LanguageTool Plus: The German Grammarly alternative

LanguageTool image

I only became aware of the Grammarly tool a few days ago, which is a kind of instant spelling and grammar checker for texts that can be used, for example, via a browser plug-in in any text field in the Firefox browser. Grammarly is great, but unfortunately there is no Grammarly in German. For this reason I looked around for an alternative and with LanguageTool Plus I found what was closest to Grammarly.

Paid premium account required

Yes, LanguageTool Plus also offers a free basic account, but its functions are severely limited. Nevertheless, this basic version also has a few advantages over normal browser plugins for spell checking: It already recognizes a few grammatical errors and automatically finds the appropriate text language, while with other plugins you always have to switch in the browser which language is to be corrected.

You don't have to register to use it free of charge and you can use the plugin permanently for free. With LanguageTool's premium account, you get help with setting commas and even more suggestions for improvement if it looks like a grammatical error, in addition to the usual spell check. I looked at the premium version because I wanted to see what LanguageTool can do.

With just under 60 euros a year, you get the upgrade to the premium account, which in my opinion is the only sensible choice if you want to use the help of LanguageTool.

With just under 60 euros a year, you get the upgrade to the premium account, which in my opinion is the only sensible choice if you want to use the help of LanguageTool.

LanguageTool's premium account currently costs around 5 euros a month if you choose annual payment.

Short note: Even if I am mainly concerned with the German language, LanguageTool is not limited to German. On a Overview page you can see the languages ​​that LanguageTool supports. The "Activity" bar shows, however, that English, German and Portuguese are being developed the most.

How does LanguageTool Plus work?

When you have created and paid your account, you install the add-on or plug-in for the service in your browser. You can find the relevant links here:

After the installation you can enter your login data in the settings of the plugin so that the payment can be verified and you can manage your personal rules. Unfortunately, these are currently not managed centrally, which means that you only have your personal dictionary and rules available in the browser you are using and on the special computer.

If you are now on any website and enter text in a text field, LanguageTool automatically checks the text every few seconds. According to the provider, the text is sent to the provider's server, but not stored there.

In each multiline text field, LanguageTool shows how many errors it has found in the lower right corner. The display updates automatically as you type.

In each multiline text field, LanguageTool shows how many errors it has found in the lower right corner. The display updates automatically as you type.

In the lower right corner of the text field you can see a small, round symbol that is briefly blue with waves when checking the text and then immediately switches to a red number in a circle. The number shows how many errors LanguageTool found. These are also marked directly in the text by underlining words in red, yellow or blue, for example. Words that are obviously wrong or unknown are underlined in red. Suggestions that show a better word suggestion are highlighted in blue, and grammar and comma errors are underlined in yellow.

LanguageTool marks the corresponding words in the text and with a click on the word, a window opens with information and options.

LanguageTool marks the corresponding words in the text and with a click on the word, a window opens with information and options.

Now you can click on the highlighted word with the mouse and you will get a description of the error or a comment. Unknown words that you have certainly spelled correctly can be added to your personal dictionary with one click and an exception can be set up for rules that you do not want with a click. These exceptions can be viewed in your personal account and removed again when you call up the settings of the add-on.

LanguageTool is also happy to help with comma placement.

LanguageTool is also happy to help with comma placement.

How errors are detected by LanguageTool

How the tool checks "technically" is well described on the website:

LanguageTool checks every text simultaneously using three methods:

  • Spell check: LanguageTool checks every word for its spelling and uses the same dictionary as LibreOffice, but expanded by more than 10.000 words.
  • Error pattern: LanguageTool has around 2200 error patterns for German that identify certain problems in texts. These patterns refer to a sequence of certain words and parts of speech. For example, "yes, faster, the more" is recognized as an error because a rule exists that recognizes the sequence "yes", increased adjective, "the more" as a probable error and suggests the word "ever" instead of "yes".
  • Statistics: Many word pairs from similar words are checked to see whether the other word could possibly be meant. For this purpose, it is checked how often the word usually occurs in which context and how often. If one word occurs much more frequently than the other in a specific context, it is assumed to be correct and the less frequently occurring word is assumed to be incorrect. Two words before and after the word concerned are used as context. An example of this is the word pair you / yes. Both are spelled correctly on their own - the context only reveals which word is correct.

You can see that there is a lot of know-how and technical standards behind the tool. That also shows active communitywhich helps to improve the rules and markings or to expand the error database.

LanguageTool is not infallible either: It would like to have put a wrong comma here, but does not recognize that I wrote "recognizes" instead of "recognized".

LanguageTool is not infallible either: It would like to have put a wrong comma here, but does not recognize that I wrote "recognizes" instead of "recognized".

As always with automatic spell and grammar checkers, LanguageTool is also used with "brains". Not all of the words it chalked up or tried to correct are really wrong. But if you read your sentence in context, you can usually tell whether LanguageTool's suggestion is right or wrong. Unfortunately, he is mostly right. ;-)

The new spelling isn't that new anymore, but I still can't speak it. Only today did I learn that you write "how many" apart.

The new spelling isn't that new anymore, but I still can't speak it. Only today did I learn that you write "how many" apart.

My conclusion on the LanguageTool service

I haven't tried Grammarly excessively as I don't write lyrics in English. As far as my wife (she is a native English speaker) explained it to me, Grammarly helps a little more than LanguageTool, as it also recognizes things that are not directly wrong, but which should be avoided in texts:

  • same sentence start in the following sentences
  • Repetition of verbs in consecutive sentences
  • wrong tenses in texts
  • unfortunate formulations

LanguageTool also has functions that go in this direction, but they are not yet fully active, as you can see with Grammarly. But I have high hopes that the developers will stick with the ball and keep improving the service. The payment through the subscription model should help that there is constant motivation in the direction.

No fair play: It may be meant as a joke, but it seems a bit unfriendly if the competitor "Grammarly" is underlined as the wrong spelling and "LanguageTool" is suggested as the correct spelling.

No fair play: It may be meant as a joke, but it seems a bit unfriendly if the competitor "Grammarly" is underlined as the wrong spelling and "LanguageTool" is suggested as the correct spelling.

Overall, the use of the tool is very intuitive and visually appealing. The fact that the check is carried out constantly and in every text field (you can create exceptions for domains) ensures that you quickly get used to dealing with it. I've only been using it for a few days, but I appreciate the active blogging support so much that I don't want to miss it anymore.

If you want to check the service for free, you can either do this by installing the plug-in with the limited free account, or you can test your texts in the Online examiner on the website copy. There you can already see what the tool recognizes and how the texts are marked. The highlighting with the Firefox add-on looks much nicer, however.

What could be done better?

I noticed three things that I would like to submit as suggestions for improvement:

  • The tool does not recognize double spaces. This is a typical mistake that occurs again and again when writing texts and which should of course be corrected.
  • The same beginning of consecutive sentences should be recognized and marked as a problem (but it will not be actual).
  • When I'm in the WordPress editor and click on the number of errors below, a window opens with a list of the corresponding errors. If I keep the mouse pointer over this window, the entire article suddenly scrolls up (for the developers: macOS Mojave with the latest version of Firefox browser).

For me as an author, it would be very nice if LanguageTool would move further in the direction of Grammarly when it comes to suggestions for wording and suggestions for improvement for easy-to-read texts.

Transparency notice

I got a year of "Premium" free from the developers to test the tool. However, I approached them because I find the service interesting and as a blogger, of course, I am constantly writing texts in the browser. I would like to thank the makers of LanguageTool for the "premium year". I can promise you, however, that this has not caused me to report positively about the tool. For me, who writes texts in the browser every day, the service is so helpful that I already know that I will continue to book it after the year.

 

 

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

5 comments

  1. Hartmut says:

    Moin and thanks for the interesting article. The comma in the second indent of the paragraph "What could be done better" can safely be omitted completely (the same beginning of consecutive sentences should be recognized and marked as a problem (but it is currently not).).
    ;-)
    A good start into the new week
    Hartmut

  2. Ingrid says:

    Hallo,

    I believe the last example is about repeating Grammarly and that LanguageTool should be used as a replacement. Only the tool did not understand the statement.
    I am looking for this position in German. Namely, that synonyms are suggested. Is there such a thing? Or can this LanguageTool do that?

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello Ingrid! No, LanguageTool does not suggest synonyms. What you are looking for is a thesaurus. I would give you the project https://www.openthesaurus.de/ recommend. I think there are browser add-ons for this, with which you can then find synonyms in the WordPress editor or other online text areas.

  3. Ingrid says:

    Bingo! Many Thanks!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

LanguageTool Plus: Die deutsche Grammarly-Alternative

LanguageTool Bild

Ich bin erst vor einigen Tagen auf das Tool Grammarly aufmerksam geworden, das eine Art Instant-Rechtschreib- und Grammatik-Prüfung für Texte ist, die man zum Beispiel über ein Browser-Plugin in jedem beliebigen Textfeld im Firefox-Browser nutzen kann. Grammarly ist toll, aber leider gibt es Grammarly nicht auf Deutsch. Aus dem Grund habe ich mich nach einer Alternative umgeschaut und mit LanguageTool Plus das gefunden, was Grammarly am nächsten kommt.

Kostenpflichtiger Premium-Account nötig

Ja, es gibt von LanguageTool Plus auch einen kostenlosen Basic-Account, aber dieser ist von den Funktionen stark eingeschränkt. Dennoch hat auch diese Basic-Variante ein paar Vorzüge zu normalen Browser-Plugins zur Rechtschreibprüfung parat: Sie erkennt schon einige Grammatikfehler und findet automatisch die passende Textsprache, während man bei anderen Plugins immer im Browser umstellen muss, welche Sprache nun gerade korrigiert werden soll.

Man muss sich für die kostenlose Nutzung auch nicht registrieren und kann das Plugin dauerhaft gratis nutzen. Mit dem Premium-Account von LanguageTool erhält man neben der üblichen Rechtschreibprüfung noch Hilfe bei der Kommasetzung und noch mehr Verbesserungsvorschläge, wenn es nach einem grammatikalischen Fehler aussieht. Ich habe mir die Premium-Variante angeschaut, da ich sehen wollte, was LanguageTool alles “drauf” hat.

Mit knapp 60 Euro im Jahr erhält man das Upgrade auf den Premium-Account, der aus meiner Sicht die einzig vernünftige Wahl ist, wenn man die Hilfe von LanguageTool nutzen möchte.

Mit knapp 60 Euro im Jahr erhält man das Upgrade auf den Premium-Account, der aus meiner Sicht die einzig vernünftige Wahl ist, wenn man die Hilfe von LanguageTool nutzen möchte.

Der Premium-Account von LanguageTool kostet derzeit ca. 5 Euro im Monat, wenn man die jährliche Zahlung wählt.

Kurze Anmerkung: Auch wenn es bei mir natürlich hauptsächlich um die deutsche Sprache geht, so ist LanguageTool nicht auf Deutsch festgelegt. Auf einer Übersichtsseite kann man die Sprachen sehen, die LanguageTool unterstützt. Der Balken “Activity” zeigt aber, dass Englisch, Deutsch und Portugiesisch am stärksten weiter entwickelt werden.

Wie funktioniert LanguageTool Plus?

Wenn man seinen Account  angelegt und bezahlt hat, installiert man sich im Browser das Add-on bzw. Plugin des Service. Hier findest du die entsprechenden Links:

Nach der Installation kann man in den Einstellungen des Plugins seine Login-Daten eintragen, damit die Zahlung verifiziert werden kann und man seine persönlichen Regeln verwalten kann. Diese werden aktuell leider noch nicht zentral verwaltet, was bedeutet, dass man sein persönliches Wörterbuch und seine Regeln nur im genutzten Browser und an dem speziellen Rechner parat hat.

Ist man nun auf einer beliebigen Webseite und trägt Text in ein Textfeld ein, führt LanguageTool automatisch alle paar Sekunden einen Check des Textes durch. Laut Anbieter wird der Text dafür zwar an den Server des Anbieters geschickt, aber nicht dort gespeichert.

In jedem mehrzeiligen Textfeld blendet LanguageTool unten rechts ein, wieviele Fehler es gefunden hat. Die Anzeige aktualisiert sich automatisch beim Tippen.

In jedem mehrzeiligen Textfeld blendet LanguageTool unten rechts ein, wie viele Fehler es gefunden hat. Die Anzeige aktualisiert sich automatisch beim Tippen.

Rechts unten in der Ecke des Textfeldes sieht man ein kleines, rundes Symbol, das beim Prüfen des Textes kurz blau mit Wellen ist und dann sofort auf eine rote Zahl in einem Kreis umschaltet. Die Zahl zeigt dabei an, wie viele Fehler LanguageTool gefunden hat. Diese werden auch direkt im Text markiert, indem zum Beispiel Worte rot, gelb oder blau unterstrichen werden. Rot werden dabei Worte unterstrichen, die offensichtlich falsch oder unbekannt sind. Blau werden Vorschläge markiert, die einen besseren Wortvorschlag zeigen und gelb werden Grammatik- und Kommafehler unterstrichen.

LanguageTool markiert die entsprechenden Worte im Text und mit einem Klick auf das Wort, öffnet sich ein Fenster mit Hinweisen und Optionen.

LanguageTool markiert die entsprechenden Worte im Text und mit einem Klick auf das Wort, öffnet sich ein Fenster mit Hinweisen und Optionen.

Nun kann man mit der Maus auf das markierte Wort klicken und erhält direkt eine Beschreibung des Fehlers oder eine Anmerkung. Unbekannte Worte, die man aber sicher richtig geschrieben hat, lassen sich hier mit einem Klick zum persönlichen Wörterbuch hinzufügen und für Regeln, die man nicht möchte, kann man per Klick eine Ausnahme einrichten. Diese Ausnahmen lassen sich im persönlichen Account einsehen und wieder entfernen, wenn man die Einstellungen des Add-ons aufruft.

Auch bei der Kommasetzung hilft LanguageTool gerne weiter.

Auch bei der Kommasetzung hilft LanguageTool gerne weiter.

Wie Fehler durch LanguageTool erkannt werden

Wie das Tool “technisch” prüft, ist auf der Webseite gut beschrieben:

LanguageTool prüft jeden Text gleichzeitig mit drei Verfahren:

  • Rechtschreibprüfung: LanguageTool prüft jedes Wort auf seine Rechtschreibung und benutzt dazu das gleiche Wörterbuch wie LibreOffice, allerdings um mehr als 10.000 Wörter erweitert.
  • Fehlermuster: LanguageTool verfügt für Deutsch über etwa 2200 Fehlermuster, die bestimmte Probleme in Texten erkennen. Diese Muster beziehen sich auf eine Folge von bestimmten Wörtern und Wortarten. Beispielsweise wird “ja schneller, desto” als Fehler erkannt, weil eine Regel existiert, die die Folge “ja”, gesteigertes Adjektiv, “desto” als wahrscheinlichen Fehler erkennt und statt “ja” das Wort “je” vorschlägt.
  • Statistik: Viele Wortpaare aus ähnlichen Wörtern werden darauf hin geprüft, ob nicht möglicherweise das andere Wort gemeint sein könnte. Dazu wird geprüft, wie oft das Wort üblicherweise in welchem Kontext wie häufig vorkommt. Kommt ein Wort im konkreten Kontext wesentlich häufiger vor als das andere, wird es als korrekt angenommen und das weniger häufig vorkommende als falsch. Als Kontext werden jeweils zwei Wörter vor und nach dem betroffenen Wort benutzt. Ein Beispiel dafür ist das Wortpaar dich/doch. Beide sind jeweils für sich genommen korrekt geschrieben – erst durch den Kontext ergibt sich, welches Wort korrekt ist.

Man sieht, hinter dem Tool steckt einiges an Know-how und technischem Anspruch. Das zeigt auch die aktive Community, die hilft die Regeln und Markierungen zu verbessern oder die Fehlerdatenbank auszubauen.

Auch LanguageTool ist nicht unfehlbar: Hier möchte er ein falsches Komma gesetzt haben, aber erkennt nicht, dass ich

Auch LanguageTool ist nicht unfehlbar: Hier möchte er ein falsches Komma gesetzt haben, aber erkennt nicht, dass ich “erkennt” statt “erkannt” geschrieben habe.

Wie immer bei automatischen Rechtschreib- und Grammatikprüfern, ist auch bei LanguageTool die Verwendung mit “Hirn” angesagt. Nicht alle Worte, die es ankreidet oder korrigieren möchte, sind wirklich falsch. Wenn man seinen Satz aber im Kontext liest, dann erkennt man in der Regel schon, ob der Vorschlag von LanguageTool richtig oder falsch ist. Meistens hat er aber leider recht. 😉

So neu ist die neue Rechtschreibung nicht mehr, aber ich kann sie immernoch nicht. Erst heute habe ich gelernt, dass man

So neu ist die neue Rechtschreibung nicht mehr, aber ich kann sie immer noch nicht. Erst heute habe ich gelernt, dass man “wie viele” auseinander schreibt.

Mein Fazit zum LanguageTool Service

Ich habe Grammarly noch nicht exzessiv ausprobiert, da ich keine Texte auf Englisch schreibe. Soweit ich es von meiner Frau (sie ist englische Muttersprachlerin) erklärt bekommen habe, hilft Grammarly noch ein bisschen mehr als LanguageTool, da es auch Dinge erkennt, die nicht direkt falsch sind, die man aber in Texten vermeiden sollte:

  • gleicher Satzanfang bei folgenden Sätzen
  • Wiederholung von Verben in aufeinanderfolgenden Sätzen
  • falsche Zeitformen in Texten
  • unglückliche Formulierungen

Bei LanguageTool gibt es auch Funktionen, die in diese Richtung gehen, sie sind aber noch nicht in der Tiefe aktiv, wie man es bei Grammarly sieht. Ich habe aber große Hoffnungen, dass die Entwickler ab Ball bleiben und den Service immer besser machen. Die Bezahlung durch das Abo-Modell sollte hier helfen, dass stetige Motivation in der Richtung besteht.

Kein Fair-Play: Es ist vielleicht als Witz gemeint, wirkt aber ein bisschen unfreundlich, wenn der Mitbewerber

Kein Fair Play: Es ist vielleicht als Witz gemeint, wirkt aber ein bisschen unfreundlich, wenn der Mitbewerber “Grammarly” als falsche Schreibweise unterstrichen wird und man als richtige Schreibweise “LanguageTool” vorgeschlagen bekommt.

Insgesamt ist die Nutzung des Tools sehr intuitiv und optisch ansprechend gelöst. Die Tatsache, dass die Prüfung auch ständig und in jedem Textfeld erfolgt (man kann Ausnahmen für Domains anlegen), sorgt dafür, dass man sich schnell an den Umgang damit gewöhnt. Ich nutze es erst wenige Tage, aber weiß die aktive Unterstützung beim Bloggen schon so zu schätzen, dass ich es nicht mehr missen möchte.

Wer den Service mal kostenlos checken möchte, kann dies entweder über die Installation des Plugins mit dem eingeschränkten Gratis-Account erledigen, oder seine Texte testweise in den Online-Prüfer auf der Webseite kopieren. Dort sieht man schon, was das Tool erkennt und wie die Texte markiert werden. Die Hervorhebung mit dem Firefox-Add-on sieht allerdings wesentlich hübscher aus.

Was könnte man besser machen?

Mir sind drei Sachen aufgefallen, die ich gerne als Verbesserungsvorschlag einreichen möchte:

  • Das Tool erkennt keine doppelten Leerzeichen. Dies ist ein typischer Fehler, der beim Schreiben von Texten immer wieder vorkommt und der natürlich korrigiert werden sollte.
  • Der gleiche Anfang von aufeinanderfolgenden Sätzen sollte als Problem erkannt und markiert werden (wird es aktuell aber nicht).
  • Wenn ich im WordPress-Editor bin und unten auf die Zahl der Fehler klicke, öffnet sich ein Fenster mit einer Liste der entsprechenden Fehler. Bleibe ich mit dem Mauszeiger über diesem Fenster, scrollt plötzlich der komplette Artikel nach oben (für die Entwickler: macOS Mojave mit Firefox Browser in aktuellster Version).

Für mich als Autor wäre es sehr schön, wenn sich LanguageTool weiter in Richtung Grammarly bewegen würde, was die Vorschläge für Formulierungen und Verbesserungsvorschläge für gut-lesbare Texte angeht.

Transparenzhinweis

Ich habe von den Entwicklern ein Jahr “Premium” gratis erhalten, um das Tool zu testen. Allerdings bin ich auf sie zugegangen, da ich den Service interessant finde und als Blogger natürlich ständig Texte im Browser verfasse. Für das “Premium-Jahr” möchte ich mich bei den Machern von LanguageTool bedanken. Ich kann euch aber versprechen, dass mich dies nicht dazu veranlasst hat, positiv über das Tool zu berichten. Für mich, der täglich Texte im Browser verfasst, ist der Service so hilfreich, dass ich jetzt schon weiß, dass ich ihn auch nach dem Jahr weiter buchen werde.

 

 

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

5 Kommentare

  1. Hartmut sagt:

    Moin und lieben Dank für den interessanten Artikel. Das Komma im zweiten Spiegelstrich des Absatzes “Was könnte man besser machen” darf aber getrost ganz entfallen (Der gleiche Anfang von aufeinanderfolgenden Sätzen sollte als Problem erkannt und markiert werden (ist es aber derzeit nicht).).
    😉
    Einen guten Start in die neue Woche
    Hartmut

  2. Ingrid sagt:

    Hallo,

    Ich glaube, dass es im letzten Beispiel um die Wiederholung von Grammarly geht und dass LanguageTool als Ersatz genommen werden soll. Nur hat das Tool die Aussage nicht verstanden.
    Diese Funktion suche ich auf Deutsch. Nämlich dass Synonyme vorgeschlagen werden. Gibt es das? Bzw. kann das dieses LanguageTool?

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Ingrid! Nein, Synonyme schlägt LanguageTool nicht vor. Das was du suchst, ist ein Thesaurus. Da würde ich dir das Projekt https://www.openthesaurus.de/ empfehlen. Ich glaube, dafür gibt es auch Browser Addons, mit denen du dann Synonyme im WordPress Editor oder anderen Online-Textbereichen finden kannst.

  3. Ingrid sagt:

    Bingo! Vielen Dank!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.