GCI 2017: Global Cybersecurity Index shows that Germany must ensure more security

Im Global Cyber ​​Security Index 2017 that International Telecommunication Union (ITU), the cyber security studies in 134 countries around the world were evaluated and corresponding rankings were drawn up. In addition to these, there are numerous explanations of the measures taken by individual countries, the determination of the values ​​and so on in the document. Compared to previous GCI reports, Germany has slipped several places to 24th place. You can ask yourself: what makes a cyber-secure country and what can Germany do better?

GCI 2017: The current Global Cybersecurity Index shows that Germany has some catching up to do. Meanwhile, Estonia is ahead in Europe.

GCI 2017: The current Global Cybersecurity Index shows that Germany has some catching up to do. Meanwhile, Estonia has the edge in Europe.

Information system security in 134 countries

Cybersecurity or security for information systems is more important than ever in the age of digitization. Private individuals, companies, organizations, governments, the military and many other instances have to protect their systems and defend them in an emergency. In Germany there is, among other things, certification for Cyber ​​Security Practitioner, but other countries in the world and especially Europe are ahead when it comes to cybersecurity.

The entire study you can find here (PDF, 76 pages, English). Maybe you’re also interested Cyber ​​security check guide (PDF, 52 pages, German) from Federal Office for Security in Information Technology. The latter publication should be of particular interest to IT people, system administrators and similar people.

Recommended reading: macOS tool nettop for evaluating network traffic

This was examined for the Global Cybersecurity Index 2017

A total of five large areas were examined, which again have sub-items. For example there is an area Legal, So statutory. The three sub-items are here Cybercrime Legislation, Cybersecurity regulations, Cybersecurity training. To take apart and explain all areas in detail would go beyond the scope here. That's why I'm giving you a graphic with an overview of the individual measurement areas of the ITU Global cybersecurity agenda (GCA) (Source):

The categories of the Global Cybersecurity Agenda (GCA) show the areas in which the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) has awarded points

The categories of the Global Cybersecurity Agenda (GCA) show the areas in which the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) has awarded points - click to enlarge

What can Germany do better with regard to the GCI?

In Europe, Estonia ranks first as the safest country for information systems. If you look at the Western European countries, France is one step ahead. Germany on the overall rank of 24 is quite far behind. In order to increase further in the table, several measures would have to be initiated in this country and the individual values ​​of the measuring ranges would have to be strengthened.

Corresponding actions, specifications and formations for a higher ranking of Germany on the Global Cybersecurity Index would be, for example, the following:

  • Clear laws and guidelines / regulations for information systems
  • Trainings, courses and campaigns on the subject of cybersecurity
  • Institutions, strategies and their constant expansion at local, national and international level
  • Regional, national and governmental Cyber ​​Incident Response Teams (CIRT)
  • Better / clearer standards for organizations and companies
  • Cooperation with other nations and regions

Recommended reading: Protect your Mac and network with Micro Snitch and Little Snitch

Your opinion on the subject

Are there among the Sir-Apfelot.de- Do cybersecurity professionals read? Are you directly or indirectly familiar with the topic and can you contribute further insights / thoughts? Then please leave a comment on the topic!

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

GCI 2017: Global Cybersecurity Index zeigt, dass Deutschland für mehr Sicherheit sorgen muss

Im Global Cybersecurity Index 2017 der International Telecommunication Union (ITU) wurden die Untersuchungen zur Cyber-Sicherheit in 134 Ländern der Welt ausgewertet und entsprechende Ranglisten erstellt. Neben diesen finden sich zahlreiche Ausführungen zu den Maßnahmen einzelner Länder, zur Ermittlung der Werte und so weiter in dem Dokument. Gegenüber früheren GCI-Berichten ist Deutschland um mehrere Ränge auf Platz 24 abgerutscht. Da kann man sich schon mal fragen: Was macht ein cybersicheres Land aus, und was kann Deutschland besser machen?

GCI 2017: Der aktuelle Global Cybersecurity Index zeigt, dass Deutschland aufholbedarf hat. Estland hat derweilen in Europa die Nase vorn.

GCI 2017: Der aktuelle Global Cybersecurity Index zeigt, dass Deutschland Aufholbedarf hat. Estland hat derweilen in Europa die Nase vorn.

Sicherheit von Informationssystemen in 134 Ländern

Die Cybersicherheit oder Sicherheit für Informationssysteme ist in Zeiten der Digitalisierung wichtiger denn je. Privatleute, Unternehmen, Organisationen, Regierungen, Militärs und viele weitere Instanzen müssen ihre Systeme schützen sowie im Ernstfall verteidigen. Zwar gibt es in Deutschland unter anderem die Zertifizierung zum Cyber Security Practitioner, dennoch sind andere Länder der Erde und vor allem Europas weiter vorn, was die Cybersecurity angeht.

Die gesamte Studie findet ihr hier (PDF, 76 Seiten, Englisch). Vielleicht interessiert euch auch der Leitfaden Cyber-Sicherheits-Check (PDF, 52 Seiten, Deutsch) vom Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik. Letztere Publikation sollte vor allem für IT-Leute, Systemadministratoren und ähnliche Personen interessant sein.

Lesetipp: macOS Tool nettop für die Auswertung des Netzwerk-Traffics

Das wurde für den Global Cybersecurity Index 2017 untersucht

Insgesamt wurden fünf große Bereiche untersucht, die nochmals Unterpunkte aufweisen. Zum Beispiel gibt es einen Bereich Legal, also Gesetzliches. Die drei Unterpunkte lauten hier Cybercrime-Gesetzgebung, Cybersecurity-Vorschriften, Cybersecurity-Schulung. Alle Bereiche im Detail auseinanderzunehmen und zu erklären, das würde den hiesigen Rahmen sprengen. Deshalb gebe ich euch mal eine Grafik mit der Übersicht der einzelnen Messbereiche der ITU Global Cybersecurity Agenda (GCA) (Quelle):

Die Kategories der Global Cybersecurity Agenda (GCA) zeigen, in welchen Bereichen die International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Punkte vergeben hat

Die Kategories der Global Cybersecurity Agenda (GCA) zeigen, in welchen Bereichen die International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Punkte vergeben hat – Klicken zum Vergrößern

Was kann Deutschland im Hinblick auf den GCI besser machen?

In Europa liegt Estland als sicherstes Land für Informationssysteme auf dem ersten Platz. Betrachtet man die westeuropäischen Länder, dann hat Frankreich die Nase vorn. Deutschland auf dem Gesamtrang von 24 ist dabei recht weit hinten. Um weiter in der Tabelle zu steigen, müssten hierzulande also mehrere Maßnahmen veranlasst und die Einzelwerte der Messbereiche gestärkt werden.

Entsprechende Aktionen, Vorgaben und Formierungen für einen höheren Rang Deutschlands auf dem Global Cybersecurity Index wären dabei beispielsweise folgende:

  • Klare Gesetze und Vorgaben / Ordnungen für Informationssysteme
  • Trainings, Schulungsangebote und Kampagnen zum Thema Cybersicherheit
  • Institutionen, Strategien und deren ständiger Ausbau auf lokaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene
  • Regionale, nationale und regierungstechnische Cyber Incident Response Teams (CIRT)
  • Bessere / klarere Standards für Organisationen und Unternehmen
  • Kooperationen mit anderen Nationen und Regionen

Lesetipp: Mac und Netzwerk schützen mit Micro Snitch und Little Snitch

Eure Meinung zum Thema

Gibt es unter den Sir-Apfelot.de-Lesern Profis aus dem Bereich Cybersecurity? Seid ihr direkt oder indirekt mit dem Thema vertraut und könnt weitere Einblicke / Gedanken dazu beisteuern? Dann lasst gern einen Kommentar zum Thema da!


Praxis-Tipp: Samsung T7 Portable SSD – externe, superschnelle USB 3.2 Gen.2 SSD gibt es bei Amazon derzeit mit 26% Rabatt.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alle News 1x pro Woche

Du magst die Artikel auf Sir Apfelot?
Dann trage dich in meinen wöchentlichen Newsletter ein.