Updated ScanSnap software for feeder scanners from Fujitsu is available for macOS Mojave

The current flagship from Fujitsu: the ScanSnap iX1500.

After Fujitsu received one of the last macOS updates quite a debacle and their scanner software was not compatible with the Sierra macOS operating system for several weeks, most users of models such as the ScanSnap iX500 must have been very careful with this year's update to Mojave. I have one too iX500 standing on the desk and the functionality of the scanner was one of the first things I tested under Mojave. I use the scanner several times a day to scan away any documents, correspondence or the like (and later with PDF Archiver to archive). A failure of the scanner for several weeks would kill my desk. ;-)

The new ScanSnap software for macOS Mojave can be found on the Fujitsu download page.

The new ScanSnap software for macOS Mojave can be found on the Fujitsu download page.

New version - optimized for macOS Mojave

This time, in principle, a new version was not urgently needed, because the old version of the ScanSnap software also runs under Mojave - however, it has been throwing out the notice for a few days that there is a new version that should be installed. This can be downloaded from the Fujitsu support page for various scanner models of the ScanSnap series:

http://scansnap.fujitsu.com/global/dl/

On the left you set your scanner model, then select the operating system and then press the button on the right to go to a page on which you can start the download. There you will also find a new version of the ABBYY Fine Reader, which I did not load because I am not using the software. To load this, you have to type in the serial number of your scanner.

Scanner models that are no longer supported

Unfortunately, Fujitsu has stopped supporting some older models with the new software. If you connect these to the Mac under Mojave, they will unfortunately refuse to work. Fujitsu lists the corresponding models under "Discontinued Scanners":

  • ScanSnap S1500 / S1500M
  • ScanSnap S1300
  • ScanSnap S1100
  • ScanSnap S510 / S510M
  • ScanSnap S500 / S500M
  • ScanSnap S300 / S300M
  • fi-5110EOX2 / fi-5110EOX / fi-5110EOXM
  • ScanSnap N1800
These scanner models will no longer be supported by the ScanSnap software in the future and are listed as "discontinued" on the Fujitsu website.

These scanner models will no longer be supported by the ScanSnap software in the future and are listed as "discontinued" on the Fujitsu website.

Recommendation: The ScanSnap iX1500

If you want to buy a new feeder scanner, you should possibly switch to the new flagship, taking into account the long compatibility with new macOS versions ScanSnap iX1500 To fall back on. It's the evolution of the iX500 model that I have. The technology is very reliable, fast and works perfectly on every Mac.

To get a stack of sheets of paper as searchable PDFs into my archive folder on the Mac, all I have to do is open the scanner flap, insert the stack of paper and press a button. The software starts automatically and at the end there is a OCR edited, multi-page PDF in the folder, which is also indexed directly by Spotlight. It couldn't be better.

Fujitsu ScanSnap iX1500 document scanner
  • Touchscreen for many tasks, Refined design
  • Ideal for personal and community use
  • Fast color scanning at a speed of 30 ppm

Recommendation for mobile scanner: Doxie Go

A second recommendation that I would like to throw into the ring here is the Doxie Go feeder scanner. This is battery operated and works with an app on Mac, iPhone and iPad. You can find a detailed presentation of the various models of the Doxie Go here in Doxie Go article.

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Für macOS Mojave aktualisierte ScanSnap Software für Einzugsscanner von Fujitsu erhältlich

Das aktuelle Flagschiff von Fujitsu: der ScanSnap iX1500.

Nachdem Fujitsu bei einem der letzten macOS Updates ein ziemliches Debakel abgeliefert hat und ihre Scannersoftware mehrere Wochen nicht mit dem Sierra macOS Betriebssystem kompatibel war, dürften die meisten Nutzer von Modellen wie dem ScanSnap iX500 beim diesjährigen Update auf Mojave sehr vorsichtig gewesen sein. Ich habe ebenfalls einen iX500 auf dem Schreibtisch stehen und die Funktion des Scanners war eine der ersten Dinge, die ich unter Mojave getestet habe. Der Scanner kommt bei mir mehrmals am Tag zum Einsatz, um irgendwelche Belege, Korrespondenz oder ähnliches wegzuscannen (und später mit PDF Archiver zu archivieren). Ein Ausfall des Scanners über mehrere Wochen würde meinem Schreibtisch den Todesstoß geben. 😉

Auf der Download-Seite von Fujitsu findet man die neue ScanSnap Software für macOS Mojave.

Auf der Download-Seite von Fujitsu findet man die neue ScanSnap Software für macOS Mojave.

Neue Version – für macOS Mojave optimiert

Dieses Mal war im Prinzip eine neue Version nicht dringend vonnöten, denn die alte Version der ScanSnap-Software läuft auch unter Mojave – allerdings wirft sie seit einigen Tagen den Hinweis raus, dass es eine neue Version gibt, die man installieren sollte. Diese kann man über die Fujitsu-Support-Seite für diverse Scannermodelle der ScanSnap-Reihe runterladen:

http://scansnap.fujitsu.com/global/dl/

Links stellt man sein Scannermodell ein, wählt dann das Betriebssystem und kommt dann mit dem Button rechts zu einer Seite, auf welcher man den Download starten kann. Dort findet man zudem eine neue Version des ABBYY Fine Readers, die ich jedoch nicht geladen habe, weil ich die Software nicht verwende. Um diese zu laden, muss man die Seriennummer seines Scanners eintippen.

Nicht mehr unterstützte Scannermodelle

Leider hat Fujitsu mit der neuen Software die Unterstützung von einigen älteren Modellen eingestellt. Schließt man diese unter Mojave an den Mac an, werden sie leider den Dienst verweigern. Die entsprechenden Modelle führt Fujitsu unter “Discontinued Scanners” auf:

  • ScanSnap S1500 / S1500M
  • ScanSnap S1300
  • ScanSnap S1100
  • ScanSnap S510 / S510M
  • ScanSnap S500 / S500M
  • ScanSnap S300 / S300M
  • fi-5110EOX2 / fi-5110EOX / fi-5110EOXM
  • ScanSnap N1800
Diese Scannermodelle werden in Zukunft nicht mehr von der ScanSnap-Software unterstützt und sind auf der Fujitsu-Seite als

Diese Scannermodelle werden in Zukunft nicht mehr von der ScanSnap-Software unterstützt und sind auf der Fujitsu-Seite als “discontinued” aufgeführt..

Empfehlung: Der ScanSnap iX1500

Wer sich einen neuen Einzugsscanner zulegen möchte, der sollte unter Berücksichtigung der langen Kompatibilität mit neuen macOS Versionen evntuell auf das neue Flagschiff ScanSnap iX1500 zurückgreifen. Es ist die Weiterentwicklung des iX500-Modells, welches ich habe. Die Technik ist sehr zuverlässig, schnell und läuft perfekt an jedem Mac.

Um einen Stapel Bätter als durchsuchbare PDFs in meinen Archiv-Ordner am Mac zu bekommen, muss ich lediglich die Scannerklappe öffnen, den Stapel Papier einlegen und einen Knopf drücken. Die Software startet selbständig und am Ende liegt ein mit OCR bearbeitetes, mehrseitiges PDF im Ordner, das auch direkt von Spotlight indexiert wird. Besser gehts nicht.

Fujitsu ScanSnap i X1500 - Dokumentenscanner, PA03770-B001
42 Bewertungen

Empfehlung für mobiles Scanner: Doxie Go

Eine zweite Emfpehlung, die ich hier noch in den Ring werfen möchte, ist der Doxie Go Einzugsscanner. Dieser ist akkubetrieben und funktioniert mit einer App an Mac, iPhone und iPad. Eine detailierte Vorstellung der verschiedenen Modelle des Doxie Go findet ihr hier im Doxie Go Artikel.

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.