben, und auch Informationen beitragen, die für andere nützlich sein können!

  4. Wolf sagt:

    Dir 1000 Dank dass Du uns immer mit wertvollen Informationen versorgst!
    Da beteilige ich mich dann auch gerne, wenn ich ein klein bisschen beitragen kann.

    • Pjotr sagt:

      Vielen Dank für die schnelle Rückmeldung.

      Allerdings habe ich im Artikel den Begriff "gezielt nach Inhalten suchen" wohl falsch verstanden. In der Beschreibung im Appstore steht ja recht klar, dass es keine Volltextsuche ist (außer in reinen Textdateien). FAF baut keine Datenbank auf, sondern sucht direkt. Das ist für viele Anwendungsfälle ein cooler Ansatz.

      Ich suche allerdings häufig in PDF und Office-Dateien, da wird mir FAF nicht so viel weiterhelfen.

      Trotzdem vielen Dank für die Mühe,
      Pjotr

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.