OnyX for Apple Mac: Optimizing macOS made easy

OnyX is an app for the Apple Mac with which non-obvious functions of the system and individual programs can be used and changed. The free application from Titanium Software is available for different versions of the operating system from Mac OS X 10.2 to macOS 10.13 (High Sierra). At Apfelot, OnyX is used to change hidden settings on the Mac and to use a few little things for experts, such as clearing the DNS cache at the push of a button. In the following you will find more information, screenshots and the download.

Tip: I use for system maintenance and hard disk cleaning Clean My Mac

The OnyX app from Titanium Software for Mac OS X and macOS helps to make configurations.

The OnyX app from Titanium Software for Mac OS X and macOS helps to make configurations.

OnyX for Mac OS X and macOS

The free OnyX app from Titanium Software offers useful setup options on the Apple Mac without registration and without harmful or annoying additional software. Whether settings and optimizations with regard to the file system, settings for effects, appearance and other behavior of individual applications or access to system aids such as memory management, network utility and color picker - there are many practical steps possible to use the Mac and your workflow on the machine can optimize. Even if it gets slower due to age, you can deactivate various effects and other unnecessary settings with OnyX in order to free up system performance.

OnyX download for Mac, iMac and MacBook

You can find the download of the app at titanium-software.fr/en/onyx.html - Everything is described there in English and you can only switch to French, but once you have downloaded OnyX, it can automatically also be used in German. The size of the download also varies depending on the operating system from macOS X 10.2 (OnyX 1.3.1) to macOS 10.13 High Sierra (OnyX 3.4.4). The first version measures only 1,2 MB while for example version 3.1.9 for Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan is 33,1 MB.

Tips for installation / use

Since OnyX accesses numerous functions and options of the operating system, the appropriate administrator rights are required. Despite the fact that the application itself can be used in German, the installation help is only available in English. Therefore, here are the corresponding instructions as a translation (procedure after installation):

  1. Opens the System Settings and click on that Safety-Field 
  2. Choose the one Privacy-Tab and then click on Accessibility in the list on the left
  3. If the settings are locked, click on the lock at the bottom left and enter your password
  4. Pulls from the finder (ProgramsFolder) place the OnyX symbol in the list on the right and activate the check mark 
  5. Now you can close the window

Update April 2021: In newer versions of macOS and OnyX, the assignment of rights is a little different. If you have selected the "Security" overview in the system settings, click on the "Data protection" tab (instead of privacy) and then on "Full hard disk access" in the overview on the left. There you can check the box for OnyX (after you have opened the lock at the bottom left by entering a password). I wish you success! :)

Update end

Screenshots of the app

Here are a few impressions of the program and the possibilities it offers (used under High Sierra):


 

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

1 comment

  1. Nicole says:

    Hallo,

    I installed the new operating system, what bothers me is once the stupid system font is no longer as it was before. Then I work with Adobe Photoshop CC 2017 and had to find out that some PSD files can no longer be opened or even when I want to create a new document Photoshop crashes. Will there still be a solution or updates for or what can I do? Thanks in advance.

    NEITHER

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

OnyX für Apple Mac: Optimierung von macOS leicht gemacht

OnyX ist eine App für den Apple Mac, mit dem sich nicht-offensichtliche Funktionen des Systems sowie einzelner Programme nutzen und verändern lassen. Die kostenlose Applikation von Titanium Software gibt es für verschiedene Versionen des Betriebssystems von Mac OS X 10.2 bis macOS 10.13 (High Sierra). Im Hause Apfelot kommt OnyX zum Einsatz, um versteckte Einstellungen am Mac zu verändern und ein paar Kleinigkeiten für Experten zu nutzen, wie den DNS-Cache auf Knopfdruck zu löschen. Im Folgenden findet ihr weitere Infos, Screenshots und den Download.

Tipp: Für Systempflege und Festplattenbereinigung nutze ich Clean My Mac

Die OnyX App von Titanium Software für Mac OS X und macOS hilft dabei, Konfigurationen vorzunehmen.

Die OnyX App von Titanium Software für Mac OS X und macOS hilft dabei, Konfigurationen vorzunehmen.

OnyX für Mac OS X und macOS

Die kostenlose OnyX App von Titanium Software bietet ohne Registrierung und ohne schädliche oder nervende Zusatzsoftware nützliche Einrichtungsmöglichkeiten auf dem Apple Mac. Ob Einstellungen und Optimierungen im Hinblick auf das Dateisystem, Einstellungen zu Effekten, Erscheinungsbild und weiterem Verhalten einzelner Anwendungen oder der Zugriff auf Systemhilfen wie Speicherverwaltung, Netzwerkdienstprogramm und Farbwähler – es sind viele praktische Schritte möglich, mit dem ihr den Mac und euren Workflow an der Maschine optimieren könnt. Auch wenn er altersbedingt langsamer wird, könnt ihr mit OnyX diverse Effekte und andere unnötige Einstellungen deaktivieren, um Systemleistung freizugeben.

OnyX Download für Mac, iMac und MacBook

Den Download der App findet ihr unter titanium-software.fr/en/onyx.html – dort ist zwar alles auf Englisch beschrieben und ihr könnt lediglich zu Französisch wechseln, habt ihr OnyX aber einmal heruntergeladen, lässt es sich automatisch auch auf Deutsch verwenden. Je nach Betriebssystem von macOS X 10.2 (OnyX 1.3.1) hin zu macOS 10.13 High Sierra (OnyX 3.4.4) variiert zudem die Größe des Downloads. Die erste Version misst nur 1,2 MB während beispielsweise die Version 3.1.9 für Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan 33,1 MB groß ist.

Tipps für die Installation / Verwendung

Da OnyX auf zahlreiche Funktionen und Optionen des Betriebssystems zugreift, braucht es die entsprechenden Administrator-Berechtigungen. Trotz dem die Anwendung selbst auf Deutsch nutzbar ist, kommt die Installationshilfe nur auf Englisch mit. Deshalb hier die entsprechende Anleitung als Übersetzung (Vorgehen nach der Installation):

  1. Öffnet die Systemeinstellungen und klickt auf das Sicherheit-Feld 
  2. Wählt den den Privatsphäre-Tab und klickt anschließend auf Bedienungshilfen in der Liste links
  3. Falls die Einstellungen gesperrt sind, klickt auf das Schloss unten links und gebt euer Passwort ein
  4. Zieht aus dem Finder (Programme-Ordner) das OnyX-Symbol in die Liste rechts und aktiviert das Häkchen 
  5. Nun könnt ihr das Fenster schließen

Screenshots der App

Hier ein paar Impressionen des Programms und der Möglichkeiten, die sich damit ergeben (unter High Sierra genutzt):


 

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.