Provenance: SNES emulator on the Apple TV (for hobbyists)

Provenance Emulator Apple TV App ROM SNES Sega Game Gear Genesis Nintendo Mario Zelda to play on AppleTV

Do not plan anything for the weekend, because it is gambled - with the open source emulator Originthat you can play on the Apple TV can be played, among other things, SNES games! You just need a little patience when installing on the Apple TV, because the Provenance Emulator for SNES and Co is not even loaded as an app. But if you've made it, then nothing stands in the way of the gaming weekend.

The Provenance Emulator with SNES, Sega Genesis or Game Gear Games as an app on the Apple TV? It works, and I'll show you how!

The Provenance Emulator with SNES, Sega Genesis or Game Gear Games as an app on the Apple TV? It works, and I'll show you how!

Step 1: Set up a free Apple Developer account

Yes, you need an Apple developer account if you have the Provenance emulator for SNES games and other games from Sega Genesis or Sega Game Gear on the Apple TV, for example on the current Apple TV 4. Because Provenance cannot be installed directly on the device as an app. To set up your Apple Developer Account, which is free as long as you don't want to put any apps in the App Store, you need yours Apple ID.

Step 2: Use Xcode to install Provenance on the Apple TV

Now it's time for the Mac or MacBook. Because to tinker with the Provenance App for your Apple TV 4, you need the Apple Developer App Xcode. Xcode allows you to combine the Provenance app data (see below) into a complete app or to install it as such. So you can Super Mario, Zelda and so on to gamble with it. To download Xcode from the Mac App Store, click here in a friendly way.

Step 3: Assemble the Provenance App for the Apple TV 4

So you now have your developer account, Apple's Xcode app and your Apple TV at hand. You connect the latter to the Mac or MacBook using a USB cable and then put Provenance on it. Where do you get the necessary data from? From GitHub, of course! And the link to Provenance on GitHub Of course I have for you too.

And how does that work in detail?

Basically, you “only” have to use the link to GitHub in Xcode, install the emulator and adjust a few settings. This video shows what you have to do and how exactly it works (it also explains how to get ROM files, i.e. the games for Provenance):

Alternative: Nintendo Classic Mini

If you'd rather have a real console with classic games or just don't own an Apple TV, then you can play old NES games with this console. The individual games from Mario to Zelda are pre-installed and you don't need another emulator:

Nintendo Classic Mini: Nintendo Entertainment System
  • Connects directly to high-definition TVs via HDMI cable.
  • With 30 pre-installed games.
  • Includes a Nintendo Classic Mini: NES controller, HDMI cable and USB charging cable.
-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Provenance: SNES Emulator auf dem Apple TV (für Bastler)

Provenance Emulator Apple TV App ROM SNES Sega Game Gear Genesis Nintendo Mario Zelda auf AppleTV spielen

Nehmt euch fürs Wochenende nichts vor, denn es wird gezockt – mit dem quelloffenen Emulator Provenance, den ihr auf den Apple TV aufspielen könnt, lassen sich unter anderem SNES Games spielen! Ihr braucht nur beim Installieren auf dem Apple TV ein bisschen Geduld, denn der Provenance Emulator für SNES und Co ist nicht mal eben so als App geladen. Habt ihr es aber geschafft, dann steht dem Zocker-Wochenende nichts mehr im Wege.

Der Provenance Emulator mit SNES, Sega Genesis oder Game Gear Spielen als App auf dem Apple TV? Das geht, und ich zeige euch wie!

Der Provenance Emulator mit SNES, Sega Genesis oder Game Gear Spielen als App auf dem Apple TV? Das geht, und ich zeige euch wie!

Schritt 1: kostenloses Apple Developer Konto einrichten

Ja, ihr braucht ein Developer Konto von Apple, wenn ihr den Provenance Emulator für SNES-Spiele und andere Games von Sega Genesis oder Sega Game Gear auf den Apple TV, beispielsweise auf den aktuellen Apple TV 4, bringen wollt. Denn Provenance lässt sich nicht direkt als App auf das Gerät installieren. Für das Einrichten eures Apple Developer Accounts, was kostenlos ist solange ihr keine Apps in den App Store stellen wollt, braucht ihr eure Apple ID.

Schritt 2: Xcode zur Installation von Provenance auf dem Apple TV nutzen

Jetzt geht es erst einmal an den Mac bzw. ans MacBook. Denn um die Provenance App für euren Apple TV 4 zu basteln, benötigt ihr die Apple Developer App Xcode. Xcode erlaubt euch, die App-Daten von Provenance (s. u.) zu einer vollständigen App zusammen zu setzen bzw. als solche zu installieren. So könnt ihr Super Mario, Zelda und so weiter damit zocken. Um Xcode aus dem Mac App Store zu laden, klicket einmal freundlich hier.

Schritt 3: Provenance App für den Apple TV 4 zusammenbauen

Ihr habt nun also euer Developer Konto, die Xcode App von Apple und euren Apple TV zur Hand. Letzteren schließt ihr per USB-Kabel an den Mac oder das MacBook an und haut dann Provenance drauf. Wo ihr die dazu nötigen Daten herbekommt? Natürlich von GitHub! Und den Link zu Provenance bei GitHub habe ich natürlich auch für euch.

Und wie geht das nun im Detail?

Im Grunde müsst ihr in Xcode „nur“ den Link zu GitHub nutzen, den Emulator installieren und ein paar Einstellungen anpassen. Was ihr tun müsst und wie das genau geht, das zeigt dieses Video (da wird auch erklärt, wie ihr ROM Dateien, also die Spiele für Provenance, bekommt):

Alternative: Nintendo Classic Mini

Wenn ihr lieber eine echte Konsole mit klassischen Spielen haben wollt oder einfach keinen Apple TV euer Eigen nennt, dann könnt ihr alte NES-Spiele mit dieser Konsole zocken. Die einzelnen Games von Mario bis Zelda sind vorinstalliert und ihr braucht keinen weiteren Emulator:

Nintendo Classic Mini: Nintendo Entertainment System
507 Bewertungen
Nintendo Classic Mini: Nintendo Entertainment System
  • Lässt sich per HDMI Kabel direkt an hochauflösende Fernsehgeräte anschließen.
  • Mit 30 bereits vorinstallierten Spielen.
  • Enthält einen Nintendo Classic Mini: NES-Controller, HDMI Kabel und USB Ladekabel.
Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.