goTenna Mesh: set up your own cellular network with friends

gotenna mesh data sheet comparison models new 2016 kickstarter news without network wifi mobile radio own cell phone network

The goTenna Mesh is the newest model from the US-based company goTenna. The boys and girls there have set themselves the goal of creating their own mobile networks for end users. Like you with the products from goTenna, for example with the new one goTenna Mesh, can be reached by mobile phone even without a “network”, that's what I would like to show you in this article. You will also get links to the manufacturer and informative videos.

gotenna mesh kickstarter perks new gotenna functionality details application video model image use test

GoTenna Mesh is still being advertised on kickstarter, but the financing target has already been achieved. Details in this article. Image: Kickstarter

goTenna Mesh: with Kickstarter through the ceiling

"No more network problems: Providers must tremble before this idea", Has CHIP titled and thus a bit exaggerated in my opinion. True, the idea is not bad and has on Kickstarter can collect several times the required sum earlier than three weeks before the end of the campaign, but I don't see any real competition for mobile network operators here. The "Cell phone network out of your pocket“Only works with severe restrictions and only if all chat participants use the mobile antenna and have connected it to their smartphone via Bluetooth.

Slimmed down "cell phone network" for short messages

In practice, the smartphones then connect to the gotenna antenna that the respective user has with them via Blutooth. The antenna itself then connects to other gotenna antennas that it "sees" in the area, creating a group network with which you can also exchange short messages and GPS data if you don't have a mobile phone network. Telephone calls are significantly more data-intensive and are not yet supported by gotenna. You will also have to do without the use of all services that require a connection to the "real" Internet: WhatsApp, Skype and Apple's messaging app are managed centrally and therefore have to establish an Internet connection to the servers of the respective companies. Of course, gotenna can't offer that.

Share internet access with gotenna?

An exciting question for me would be: could it be enough if a user in the local gotenna network has access to the Internet? Would it be possible to share it for all other users? I couldn't get this out of the gotenna website, but I don't think this will work yet as the amount of data that can be sent through the network is still very small. But it would definitely be a practical application!

gotenna mesh gotenna how it works details application video model picture use test

How the goTenna Mesh works: data is sent from device to device - selected recipients can then view them. This is how an autonomous cellular network can be created. Image: Kickstarter

Comparison of goTenna and goTenna Mesh

The goTenna Mesh already has a previous model. This can be connected to the smartphone via Bluetooth and, in combination with the goTenna app for the exchange of messages without cellular network and WLAN. The same application principle also applies to the new model. Both can also transmit GPS data and either select individual users, operate group chats or write to all available goTenna users - for example in the case of an emergency call.

gotenna mesh data sheet comparison models new 2016 kickstarter news without network wlan cellphone own cellphone network

The comparison between goTenna and goTenna Mesh. The new technology of the second generation is not that far-reaching, but it should be able to create entire networks. Screenshot from gotenna.com (Click to enlarge)

In an open field with few disruptive factors and obstacles, the range of the goTenna antennas should be around 4 miles, i.e. around 6,44 kilometers. In cities you should be able to expect 0,5 miles, i.e. around 805 meters. According to the Manufacturer site the maximum distance that news has already covered thanks to the goTenna has been determined to be 27 miles - that's 43,45 kilometers! The goTenna Mesh could even top this, as it can create entire wireless networks with its new technology.

The new goTenna Mesh in picture and sound

On Product page of the new antenna goTenna already has data from field tests. The maximum distance that messages have traveled with the Mesh is currently 10 miles, i.e. 16,09 kilometers. In cities, however, the device should be able to transmit up to a mile - around 1,61 kilometers. In addition to 1-to-1 and group use, the manufacturers hope to build entire networks. This is also reflected in the videos for the product:

 

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

6 comments

  1. Jupp says:

    I would be interested in how long the battery lasts and how many participants such a network can theoretically have.

    • sir appleot says:

      You can write about the battery life in the FAQ: "Rechargeable lithium-polymer battery (24+ hour battery life on standby)". And regarding the number of participants: "Groups can be up to 10 users, though we plan to expand the group maximum soon."

  2. Michael says:

    It should be pointed out that the goTenna works in the range of 150MHz and that in Germany / Austria / Switzerland this is the radio range for professional radio applications / marine radio / inland shipping and military applications. The use of the device is prohibited without frequency allocation! Penalties for transmitting without frequency allocation can result in severe penalties. Before such a device should be put into operation, it would be advisable to obtain information from the Federal Network Agency. https://www.bundesnetzagentur.de/SharedDocs/Downloads/DE/Sachgebiete/Telekommunikation/Unternehmen_Institutionen/Frequenzen/Frequenzplan.pdf?__blob=publicationFile&v=8

    • sir appleot says:

      Hi Michael! Thank you for your hint. I would have thought that such things should not be allowed to come onto the market in DE if they have not been approved for the frequencies. But you can never be sure. I am currently running the Google Wifi Mesh, but I think that the frequency is correct ... I hope. :)

    • Peter says:

      From the current FAQs for "goTenna Mesh":

      On which frequencies does goTenna Mesh operate?

      "The first-gen goTenna works on the 151-154MHz band (MURS), whereas goTenna Mesh will transmit at 1 W on 902-928 MHz in the United States, and will vary throughout other countries. For example: goTenna Mesh will transmit at 0.5 W on 869.4-869.65 MHz in Europe and other CE countries, and the device will auto-tune itself to the appropriate frequency band and power output based on the location where it's being used. "

      What countries are supported?

      "goTenna Mesh will auto-tune to RF frequencies that are legal for use in the following countries:

      United States, Canada, Albania, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom. "

      • sir appleot says:

        Hi Peter! Thanks for the interjection. It would then be legal to use in Germany in any case. I would have been surprised if they had left the market outside. : D

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

goTenna Mesh: mit Freunden ein eigenes Mobilfunknetz aufbauen

gotenna mesh datenblatt vergleich modelle neu 2016 kickstarter nachrichten ohne netz wifi mobilfunk eigenes handynetz

Die goTenna Mesh ist das neuste Modell des in den USA ansässigen Unternehmens goTenna. Zum Ziel gesetzt haben sich die Jungs und Mädels dort die Erstellung eigener Mobilfunknetze seitens der Endverbraucher. Wie ihr mit den Produkten von goTenna, beispielsweise mit der neuen goTenna Mesh, auch ohne „Netz“ mobil erreichbar seid, das möchte ich euch in diesem Artikel zeigen. Zudem bekommt ihr Links zum Hersteller und informative Videos.

gotenna mesh kickstarter perks neu gotenna funktionsweise details anwendung video modell bild einsatz test

Die goTenna Mesh wird noch auf kickstarter beworben, das Finanzierungsziel ist aber schon erreicht. Details in diesem Artikel. Bild: Kickstarter

goTenna Mesh: mit Kickstarter durch die Decke

Nie mehr Netzprobleme: Vor dieser Idee müssen Provider zittern“, hat CHIP getitelt und damit meiner Meinung nach ein bisschen übertrieben. Zwar ist die Idee nicht schlecht und hat auf Kickstarter schon früher als drei Wochen vor Aktionsschluss das Mehrfache der benötigten Summe einnehmen können, aber eine echte Konkurrenz für Mobilfunknetzbetreiber sehe ich hier nicht. Das „Handynetz aus der Hosentasche“ funktioniert nur mit starken Einschränkungen und zudem nur, wenn alle Chat-Teilnehmer die mobile Antenne verwenden sowie per Bluetooth mit ihrem Smartphone verbunden haben.

Abgespecktes “Handynetz” für Kurznachrichten

In der Praxis verbinden sich die Smartphones dann mit der gotenna-Antenne, die der jeweilige Benutzer dabei hat, per Blutooth. Die Antenne selbst verbindet sich dann wiederum mit anderen gotenna-Antennen, die sie in der Umgebung “sieht” und so wird ein Gruppennetz aufgebaut, mit dem man auch Kurznachrichten und GPS Daten austauschen kann, wenn man kein Handynetz hat. Telefonate sind deutlich datenintensiver und werden von gotenna noch nicht unterstützt. Ebenso wird man auf die Verwendung von allen Services verzichten müssen, die eine Verbindung zum “echten” Internet benötigen: WhatsApp, Skype und Apples Nachrichten App werden zentral verwaltet und müssen aus dem Grund eine Internetverbindung zu den Servern der jeweiligen Unternehmen aufbauen. Das kann gotenna natürlich nicht bieten.

Mit gotenna einen Internetzugang sharen?

Eine spannende Frage für mich wäre an der Stelle: könnte es reichen, wenn ein Nutzer im lokalen gotenna-Netzwerk Zugang zum Internet hat? Wäre es möglich, diesen dann für alle anderen Nutzer zu sharen? Ich konnte dies nicht aus der gotenna-Webseite herausbekommen, aber ich denke, aktuell wird dies noch nicht funktionieren, da die Datenmengen, die durch das Netzwerk geschickt werden können, noch sehr gering sind. Eine praktische Anwendungsmöglichkeit wäre es aber allemal!

gotenna mesh gotenna funktionsweise details anwendung video modell bild einsatz test

Die Funktionsweise der goTenna Mesh: Daten werden von Gerät zu Gerät geschickt – ausgewählte Empfänger können diese dann einsehen. So soll ein autonomes Mobilfunknetz geschaffen werden können. Bild: Kickstarter

Vergleich von goTenna und goTenna Mesh

Die goTenna Mesh hat bereits ein Vorgängermodell. Dieses kann via Bluetooth mit dem Smartphone verbunden werden und sorgt in Kombination mit der goTenna App für den Nachrichtenaustausch ohne Mobilfunknetz und WLAN. Das gleiche Anwendungsprinzip greift auch beim neuen Modell. Beide können überdies GPS-Daten übermitteln und entweder einzelne Nutzer anwählen, Gruppenchats bedienen oder alle verfügbaren goTenna-Nutzer anschreiben – etwa bei einem Notruf.

gotenna mesh datenblatt vergleich modelle neu 2016 kickstarter nachrichten ohne netz wlan mobilfunk eigenes handynetz

Der Vergleich zwischen goTenna und goTenna Mesh. Die neue Technologie der zweiten Generation ist nicht so weitreichend, soll aber ganze Netze erstellen können. Screenshot von gotenna.com (Klicken zum Vergrößern)

Auf offenem Feld mit wenigen Störfaktoren und Hindernissen soll die Reichweite der goTenna Antennen rund 4 Meilen betragen, also ca. 6,44 Kilometer. In Städten soll man 0,5 Meilen, also rund 805 Meter erwarten dürfen. Laut der Herstellerseite ist die maximale Distanz, die Nachrichten dank der goTenna bereits überbrückt haben, mit 27 Meilen festgestellt worden – das sind 43,45 Kilometer! Die goTenna Mesh könnte dies noch toppen, da sie mit ihrer neuen Technologie ganze Funknetze erstellen kann.

Die neue goTenna Mesh in Bild und Ton

Auf der Produktseite der neuen Antenne von goTenna sind auch schon Daten aus Feldtests vorhanden. Die maximale Strecke, die Nachrichten mit der Mesh gereist sind, liegt aktuell bei 10 Meilen, also 16,09 Kilometern. In Städten soll das Gerät aber bis zu einer Meile – rund 1,61 Kilometer – weit funken können. Die Hersteller erhoffen sich neben 1-zu-1 und Gruppennutzungen aber den Aufbau ganzer Netzwerke. Das geben auch die Videos zum Produkt wieder:

 

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

6 Kommentare

  1. Jupp sagt:

    Mich würde interessieren, wie lange der Akku durchhält und wieviele Teilnehmer ein solches Netz theoretisch haben kann.

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Über die Akkulaufzeit schreiben sie in den FAQ: “Rechargeable Lithium-polymer battery (24+ hour battery life on standby)”. Und bezüglich der Anzahl der Teilnehmer: “Groups can be up to 10 users, though we plan to expand the group maximum soon.”

  2. Michael sagt:

    Es sollte darauf hingewiesen werden, dass die goTenna im Bereich von 150MHz arbeitet und dies in Deutschland/Österreich/Schweiz der Funkbereich für Betriebsfunkanwendungen/Seefunk/Binnenschifffahrt und Militärische Anwendungen ist. Die Benutzung des Gerätes ist ohne Frequenzzuteilung verboten ! Strafen für das Senden ohne Frequenzzuteilung kann empfindliche Strafen nach sich ziehen. Bevor so ein Gerät in Betrieb genommen werden sollte, wäre es ratsam sich bei der Bundesnetzagentur dahingehend zu informieren. https://www.bundesnetzagentur.de/SharedDocs/Downloads/DE/Sachgebiete/Telekommunikation/Unternehmen_Institutionen/Frequenzen/Frequenzplan.pdf?__blob=publicationFile&v=8

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Michael! Danke für deinen Hinweis. Ich hätte gedacht, dass solche Sachen nicht in DE auf den Markt kommen dürfen, wenn sie keine Freigabe für die Frequenzen haben. Aber man kann ja nie sicher sein. Ich habe bei mir aktuell das Google Wifi Mesh laufen, aber ich denke, das ist frequenztechnisch eindwandfrei… hoffe ich. 🙂

    • Peter sagt:

      Aus den aktuellen FAQs für “goTenna Mesh”:

      On which frequencies does goTenna Mesh operate?

      “The first-gen goTenna works on the 151-154MHz band (MURS), whereas goTenna Mesh will transmit at 1 W on 902-928 MHz in the United States, and will vary throughout other countries. For example: goTenna Mesh will transmit at 0.5 W on 869.4-869.65 MHz in Europe and other CE countries, and the device will auto-tune itself to the appropriate frequency band and power output based on the location where it’s being used.”

      What countries are supported?

      “goTenna Mesh will auto-tune to RF frequencies that are legal for use in the following countries:

      United States, Canada, Albania, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom.”

      • Sir Apfelot sagt:

        Hallo Peter! Danke für den Einwurf. Damit wäre es dann auf jeden Fall legal in Deutschland zu verwenden. Hätte mich auch gewundert, wenn sie den Markt aussen vor gelassen hätten. 😀

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.