Optimage - The Mac tool for compressing PNG and JPG images

The Optimage tool is a Mac app for image optimization and compression of image files.

Since I count down practically every photo in my blog, a long time ago I read through various tests on programs that specialize in compressing images for websites. I use so far TinyPNG or TinyJPG, because the manufacturer offers a WordPress plug-in and a Photoshop plug-in in addition to an online service, so that photos can be saved optimally compressed directly from Photoshop. The "Save for Web" function built into Photoshop also delivers a JPEG, but unfortunately these are not particularly small in terms of file size, so I only ever used TinyPNG / TinyJPG.

Risk of confusion: Optimage and ImageOptim

Short inset: The following is about "Optimage" and "ImageOptim" - both tools that unfortunately have a very similar name. This post here is mainly dedicated to Optimage, as I didn't know this image optimizer yet and have therefore tested it with various competitors.

The Optimage tool is a Mac app for image optimization and compression of image files.

The Optimage tool is a Mac app for image optimization and compression of image files.

Often and well tested: ImageOptim

The tool ImageOptim is an image reducer that performed better than TinyPNG in most tests, Short pixels, Imagify.io and other tools supplied. In my tests, however, he was unable to improve the photos that I had previously compressed with TinyPNG / JPG (when I activated "lossless"). The list always showed 0% for optimization. Still, ImageOptim is a recommendation for anyone looking for free Mac software to compress image files. ImageOptim offers a lot of setting options and also knows how to optimize nested folders with many photos using drag and drop.

Imageoptim also offers a paid web service, which can be used to compress large amounts of photos by their server.

Imageoptim also offers a paid web service, which can be used to compress large amounts of photos by their server.

Optimage: new star in the compression sky?

Today, in a blog post about optimizing images for Google search, I found the reference to a compression tool that I was previously unfamiliar with: Optimage. Since I am interested in the performance of such software, I have a bunch of photos from my post about my last ride on the electric unicycle thrown in Optimage and looked what he could get out of it. In fact, some of the photos have become noticeably smaller. But some don't either ...

I have put together a table for you with the improvements and the corresponding percentage so that you can see how well the program is working. And it has to be noted here that TinyJPG has already done a good job. So the bar was pretty high!

Image fileBefore (TinyJPG)After (Optimage)Improvement of
ks18l-exit-map.jpg306 KB306 KB0%
ks18l-foto-departure.jpg185 KB185 KB0%
ks18l-foto-ankunft.jpg234 KB234 KB0%
ks18l-foto-dirtfaenger.jpg223 KB206 KB7,6%
ks18l-hochsitz.jpg115 KB72 KB37%
ks18l-nachtfahrt.jpg108 KB62 KB42%
ks18l-schlammpfuetze.jpg434 KB387 KB11%
ks18l-fall.jpg318 KB257 KB19%

In the table you can see that not all images could be compressed better. I have the feeling that these photos in particular, which have large dark or monochrome areas, could be made smaller by Optimage. The software had to fit with many photos. TinyJPG has already done good preparatory work.

Test photo 1 for the compression test. In comparison: Photoshop JPEG storage, TinyJPG and Optimage (Photo: Sir Apfelot).

Test photo 1 for the compression test. In comparison: Photoshop JPEG storage, TinyJPG and Optimage (Photo: Sir Apfelot).

Test compared to the Photoshop function, HEIC and TinyJPG

To see what the Mac app Optimage can get out of a photo compared to Photoshop's "Save for Web" function, I downloaded the original size photo shown above from the iPhone XS. The following values ​​came out:

  • File size in HEIC format: 2,2 MB
  • Photoshop Save for Web: 1,4MB
  • Photoshop "Save as JPG (high quality)": 1,0 MB
  • TinyJPG: 410 KB (took 1:16 m: s!)
  • Optimage: 1,2 MB (took only 9 s)

In this case, TinyJPG performed significantly better than Optimage. Even if I calculate the image to a height of 1200 pixels and save it with TinyJPG, Optimage can no longer optimize anything (0%).

Optimage test photo 2: Here, too, TinyJPG delivers the smaller file.

Optimage test photo 2: Here, too, TinyJPG delivers the smaller file. For the article I have scaled the photo down to a smaller resolution. The image optimization programs had to work with the full resolution.

Optimage cannot score with these photos either:

  • File size in HEIC format: 3,0 MB
  • TinyJPG: 1,1 MB (took 1:15 m: s!)
  • Optimage: 2,0 MB (took only 8 s)

As you can see, as with most other tools, it all depends on the source material. If you have large areas of the same color in the picture, one seems to be better, while the other can score with gradients or other special features.

Optimage and TinyJPG in comparison - Attention: This photo is of course compressed again and cannot be used as a comparison! I had done the comparison in 100% view in the preview app on the Mac.

Optimage and TinyJPG in comparison - Attention: This photo is of course compressed again and cannot be used as a comparison! I had done the comparison in 100% view in the preview app on the Mac.

Visible differences between TinyJPG and Optimage?

Since the file sizes were so different for the two tools, I looked at a test photo in detail and tried to find any visible differences. Even after several minutes of visual inspection at 100%, I couldn't find any areas that were noticeably different. There were no visible JPG compressions or anything like that. In this direction, one cannot therefore search for the difference in the file size of the output files.

By the way, my picture embedded here with the two comparison photos is only for decorative purposes. It is clear to me that you cannot make a serious comparison of photos if you compress this comparison image with the two images with TinyJPG and incorporate it into the blog as a JPG. : D

What Optimage can and cannot do ...

I have to say that I find the Photoshop plugin from TinyJPG or TinyPNG extremely useful, because I edit all my photos for the blog posts in Photoshop first and then optimize them and save them with the plugin. I dare to doubt whether this possibility is important for everyone, but I would like to say it nonetheless. For this reason, here is a list of points that Optimage CANNOT offer:

  • there is no Photoshop plugin
  • there is no web service or API interface
  • there is no WordPress plugin
  • it doesn’t offer as many setting options as ImageOptim

What it can or offers:

  • It can work with nested folders and optimize the photos in the structure. This is helpful if, for example, you want to run through the "uploads" folder of your WordPress installation in one go.
  • It can handle the HEIC format of Apple photos.
  • There is a possibility to use the Mac app for free if you want to reduce a maximum of 24 image files per day.
The interface of Optimage is simple: Drag and drop one or more photos onto the window and click the button. The originals will be replaced by the optimized versions.

The interface of Optimage is simple: Drag and drop one or more photos onto the window and click the button. The originals will be replaced by the optimized versions.

My conclusion on Optimage

Regardless of whether you use Imageoptim, Optimage or TinyPNG: none of the three candidates are bad, but it is difficult to choose a winner here. If you throw 20 photos into all tools, one of the tools does not always have the best results for all. Optimage offers a free version where you can count down up to 24 photos per day. If you want to convert more, you have to put 15 USD / EUR on the counter once to buy the software. In my opinion, as a Mac app, I somehow like the ImageOptim solution better, as it has many setting options with which you can not only influence the quality of the output files but also the file sizes.

My procedure for the future will be that I continue to back up my photos from Photoshop with the plugin from TinyJPG. So far TinyJPG has delivered very well compressed photos and only in a few cases has Optimage been able to improve the file size again. I can live with this compromise.

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Optimage – Das Mac-Tool um PNG und JPG Bilder zu komprimieren

Das Tool Optimage ist eine Mac-App zur Bildoptimierung und Komprimierung von Bildateien.

Da ich bei mir im Blog quasi jedes Foto kleinrechne, habe ich mir schon vor längerer Zeit diverse Tests zu Programmen durchgelesen, die darauf spezialisiert sind, Bilder für Webseiten zu komprimieren. Ich verwende bisher TinyPNG bzw. TinyJPG, da der Hersteller neben einem Online-Service auch ein WordPress-Plugin und ein Photoshop-Plugin anbietet, so dass man Fotos direkt aus Photoshop optimal komprimiert sichern kann. Die in Photoshop eingebaute Funktion „Für Web speichern“ liefert zwar ebenfalls ein JPEG, aber diese sind leider nicht besonders klein in Bezug auf die Dateigröße, so dass ich immer nur TinyPNG/TinyJPG genutzt habe.

Verwechselungsgefahr: Optimage und ImageOptim

Kurzer Einschub: Im Folgenden geht es um „Optimage“ und „ImageOptim“ – beides Tools, die leider einen sehr ähnlichen Namen haben. Dieser Beitrag hier ist aber vor allem Optimage gewidmet, da ich diesen Bildoptimierer noch nicht kannte und aus dem Grund mit diversen Mitbewerbern getestet habe.

Das Tool Optimage ist eine Mac-App zur Bildoptimierung und Komprimierung von Bildateien.

Das Tool Optimage ist eine Mac-App zur Bildoptimierung und Komprimierung von Bildateien.

Oft und gut getestet: ImageOptim

Das Tool ImageOptim ist ein Bildverkleinerer, der in den meisten Tests bessere Ergebnisse als TinyPNG, Shortpixel, Imagify.io und andere Tools geliefert hat. In meinen Tests hat er allerdings die Fotos, die ich vorher schon mit TinyPNG/JPG komprimiert habe, nicht mehr verbessern können (wenn ich „verlustfrei“ aktiviert habe). In der Liste stand immer 0% bei der Optimierung. Trotzdem ist ImageOptim eine Empfehlung für alle, die eine kostenlose Mac-Software für die Komprimierung von Bilddateien suchen. ImageOptim bietet sehr viele Einstellungsmöglichkeiten und versteht sich auch darauf, verschachtelte Ordner mit vielen Fotos per Drag and Drop zu optimieren.

Imageoptim bietet auch einen kostenpflichtigen Webservice, über den man große Mengen an Fotos durch deren Server komprimieren lassen kann.

Imageoptim bietet auch einen kostenpflichtigen Webservice, über den man große Mengen an Fotos durch deren Server komprimieren lassen kann.

Optimage: Neuer Stern am Komprimierungshimmel?

Heute habe ich in einem Blogbeitrag zur Optimierung von Bildern für die Google-Suche den Hinweis auf ein Komprimierungstool gefunden, das ich bisher noch nicht kannte: Optimage. Da mich die Leistung von solcher Software interessiert, habe ich gleich mal einen Schwung Fotos aus meinem Beitrag über meine letzte Fahrt auf dem elektrischen Einrad in Optimage geworfen und geschaut, was er rausholen konnte. In der Tat sind eine Fotos merklich kleiner geworden. Aber einige auch nicht…

Ich habe euch hier eine Tabelle mit den Verbesserungen und der entsprechenden Prozentzahl zusammen gestellt, damit ihr seht, wie gut das Programm arbeitet. Und man muss hier anmerken, dass TinyJPG schon einen guten Job gemacht hat. Die Latte lag also recht hoch!

BilddateiVorher (TinyJPG)Nachher (Optimage)Verbesserung
ks18l-ausfahrt-karte.jpg306 KB306 KB0%
ks18l-foto-abfahrt.jpg185 KB185 KB0%
ks18l-foto-ankunft.jpg234 KB234 KB0%
ks18l-foto-schmutzfaenger.jpg223 KB206 KB7,6%
ks18l-hochsitz.jpg115 KB72 KB37%
ks18l-nachtfahrt.jpg108 KB62 KB42%
ks18l-schlammpfuetze.jpg434 KB387 KB11%
ks18l-sturz.jpg318 KB257 KB19%

In der Tabelle sieht man, dass nicht alle Bilder besser komprimiert werden konnten. Ich habe das Gefühl, besonders diese Fotos, die größere dunkle oder einfarbige Bereiche haben, konnten jedoch durch Optimage noch verkleinert werden. Bei vielen Fotos hat die Software aber passen müssen. Da hat TinyJPG schon gute Vorarbeit geleistet.

Testfoto 1 für den Komprimierungstest. Im Vergleich: Photoshop JPEG Speicherung, TinyJPG und Optimage (Foto: Sir Apfelot).

Testfoto 1 für den Komprimierungstest. Im Vergleich: Photoshop JPEG Speicherung, TinyJPG und Optimage (Foto: Sir Apfelot).

Test im Vergleich zur Photoshop-Funktion, HEIC und TinyJPG

Um mal zu schauen, was die Mac-App Optimage aus einem Foto im Vergleich zur Photoshop-Funktion „Für Web speichern“ rausholt, habe ich mir das oben eingeblendete Foto in Originalgröße vom iPhone XS geladen. Folgende Werte kamen dabei raus:

  • Dateigröße im HEIC-Format: 2,2 MB
  • Photoshop „Für Web speichern“: 1,4 MB
  • Photoshop „Speichern als JPG (hohe Qualität)“: 1,0 MB
  • TinyJPG: 410 KB (hat 1:16 m:s gebraucht!)
  • Optimage: 1,2 MB (hat nur 9 s gebraucht)

In diesem Fall hat TinyJPG deutlich besser abgeschnitten als Optimage. Auch wenn ich das Bild auf 1200 Pixel Höhe klein rechne und mit TinyJPG sichere, kann Optimage nichts mehr optimieren (0%).

Optimage Testfoto 2: Auch hier liefert TinyJPG die kleinere Datei ab.

Optimage Testfoto 2: Auch hier liefert TinyJPG die kleinere Datei ab. Für den Beitrag habe ich das Foto auf eine kleinere Auflösung runter gerechnet. Die Bildoptimierungsprogramme mussten mit der vollen Auflösung arbeiten.

Auch bei diesen Foto kann Optimage nicht punkten:

  • Dateigröße im HEIC-Format: 3,0 MB
  • TinyJPG: 1,1 MB (hat 1:15 m:s gebraucht!)
  • Optimage: 2,0 MB (hat nur 8 s gebraucht)

Man sieht: Wie bei den meisten anderen Tools, kommt es hier auf das Ausgangsmaterial an. Hat man große gleichfarbige Flächen im Bild, scheint das eine besser zu sein, während das andere bei Verläufen oder anderen Besonderheiten punkten kann.

Optimage und TinyJPG im Vergleich – Achtung: Dieses Foto ist natürlich wieder komprimiert und kann nicht als Vergleich verwendet werden! Ich hatte den Vergleich in 100% Ansicht in der Vorschau-App am Mac durchgeführt.

Optimage und TinyJPG im Vergleich – Achtung: Dieses Foto ist natürlich wieder komprimiert und kann nicht als Vergleich verwendet werden! Ich hatte den Vergleich in 100% Ansicht in der Vorschau-App am Mac durchgeführt.

Sichtbare Unterschiede zwischen TinyJPG und Optimage?

Da die Dateigrößen bei den beiden Tools so unterschiedlich ausfielen, habe ich mir mal ein Testfoto im Detail angeschaut und versucht, sichtbare Unterschiede zu finden. Selbst nach mehreren Minuten Sichtprüfung bei 100% konnte ich keine Bereiche finden, die merklich anders wären. Es gab keine sichtbaren JPG-Komprimierungen oder ähnliches. In dieser Richtung kann man den Unterschied in der Dateigröße der Ausgabedateien folglich nicht suchen.

Mein hier eingebettetes Bild mit den zwei Vergleichsfotos ist übrigens nur für Dekozwecke. Mir ist schon klar, dass man keinen ernsthaften Vergleich von Fotos abbilden kann, wenn man dieses Vergleichbild mit den zwei Bildern dann wiederum mit TinyJPG komprimiert und als JPG in das Blog einbaut. 😀

Was Optimage kann und was nicht…

Ich muss sagen, dass ich das Photoshop-Plugin von TinyJPG bzw. TinyPNG extrem praktisch finde, da ich alle meine Fotos für die Blogbeiträge erstmal in Photoshop bearbeite und sie dann mit dem Plugin gleich optimiert und kleingerechnet sichern kann. Ob diese Möglichkeit für jeden wichtig ist, wage ich zu bezweifeln, aber ich möchte es dennoch anmerken. Aus dem Grund hier eine Liste mit Punkten, die Optimage NICHT bieten kann:

  • es gibt kein Photoshop-Plugin
  • es gibt keinen Webservice bzw. keine API-Schnittstelle
  • es gibt kein WordPress-Plugin
  • es bietet bei weitem nicht soviele Einstellungsmöglichkeiten wie ImageOptim

Was es kann bzw. bietet:

  • Es kann mit verschachtelten Ordnern arbeiten und optimiert die Fotos in der Struktur. Das ist hilfreich, wenn man zum Beispiel den „uploads“-Ordner seiner WordPress-Installation in einem Rutsch durchlaufen lassen möchte.
  • Es kann mit dem HEIC-Format von Apple-Fotos umgehen.
  • Es gibt eine Möglichkeit die Mac-App gratis zu nutzen, wenn man maximal 24 Bilddateien pro Tag verkleinern möchte.
Das Interface von Optimage ist simpel: Man wirft per Drag and Drop ein oder mehrere Fotos auf das Fenster und klickt auf den Button. Schon werden die Originale durch die optimierten Versionen ersetzt.

Das Interface von Optimage ist simpel: Man wirft per Drag and Drop ein oder mehrere Fotos auf das Fenster und klickt auf den Button. Schon werden die Originale durch die optimierten Versionen ersetzt.

Mein Fazit zu Optimage

Egal, ob ihr Imageoptim, Optimage oder TinyPNG nutzt: schlecht sind alle drei Kandidaten nicht, aber es ist schwer, hier einen Sieger zu küren. Wirft man 20 Fotos in alle Tools rein, hat nicht immer eins der Tools bei allen die besten Ergebnisse. Optimage bietet eine kostenlose Variante, bei der man bis zu 24 Fotos pro Tag kleinrechnen kann. Wer mehr umrechnen möchte, muss einmalig 15 USD/EUR auf die Theke legen, um die Software zu kaufen. Nach meinem Gefühl gefällt mir als Mac-App die Lösung von ImageOptim irgendwie besser, da sie viele Einstellungsmöglichkeiten hat, mit der man nicht nur die Qualität der Ausgabedateien sondern auch die Dateigrößen beeinflussen kann.

Mein Vorgehen wird für die Zukunft so sein, dass ich weiterhin meine Fotos aus Photoshop mit dem Plugin von TinyJPG sichere. Bisher hat TinyJPG noch sehr gut komprimierte Fotos abgeliefert und nur in wenigen Fällen konnte Optimage die Dateigröße nochmal verbessern. Mit diesem Kompromiss kann ich gut leben.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.