Little Snitch 5 - network monitoring optimized for macOS Big Sur

Litte Snitch is a Mac app that is used for network monitoring and offers you z. B. shows which software wants to transfer data over the Internet. Together with Micro Snitch I already gave you the tool presented almost four years ago. Since then, several versions have passed, especially of the Mac operating system macOS. The current version of the app Little snitch 5 is optimized for the upcoming macOS 11.0 Big Sur and accordingly brings a new design and new functions. In this post I have summarized the details for you.

The network monitoring tool "Little Snitch" is now optimized for macOS 11.0 Big Sur. All information about Little Snitch 5 can be found here.

The network monitoring tool "Little Snitch" is now optimized for macOS 11.0 Big Sur. All information about Little Snitch 5 can be found here.

Little Snitch 5 - Revised network monitoring for the Mac

In Little Snitch 5, the developers at Objective Development Software GmbH from Vienna focused on the native network filters that come with macOS Big Sur on the Mac. The software behind it has been developed from scratch and replaces the kernel extension that was still used up to now. In addition to the underlying technology, the design was also considered. In the case of the Austrian tool for monitoring the network activity of the Apple Mac, this was also adapted to the upcoming operating system. Also important for many previous users: the program and update installation now works via drag-and-drop and no longer needs to be restarted.

Important for beginners: the quiet mode

If you are installing Little Snitch for the first time, you will quickly get frustrated with older versions, because every few seconds the tool wants to know what to do about the network connection XYZ. For example, if you open Adobe Photoshop for the first time, you will be overwhelmed with messages because the Adobe Suite is busy making phone calls to the cloud.

This naturally subsides after a few days, since each connection only requires a decision once, but beginners in particular are quickly frustrated here and lose the fun of Little Snitch.

With the quiet mode, the developers have built in a good function: Little Snitch does not constantly disturb, but collects the connections and later you can work through the complete list. This is a feature that really makes a lot of sense.

The new "quiet mode" in Little Snitch 5 prevents constant disruptions when working on the Mac.

Other improvements in Little Snitch 5

Resource management has also been improved with the new version. Little Snitch does not need as much CPU and RAM in the current version, since connection information can be collected without the network monitor running in the background. In addition - and this is a big change - it is no longer just the connection information from the last hour that can be viewed. Information that goes back up to a year can now be collected and stored.

System admins also have the option of controlling settings via a command line. This is how scripts can be run in the app for the first time. In addition to private use, professional use was also considered.

Free upgrade and pricing for the software

If you bought Little Snitch 4 after November 1st, 2019, you will get the upgrade to Little Snitch 5 for free. After the download, all you have to do is enter the existing license key. However, if the 4 version was purchased before the deadline, there is still a discount on the purchase of the latest edition.

A new purchase with a single license also costs 45 euros. Other offers include a family license for 89 euros and multiple licenses for 5 or 10 Macs. In addition, the developers continue to offer Micro Snitch and LaunchBar - also useful tools for working on the Apple Mac. To the official website you come with this link.

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

2 comments

  1. And I says:

    Is the problem solved that Apple's data stream continues to enter the network undetected? Are all data streams now seen and can they be monitored?

    • Jens Kleinholz says:

      Hello Andi! No, as far as I know, Apple still grants privileges to its own services under Big Sur. I think they will only change that if enough people rise to the barricades. So far it doesn't seem to have been enough. But the behavior is a bit bold ...

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Little Snitch 5 – Netzwerk-Überwachung für macOS Big Sur optimiert

Litte Snitch ist eine Mac App, die der Netzwerküberwachung dient und euch z. B. aufzeigt, welche Software Daten über das Internet übertragen will. Zusammen mit Micro Snitch habe ich euch das Tool schon einmal vor knapp vier Jahren vorgestellt. Seitdem sind einige Versionen ins Land gegangen, vor allem auch vom Mac-Betriebssystem macOS. Die nunmehr aktuelle App-Version Little Snitch 5 ist auf das kommende macOS 11.0 Big Sur hin optimiert und bringt entsprechend ein neues Design und neue Funktionen mit. In diesem Beitrag habe ich euch die Details zusammengefasst.

Das Network Monitoring Tool "Little Snitch" gibt es jetzt optimiert für macOS 11.0 Big Sur. Alle Informationen zu Little Snitch 5 findet ihr hier.

Das Network Monitoring Tool "Little Snitch" gibt es jetzt optimiert für macOS 11.0 Big Sur. Alle Informationen zu Little Snitch 5 findet ihr hier.

Little Snitch 5 – Überarbeitetes Network Monitoring für den Mac

Im Fokus der Entwickler/innen der Objective Development Software GmbH aus Wien standen bei Little Snitch 5 die nativen Netzwerk-Filter, welche mit macOS Big Sur auf den Mac kommen. Die Software dahinter wurde von Grund auf neu entwickelt und ersetzt die bisher noch genutzte Kernel-Erweiterung. Neben der zugrunde liegenden Technologie wurde aber auch an das Design gedacht. Dieses wurde bei dem österreichischen Tool für die Überwachung der Netzwerkaktivität des Apple Mac ebenfalls an das kommende Betriebssystem angepasst. Für viele bisherige Nutzer/innen sicherlich auch wichtig: die Programm- und Update-Installation funktioniert nun über Drag-and-Drop und bedarf keines Neustarts mehr.

Für Einsteiger wichtig: Der Leise-Modus

Wer sich Little Snitch das erste Mal installiert, wird bei älteren Versionen schnell frustriert, denn alle paar Sekunden möchte das Tool wissen, was zur Netzwerkverbindung XYZ entschieden werden soll. Öffnet man zum Beispiel Adobe Photoshop das erste Mal, wird man zugeschüttet mit Meldungen, da die Adobe Suite sehr fleissig mit der Wolke telefoniert.

Das läßt nach einigen Tagen natürlich nach, da jede Verbindung nur einmal eine Entscheidung fordert, aber gerade Anfänger sind hier schnell frustriert und verlieren den Spaß an Little Snitch.

Mit dem Leise-Modus haben die Entwickler hier eine gute Funktion eingebaut: Little Snitch stört nicht ständig, sondern sammelt die Verbindungen und später kann man die komplette Liste abarbeiten. Das ist ein Feature, das wirklich sehr sinnvoll ist.

Der neue "Leise-Modus" in Little Snitch 5 verhindert ständige Störungen bei der Arbeit am Mac.

Weitere Verbesserungen bei Little Snitch 5

Die Ressourcenverwaltung wurde mit der neuen Version ebenfalls verbessert. So braucht Little Snitch in der aktuellen Ausführung nicht mehr so viel CPU und Arbeitsspeicher, da Verbindungsinformationen auch ohne den im Hintergrund laufenden Network Monitor gesammelt werden können. Überdies – und das ist eine große Änderung – werden nicht mehr nur die Verbindungsinformationen der letzten Stunde einsehbar. Es können nunmehr Informationen gesammelt und gespeichert werden, die bis zu einem Jahr zurückreichen.

System-Admins bekommen zudem die Möglichkeit, Einstellungen über eine Befehlszeile zu steuern. So lassen sich das erste Mal Skripte in der App ausführen. Neben der privaten Anwendung wurde also auch an die professionelle Nutzung gedacht.

Kostenloses Upgrade und Preise für die Software

Wer Little Snitch 4 nach dem 1. November 2019 gekauft hat, bekommt das Upgrade auf Little Snitch 5 kostenlos. Nach dem Download muss einfach nur der schon bestehende Lizenzschlüssel eingegeben werden. Wenn die 4er Version vor dem Stichtag gekauft wurde, gibt es aber immer noch einen Rabatt auf den Kauf der neuesten Ausgabe.

Ein Neukauf in der Einzellizenz kostet zudem 45 Euro. Weitere Angebote umfassen eine Familien-Lizenz für 89 Euro sowie Mehrfachlizenzen für 5 oder 10 Macs. Außerdem bieten die Entwickler/innen auch weiterhin Micro Snitch und LaunchBar an – ebenfalls brauchbare Werkzeuge für die Arbeit am Apple Mac. Zur offiziellen Webseite kommt ihr mit diesem Link.


Wenn mein Beitrag geholfen hat und dir mein Blog unterstützenswert erscheint, würde ich mich über eine Hilfe per Steady oder Buy me a coffee sehr freuen.

2 Kommentare

  1. AnDi sagt:

    Ist das Problem gelöst das Apples Datenstrom weiter unerkannt ins Netz geht gelöst? Werden nun sämtliche Datenströme gesehen und sind kontrollierbar?

    • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

      Hallo AnDi! Nein, soweit ich weiß, räumt Apple seinen eigenen Diensten unter Big Sur immernoch Sonderrechte ein. Ich denke, das werden sie nur ändern, wenn genug Leute auf die Barrikaden steigen. Bisher scheinen es noch nicht genug gewesen zu sein. Das Verhalten ist aber schon etwas dreist…

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.