SD Memory Card Formatter: When the SD card is not working properly

If the SD card is not working properly, the end device repeatedly displays error messages or does not save sufficiently, then the memory card does not have to be broken. Maybe you just need to format them to fix a formatting error. Taking my post too microSD memory cards for the GoPro MAX 360 ° camera pointed out such a problem to my reader Ewald. And he also showed the solution: the program SD Memory Card Formatter from the SD Association (SDA). This is an official and secure app for macOS on the Apple Mac and Windows on the PC, developed by Tuxera.

TL; DR: Click here to go directly to the program and download

Is the SD card defective? Does the device show an error and report an error message that the SD is not working properly? Then the SD Memory Card Formatter App is the solution - of course also for microSD, SDHC and SDXC;) 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB, 512 GB

Is the SD card defective? Does the device show an error and report an error message that the SD is not working properly? Then the SD Memory Card Formatter App is the solution - of course also for microSD, SDHC and SDXC;)

SD Memory Card Formatter - better than Disk Utility

The SD Memory Card Formatter App for Mac and PC formats SD memory cards, SDHC memory cards and SDXC memory cards according to the specifications of the SD data system, which have been established by the SDA. The SDA also recommends using your own program over the preinstalled solutions under Apple macOS (hard disk utility) and Microsoft Windows. This is because these programs are mainly designed for hard drives and flash memories such as USB sticks. 

The Association's software, on the other hand, which was developed by Tuxera, is designed directly for SD, SDHC and SDXC cards, including those in micro format, of course. But regardless of whether SD or microSD - with encrypted cards (for example with BitLocker To Go under Windows) the encryption must first be canceled. You can find further requirements and the download below.

System requirements under macOS and Windows

As noted, the SD Memory Card Formatter is available for both large computer systems; for use with permanently installed card slots as well as with reading devices connected via USB (USB 2.0, 3.0, 3.1 and USB-C). In order to use it, however, you need administrator rights on the relevant system. Then you can run the app and of course format microSD, microSDHC and microSDXC in addition to the large cards mentioned above. The software is compatible with these operating system versions (as of June 25, 2020):

Apple Mac, iMac, MacBook

  • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
  • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
  • Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
  • Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemite
  • Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan
  • macOS 10.12 Sierra
  • macOS 10.13 High Sierra
  • macOS 10.14 Mojave
  • macOS 10.15 Catalina

Windows PC and laptop

  • Windows 7 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 8 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 8.1 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1511 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1607 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1703 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1709 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1803 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1809 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1903 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1909 (32/64-bit)

SD Memory Card Formatter - Official Download

As noted so often here in the blog, you should only download apps from the App Store or directly from the developers' websites. Because with download portals (Softonic, CHIP, etc.) you often get additional programs that nobody needs, and sometimes even malware in the form of advertising junk or even viruses / Trojans. This is why the SD Memory Card Formatter can also be downloaded from the SDA website: Here you go right there. How you can also use other programs that you can download from the Internet to ensure that you don't put any nonsense on the hard drive you read that in this guide.

These SD errors and error messages can be eliminated

An SD and microSD memory card can be used in various devices: digital cameras, DSLRs or reflex cameras, action cameras, 360 ° cameras, Android smartphones and tablets, Raspberry Pi computers, Nintendo Switch, as Memory expansion in the MacBook and so on. Depending on the type and location of use, various errors can appear or formatting errors can be interpreted differently. Here are a few errors and error messages that you can eliminate by formatting the memory card (if the card is not physically damaged and is therefore actually inoperable):

  • SD card was removed unexpectedly
  • SD card is damaged, you may need to reformat your card
  • Read error or write error or read / write error on the SD card
  • SD card empty / SD card cannot be written to
  • SD card has an unsupported system
  • The SD card is not formatted
  • SD ERR or NO SD as error messages in GoPro cameras
  • The microSD card is not recognized / not displayed (in mobile phone, camera, Nintendo Switch, etc.)
  • Recordings abort, videos are not completely saved
  • Devices or individual functions / apps crash
  • Only a fraction of the actually available memory is used

Further memory card advice from Sir Apfelot

Here in the blog you will find many more articles, instructions and advice on the subject of memory cards in SD and microSD format. In my purchase advice you can read, for example, why I only advise SanDisk models. I also go into the right storage media for various devices such as cameras, consoles, but also drones. You will find a lot of advice, tips, instructions and test reports here, especially on DJI drone models. A small selection on the topic:

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

SD Memory Card Formatter: Wenn die SD-Karte nicht richtig funktioniert

Wenn die SD-Karte nicht richtig funktioniert, das Endgerät immer wieder Fehlermeldungen anzeigt oder unzureichend speichert, dann muss die Speicherkarte nicht kaputt sein. Vielleicht müsst ihr sie nur formatieren, um einen Formatierungsfehler zu beheben. Unter meinem Beitrag zu microSD-Speicherkarten für die GoPro MAX 360°-Kamera hat mein Leser Ewald auf so ein Problem hingewiesen. Und er hat auch die Lösung aufgezeigt: das Programm SD Memory Card Formatter von der SD Association (SDA). Dabei handelt es sich um eine offizielle und sichere App für macOS auf dem Apple Mac und Windows auf dem PC, entwickelt von Tuxera.

TL;DR: Hier geht’s direkt zu Programm und Download

Ist die SD-Karte defekt? Zeigt das Gerät einen Fehler und meldet per Fehlermeldung, dass die SD nicht richtig funktioniert? Dann ist die SD Memory Card Formatter App die Lösung – natürlich auch für microSD, SDHC und SDXC ;) 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB, 512 GB

Ist die SD-Karte defekt? Zeigt das Gerät einen Fehler und meldet per Fehlermeldung, dass die SD nicht richtig funktioniert? Dann ist die SD Memory Card Formatter App die Lösung – natürlich auch für microSD, SDHC und SDXC 😉

SD Memory Card Formatter – besser als Festplattendienstprogramm

Die SD Memory Card Formatter App für Mac und PC formatiert SD-Speicherkarten, SDHC-Speicherkarten und SDXC-Speicherkarten entsprechend der Spezifikationen des SD-Datensystems, welche von der SDA festgelegt wurden. Von der SDA wird zudem empfohlen, das eigene Programm den vorinstallieren Lösungen unter Apple macOS (Festplattendienstprogramm) und Microsoft Windows vorzuziehen. Denn diese Programme sind hauptsächlich auf Festplatten und Flashspeicher wie USB-Sticks ausgelegt. 

Die Software der Association hingegen, welche von Tuxera entwickelt wurde, ist direkt auf SD, SDHC und SDXC Karten ausgelegt, natürlich auch auf jene im micro-Format. Aber egal ob SD oder microSD – bei verschlüsselten Karten (etwa mit BitLocker To Go unter Windows) muss erst die Verschlüsselung aufgehoben werden. Weitere Voraussetzungen und den Download findet ihr im Folgenden.

Systemvoraussetzungen unter macOS und Windows

Der SD Memory Card Formatter wird, wie schon angemerkt, für beide große Computer-Systeme angeboten; sowohl für die Nutzung mit festverbauten Kartenslots als auch mit per USB angeschlossenen Lesegeräten (USB 2.0, 3.0, 3.1 und USB-C). Um ihn aber damit zu nutzen, benötigt ihr Administratoren-Rechte auf dem entsprechenden System. Dann könnt ihr die App ausführen und neben den großen, oben genannten Karten natürlich auch microSD, microSDHC und microSDXC formatieren. Mit diesen Betriebssystem-Versionen ist die Software kompatibel (Stand: 25. Juni 2020):

Apple Mac, iMac, MacBook

  • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
  • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
  • Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
  • Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemite
  • Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan
  • macOS 10.12 Sierra
  • macOS 10.13 High Sierra
  • macOS 10.14 Mojave
  • macOS 10.15 Catalina

Windows PC und Laptop

  • Windows 7 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 8 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 8.1 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1511 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1607 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1703 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1709 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1803 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1809 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1903 (32/64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Version 1909 (32/64-bit)

SD Memory Card Formatter – Offizieller Download

Wie schon so oft hier im Blog angemerkt, solltet ihr Apps nur aus dem App Store oder direkt von den Websites der Entwickler/innen herunterladen. Denn bei Download-Portalen (Softonic, CHIP, etc.) bekommt ihr oft Zusatzprogramme, die kein Mensch braucht, und manchmal sogar Malware in Form von Werbe-Müll oder sogar Viren / Trojaner. Deshalb setzt auch beim SD Memory Card Formatter auf den offiziellen Download von der Webseite der SDA: Hier kommt ihr direkt dorthin. Wie ihr zudem bei anderen Programmen, die ihr aus dem Internet herunterladen könnt, sicherstellt, dass ihr keinen Quatsch auf die Festplatte zieht, das lest ihr in diesem Ratgeber.

Diese SD Fehler und Fehlermeldungen lassen sich beheben

Eine SD- und microSD-Speicherkarte kann in verschiedenen Geräten zum Einsatz kommen: Digitalkamera, DSLR bzw. Spiegelreflexkamera, Action Cam, 360° Kamera, Android-Smartphone und -Tablet, Raspberry Pi Computer, Nintendo Switch, als Speichererweiterung im MacBook und so weiter. Je nach Art und Ort des Einsatzes können verschiedene Fehler auftauchen bzw. Formatierungsfehler anders interpretiert werden. Hier ein paar Fehler und Fehlermeldungen, die ihr mit dem Formatieren der Speicherkarte aus der Welt schaffen könnt (falls die Karte nicht physisch beschädigt und damit tatsächlich funktionslos ist):

  • SD-Karte wurde unerwartet entfernt
  • SD-Karte ist beschädigt, Sie müssen Ihre Karte möglicherweise neu formatieren
  • Lesefehler oder Schreibfehler bzw. Lese- / Schreibfehler auf der SD-Karte
  • SD-Karte leer / SD-Karte kann nicht beschrieben werden
  • SD-Karte verfügt über ein nicht unterstütztes System
  • Die SD-Karte ist nicht formatiert
  • SD ERR oder NO SD als Fehlermeldungen in GoPro-Kameras
  • Die microSD-Karte wird nicht erkannt / nicht angezeigt (in Handy, Kamera, Nintendo Switch, etc.)
  • Aufnahmen brechen ab, Videos werden nicht komplett gespeichert
  • Geräte oder einzelne Funktionen / Apps stürzen ab
  • Es wird nur ein Bruchteil des eigentlich verfügbaren Speichers genutzt

Weitere Speicherkarten-Ratgeber bei Sir Apfelot

Hier im Blog findet ihr noch viele weitere Beiträge, Anleitungen und Ratgeber rund um das Thema Speicherkarten im SD- und microSD-Format. In meiner Kaufberatung lest ihr zum Beispiel, warum ich immer nur zu SanDisk-Modellen rate. Zudem gehe ich auf die richtigen Speichermedien für verschiedene Geräte wie Kameras, Konsolen aber auch Drohnen ein. Vor allem zu Drohnen-Modellen von DJI findet ihr hier jede Menge Ratgeber, Tipps, Anleitungen und Test-Berichte. Eine kleine Auswahl zum Thema:


Wenn mein Beitrag geholfen hat und dir mein Blog unterstützenswert erscheint, würde ich mich über eine Hilfe per Steady oder Buy me a coffee sehr freuen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alle News 1x pro Woche

Du magst die Artikel auf Sir Apfelot?
Dann trage dich in meinen wöchentlichen Newsletter ein.